You are here: HomeNews2015 03 02Article 348735

Soldiers gun down amputee; beat mother unconscious

Read Comments Comments (114)

• Osei Abeb 9 years ago

These useless and lunatics who don't have nothing to do in their barracks should not be shielded but rather to face justice.

• Brian Williams 9 years ago

That's why everyone is armed in the USA. "I will kill you before you kill me". Ghana is now a jungle.

• THE CHOSEN ONE 9 years ago

KOKOASI KURASINI. LOOK AT THEIR LIVES.

• KWASI 9 years ago

GHANA CAWARD SOLIDERS THAT NEVER HAD A FIGHT ANYWERE ARE SHOWING HOW THEY ABUSE GHANA REGULAR FALKS IS ALARMING AND VERY VERY SHAMFULL

• jerry 9 years ago

WHAT IN THE HELL DROVE SOLDERS OF GHANA TO ATTACK CIVILLIONS??????
    WHAT?

• Issah Amin 9 years ago

They couldn't have done that in Bawku and get away with it. They would be burnt life on the street

• Nonsense 9 years ago

Issah liar don't u run away wen u see soldiers don't brag n think bawku is hard for soldiers nonsence if u are a man kill a soldier in bawku n see wat will happen liar

• Ghanaman 9 years ago

Not in America? So many guys got themselves killed by the police for not obeying simple "STOP" orders and taking calculated risks.

• Nonsense 9 years ago

don't police been killing u people n wat do u do in the end don't brag dat u are the only person in America will u speed off wen police stops u America nonsense talk can u kill a police.

• justice is a necessity 9 years ago

shut up re u one.at least fear Go if fr nafin at all.re u one. idiot ur family it next target. wait fr ur entire family to b exterminatd by ur gang of irresponsible nd evil doers.think be4 u tlk.it wl help u.hv a nice day.

• TWEAA 9 years ago

WHERE IS KOFI BOAKYE? HE SHOULD ACT NOW. OR THIS IS ABOVE HIM..MMMMMMM.

• Deep Thought 9 years ago

I think is time Ghanains must be ready for self defence since the institutions are not respecting them.Form community groups and defend your environments and lives against events like this.Arise before they maltreatment and k ...

• Ghanaman 9 years ago

What is happening is that very uncultivated Ghanaians not only refuse to comply to laws but behave in a very undisciplined way, which is why we are here today.

Question: WHY WOULDN'T HE STOP? DID HE HAVE ANYTHING TO HIDE? ...

• OSEI TAWIAH 9 years ago

Are you a Trookosi? Only a Trokosi will make this kind of comment. Ewes believe in oppression and murder. They have no respect for human life. No wonder JJ Rawlings was able to look people in the face and kill them. There's n ...

• Glo 9 years ago

Really? I am a 'trokosi' and I respect human life. You obviously hate Ewe people to make such an idiotic and baseless statement. Has an Ewe person done anything bad to you?
    There is no justification for what happened to the ...

• justice is a necessity 9 years ago

is that d best they cold do? they would hv killed him there accordin to wat they did.that wasn't their concern read the story well.d ladies account did not show weder dey searched d car.think nd tlk don't conclde hastily.u ma ...

• Araba Blay 9 years ago

everything is deteriorating!!

• BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 9 years ago

GHANAIANS WOULD NEVER BE CIVILISED,WHY VOTED FOR THIS NDC CASH AND CARRY, BUGABUGA, ARMED ROBERY PARTY?

• kwaku 9 years ago

Ao Mahamas Ghana
    My heart bleeds for mother ghana

• vim 9 years ago

Please what has mahama got to do with this. Apologise man.

• NTRA SAKYI 9 years ago

He is the commander in chief of Ghana Armed Forces.

