You are here: HomeNews2015 03 23Article 351513

Ghana loses $40b yearly to revenue fraud

Read Comments Comments (67)

• BULLET 9 years ago

VERY TRUE..
    LETS TAKE A CRITICAL LOOK AT THE OPERATIONS OF CLEARING AGENTS..THEY ARE THE ORIGINATORS OF THIS THING CALLED UNDERINVOICING..

• Kofi Ata, Cambridge, UK 9 years ago

This is clear evidence that Ghana can be self-sufficient and does not loans from China, the budget support from donor countries and the IMF bailout if all the leakages are stopped and those involved prosecuted, jailed and the ...

• Son of Man 9 years ago

And then we go to these white bestials and homosexuals asking for money whiles we can esily generate our own money. They give us the money and tell us to allow man to marry Goats and Cows.

What a sad story?

• Bold 9 years ago

please spare us the academic work again. You should look into why some importers undervalue items and then find solutions. This is real life….. If I buy something form Amazon for $50 (which is easily verifiable btw) but whe ...

• PREDICTION 9 years ago

ALL these monies go into NDC thieves dirty pockets.NDC thieves led by JJ Rawlings are all thieves.

These thieves in NDC who have economically wrecked our nation should listen to praises world leaders are heaping on Singarp ...

• mensa 9 years ago

if you want to see fraud you must investigate banksters in Ghana any bank that give "so called" loans busniss or home loan. a good place to start and find fraud is at prudential bank Ghana where they illegaly put liens ...

• PREDICTION 9 years ago

Blame NDC thieves. If the government officials are stealing without fear of being prosecuted, what do think others will do?

Blame NDC thieves who are determined to dismember Ghana financially. And that is what NDC officia ...

• Close Observer 9 years ago

NDC THIEVES.
    ONE THING WE KNOW, AMIDU SAVED GHANA FROM BEING DUPED, AND THAT IS SATISFYING. THAT IS WHAT WE EXPECT FROM A PATRIOTIC CITIZEN. HE IS HONOURABLE with the true meaning of the word. God bless Martin Amidu. ..... a ...

• insight to the bone 9 years ago

When pepeni keeps on appointing his incompetent Boko harem herdsmen and latrine carriers in positions that require knowledge and expertise we are not suprised by dumsor or all the crises . Northern tribalism and the undeclare ...

• dani 9 years ago

everyone allows to steal Ghana is now total 419 = Nigeria the same thing

• EWES AT THE PORT 9 years ago

It is very simple, Ghana loses $40b yearly to revenue fraud through the Ewes Northners at the Ports and their NDC greedy Party member and ministers.

• Dr Robert K Glah 9 years ago

According to Mr Akpabi, the politicians are colluding with some officers in charge of the Ghana Community Network (GCNet) clearing platform.

SOU has not prosecuted a politician for revenue fraud. Prez has done everything t ...

• Son of Man´s Daddy 9 years ago

So when will u pay back the "white bestials" money, bema ? Black hypocrites r killing the country nt white people, u fool.

• Son of Man 9 years ago

They set the trap and the black man fell into it. Africa was doomed the day they divided the continent like bread and butter among themselves. Most whites practice bestiality, incest, and homosexuality anyway by my statement ...

• J.Davis 9 years ago

BROTHER,THERE IS NO NEED CALLING THE WHITE PEOPLE NAMES,AFTER ALL THEY DID NOT COME TO US TO BEG THEM FOR MONEY.STOP THE HYPOCRISY;ARE NOT HOMOSEXUALS IN GHANA TOO?DON'T DIVERT THE PURPOSE OF THIS CONVERSATION,AND THE TRUTH I ...

• DusTY-FooT-pHiloSophER 9 years ago

Kofi, inasmuch as I concur with their story since it is long overdue, I vehemently refute the amount posted here to collaborate their obvious story. Now then, the leading ports of Shanghai, Singapore, Hong Kong, Rotterdam and ...

• Washington insider 9 years ago

After getting clearance to take your goods. out of the harbour, you face National Security and BNI each gets 500.00GH donation. A friend of mine payed 2500.00 GH to get her goods out. National Security. Man demanded that bec ...

• Egya Morkeh 9 years ago

The pot is cracked. It can never be put back together. Ghanma will NEVER achieve its potential. The while system is corrupt from the Presidency to the street sweeper.

• Koo Siaw 9 years ago

And they still celebrate independent day,none sense.

