You are here: HomeNews2015 03 19Article 351071

‘Dumsor’ attracting foreign investors - Spio-Garbrah

Read Comments Comments (130)

• koki 9 years ago

Electricity could be got from various sources and not just one.

• kk 9 years ago

I really admired and respected Spio untill now. How can you say that dumsor is what is bringing investors to town. That means the ndc will never solve the problem. Shame on you Spio.

• Micks 9 years ago

He only said it has attracted foreign investors willing to address the problem... And to him it looks like a win win situation if we were to consider it... GH journalists write stories to suit them.

• Mensa Sarpong 9 years ago

You are missing the point. There are investors in the country with interests in the energy sector.

• Apraku 9 years ago

Why should we always rely on foreign investors? Is it that the blackman can't think or we are forever doomed to be stupid? Is it advantageous for our deficit to attract foreign investors?

Why can't we de-regulate the energ ...

• fiifi 9 years ago

Talk is Cheap!

• ZoRRo 9 years ago

The government creates a need situation by its lack of foresight. Then invites foreign investors to help solve the problem, and then government officials get their precentages in bribes. How can this country develop ?

• Zoobie-Zoobie 9 years ago

ask the Minister of Trade (knows nothing about trade) and the dead goat

• Gye Nyame 9 years ago

These ministers take these expensive trips to look for investors so must justify the essence of the trip. When are the foreign investors coming? Ghana desperately needs to end dumsor.

• God Help Ghana 9 years ago

It seems there is no need to "create" now. Dumsor exists already so all NDC needs to do is to loot and share in the name of Dumsor!!!

Thanks to fake doctor Spew-Garbage for the clarification.

• BBC NEWS! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 9 years ago

The useless former AG/ MARTIN AMIDU is just a pathetic liar and HYPOCRITE , who deserved to be hang on top of Village by his tiny balls between his thighs.

• Close Observer 9 years ago

People of La Dadekotopon, I have a thought to share with you. I send you my best regards. (mii hany3 omanye) I believe there are a lot of very respectful and decent people among you who are very worried about what your 'MOUTH ...

• Close Observer 9 years ago

People of La Dadekotopon, I have a thought to share with you. I send you my best regards. (mii hany3 omanye) I believe there are a lot of very respectable and decent people among you who are very worried about what your 'MOUT ...

• TEE 9 years ago

.FOREIGNERS NDC THIEVES SHAME PERIOD

• TEE 9 years ago

PERIOD

• Komla Agbeshie ( Ho ) 9 years ago

The dead goat and his ministers must stop this nonsense and fix the Dum Sor.

• Gye Nyame 9 years ago

Ghana is the "Second-highest penetration of power to the general population, at 76% of the population" Really? Hmmm.... electric lines with no power eh! Even Accra is a problem so why go boast about something that does not me ...

• MS (Mensa Sarpong) 9 years ago

Come off it, you can do better than that.

• Obaa Yaa 9 years ago

Read to understand not just to talk thrash.

• DR TRUTH 9 years ago

IS MAHAMA AND NDC WAITING FOR MANNA TO FALL FROM HEAVEN WHILE THEY SIT ALOOF LAZ I LY? CANT GHANA SEND PEOPLE TO CHINA TO LEARN HOW TO MANUFACTURE SOLA PANELS?

• Efovi 9 years ago

Kk,you must read to understand.Foreign investors see an opportunity to invest to help solve the Dumsor problem.put your thinking Cap on my friend

• KWAA 9 years ago

How can this man describe dumsor as an opportunity,Infact we are in trouble.How can a situation like dumsor which has wiped out about half of private work force be describe as an opportunity?A situation which,if we have compe ...

Wake up and smell the coffee. There is a new game in town. Potential for growth in the energy sector can not be overstated.

• OSEI TAWIAH 9 years ago

Potential for growth in energy sector,and you think these investors are idiots? They always play to win the game and if they lose, they have their own power brokers behind them who can suffocate Ghana. Why do we have to put o ...

• SGT ANANI FIADZOE 9 years ago

People like Martin Amidu just want publicity and are prepared to dine with the devil. Now he has met his match: Tony Litur will teach him one or two lessons in law.