• solah 9 years ago

These useless soldiers should go and face boko haram.assholes if it were to be in the North,they would have gotten thier match there.they are just trained for nothing

• Nonsense 9 years ago

are soldiers not in the north y brag about the north bcos they are not cultured dats y u brag n wat do u do wen u see soldiers coming don't u run away massa respect the law n be free wat is wrong if u should stop

• Ghabay ,NY 9 years ago

This is soo wrong,whatever happened to the justice system in Ghana?These soldiers acted as the prosecutors,judges and executioners ,which is so out of order.Please get some justice for this man.

• Osei Abeb 9 years ago

I suggest it's time to put these soldiers to work in farms.They don't have nothing to do that's why they act foolishly like that and government should freeze their hiring because we don't need them.

• Nonsense 9 years ago

if u are man joke with soldiers they will kill u bcos u are useless man u don't have anytin to do wit ur tyme y don't u join the service n see wat they do let

• Efo 9 years ago

These are the NDC recruited soldiers, one can check. Is sad these people can do anything and get away with it, what a country we living in. What have the citizenries done wrong to deserve this as a nation.

• ZAC 9 years ago

Wow have these officers gone mad?
    What is happening to Mahama's NDC government? These officers disreguard the laws? Intimidation is how the NDC comes to power, and that is how the society is ruled. So sad, kill rather than a ...

• peaceful citizen 9 years ago

Oh Mahama you see what your adminstration is bequeathing Ghanaians.I am bleeding for Ama Ghana. This can happen to anybody. Oh NDC what have Ghanaians done to you?

• Ayamba 9 years ago

We are loosing trust in our military the way they kill people without any provocation. What sort of soldiers is our country producing. These blood thirsty soldiers have to be brought before the law. This is total madness.

• USMAN 9 years ago

They have no brains and only take delight in brutalizing the weak and defenseless in society. They only boast of their untested capabilities.

• Osahene 9 years ago

It is time ISIS face some of the soldiers in ghana. They are just the same bunch of criminals. They should be listed as a terriorist organization

• if the lone crusader 9 years ago

How pro.you are saying you are still seaching for these truants in uniform? That is ndc for you poor ghana cry lady cry!

• Kwame Adjei-Mensah aka Uncle Ben. Atl 9 years ago

People like you make me sick.Can we get a breath from this dirty political and irrational finger pointing NDC this NPP that for just a minute ? We are faced with such a classic demonstration of lawlessness and gross disrespec ...

• Pelicles 9 years ago

I am not condoning the beating but why did the guy refuse to stop? Imagine the guy did stop at the check point, will this have happened? Nobody knows why the guy refuse to stop. That said, why didn't the military arrest and ...

• USMAN 9 years ago

Mahama has brought untold hardship to Ghana. Is Mahama a curse on Ghana. Anyway, who killed Atta Mills.

• Don Blunt 9 years ago

He is fed up to be stopped as if he committed a crime, only to be begged for money.
    That kind of Bugabuga "begging", with a gun pointing at your tyres

• TIJANI 9 years ago

Probably you will be the next victim to be beaten to death. If he refused to stop does it mean that he should be beaten to d leath. What about the old woman, what crime rate has she committed that they beat unconsciously.

• Antwi 9 years ago

Ghana has turned to an animal kingdom - survival of the fittess.

Do we actually need a standing army? I it is unnecessary.

• YUSIF MOHAMMED 9 years ago

NDCIS LAWLESS GOVT. AND THE SECURITY ARE FULL AWARE OF THAT. HENCE THEIR BRUTALITY DAY IN DAY OUT. GHANA IS A LAWLESS NATION UNDER NDC. THIS IS GOOD FOR STUPID GHANAIANS WHO VOTED NDC INTO POWER. LET NDC WIN NEXT ELECTIONS A ...

• kojo 9 years ago

I wish and I hope that magazine people will not rest on this, any military atire you see there must be fire, is NDC plane,

• Papa Dey 9 years ago

Do we call this democratic country?Why soldiers are manning the post?Aren't they supposed to be building bridges and roads if they have nothing to do?

