You are here: HomeNews2015 03 22Article 351394

Sack Abetifi Presby SHS Headmistress - Human Rights Centre demands

Read Comments Comments (80)

• asiedu nkets 9 years ago

They are not jhs students. the punisent is ok except for the canning.

• Kofi Ata, Cambridge, UK 9 years ago

Asiedu, the degrading and inhuman treatment is wrong, unconstitutional and can never be right just because they are JHS students. First and foremost, they are human and the headmistress should be ashamed of her actions. I sup ...

• Adubea 9 years ago

Very sad to read this piece from you. I think you stoop too low in your analysis by attacking, wrongly, the personality of the Headmistress. If she is starved of sex, you think she would seek gratification in seeing teenage ...

• OSEI TAWIAH 9 years ago

I agree with you, Adubea. I think the lady acted on passion and not out of cruelty. This is a very common problem with women, which often compromise their leadership role in society. I think she deserves a punishment herself ...

• B FRANCA 9 years ago

I don't see anything wrong with their punishments. It is this human rights nonsense that is rather destroying our youth. Every youth think they have rights. Why were they absent when it is part of school rules to be at assemb ...

• kk 9 years ago

My dear even the canning is ok the bible does not forbids canning, the says spare the rod and spoils the child, those of us who attended old fashioned school, I mean the form five and the sixth form we saw worse than this, t ...

• OSEI TAWIAH 9 years ago

The problem here in my opinion, is the nakedness, and not really about the punishment, but corporal punishment is also not acceptable. There are so many other forms of punishment for a student such as weeding or cleaning at t ...

• Freeman 9 years ago

Ghana is secular state. Corporal punishment and its excesses is child abuse. We are a modern state and we are evolving as a people. Corporal punishment is barbaric and the ministry of education must enforce its abolition. The ...

• Sammy UAS 9 years ago

freeman God have mercy on your ignorance.

• Barbie 9 years ago

oh B Franca yea punishment is right but not so harsh like this. in their boxers, oh

• Freeman 9 years ago

B Franca the headmistress was wrong to humiliate the boys by parading them in their boxer shorts and then giving each of them 10 lashes. The only offense of the boys is their failure to attend morning devotion. First of all, ...

• Hon Amadu Adamu in Amantin Brong Ahaf 9 years ago

Teachers should be the very people assisting uneducated ones in interpretation of the national laws but they are rather the most stupid and foolish people the nation ever employed. The common human rights in the constitution ...

• Nana adjoa 9 years ago

Amadu u rada e most idiot person, who e hell do u think u r? Jx open yr stinking mouth n insult teachers, u dey craze, do u no e wk teachers do? If teachers dnt wk well do u no e number of arm robbers n tricksters we will hv? ...

• King David 9 years ago

Oh! no, if Indeed she did that then is not fair at all. This act reminds me what one of my friends went through at college. They call out Kudosco, where are you? He replys them, am NAKED.

• Kwadwo 9 years ago

Human right ! Human right! The children of our dear nation and Ghana will rot on your head

• Potash 9 years ago

Which characters are calling for the dismissal of the headmistress ? Which socalled right group ? They should ask the parents of those students whether they're angry. Nonsense

• King David 9 years ago

My brother, I belief you have been taught by a teacher before? If an headmistress and some of her staff misbehave, you can express your views without insulting all teachers. Let's take away insults when expressing our opinion ...

• dj 9 years ago

im even shocked and he calls himself an honourable very immature post from such a person u dont go about generalising things when as a matter of fact a few people have been caught in that web next time be matured and dont spe ...

• Kwadwo 9 years ago

And he called himself honourable ? God save us

• Nana adjoa 9 years ago

Of cos u guys shd guess e party he might be e honourable to.

• GHANABA 9 years ago

She should be sack and not to teach again or work with children. She is abuser and any civilized person will not defend her. When I was a kid we used to ambush teachers like her and beat the hell out of them.

• Nana adjoa 9 years ago

My brother if we tell u wat teachers goes tru in e upbring of this teenagers, u wil marvel, they r jx stubborn n adamant, dey dnt heed to any advic, espcially dos teachin at shs, its only God, go to classes, dey wnt go, devot ...