• BOLDMAN 9 years ago

WHY DO PEOPLE WITH THESE NAMES ALWAYS SUPPORT THIEVES.WHO IS THIS TLITHUR?.MY FOOT!.WHAT LESSONS IN LAW DOES THIS JUGDEMENT DEBTS LAWYER KNOWS?.HE IS JUST A CRIMINAL AND NOTHING ELSE.WHAT TROKOSIS KNOW BEST IS TO DEFEND AND P ...

• Kay Agyapong 9 years ago

Blacks hate the truth.Someone is uncovering the truth and what u can do is link it to the law game?is a shame.Lithur is already backed by government so he's bold enough to dare a legal challenge whether wrong or right

• Paa Kwesi 9 years ago

why is there the need to partner with foreigner always. Can't we be proud to own our own electricity?

• fiifi 9 years ago

Who generated that electricity you call "our own"?? And who built even the "sources of electrical energy" we are now calling "our own"?? Do you(we) have the means to go solo???

• nana yaw sunshine. 9 years ago

Do something quick about it to redeem your party.

• Goldcoaster 9 years ago

Personally, I think it would be interesting if those proposing solutions would find a way to help manage the crisis if one way or the other is adopted. Otherwise, corruption would step in as usual and we would get nowhere.

Local partners can also seize opportunity. Local business, stand up and be counted.

• Peacemaker 9 years ago

Positive results from dumsor. Ugly akuffo addo shd organizd a foolish demostration fo dis one too.

• DEAD GOAT MAHAMA KILLED MILLS 9 years ago

KWASIAMAN!! IF THAT'S THE BEST SITUATION, THEN WE MUST AS WELL CUT POWER, WATER, FUEL,NETWORK ETC COMPLETELY!! THAT'S WHEN WE WILL GET ALL INVESTORS IN THE WORLD FLOCKING TO GHANA!!! NONSENSE!!!

That is fatalistic. Look on the brighter side.

• Ayivor 9 years ago

Investors are coming because they have seen that NDC can't even solve a single basic problem.They want our money.This is not a positive sign.Only foolish and lazy people will take credit for this.

No! no!! no!!!
    Every investor, foreign or local, looks 4 opportunities to make more money.

• sweet mouth mahama. 9 years ago

oh ohh oooh when wil u ppl realise u ar been fooled as well.' a sick goat is not considered as a dead goat so wait fr yr soo called lovers of dumsor to cm. an ugly man is better than a dead goat.

• joe 9 years ago

Nkrumah was really alone in being a visionary. Now, we are looking at foreigners to fix our problems. Might as well go back to the Colonial days.

• Edward Darko 9 years ago

No to Colonial rule. Yes to a determined population that comes together to find solutions to national problems.

• ADAMU 9 years ago

This NDC government has no shame! You create a huge problem (dumsor) in the country to attract foreign investments and you feel so proud of it as a minister. Are you insane, Spio???

• ... 9 years ago

Challe the guy is crazy. Its very bad. these guys are selling all our national assetts

• kutsii. 9 years ago

Ask Kufuor who created the energy problem? K4 was supposed to add 1800MW in 8yrs. Go ask ur damn mother fucker if K4 even provided 500MW. After this 'dumshit' is rectified, then we shall explain 'na who cause am'. Nonsense

• Encrypted Codecs 9 years ago

You have serious issues boy. You should go to hospital!!

• Joe 9 years ago

So, is dumsor a blessing after all?

• Ayivor 9 years ago

Inverstors need money. Can the poor Ghanaian afford it in the long run? You wait and see.

• osei bonsu Ahmed 9 years ago

and you are saying its positive results? hahaha! use your brain I say use your brain

• MAD COBRA 9 years ago

Joe your brain cells are dead you need psychiatric help seriously.

• Tibaa 9 years ago

I am deeply saddened and disappointed by Spio. I have always looked at him as a very sensible guy, but with the statement that Ghana's nightmare of darkness is positive because it has attracted foreign direct investment.

I ...

• evangelist akwasi awuah 9 years ago

shameless Ndc,Ghana is 58 years old now and we are still struggling with energy crisis when others have been to the moon and back 100 times,FOOLS.