• abigee 9 years ago

As usual it is bla... bla... bla... The stupid mentality of listening to just one side of a story and jumping to pass judgment. No wonder we are likethis.

• Osei Kofi 9 years ago

what could be the justification for killing another human being when he could have being arrested for whatever he did.

• MUMU VOTERS 9 years ago

You don't know your right as a citizen so you think everybody is just dumb like you? Even though he murder someone, did they have the right to kill him? OK let them come out to give their side of the story and let's hear thei ...

• ddkt 9 years ago

We are no longer safe

• Ameyibor 9 years ago

dnt rush in yur judgements u silly idiots. lets wait for de other side of de story. cant u see it was chronicle news paper alone dat reported de story?

• Ghabay ,NY 9 years ago

You are a damn fool,Ameyibor.No matter what he did,he shouldn't loose his life,he should have been arrested and handed over to a law court to decide what to do with him.also he would get the chance to explain why he didn't st ...

• K.K 9 years ago

GHANA SECURITY PRSONNELS BEATING A FRAIL OLD LADY TO BE UNCONCIOUS; AND SHOOTING TO KILL A DISBALE MAN.

THIS COUNTRY IS CURSED. A DISABLED PEERSON WORKING HARD TO LIVE INDEPENDENTLY, KILLED B MURDERERS.

I WANT JJ TO SP ...

• THE CHOSEN ONE 9 years ago

THEY ARE HAPPY TRIGGER EVERYWHERE AND WILL KILL AT EVERY GIVING OPPORTUNITY.
    A NIGGER ON FACEBOOK WAS TELLING OTHER NIGGERS THAT WHEN THESE ZOMBIES TELL YOU TO STOP, STOP IMMEDIATELY OR ELSE YOU WILL DIE LIKE A DOG.

• YAW BRONX 9 years ago

YOU FIND THEM YOU JAIL THEM OR HAVE THEM FACE DEATH PENALTY..

• Osabarima 9 years ago

Even if it is one side of the story NOTHING justifies the shooting of the amputee, and the disappearance of the killers. There lies the outrage

• gloria usa 9 years ago

oooooooooooooh ghana this is sooo sad
    what is going to be done to the soldiers

• citizen 9 years ago

Tears in my eyes as I read this story, the blood of man will hunt his killers and they will suffer and get killed in a more gruesome way very soon. May your soul rest in peace, God please heal Ghana from this misfortune of be ...

• Thompson 9 years ago

It is shameful that, that is the era we have settled for in Ghana. NDC must turn this dreadful tide before it is too late.

• STRONG MAN 9 years ago

So now Ghanaians what is going on ...Now u people trained soldiers to kill the innocent citizens in the country... y is it possible like this....MASa soldiers if u no u will condemned the nation citizens then start runing to ...

• Fire 9 years ago

These are sheep in wolf clothings who were possessed by demons. They will pay for it as one day they will rot while alive. God will amputate them before their death.

• MR CLEAN 9 years ago

Honestly, when caught, they should face the music. I mean be shot in early dawn. This is unacceptable in Ghana and these criminals must be shot.

• Nana Effah 9 years ago

Is this the calibre of Ghanaian soldier? Shame!!!

• zombi, 9 years ago

Very uncivilized and unprofessional. Blame Rawlings, his indiscipline behavior in the Military which he used to form a party is bearing fruits.

• poncho 9 years ago

Useless So called security institution who can't think for themselves & being manipulated like animals.

• kelton 9 years ago

ARE THEY TO PROTECT THE TAX PAYER or TO KILL US? IF it had been the PUBLIC LYNCHING A THEIF,THE CORRUPT USELESS POLICE WLD SAY IT LOUD THAT WE MUST NOT TAKE THE LAW INTO OUR HANDS-right. The Manponteng Police must NOT make a ...

• Pnanah 9 years ago

The police should be proactive in their investigation into dis n bring these DOGS to book.

• Famboy 9 years ago

"Suspected soldiers and a police officer in a military patrol vehicle, where he was beaten severely before being shot to death."

