You are here: HomeNews2015 03 23Article 351541

Lee Kuan Yew’s name “will echo down the ages” - Nana Addo

Read Comments Comments (73)

• DEAD GOAT MAHAMA!!!!! 9 years ago

THIS STINKING DEAD GOAT MAHAMA WILL BE FORGOTTEN FOREVER AND EVERMORE AMEN!!!!!

• YOU SEY WETTIN? 9 years ago

Pretender. All that you said does not make sense, it's mere mouth mouth. Try to initiate something new on the political scene. You lack ideas only mouth mouth which mostly appeals to only those who don't really understand wh ...

• HON SHAMO 9 years ago

Nana save your breath and act like a local Ghanaian, becos you can never be a president in Ghana.

• BBC NEWS! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 9 years ago

Nana Binaddo must shut up and go away! !! Who want to listen to this dead Horse? Stop lying to the good people of GHANA, since when did you Nana Akanfuo Binaddo believed in Ghana? How can anyone believes in his country and ha ...

• Close Observer 9 years ago

NDC THIEVES.
    ONE THING WE KNOW, AMIDU SAVED GHANA FROM BEING DUPED, AND THAT IS SATISFYING. THAT IS WHAT WE EXPECT FROM A PATRIOTIC CITIZEN. HE IS HONOURABLE with the true meaning of the word. God bless Martin Amidu. ..... a ...

• MR KUFFOUR 9 years ago

Nana too old and ugly to be a president mind your bussiness of the money your are waisting for nothing.

• Atao 9 years ago

Was the man a democrat? Did he allow free speech? Did he do PDA? So Africans must think and begin to realize that this animal called democracy that we have swallowed hook line and sinker is a disaster. We need a blend of auto ...

• Bfire 9 years ago

Even those countries who claim they are democratic is not wholly true. There is no freedom of speech as they claim. The state has more power to do anything. Africa should wake up rather than following blindly.

• Shabi 9 years ago

Another proof of the dishonesty of the Danquah/Busia clique.

In pursuit of due socio-economic development, Lee Kwan Yew rightly and justifiably committed 'undemocratic' acts which were a hundred times worse than anything t ...

• SIMON PETER 9 years ago

NANA AKUFO ADDO SHOULD NOT WASTE HIS TIME : THE DIE IS ALREADY CAST! ARROGANT, MISCHIEVOUS (TSATSU'S CASE), THIEVERY AND IRRESPONSIBLE, DISHONEST AND FRAUDSTER WHO COULD NOT PRODUCE EVEN A PHOTO COPY OF HIS LAW CERTIFICATE TO ...

• John Ibrahim 9 years ago

Imagine giving someone like Mahama or even Kuffour ( during his time) 10-15 years of Peaceful, Quiet and Unfettered power and control. Real Control not the type we have where everyday there are colony of vultures all insultin ...

• Sodayi 9 years ago

A prophet is never accepted by his own people. What qualities has Lee Kwan Yew that our Nkrumah hasn't got. He was autocratic, non democratic and a bully. Yet our know it all proponents of democracy are falling over themselv ...

• hmmmm 9 years ago

Nana always talks about democracy and freedom,uses that organize demonstrations and stupid court cases,in Singapore who born to be strike /opposition leader for decades,you either dead,exiled,bankrupt or being in prison witho ...

• Kwabena Yeboah 9 years ago

Lee Kuan Yew proved that it is the end that justifies the means when it comes to nation building. Isn't it ironic that Akuffo Addo and his minions in NPP party would accuse Nkrumah of dictatorship, yet praise Lew Kuan Yew's a ...

• Atinga Kobla Atongo 9 years ago

A marvelous leader with incredible foresight and ability.

• Gyimah 9 years ago

I have never heard you speak about Osagyefo Dr Kwame Nkrumah like that whose beginning was just Lee Kuan Yew.

• SARPONG 9 years ago

This is a joke. Don't even compare Nkrumah to Lee Kwan Yun. While Lee was focused trying to develop a small Island city with a population at that time less than one million People, Nkrumah has a grandiose ambition of being Pr ...