• Peacemaker 9 years ago

U are the promised messia that can take us to canan(better ghana)

• Kofi Wayo Teye BaakaJnr 9 years ago

We forget the majority of the poor are NDC supporters. Can they pay for the fuel cost to power these gensets. This Spio Garbra must think of other means. The poor cannot pay for the cost. Nonsense

• Nana Addo 9 years ago

i want to form my own party called NATIONAL PROBLEMS PARTY....NPP

• Nana Addo 9 years ago

am interested.

• Ayivor 9 years ago

Tribalism and hatred is your problem

• care 9 years ago

some people where born negetive and will die negetive, because they critisize every thing, sometimes its good to learn how to speak possitive for your country. thanks.

• ... 9 years ago

What a ridiculous statement. It's not new nor free. Making it sound as if Ghana has tapped into something new. There have been schemes for many many years but they have all been squandered. Our very own VRA is messed up - in ...

• Ekow Samuel - Paris. 9 years ago

Let it be the ligt for them, God bless in Jesus name.

• me 9 years ago

And so Spio, are you proud of that? Please you are better than this.

• son of sons 9 years ago

ah is this man serious?

• Danny Kilpatrick (PHD) 9 years ago

Stop calling him DR because he isn't. If he wants he can earn it like the rest of us. Honorary doctorate degrees are just that....honorary. Stop this nonsense and address him as Mr. Spio Garbrah.

• Tibaa 9 years ago

It is no easy writing a comprehensive examination, presenting a dissertation proposal, writing, and defending it.

• Alex 9 years ago

Because of corrupt Mahama and incompetent ECG, no investor is interested in the Energy Sector for now. Buy fuel for the power producers and you will get energy or ECG should pay generators their money and everything will be f ...

• assemblymember,ahafo-ano south 9 years ago

Peacemaker,your grammar is poor.Go back to classroom

• Peacemaker 9 years ago

Villager, are we marking grammar here? No wonder u are from tuobodom BA.

• Rastero 9 years ago

The leaders in power should not look at these alternatives as a means of harvesting their cocoa. If they lack wisdom, they should consult the national plan that Nkrumah left behind so that we explore all these alternatives to ...

• Ayivor 9 years ago

This is what he is

• jamal 9 years ago

Talk talk, cheap talk to justify his trip n tell mahama that he is working

• Marc 9 years ago

you ppl in ghana sit and wait whiles you national assests are sold. And once foreign get hold of electricity please remember that things like charges and tarrif will be set by them and I guarantee you that even if the dumsor ...

• FOOLS ABANDON THEIR CULTURE 9 years ago

WE SCHOOL TO PRODUCE NOTHING APART FROM READ AND WRITE ENGLISH . WE ARE EMPTY HEAD NO SENSE . WHY CAN'T WE FIX DUMSOR OUR SELF IF INDIA , BRAZIL ,SOUTH AFRICA AND TURKEY CAN FIX IT ? AS WE KNOW TURKEY , BRAZIL ,AND CHINA DOE ...

• Pancho 9 years ago

Another useless bastard. Propaganda to the highest esteem

• TEE 9 years ago

INCOMPETENT USELESS CLUELESS THIEVES NDC PERIOD

• James Yeboah 9 years ago

Dr Spio, are you stupid. This is just creating humour out of serious crisis. Ghanaian politicians are fools. We sit down for the problems to get worse without finding last solutions and then we go to the international forum ' ...

• me ooooooooo 9 years ago

Shame on you spio is this what you are telling Ghanaians

• van damme,den haag 9 years ago

because of my affiliation with some africans,i cannot think good for them but stupid.one day ,we will fuke all your wives for you because you can not think for yourself.

• Abigi 9 years ago

You have dams, you have thermal plants, and other means of generating power, instead making use of them to generate power, you are out there claiming investors are coming with the intent to generate power. What do you do with ...

• Kamny 9 years ago

It does not matter who fixes our power crisis all that matters we want this canker which has plagued our nation from regime to regime is resolved for the benefit of all.We don't want any bandaging solution but a lasting resol ...

• asonaba kofi 9 years ago

our leaders must always have the interest of the nation at heart and forego petty political gamemanships and always strife to use the best talents available to move the country forward. spio is one of our best talents who was ...