• MANTSE 9 years ago

40 Billion Dollars is a STAGGERING number that may be much higher than the losses to the State from these Under-invoicing, Over-invoicing for non Taxable Imports to give Capital Flight the appearance of legitimacy and Intent ...

• Stick house 9 years ago

billion or million..?

40b not possible, not with the size of the economy and outward transfers for imports.

• ernest 9 years ago

Eeeh Akpabli, $40billion dollars, what's Ghana's GDP. In fact politicians in Ghana are suffering as any fool can become a hero in the media by just smelling corruption and linking politicians, and the gullible public goes ban ...

• Americano 9 years ago

Revolution to get rid of all corrupt people.

• Pelicles 9 years ago

Mr Akpabi is 1000% right and I have said the failed effort to reign in the revenue into government coffers, is not working because politicians are behind it. Mahama also said this before and I see no reason why they are drag ...

• Jayn 9 years ago

If not stolen at the ports, Mahama and the NDC evil dwarfs will steal it any way from the government coffers. Woyome and co

• Dessie 9 years ago

This is not about NDC ..the practises being there cunteries

• Dr Robert K Glah 9 years ago

Ghana loses $40bn yearly to revenue fraud and politicians are to blame.

The IMF should ensure strict revenue collection and not loans to Ghana.
    Loans are deferred taxation of the people of Ghana.

Block all tax loophol ...

• EDUARDO DOMINGO 9 years ago

PRESIDENT MAHAMA OR ANY ONE CAN NOT BE SERIOUS ABOUT CORRUPTION IF HE DOES NOT INVESTIGATE THIS MATTER, A WHOPPING $40BILLION A YEAR ? ARE WE CRAZY? IF NO ONE INVESTIGATE THIS FACT AND CONTINUE TO BEG IMF ETC FOR MONEY , THEN ...

• Nigro 9 years ago

What do you maen?you pig

• PROFESSOR THOMAS KUBI- McA 9 years ago

NANA AKUFO == THE CHANCE FOR NEW LEADERSHIP== NANA IS INVITED****
    =======================================
    WWW.CUSTOMERMETRO.COM
    PROFESSOR THOMAS KUBI( FOUNDER )
    GHANA MARKETING COUNCIL

• AMIDINI 9 years ago

This is an advice to all citizens of Ghana that politicians are using ignorant citizens for their selfish interest. A country like Ghana don't a loan either from IMF, China, WB, or USA for developmental projects b'se God has ...

• Ngi 9 years ago

Its so painful that tremendous effort of this nature into these findings do not yield any attention. The culprits are in control...so who cares.

• Boss 9 years ago

It´s political fraud

• Pabro Correa 9 years ago

THE NDC PARTY IS FULL OF LOW GRADE POLITICIANS LIKE John Mahama & some shallow thinking, create, loot and share Ministers & some FOOLISH FOLLOWERS. O Lord I pray for Mother Ghana, that you reduce the number of FOOLISH VOTERS ...

• Sodayi 9 years ago

And how much is the total GDP of Ghana?

• Kwaku A. Danso 9 years ago

My friend,
    Stop this partisan analysis. This is a problems of discipline and public theft, and it cuts across both parties. All the politicians use the ports to clear cars and goods without paying and and that is how Ghana A ...

• Robbie 9 years ago

There are no effective checks and balances in our Public sectors that is why individuals can dupe the whole country of huge sums of money and go free. Its a shame that the proper measures since time immemorial have still not ...

• Sparrow 9 years ago

It's a lie, u mean 40 billion dollars annually with the size of our economy.Na lie.

• Jojo Hammond, New Jersey 9 years ago

Without denying that revenue collecting agencies in Ghana are one of the most, if not the most, corrupt public agencies, has anyone read the headline again? What is Ghana's GDP? How can just a section of the ecenomy/sector b ...

• Bob 9 years ago

We do not have a democracy,what we have thieves from both two major parties runing our Government. AMMA Ghana is in trouble.

• adanko 9 years ago

$40 billion not possible . Prove it!!!!!

• nii nii niiiii 9 years ago

Nothing good comes out of Ghana.Thieves everywhere.there is no way Gh will develop in a million years.thank God I left.So embarrassing.What s country

• jt 9 years ago

Mr, this not new the problem of Ghana is ndc and npp plus some old lord fathers of corruption this group of Ghanians find it difficult to stay without corrupt monies. And to make things worse the prz is becoming a problem t ...