• KWASHIE ADJAH 9 years ago

INSTEAD OF DEVELOPING GHANA AND ESTABLISH A TEMPLATE TO BE COPIED BY OTHER AFRICAN NATIONS, HE DECLARED HIMSELF A LIFE PRESIDENT OF A ONE PARTY DICTATORIAL STATE, WHILE AIMING TO BE PRESIDENT OF AFRICA. THAT WAS NKRUMAH'S DOW ...

..he went right ahead to introduce some of the most draconian controls over the personal freedoms, individual rights, the economy,public and private
    than any SOCIALIST or COMMUNIST state has ever done. Please this intellect ...

The mass detentions, prison without trial and his dictatorships for 30 years has escaped Akuffo Addo"s mind.

• Dan Kosowah 9 years ago

Now you are talking. Nana Addo is one ungrateful dwarf but then again what can you say about a Mate-Meho born and bred. What Nkrumah did for Ghana, the likes of Nana will never have a good word to say about him but he goes pr ...

• Shabi 9 years ago

So when will some of you people ever learn to think for yourselves instead of parroting and reciting like a poem, what our historical oppressors instruct you to say all the time?

You want to say that trying to raise the le ...

• KWAKU ANANSE 9 years ago

ARE YOU ON THE SAME PLANET AS THE REST OF US AND WHAT ARE YOU READING (A NOBLE ACTIVITY NOT A RESERVE FOR YOU ALONE TO BOAST ABOUT) TO HAVE SUCH CONTAMINATED MIND, FULL OF NKRUMAH PROPAGANDA TRASH????????????

• SARPONG 9 years ago

That is the difference between those of us who believe we are our own enemies instead of shifting the blame to our so called historical oppressors. We have had independence for 58 years and we are still blaming our problems o ...

• Nyansasem 9 years ago

"You want to say that trying to raise the level of development of only a million people is a more noble task than trying to raise the level of development of 1 billion people?

You also want to say that giving assistance to ...

No Sarpong, I normally don't dis-agree with you on this forum, but in this case I think you are being a little disingenuous. Neither Castro nor the Kims of N.Korea have tried to spread their ideology to anywhere. Yes perhaps ...

• SARPONG 9 years ago

Why do you want to make it a seven year term? I thought you support this President for life and jailing your political opponents with Nkrumah PDA.

Lee was nowhere like Nkrumah. He allowed competitive elections to take plac ...

• PRINCEWILLY@YMAIL.COM 9 years ago

NKRUMAH SHOULD HAVE LEARNT FROM ATTA MILLS BY SAYING "DZIE WO FIE ASEM"
    NKRUMAH BECAME THE PREACHER IN MY NEXT JOKE THAT WAS SCREWING FROM OUTSIDE'
    YOU CAN ASK ONSY NKRUMAH

• Me 9 years ago

Singapore's first Prime Minister Lee Kuan Yew speaks during a rally at Farrer park in Singapore on 15 August 1955
    I am often accused of interfering in the private lives of citizens. Yes, if I did not, had I not done that, we ...

• Nana Ansah 9 years ago

Were the Mate Meho nation wreckers,
    saboteurs and assasins to be in Singapore, LKY with his no nonsense attitude would have hanged all of them.

Nkrumah was an inspiration to most of these Asian Tigers. When Singapore got ...

• Nyansasem 9 years ago

"Singapore and Malaysia peninsula used to be a single state – Malaya - until Lee Kaun Yew the founding father wrested Singapore the backwater island port from Malaya and turned into a modern hub city state par excellence."- ...

• Nana Ansah 9 years ago

When will you backwater town boys ever see the big picture? Nkrumah liberated and inspired a whole continent and you still don't get it? Never in a million years! Go to the AU center in Addis Abeba and you will see the undisp ...

• Nyansasem 9 years ago

"Singapore and Malaysia peninsula used to be a single state – Malaya - until Lee Kaun Yew the founding father wrested Singapore the backwater island port from Malaya and turned into a modern hub city state par excellence."- ...