• Close Observer 9 years ago

President Mahamakeep the good work going and dont look back, forward we go.

• Close Observer 9 years ago

IT WILL TAKE SOMEONE WITH MUCH MORE INTELLIGENCE TO IMPERSONATE ME. THE SHOES ARE JUST TOO BIG FOR YOU.

''We have been vice presidents for far too long, it is time you make ONE OF YOUR OWN president.'' - John Mahama
    WHAT ...

• joojo 9 years ago

Human what rights? These are the idiots who are making things difficult for mother Ghana.
    She did the right thing.Some of these students do not respect school rules and smoke ganja instead of taking their lessons seriously.

• Abby 9 years ago

the white man used canning to control us because they felt we were savages, yet in this 21 st century our own people are still using this form of punishment on our kids.The Whole system is messed up. Stop canning and find alt ...

• Saint Ghfuo: Nyantakyi must go! 9 years ago

There are other forms of.punishment like doing chores, detention,.suspensions, exclusions from school events etc. There is no need to beat other people's kids. Go and treat your kids like slaves, not mines

• Nana adjoa 9 years ago

Then keep yr chn at home n teach them, perhaps u can get private teacher for her, apostle kwadwo safo did same to his chn, dey shd nt use cane on yr kids u wil get e type of leaders u r expecting too.

• polobolo 9 years ago

Abby, the bible says spare the rod and spoil the child. Agyimi s3m bata abofra koma ho. This human rights nonsense is leading us to moral decadence. This is rather what the white man is currently using to destroy our society ...

• Stephen Abusah 9 years ago

The woman should not be sacked at all, everybody is talking about the sack of the woman and nobody is talking about the behaviour of those students. Do you think the woman is mad? Do you know what she goes through by warning ...

• Saint Ghfuo: Nyantakyi must go! 9 years ago

This headers very stupid. This is not punishment. Thisnis simply an attempt to dehumanize human beings. Is she a feminist. Or male hater? She must lose her job and even jailed 1 yr for such stupidity. I always say ghana is st ...

• CONCERN 9 years ago

THIS HEADMISTRESS SHOULD STAY AT HER POST,WHICH HUMAN RIGHT? CANNING AND THIS TYPE OF DISCIPLINE HAVE ALWAYS BEEN PART OF OUR SCHOOL SYSTEM FROM TIME IN MEMORIAL. THIS BOYS ARE BAD, GANJA AND OTHER ILLICIT DRUGS AND GIRLS CHA ...

• Mensah 9 years ago

The headmistress should rather be promoted to a higher level to instill discipline in all the schools in her district.

I completely agree with you; she needs to be promoted instead. Well-done, Madam, we need more of your kind in our country. Those fools calling themselves human right idiots, needed a headmistress of your kind to teach them to ...

• Truth 9 years ago

I agree with you; she need to be promoted. What at all is wrong with we Ghanaians? Are we blind or death? Don't we see how rebellious and immoral our youths have become?
    So called human rights

• sul 9 years ago

DID THEY COME TO SCHOOL FOR DEVOTIONS???

• Judcrislam 9 years ago

It is parochial school. They knew it and chose to go there. I went to Mfantsipim and Prempeh College and loves whatever the schools gave me. Including discipline and my devotion to God and man. I got all my ethical values f ...

• dave 9 years ago

This call is frivolous and mischievous. All we know is human rights but nothing about human responsibility. I urge all teachers to lay down their tools and let those rights advocates go and teach the students.

• dom 9 years ago

Nonsense. what human right?
    that is why students of today are not performing. there are no discipline in our schools

• Y B 9 years ago

CLEANSHIELD, Amazing health product for everyone, All Natural Alkaline supplement from US specially and scientifically designed to clean inner Ocean clear stomach toxins, as well as unwonted substances in the body like virus ...

• Guell 9 years ago

Why should this singular act alone lead to her dismissal? Does the GES prepare teachers for headship position when appointed? A two- week workshop on management of schools where issues like human rights violations, getting th ...

• Moh UK 9 years ago

Human Right Centre please demand Mahama and NDC sack

• Nana adjoa 9 years ago

Yesoo my dear, dey hv eyes bt cnt see, hw mahama is sitting on our right, go n ask for their release, idiot all u no is human right, human right, fish!