• Mensa Sarpong 9 years ago

Thank you Dr. Spio Garbrah for making Ghanaians realize that wealth creation and prosperity is close-by. We only have to gain knowledge about processing the resources that abound in our communities.

• Abeeku Mensah 9 years ago

Is the honorable Spio-Garbrah telling Ghanaians that despite all the monies Ghana's governments, from J.J. Rawlings through J.A.Kufour to John Mahama, have invested into this fiasco of Ghana power have all been for not and ne ...

• DEPORT FOREIGN MUSLIMS 9 years ago

QUALITY DO COUNT . GHANAIANS HAS SURFERED ENOUGH THEREFORE WE NEED GOOD COMPANY FROM ONE OF THIS COUNTRIES USA , GERMANY , BRITISH , DENMARK OR HOLLAND . WE DON'T NEED MADE IN INDIA ,CHINA BRIZIL AND TURKEY.

• OKOROMANSA 9 years ago

IS THIS SPIO GARBRAH SPEAKING? GOD SAVE OUR GHANA OR THIS GUY TO CONCEDE THAT DUMSOR IS ATTRACTING INVESTORS TO GHANA. AND SPIO SEES THIS AS A CREDIT TO HIS GGOVT OR WHAT? MAHAMA HAS BEEN SPEWING A LOT OF CHILDISH STUFF RECEN ...

• LEO 9 years ago

THELIGHTMUSTBEOFFINTHEDAY

• NANA USA 9 years ago

ONLY FOOLS WILL REASON LIKE THIS . IF DUMSOR ,ATTRACTS INVESTORS THEN WHY NOT TOTAL BLACKOUT

• Brofo 9 years ago

Solve the problem and stop the stories.

• apuuu 9 years ago

Here we go again another scambag with his controversy comments Spio when did US Germany and China told you they're going to invest in dumsor all this year's they never said that until you shows up if they want to invest they ...

• edem 9 years ago

Handover the government too to the foreign investors. Shameless NDC.

• oppong london 9 years ago

when will Ghana stop borrowing n stand on her own?i think that crap country had independence for nothing,no western help ,no living.

• Joe Turkey 9 years ago

DR. Garbrah? Which Dr. Garbrah? The man is never a Dr. by any acceptable standards. He just woke up one morning and started referring to himself as Dr. because some black mushroom university honored him. "Dr". Rawlings and "D ...

• USA 9 years ago

An honorary doctoral degree is society’s way of thanking or recognizing the individual for his or her efforts that have caused a great change. He deserves the honorary degree. Everyone is entitled to have their name be what ...

• USA 9 years ago

Well, Mr. Spio Grabrah is intelligent enough to know the difference between an honorary degree and academic degree. I do not believe that he has asked or forced anyone to call or refer to him as Dr., so please, leave him alon ...

• Kwame Angel 9 years ago

Spio Garbrah sounds as if digging yourself into a hole and having volunteers to dig you out is, by itself, an achievement.

• Orlando 9 years ago

Listen to htis one too. These NDC politicians are so ignorant and backward that it beggars belief. They speak and belief like illiterates. They are a bunch of 'BUSH People'

• Awuradebasa 9 years ago

What a stupid name this man has??
    SPIO-GARBRAH

• Sampson 9 years ago

Stupid name with stupid ideas.They made so much noise about him and he's proving to be as useless as all of them

• Fii 9 years ago

where is the power

• Krachi 9 years ago

Think like humans

• Kanawu 9 years ago

Spio, be pragmatic, you can do better. Proposal doesn't mean a thing

• aku 9 years ago

They've seen money making venture in gh...ghana is dead

• PROFESSOR THOMAS KUBI- McA 9 years ago

WE WILL ESTABLISH KNOWLEDGE
    ==== BANK ==============
    ENTERPRISE GHANA
    ==============================
    WWW.CUSTOMERMETRO.COM
    PROFESSOR THOMAS KUBI ( FOUNDER )
    AFRIKA MARKETING COUNCIL ====

• a.k, amsterdam 9 years ago

No doubt that this man is also the son of "dead goat"., people are dying businesses are collapsing day by day and look what this stupid man is saying. NDC as a party is truly bunch of useless people.

