You are here: HomeNews2015 03 17Article 350778

Ghana secures £33m loan for military aircraft

Read Comments Comments (50)

• kofi nsem 9 years ago

when are we going to pay all these loans ooh Ghana

• facts 9 years ago

All Mahama can secure is loans. Until when shall this government learn of the evils of a debtor and stop taking loans. NDC is hurting the country.

• BBC NEWS! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 9 years ago

My families, my friends and i will give our Nobel VOTE to Present Mahama 2016, JDM4 MORE! !! 4 MORE YEARS! !

• Close Observer 9 years ago

MEMBERS OF OUR LOW GRADE LEGISLATURE (PARLIAMENT) LIKE AMASA NAMOALE DON'T DESERVE THE ACCOLADE ''HONOURABLE'' IF OTHER INTELLIGENT AND MEN AND WOMEN OF INTEGRITY IN PARLIAMENT WANT TO BE RESPECTED, THEY MUST EDUCATE PEOPLE N ...

• Zoobe-Zoobe 9 years ago

yes/No?

• Frank 9 years ago

No electricity, water and sanitation is still in the pre-historic state and look at what we are wasting money on. Over 3 million children cannot go to school because of poverty and we are going to buy fighter planes. Whom are ...

• KK 9 years ago

THE WEST ARE RUSHING IN TO SADDLE GHANA WITH LOANS. WE ARE MOVING BACK TO COLONISATION ECONOMICALLY. THE BIBLE SAYS THAT THE BORROWER IS SERVANT TO THE LENDER. THEY ARE AWARE THAT MAHAMA AND THE NDC ARE STEALING MONEYS YET TH ...

• MAYOR 9 years ago

Whatever Ghanaians propose for our security, those evil minorities will have something wrong against it. Mad Dog Ken Agyepong contribute to stop 3-Billion loan propose to build affordable houses across the nation and turn bac ...

• Senior Wisdom 9 years ago

Loan for aircraft for the army is INSANE. We need loans for fixing our electricity and water supply. That is more important to our security than purchasing an airplane. We either have dumb politicians who have no clue how to ...

• adjei 9 years ago

what kind of mayor are you?did you read the news well? don't be blinded by politics coz there is nothing wrong with the man's statement. WAKE UP AND LIVE.no hard feelings

• HUMANISM 9 years ago

ANOTHER OPPORTUNITY FOR THE NDC CADRES AND THEIR TOP GUNS.

THE MODUS OPERANDI : BORROW, LOOT & SHARE !!!!

• JB Mann 9 years ago

Starrfmonline journalists MUST seriously attend classes!

The fact is that it is either £33 million OR £33,325,126 (witou extra million behind)

• Dziedzom 9 years ago

Can we ever do anything in Ghana under pepeni without a loan?

• BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 9 years ago

SO NOW EVERYTHING IS LOAN? NDC WHERE IS OUR OIL? WHERE IS WOYOMI MONEY? FOOLS

• HAZOR 9 years ago

We have no power to produce jet fuel and we are thinking of military aircraft.What happen to the military aircraft Ghana purchase and the armed robbers jet planes?Is all those parliamentarians brian dead or fools?

• kelewele - Lawra 9 years ago

this case was in court for a long time and now that it has been deceided you are putting the blame on Gov't

• KWAKU 9 years ago

Instead of the present gov`t to gear all attention to arrest the acute energy supply in the country, it is rather sadly borrowing for weapons? Leadership has failed and badly continue to fail Ghana.

• Zoobe-Zoobe 9 years ago

Nothing!!!! Tribalistic, short-sighted visionless dead goat

• Solja 9 years ago

Make your own plane

• Shanton, Adelaide guy 9 years ago

Can't the government rather secure loan for dumsor??? What a wasted leadership

• Ras 9 years ago

Russian government own 60% of
    Vtb- this is the Russian loan discussed months ago. Everyone must have been "made" happy now . So both main parties have money soon to buy the t- shirts for the elections . Oh dear

• Yuu 9 years ago

He is a goat

• kakabo 9 years ago

You borrow E30m and allow somebody to loot $51m. kwasie bi nti.

• GBEWAA 9 years ago

THAT'S HOW KUFUOR CONNIVED WITH VODAFONE, TULLOW AND OTHERS TO DUPE THE STATE OF ITS OIL RESERVES AND TELECOMMS INFRASTRUCTURE, ETC.

KUFUOR EVEN IMPOSED HIS "HENCHMEN" ON GHANA TO KILL THE ECONOMY FOR HIS OWN BENEFIT IN TH ...

• JH New York 9 years ago

My question is: when shall Ghana be able to manage her affairs with little or no foreign loans.
    Again,does it make Sense to go for a loan with interest to do projects,while you keep part of Oil money for posterity Stacked in ...