• amoah 9 years ago

i am surprise this primitive punishment is still going on in Ghana.

i remember getting flogged on my bare behind back in the 70s in the same town, in another school (abetifi boarding school)
    by one Master Aboagye ( i hop ...

• polobolo 9 years ago

Amoah, the bible encourages us to use the rod as Christians. The Holy Bible is primitive but the precepts of God has no time limit. GIRLS SITE! Thanks to Mr. Aboagye. You would have impregnated NYARKOA and afterwards ask her ...

• Aklig Caringson 9 years ago

The world is undergoing destruction because of frivolous organisation.Did you go to find out how long these ill-bred students refused to take orders? If they were caught in their boxer shorts what is wrong with they being pun ...

• Mensah 9 years ago

It is these useless groups that are promoting and fanning indiscipline in Ghana. Leave the educator alone to instill discipline on her students, and change the immoral behaviour that has engulfed the country

• Abuseis adjabeng 9 years ago

HRAC is Rosemary Nana Oye Litor's NGO and it is asking the headmistress to be sacked eh? They should find about the inhumane, autocratic, despotism, intimidation, abuse of human rights that Rosemary NanaOye is exhibiting at t ...

• Nana adjoa 9 years ago

Aboagye is oyr lithur call rosemary too? Haaahaaahaa hv nt heard dt one, i wnt doubt u cos i heard frm close person dt her house help is nt treted well, meanwhile she always makes noise of human right, shes behind dis gay and ...

• He Goat 9 years ago

Lucky that they were not even suspended. I remember vividly when I was in school on the ridge in the 80s.Staying in the dormitory during social gatherings was an offence that was considered very serious and u were lucky if u ...

• Onuabea 9 years ago

What is the headmistress a mother? Can she do the same thing to her own children? Yes, the students need to punished but not this inhuman way. She shd be sanctioned. She shd try on my child and see where I will take her to.

• Ghanaman 9 years ago

This so called Headmistress is a sadist and not a disciplinarian as she would have us believe! She most likely had a secret fantasy watching those poor boys in their boxer shorts!! As a former ASP/Assembly Monitor at a top se ...

• HAZOR 9 years ago

Sacking Abetifi SHS headmistress it self is a human right abuse.The Bible or the good old book says"lack of knowledge my people destroy"and at the same time the same book also said"spare the child a rod and you tolerate nonse ...

• Azigi 9 years ago

Please my brothers and sisters u r misreading this is not jss students they are SHS they are old enough to no better and the article didn't even mention what they did so we shouldn't to dismisse the headmistress we been there ...

• SHABBA 9 years ago

I feel pity for the so called Human rights koomi nii ni. APSEC was my formal alma mata 94 yr group even those days we were stubborn yet we were very determined for our reason and our achievement n also disciplined. why must ...

• SHABBA 9 years ago

There was nothing like Boxers at the forecourt of the assembly hall it was only one student who was indisposed of boil ( pompor )whom the senior house master brought to the forecourt of the assembly hall together with the res ...

• Yaw P 9 years ago

Don't mind them. We love our Mama Charl with her caring and smiling nature. Mama Charl as I know her would not stop so low. She loves human beings and socialises easily with all. If she did that it was unfortunate but the sol ...

This so-called human right fools should leave us in peace. They seem not to have real jobs to do for a living. Idiots!

• GHANABA 9 years ago

She should be sack and not employed to teach or work with children. She is abuser and those of you who support her need your brains examined. In my days teachers like her are ambushed and given their own medicine.

• Judcrislam 9 years ago

We all remember people who have had positive influence in our lives by correcting you in some unusual circumstances. When you turn and look at your accomplishments in life you say Mr. Kube was right in punishing to correct me ...

• maame 9 years ago

GO TO THE UNITED STATES WHERE HUMAN RIGHT REIGNS. I REMEMBER IN CLASS ONCE (EDUCATION CLASS) WE WERE DISCUSSING THE PROBLEMS WITH THE YOUTH. THIS WAS IN THE UNITED STATES. ONE OF MY CLASSMATES OVERWHELMED BY WHAT WAS HAPPE ...

