You are here: HomeNews2015 03 08Article 349500

UG’s Computer Science Department left to rot

Read Comments Comments (37)

• YawB 9 years ago

Many of us who are IT PROFESSIONALS in the US would like to help if given the chance. It starts with stopping the discrimination against those in diaspora.

• Neasack 9 years ago

Where is our priorities. Zoo or IT for students.

• ernest 9 years ago

This is only a rumor and Government says the story is untrue; i wonder the kind folks on this forum. Is it all jokes? Is it reading and comprehension challenges by colleague posters, amazing! The article was a repetition of w ...

• ASH 9 years ago

I do not think this is gov't matter. The beneficiaries must come out to help. It is a sector that requires constant update. Calling on gov't to do something means aggravating the problem. Budget cannot improve comp. science d ...

• Ghabay ,NY 9 years ago

This is what you get,if have someone like Ablakwa as your deputy minister of education.Ha ha ridiculous .

• Kwame 9 years ago

How can a person like Ablakwa who does not even have the experience to be a housemaster in Secondary School be the Deputy Minister of Education? What ideas does he bring to the table?

• YIKRA 9 years ago

We are you people so concerned about this man. How about the other people at the Ministry?

• Pelicles 9 years ago

Who is concerned about who? We have every right to point out the inefficiencies in the system. Why do you think that crab should the deputy minister of education? He is there because of tribalism and political foolishness. ...

• Saint Ghfuo: Nyantakyi must go! 9 years ago

The school chancellor.must new relieved by the board. You.cant call itself a leader.if.such problems are lurking. It shows your incompetence. No dignified ppl in ghana anymore. Just a bunch of toothless bulldogs. Bark no bite ...

• Prof Botswana. 9 years ago

But what is the vice chancellor of the university doing about the problem.

• Annorwuo 9 years ago

ENGAGE IN A NEEDLESS TEST OF WILL WITH AN ELECTED GOVT ABOUT WHO HAS THE MANDATE TO DETERMINE THE PLACEMENT OF ROADS/ACCESS WAYS ON PUBLIC LANDS IN THIS COUNTRY! OBVIOUSLY,HE AND HIS BACKERS IN THE MEDIA AND THE LEGISLATURE H ...

• CORNEY 9 years ago

Which vice chancellor,the Toll Gate collecting vice chancellor?

Actually they say that place was there since 1976 which I doubt,meaning the problem has been there decades before he came.

Do we have computers in Ghana in ...

• ELINAM 9 years ago

In 1979 a young hip Ghanaian guy came and got a house at the North Kaneshie estates and was good with the girls and played great music, who spoke to us first about computer designing as his job with a department/ministry ...

• CORNEY 9 years ago

There was no computer in Ghana in 1976,even in America it was in 1983 that schools were asked to start teaching computer lessons in schools and it was only in 1984 that Apple started making software for teaching of computers, ...

• JB Mann 9 years ago

You are right (somehow) : there were no PCs in Ghana in 1976, but we had IBM servers and terminals. Those days, IBM was the sole manufacturer of such machines.

As a matter of fact, I personally learnt programming at Kwame ...

• JB Mann 9 years ago

Elinam, there were no PC in 1979.

There were however termials ie, we had one server and several terminal connectected to it.

The PC (IBM PC) as we know it now came to the market in 1982. Before then, there were home com ...

• T'pau 9 years ago

Who said there were no computers in Ghana in the 70's? While there were no Personal Computers (PC) at that time, there were Mainframes. They were mostly leased from NCR. The West African Exam Council (WAEC) used computers to ...

• JB Mann 9 years ago

I remember collecting those IBM continuous paper form (with perforations in between) from the UST computer lab and using the backside for for home work and other studies.

That apart, I know 3 people who did Data Processin ...

• MUMU VOTERS 9 years ago

Even Ghana itself is rotting talkless of computer science. About the some of the student who that its shameful, everthing in Ghana now is shameful including the president. Konadu Agyeman Rawlings said nothing is working now! ...

• Douglas. Bristol-UK 9 years ago

oh Ghana. this madness started way back in 2006 when monkey kufour couldn't fix it when I was there

• CN 9 years ago

When innovative heads like the late Prof Nkrumah was innovating to resource and modernise the UG Business School , other faculties and their heads were sleeping. Innovate or die!

• JB Mann 9 years ago

Is this damn thing here a computer lab of a University?

Looks Like Internet Cafe Kiosk !

• Kwame Amo 9 years ago

I now get it. I get scared when I am about to interview these so-called graduates cuz I realize they are not practical enough. I work part time for 4 multinational companies because I am practical and that's what they need. N ...

• CORNEY 9 years ago

You are right,those papers they call PhDs are the reasons why we cannot get anything done right,our everything is paper,no practical experience,even students beginning High Schools here are more practical than they are but if ...

• THINGS FALL APART 9 years ago

THINGS FALL APART AND THE NDC GOVT HAS NO CLUE TO HOLD THEM TOGETHER.
    The President stupidly went to Peki and donated money for a chief who has congested the mortuary for six years.
    He is again planning to spend $1.2M for a ...

• Amensco 0244523451 9 years ago

Quality Toner and Ink refill at AMENSCO TECHNO SERVICES at Abeka-Fadama.
    We also service Canon and HP Printers and Copiers.
    Call 0244523451

• Afenuvor Amenuveve 9 years ago

Does it mean that the department cannot use their IGF to better their lots? If the picture posted is the real case, then what is the authorities doing? If this is the University which is expected to produce IT Professionals t ...

• zombi politician. 9 years ago

With this cafe suppose to be University IT Lab.students pay still pay levi for it,they are now made to pay dumsor levi without lights,nothing is working apart from professional thievery and yet the deputy minister for educati ...

• concerned ony3 9 years ago

This the same thing going in the various polytechnics. computer science is the avenue that creating millions of job everyday but we all lack practicals. Computer science students share the department computers with various de ...

• Aly 9 years ago

Ghanaians like new things so they can watch it break down.

• ASH 9 years ago

Call on business men and beneficiaries of your department to come to your aid. Presently I do not think the students can offer to pay tech. fees as pertains in other universities.

• Kwesi 9 years ago

Ghanafo paaa!

• DEPORT FOREIGN MUSLIMS 9 years ago

GHANAIANS STILL BELIEVE SPEAKING AND WRITTING OYIBO LANGUAGE WILL SOLVE OUR PROBLEMS . WHAT A JOKE ASK CHINA , GERMANS , HOLLAND ,SCANDINAVIANS AND SOUTH KOREA & NORTH KOREANS .

• THE CHOSEN ONE 9 years ago

IN A COUNTRY WHERE VISITORS AT A LIBRARY WILL TEAR THE PAGES OF TEXT BOOKS AFTER READING THEM SO THAT THE NEXT PERSON COMING WILL NOT BE ABLE TO USE THE BOOK.
    STUDENTS OF A UNIVERSITY WHO WILL INTENTIONALLY TEAR THE CUSHION ...

• Zulu Sheikh 9 years ago

I am a product of that department and really saddened by the turn of events. A good number of the alumni of this department are research fellows in the diaspora.Some would welcome relocation to help out but in some cases impe ...

• Sammy Twum 9 years ago

Surely, it's an appalling situation given that Computer Science & IT are great tools for economic growth in the age we find ourselves. All stakeholders should come on board to remedy the situation.

• integer 9 years ago

The department does not even own its offices.The offices are borrowed ones.