• Nana Ansah 9 years ago

You did not have a proper training at home which is why you interpret charity begins at home differently. The saying means proper nurturing begins with good parenting. Since you come from a polygamy family with dozens of wive ...

• NKWASEASEM 9 years ago

Liar! Singapore was kicked out of the Malaya federation.

• francis kwarteng 9 years ago

Nana Ansah,

Another brilliant analysis.

Please keep educating those of us who always want to learn.

Yes, you are right to say all that you have said. The Mate Meho terrorists would not have had a space to crawl arou ...

• Sodayi 9 years ago

Sarpong you are just a little mind full of mischief. I wish you will do away with your skewed mentality and give praise where is due. Nkrumah was not given the chance to govern as he should. And at the time of our independenc ...

• Kwabena Yeboah 9 years ago

How did United States of American come to be what it is today, and how did the European Union come about? The central issue you might ask is, was Nkrumah's vision for the continent attainable and what did he achieve for his e ...

• Naaba kugri 9 years ago

This dwarf shoe man devil drug addict should give us a break , did his fore fathers give Nkrumah time to move Ghana faword ? Stupidity now you are praising some one who had 31 years free hand to change his country ,God will ...

• OSEI TAWIAH 9 years ago

Ghana was completely bankrupt in 1966. We had only $6.00 in our coffers. How was he going to develop with that money? He spent like an idiot not thinking about what's going to happen in the future. This is exactly what the ND ...

Yes these were some of the lies and absolute and complete untruths that were peddled by the coup-makers.
    Simple reflection will tell you that it cannot be true. Remember Workers were paid, including the Army, Police Nurses, ...

• Oba Nyansani Baako Pe ln Ghana! 9 years ago

You will leave a legacy as this man in 2016 and you will be the president of Ghana AT ALL COST to build Ghana for all the political parties to enjoy living. God bless you and Mama Rebecca!

• HONESTY 9 years ago

He is on the other side of life, I mean age wise, and he can dream as much as he wants but even if he gets the job, he can not do more than 8 years and experience shows that will be a miracle to turn Ghana round is less than ...

• Short Evil Dwarf 9 years ago

With no certificate

• Adjei Mensah 9 years ago

Yes, it is normal and natural to say say good things about the dead. We the outsider might have seen him and his leadership differently from those citizens he really led and ruled over the 30+ years. Let's not only assess the ...

• 2016 akuffo addo Retirement Party 9 years ago

You can not address tribal bigotry in your country, but you can talk about someone all the way in Asia.

• Braha 9 years ago

Is encouraging sectarianism in Ghana

• Sebour 9 years ago

who is Nana

Nana will succeed if and when he wins an election. In the meantime we still have a Government in power until January 2017 ( hopefully). So far all we have collectively done is to ATTACK and ASSAULT this president on daily and ...

• Adjei 9 years ago

Too quick condolences from Nana NPP. It is a shame Nana should be experessing such feelings. Kwame Nkrumah, a compatriot of Lee Kuan Yew. Persons who shared same philosophies and ideologies deserved this. Too Late.

• Paa 9 years ago

Sorry man, Lee didn't share Nkrumah's foolish socialism. In fact, Lee was famous for saying human beings were never born and will never be equal. He was a competent strategist who riled the West his Asian Values philosophy an ...

• Ghana man 9 years ago

THE Danquahs. Busias and the likes masterminded Nkrumah;s overthrow. Yew was to Singapore as Nkrumah to Ghana. Ghana would have developed without those nation wreckers.who are now represented by the N.P.P. Nana Addo your trad ...

• G. K. Berko 9 years ago

Let Akufo-Addo shut his mouth about Lee Kuan Yew. If Akufo-Addo didn't embrace the programs Nkrumah set in place, not very different from Lee's own in Singapore, how could he see Lee as any great leader? Nkrumah and Lee share ...

• KKO 9 years ago

Typical,
    It is everybody else's fault. HAve you ever thought the reasons why leaders like Lee Kuan Yew, Nyerere, Kenyatta and Hophuet Boingy were never overthrown? Real leaders of the people are never overthrown!