• Judcrislam 9 years ago

We are a sovereign nation. We should always invoke our sovereign immunity when confronting foreign intrusion. This foreign intrusion has been the cause of problems in Africa. We have to standup against the so called Western ...

• Freeman 9 years ago

The headmistress' action was stupid and excessive. She had several other options to apply as a consequence for the boys cutting morning devotion. It is not true that students from mission schools are more successful than thei ...

• Nana Effah 9 years ago

Human Rights, you have nothing to do. In our school days, we suffered more humiliations than what you are complaining about. We received cane lashes in our bare hands, buttocks, thighs. On one occasions, a girl lost her beads ...

• Nii Joromi 9 years ago

I won't allow any stupid educator to parade my child almost naked in front of an entire school. There are limits when it comes to discipline. The lashes we got those days were wrong anyway and nobody stood against it. Times a ...

• Nii Joromi 9 years ago

Most of the heads of schools are idiots who still have a primitive mentality of discipline. heads have to be re-trained and face legal action if they continue to abuse these kids.

• Laarbik, Bimbico. 9 years ago

The activities have failed in weighing the effects of their prescription on countless children under the care of the headmistress. Does she have the right to livelihood? How many people will stop abuses to children because of ...

• Sibruku Tifalo 9 years ago

THIS HAS BEEN THE SYSTEM TO PUNISH STUBBORN KIDS FOR YEARS AND IF ANY THING THE GHANA EDUC.SERV. MUST COME OUT WITH NEW RULES.-WHY SACK THE HEADMISTRESS? OUR KIDS ARE NOW GETTING ROTTEN BCOS OF THESE SO CALLED FOOLS OF THE HU ...

• Benny 9 years ago

Why shuld the headmistress be sacked. Nonsence she is putting discipline in our youth. People who have never been teachers before write nonsence. Sack sack and it is done.the headmistress has to be congratulated. Leave this H ...

• Emml Accra 9 years ago

Human right indeed!!! Those trumpeting it, should do same for human responsibilities!!!
    Those calling for the sack of the headmistress should spend just 30 mins with the students in the school setting
    I tell you they will ...

• Mandela 9 years ago

sometimes, we are nt able to control our own children's in our homes.hw much more 1500, students.don't let blame the headmistress , alone.in the first place, why they didn't go......

• KWESI NII FIO 9 years ago

SO WHAT IS THE MODERATOR OF THE PRESBYTERIAN CHURCH, REV. PROF MARTEY'S VIEW/S. ON THIS? I BET HE CAN SOLVE ALL THESE INHAMANE-PHYSICAL, EMOTIONAL AND MENTAL ATROCITIES IN THE PRESBYTERIAN CHURCH AND SCHOO;S IN 3 MONTHS. FOOL ...

• Kwabena Ansa 9 years ago

The Human Rights Advocacy Centre(HRAC) I think have lost their minds for them to ask for the dismissal of Madam Charlotte Asante as the Headmistress of Abetifi Presbyterian Senior High School for asking some male students to ...

• Freeman 9 years ago

The headmistress' action was excessive and stupid. She had several other options. She needs to be disciplined. Separate church activities from school activities. Worship should not be compulsory. Respect the rights of our chi ...

• vincent 9 years ago

It only pains me that those defending the act do not have their children among. Ghanaians complain only when it is done to them. To others it is ok. Poor Ghana.

• vincent 9 years ago

What will happen if the guys organize and do same to her.

• Akoto Adjei Alexander 9 years ago

some of U ppl sit in de comfort of ur offices n write big grammar. have U tried finding out de true story in de first place?

1. did de said headmistress strip de students half naked?

2. wat led to de action?

3. whe ...

• kunta_kunte 9 years ago

my headmistress is not doing the the right thing ...

• george sackey frimpong 9 years ago

I'm a student at abetifi presbyterian shs,,and DX issue x not true bcos the mistress didn't do that. the students wer already in their boxer short s when they were paraded 2 the assemble grounds. it was a teacher hu did DAT i ...

• O.J 9 years ago

The headmistress must be sacked cause she is a witch, devil, demon, why should the school be under autocratic leadership please GES sack the headmistress,sir julius and okechuku cause these people are just wicked and infringi ...