Are these people therefore not real security officers? Whoever they are, I hope they apprehen ...

• Poluwaski 9 years ago

Oh God visit these gruesome murderers and let them know that there is someone stronger, and mightier who created this man and his family. May your sword never depart from their door until they are uterly destroyed. AMEN

• adjovi 9 years ago

Our military is our own brand of Boko haram.

Our government is corrupt and steals from us
    Our police are ineffective
    Our military is oppressive

The sorry state of the ghanaian civilian

• K. Dua 9 years ago

This is a very cruel and barbaric act. The police should be very fast in bringing the perpetrators to book. Is Ghana now becoming a Terrorist Country? I humbly appeal to the Government to seriously combat crime in the country ...

• Fred 9 years ago

Guys im so sad whatever may be the case the soldiers shouldn't have acted in this way. im down.very pathetic. hmmmmm

• justice 9 years ago

In fact we have criminals and mad men in uniform calling themselves security men. Pls Govt check this madness before civilians arm themselves.

• DR KUFFOUR 9 years ago

A very bad story. A poor hearsay report. Apart from the lady passenger, no any other witnesses or neigbours at the time of the crime?

• blackman 9 years ago

how can an amputee drive?liars

• Nii Lartey Nartey. 9 years ago

This certainly can not happen in any of the 3 northern regions or in the Volta.

The entire security will have to kill more to survive if this callous murder and violent beaten of an old mother had happen up-north.

Ashan ...

• Patricia Amoako 9 years ago

Dis should stop. For killing people

• DENTERN 9 years ago

THIS IS MURDER AND THE IRRESPONSIBLE OFFICERS MUST BE BROUGHT TO BOOK

• Rasta far i lives Batoure 9 years ago

Ohhhh me God what a paradox and pitty. Why should we be treating each other this way.....

• PAPSON 9 years ago

Even all politician the judiciary and journalist are all afraid of the military. If it had been the police ,Smart and his group of Adom FM would come on air the next day and question them. I challenge you Smart nad co to call ...

• TOM 9 years ago

Hang these mad men. Vote NDC Out.

• Akans Prophecies 9 years ago

Rawlings legacy. Violence and Brutality. Wake up to a Brave ghana new world without Rawlings, idiots. And if you were brave enough, why hide away. Coward murderers !

• TYY 9 years ago

As usual, no one will raise a finger and these bums will get away with it. Mark my words. What the family should do is sue the Army. We should set up a legal defense fund for the family and for once bring the army to account.

• SOLUTION 9 years ago

why is Ghana turning to a militory country istead of democracy?

• JH New York 9 years ago

There they go !
    In a Country where the Military is privileged not to have fought any civil war in the Country but Senseless, Cheap, and Greedy military Coups/Junta ; which only form of preparation required them to Smoked we ...

• Daniel Oppong 9 years ago

Stupid army officers God will killed them too is. matter of time and the Government also have to do something this not the first time

• Daniel Oppong 9 years ago

I hate this Government of Ghana the stupid army

• usa 9 years ago

Why people do such a horrible things like that. They need to be arrest jail them period.

• MMB 9 years ago

It should be easy to find these 'cowardly murderers'. Just check the army's roaster to find out who signed up for duty that evening. Arrest them and let them ALL face the 'firing squad'.

• sonny 9 years ago

am bettin these stupid police n military on any member of ma family. i will kill de whole of dem. let dem try n see. stupid illiterates.

• mumuni otumfuo 9 years ago

President mahama and otumfuo say they don't listen to nobody, so why should these CRAZY ashanti soldiers listen. Monkey see monkey do.

• DEPORT FOREIGN MUSLIMS 9 years ago

HOPE THE SOLDIERS WOULD FACE JUSTICE . GHANA POLICE AND SOLDIERS DERSEVE PROPER TRAINING .