• Anes Moh Sallama Wiesbaden 9 years ago

Look at this 33millions BP that is the 51million Dollars for Wayomi for free and now we need that money for aircraft.Poor Ghana

• freedom&corruption 9 years ago

A COUNTRY BLESSED WITH COUNTLESS RESOURCES HAS TO BORROW EACH TIME IT UNDERTAKES A PROJECT...SO AS THE 'CURSE' STATES; YOU SHALL THIRST WHEN THERE IS ABUNDANCE OF WATER, YOU SHALL BE HOT WHEN IT IS COLD, YOU WILL GO HUNGRY WH ...

• Citizene Vigilante 9 years ago

In as much as it is good for Ghana to purchase items for the military, I want to stress that due diligence is not paid when it comes to "value for money". If one has paid particular attention to these purchases, it is always ...

• Citizene Vigilante 9 years ago

Ghana has been going for Peacekeeping since time in memorial. Have we ever asked ourselves where the peacekeeping moneys paid to Ghana by the United Nations as reimbursement goes? It's a shame that for all these years we stil ...

• Kwame Amegaxoxo 9 years ago

When you take loans do you pay back at all? Or you leave it as a debt? If you can raise such amount to pay back the loan then why do you continue taking loans even if you want to shit?

• Al Hajj AAA-RASHID(OH.USA) 9 years ago

"ENIMGUASI ASEM" I hope my Twi is good enough. I am totally outraged, reading this nonsense.

Please Ghanaian authorities, stop disgracing us. Why should we be asking for such paltry sums from institutions abroad yet want f ...

• Dr.William Acquah 9 years ago

Our country is already broke and looking for IMF- bailout.Why another loan again?We don`t have a dead goat as a Prez. but a dead cow!

• United Ghana 9 years ago

So true. Mahama is destroying this country. Is that the fiscal discipline IMF expect - more loans & interest payment. The prez is brain dead.

• FOR REAL REAL!!! 9 years ago

Go and borrow Money to buy TEN or 100 Military Planes not One.Are we going to WAR?Just look at this POOR Third World country that can not even provide Electricity for its citizens.Mr. President are we all STUPID CROOKS?Get th ...

• wealthy man 9 years ago

let's drop that dead goat fellow Ghanaians

• Onua 9 years ago

Why have we been borrowing for every project? Aren't we ashamed holding a pan everywhere to beg for money? In fact we can stop paying these useless judgement debts and direct the monies to better use.

• KOFI AMETRAZO 9 years ago

you dont have electricity yet you are purchasing military aircraft. Shame on you again and again.

• Peacemaker 9 years ago

Npp is a threat to national security

• A.M.A 9 years ago

E DONT UNDERSTAND THIS COUNTRY CALLED GHANA.IT IS VERY STRANGE THAT ,THE COUNTRY AS A NATION CANNOT DO ANYTHING WITH-OUT A LOAN. WHERE GOES ALL TAXES BEING PAID/DEDUCTED FROM WORKERS???'YOU DONT HAVE 30 MILLION BUT A SINGLE T ...

• yussif 9 years ago

Who's going to negotiate on behalf of Ghana?eyiii again?the ebrayo staircase is still fresh on our mind oooo you on, I rest my case.

• Prof. Appiah, USA 9 years ago

My people are insane. What for? in this dumsor.... dumsor? All because some people can pocket 10%?

• philip 9 years ago

BUT YOU CAN GET THAT LOAN FOR SAMETHING BETTER FOR GHANA,I DONT KNOW WHY THEY NEED THE MILITARY AIRCRAFT FOR

• danso kodua 9 years ago

Another lie,if we need this equipment pls mother British. Buy them for us don't give this money out oooooohhhh.

• BBC NEWS! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 9 years ago

So what is wrong with our leaders? People do not have electricity to do business, businesses are collapsing and you are planning to buy a plane for what? For God's sake, this idea must be dropped. Where is our priority set as ...

• Amensco Refill 9 years ago

Quality Toner and Ink refill at affordable price at Amensco Techno Services.
    We also service Photocopy machines and Printers.
    Loc: New Fadama road near As are original pay all.
    Call: 0244523451

• cpl 9 years ago

Food self to eat in Lebanon here is a problem for we the soldiers here.n u are thinking of going to buy aircraft for us.we are really suffering on peace keeping grounds

• ogogos 9 years ago

You are just a foolish soldier, where are your ethics. Surprised, you joined fools to pass ill comment on the purchase of aircraft for peace missions. Remember, it is a loan, meaning, the money would be paid from reimbursemen ...

• Lex. 9 years ago

You are a disgrace to your race.U.S, owes China trillions of dollars, so get lost should you don't have anything good to share, get lost and show some respect to the President. This is not typical you.

• We need our colonial masters back 9 years ago

Lol everything is loan.what a country

• Nanaba 9 years ago

we ought to think n free up our mind set Fellow Human beings. Y do we talk as if we are on our own. Rememba we were been colonised by the so called whites. They fought with their blood for our freedom.(our fore fathers ) But ...