Do you mean "fawning dictators" of the of the west were never overthrown?Didn"t Yew implement mass detentions without trial? Didnt"t Yew say "we have to jail them to stop the bomb flying"? You guys are pure hypocrites.

• DusTY-FooT-pHiloSophER 9 years ago

Let Akufo-Addo shut up his mouth about Lee Kuan Yew indeed. Exactly the words that came begging out of me the minute I saw the caption.

• francis kwarteng 9 years ago

Dear Brother Berko,

I heard Pres. Obama, Henry Kissinger, and other Western leaders calling Lee Kuan Yew "a genius."

Yet the economic and development policies both Nkrumah and Yew adopted were similar, like you said. S ...

• OneGhana 9 years ago

“Every so often, history produces an individual who impacts the lives of millions of people around the world, and Lee Kuan Yew was, undoubtedly, one of such persons."

You forgot that the Osagyefo was one of those special ...

• KOFI ELLISON 9 years ago

What Nana Akuffo Addo should proudly add, and in fact the NPP ought to shout about in this matter, is the CORRECT policies adopted by Lee Kuan Yew which made the miracle of Singapore possible and evident. Policies which ran p ...

A woman is at home when she hears someone knock at the door. She goes to the door and opens the door to S a man standing there.so hee

A woman is at home when she hears someone knock at the door.

She goes to the door and opens the door to see a man standing there.

He asks the lady, ‘Do you have a vagina?’

She slams the door in disgust.

The ...

• Abeeku Mensah 9 years ago

Was it democracy or the multi-party system that enabled Lee to stay in power for 30 years? Lee was able to accomplish and lay the permanent well grounded structures of government and development that we see in Singapore throu ...

Ghana had her own Lee Kuan Yew, Osagyefo Dr Kwame Nkrumah. Nana Addo's Party collaborated with the enemy to overthrow him. Have yiu seen your folly? Lee Kuan Yew ruled for 30 years. Damned all the pressures from the west to e ...

• Peacemaker 9 years ago

Ghanaians are aware of ur father's he played in undermining nkrumah's govt just like u are doing to jdm. Shame!

• Douglas. Bristol-UK` 9 years ago

Ugly Akufo addo when gone will go down as the most corrupted and most ugliest flag bearer ever in Africa

• Paa Joe 9 years ago

YOU SHOULD HAVE CONDEMNED THE MAD COUP IN 1966,THAT DERAILED THE ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT THAT HAD TAKEN OFF IN THE COUNTRY IMMEDIATLY AFTER INDEPENDENCE IN 1966.

LE KUAM ,PARK CHUNG -HEE OF SOUTH KOREA AND NKRUMAH OF GHANA WE ...

• Rastero 9 years ago

I'm shocked to hear this man extolling the achievements of Yew when in fact this man was "averse"to freedom of speech. It clearly shows how your fathers were used by the west and formatted and rewrote their brains into believ ...

• CLUELESS NANA ADDO 9 years ago

Dankwa-Busia, Akuffo Addo Snr & other traitors, stooges and sell-outs overthrew Ghana's Lee Kuan Yew, Dr Kwame Nkrumah. SPARE US YOUR CROCODILE TEARS.

• palava 9 years ago

You don't fail to surprise me with you cheap political gimmicks. Unless you are bold enough to denounce your ancestral betrayal of Ghana and Africa, you have no place in this GALLANT historical parade - especially with this u ...

• SPIDER IN HIS WEB 9 years ago

Lee Kuan Yew could not have accomplished what he did in Singapore without the introduction of Preventive Detention Act to detain thieves and saboteurs of his transformation program. We in Ghana had a similar thing going on in ...

• dada 9 years ago

goo away are u the prisedent

• Yaw Adu-Asare 9 years ago

Does Akufo-Addo know anything about anything?

• Simingue 9 years ago

Dr. Kwame Nkrumah had wanted to transform Ghana into something like what Singapore is today if the UP tradition backed by the imperialist USA hadn't masterminded his overthrown, Ghana would have reached the first world status ...