• MUMU VOTERS 9 years ago

Animals in Uiniform

• Truth 9 years ago

Bring them out , no one is above the law. Are there 1 million officers in that town? Bring them out

• S.B DAMTAR 9 years ago

Its rather unfortunate the people who are supposed to protect us are rather killing us. what a stupid security we have in Ghana.

• The Grammarian 9 years ago

Without looking to ridiculing the publisher or reporter of this event, I am fascinated to see him/her using the word deceased to describe the victim. The deceased was lifeless to continue engaging in the ongoing activities be ...

• state 9 years ago

Talk as a sensible man .Try n u go see. Ask why did the guy refused to stop at de checked point, ask why did the police n sojas chased him, ask who shot him either police or sojas, ask are dey proper police n sojas bcus n ...

• better bro 9 years ago

I secon u bro they shouldn't conclude wen judgement is not pass

• I DONT CARE 9 years ago

Foolish beings. Their families wil sure till dey all die frm d earth. Hu shld ask wat dats wat d military men knw how to do. Dats d same thns dey did dis yr in ash bekwai killing a drivers mate jst bcos he took a wood dey kep ...

• Laar sankara 9 years ago

This is more than jungle behaviour where the strongest survive. They should send those useless military officers to nigeria to fight boko haram. Some pple say they prefer military rule,dam them

• King Faisal 9 years ago

hmmm!!! Are we safe as a country? When people who are supposed to maintain law and order are themselves violating it. They must face the law

• nii nii niiiii 9 years ago

Ghana soldiers are not brave enough,apart from peace keeping tweeaa.They put the fear of God into the citizenry yet they have no war experience

• wofa 9 years ago

Soldiersfo) eedi nkwaseas3m wa Ghana paa.
    Hw3 policefo) so. mtcheew

• Kwame 9 years ago

You do not hide away from people if you have nothing to hide. If it were to have been in the U.S. the man and his passengers would all have been history.

• kwaku iran 9 years ago

all those who are insulting soldiers are mad n stupid

• Aaron 9 years ago

kwaku n kwame
    u need d attention of a psychiatrist.u r damn insane.if ur father is military.tel dem fear God n get widom so they can teach u some.lest u wl rot in injustice.one of d bandits.pple lyk u wl mke Gh accursed.read ...

• Mashawudu Sekem 9 years ago

Am sure the know the soldiers on duty

• purusa 9 years ago

They must face the book, the police administration know the police man, and must bring Him out, Cos Every police man is given a post to go and work,

• Ayua Hope 9 years ago

are we now recruiting killers or protectors
    Arrest them let them face the law

• Crazy Mahama...... usa 9 years ago

Please send these idiots to fight BOKO HIRAM in Nigeria

• yaa dua 9 years ago

So called Brian Williams. I don't believe you reside in America. If you do you would have advised all these black men and women gunned down to use their gain.

• Aaron 9 years ago

bloody murderers, if they were hving any reason for that act, they shd own up.murderers not military.Wher do we turn to with such evil ppl we commit our safety in innocence nw our own enemies.investigators can track them if ...

• bula matadi 9 years ago

Zombie way na one way
    joro jara joro

• PAUL 9 years ago

ARE WE SAFE? WHO ARE TO PROTECT US? IF THOSE MEANT TO PROTECT US ARE KILLING AND MALHANDLING US THEN BOKOHARAM LOOKS SAFER STAYING WITH

• King 9 years ago

These soldiers are the most stupid guys I have ever heard of...No wonder I slap one the other tyme he tried to flex in my sight..I dont train ma body for fun .....Foolish soldiers and police

• Darko 9 years ago

I think those animals (i.e, the soldiers and e police) must be arrested immediately and face the law. They have no right to take the innocent man life. Ghanaians must also know that, self defense is part of our Constitution s ...

• Johnson 9 years ago

These must sent to Nigeria to face Boko haram useless officers

• Patricia Amoako 9 years ago

Y Ghana police ar doing such disgraceful like dat hmmm