• truth 9 years ago

put their coconut TOGETHER? Aba.

• abena kwabena 9 years ago

Why wait till the problem come before you start to look for solution? Could you not see five years ago that the population, cell phone use, families with cars etc will increase? The fact is you have been busy awarding contrac ...

• Joseph Ochere 9 years ago

SHAME ON TO YOU SPIO
    For a country like Ghana, after 58 years of Independence, to tell its citizens that it cannot solve energy problem is a shame.

• DHURUWAH 9 years ago

Where are all the local engineers?

• TIPIRIWO TABIR THEOPHILUS 9 years ago

I LOVE THE WASTE TO ENERGY PROPOSAL.
    THEN SPEED UP !

• SAM 9 years ago

WE SHOULD GET AID FROM MUGAME !

• STEVIE 9 years ago

We are not that naive and gullible. The fools (President Zumah and Co) in South Africa have messed up their electricity system and can't even figure out how they are going to solve it. And now you want us to believe that inve ...

• Aziz 9 years ago

does Spio uses his reasoning at all? what about Ghanaians loosing their job daily?

• JH New York 9 years ago

I was a kid when anything in Ghana was always the first South of the -
    Sahara,now second, South of the Sahara with nothing to show !
    If the leadership cannot resolve that Electricity problems,but expect the so called-foreig ...

• King Kong 9 years ago

Shame on you! I thought you were going to be different from the team B president and the team B ministers. Highly disappointed in you.

• Kaiser 9 years ago

China here we come total domination of Africa in 30 years!

• sam 9 years ago

And what are you doing about it.

• Ebola Dramani 9 years ago

This is supposed to be a SuperStar whose lobbied appointment was greeted with loud music.He could not managed Domonion University College of Duncan Williams.Needs looting of Ghanaian Taxpayers money to survive like Moses Asag ...

• JH New York 9 years ago

I was a kid when anything in Ghana was always the first South of the -
    Sahara,now second, South of the Sahara with nothing to show !
    If the leadership cannot resolve that Electricity problems,but expect the so called-foreig ...

• Sam 9 years ago

So what are you waiting for?

• Sidney 9 years ago

Why too much excuses n lies no u 've no solution or idea abt nothing just buy time n leave

• onyansa ni 9 years ago

ndc with their shallow thinkers

• Worried Ghabaian 9 years ago

Let's then go ahead and destroy our military institutions (security) so that foreign security organisations like BOKO HARAM & ISIS can be attracted to Ghana and take care of our national security for us. BRAVO , SPIO & NDC

• OBIBA JS 9 years ago

Is this a case of "one step forward, two steps backward" or a case of "robbing Peter to pay Paul"? Either way it simply means the situation remains unchanged.

• Arnold 9 years ago

I dont know why Ghana should have this problems. And minister happy foreigners coming to solve dumsor.we have people in Ghana who can help solved this thing long a go .I think government should help people like apostle kwajo ...

WE WERE TOLD THIS WAS THE NEXT BEST BRAIN GHANA HAS. WHAT A MORON. THEY ARE COMMING TO NOT TO INVEST BUT TO PILE MISRY ON US AND OVERCHARGE US WITH THOSE STUPID PUBLIC PRIVATE FINANCE INITIATIVES, WHERE THE INVESTOR DOES NOT ...

• KB 9 years ago

Spio WOTRUMU KANKAN

• ADWOa-LONDON 9 years ago

Ghana should invest in solar energy, as we have plenty of sunshine,instead of relying on the power from the lake and building dams. It will require skili,and the technology for these kind of projects. If Ghana has to take the ...

• Sea blue 9 years ago

Another bonehead, investors are coming to Ghana,to do what chopped the rest of the bone ,because Ghanaians are not capable of themselves .spio do u think dey are so stupid like u to investor in dumsor .

• Akwaaba 9 years ago

Travel Travel Travel
    Contact me if you want to travel to US Canada Australia Japan South Korea Dubai and any European country on 0541702098

• Okomfo, London 9 years ago

This Spio-Garbrah is a disgrace to Ghana.