• Oba Nyansani Baako Pe ln Ghana! 9 years ago

NDC as a political party is worse ever in the world. All of them need to be killed one by one. From JJ to the Foot soldiers!

• Amadu 9 years ago

kjhlkpk

• BENONY TONY AMEKUDZI, ESQ. 9 years ago

DEAR YAHOO.COM CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER AND YAHOO.COM COMMUNITY,

IT IS VERY REGRETTABLE THAT A CRIMINAL AGAIN ENCHROACED UPON MY "tonyamekudzi@Yahoo.com> E-MAIL SITES FOR NO APPARENT REASONS, THERETO
    THAT THE QUESTION THER ...

• Bobby Martins 9 years ago

Why not kicked out all the Clearing Agents from the Ports. They are the course of under invoicing. Clearing agents are even richer than most politicians. Importers are ready to pay taxes to Goat than those called Clearing Age ...

• Bobby Martins 9 years ago

Importers are ready to pay direct to government than to the so called Clearing Agents.

• Ayivor 9 years ago

Fighting corruption alone without building infrastructure will even make us better off

• TK- Norway 9 years ago

I think The Port agents are not the axes of theft, but rather the custom officers. They encourage theft as they work aline with the agents.Why do we need agents to clear our goods ? In Europe no any agent. The custom and exci ...

• Emmanuel Attah 9 years ago

God safe Ghana

• kutsii. 9 years ago

More than that. Can the Customs officers tell us where they got all those monies for their big mansions. A country that admires thieves. Ask the Ghapoha workers how they put up thier mansions. Ask the clearing agents how they ...

• MODIBO 9 years ago

That is a bigger picture. Look. The small markets in some of our regional capitals if managed well(revenue-wise) can cater for development and Central Governments will not need to send any District Assembly's Common Fund for ...

• Kwame Angel 9 years ago

On of the things Atta Mills did when he became president was to put the so-called National Security men at the Harbors. I have just returned from Tema Harbor. Hell, go and see how much money - dry cash - they are grabbing fro ...

• Ray Parker 9 years ago

Where from this rubbish. How much is total trade between Ghana and her partners. Does this guy know what he's talking about.

• Dessie 9 years ago

How will Ghana custom and port authority avoid that scenario; my opinion; the agency must stop cash at hand business..all invoices must be digitize:.. There must be centralize data collecting all information.all hand written ...

• Jim 9 years ago

We need another JJ dont We? Tell me people

• Jim 9 years ago

I mean another 1979

• J.Davis 9 years ago

I AM DEEPLY SADDENED TO HEAR THAT GHANA LOOSES $30-$40 BILLIONS A YEAR THROUGH FRAUDULENT INVOICES OF REVENUE COLLECTIONS AND YET WE ARE AT THE DOOR STEPS OF IMF BEGGING FOR JUST $1BILLION.AHH!THIS IS BEYOND NORMAL HUMAN BEHA ...

• Paa Joe 9 years ago

IF THE PUBLIC SECTOR IN GHANA IS STILL BASED ON SAME PRIMITIVE STRUCTURE HANDED TO US BY THE DEPARTING BRITISH ADMINISTRATION, FIFTY NINE YEARS AGO, IT STILL GIVES ROOM TO CRIMINAL PUBLIC OFFICIALS AND POLITICIANS TO MANIPULA ...

• The Independent voice 9 years ago

Let us be serious. What is Ghana ' s total imports for the year. How do you come up with a figure of $40 billion. Please check your facts before getting so excited to put out such a bogus figure.

• Koo Siaw 9 years ago

Go ask the Germans to us how to do it,period!

• DENTERN 9 years ago

PEOPLE IN POWER CAPABLE OF STOPPING THE FRAUD ARE PART OF THE SCHEME. SO WHAT DO YOU THINK? AND WE HAVE A COWARD PRESIDENT WHO CANNOT ACT. SO THE BEST THING IS TO VOTE HIM OUT

• dani 9 years ago

HE DIDNOT FINISH RAISING TAXES AND FEES AND HIGHER VAT RATES

• Koo Siaw 9 years ago

He's just a braggart, wants fame and recognition

• mr. tee spoon 9 years ago

so is Ghana an independent country? I don't think so.we always depends on others for help, but look the money we are losing. our leaders are so wicked and selfish.

• penbook 9 years ago

How can Ghana thrive if the evil men and women (tax collectors) in the country do not repent? these people are bane to the country and they need to be fired