You are here: HomeNews2015 02 23Article 347701

Girl, 14, arrested for killing her alleged rapist

Read Comments Comments (122)

• United Ghana 9 years ago

That's what rapists deserve. She need not even face trial if police are satisfied it was self defence. There should be zero tolerance for paedophiles

• BODAMBO 9 years ago

UNITED GHANA, YOU'RE WRONG. MURDER IS MURDER AND SHOULD BE TREATED AS SUCH, SHE CANNOT CLAIM DIMINISHED RESPONSIBILITY BECAUSE IT WAS IN THE SPUR OF THE MOMENT AND NO PREVIOUS ABUSE. SHE MUST FACE THE FULL BRUNT OF THE LAW OT ...

• Kofi Baabone 9 years ago

Nonesense. What did he not understand when she said NO!

There is always a defense of "self-defence".

If you do not want to be stabbed by a 14yr old don't attempt to rape her.

Good girl!

• BODAMBO 9 years ago

the culprit is not alive to hear his side of the story, also rape does not demand death row or else all rapist will be put to death! if you get stabbed by a woman for whatever reason and she cries rape, would you consider it ...

• OLD SOLDIER 9 years ago

Author:-Nii Lartey Nartey...
    Now it is clear that the NDC government and his team of inexperience long teeth teenagers has must go out from power as their own Asiedua Nketia the mosquito general rightly sums it all up here t ...

• KWEKU MFANTSE 9 years ago

Folks, let us all remember that the rapist could kill the girl after satisfying himself in order to cover up the evidence because the girl would report the incident.

We know of many cases where the rapist kills the victim ...

• Sebastian Parker 9 years ago

The kind of comments being made is not right. It is only a court of competent jurisdiction that can pass judgement. The case can be murder or manslaughter so let her be prosecuted before we make those comments. But ask yourse ...

• Bfire 9 years ago

At this point no one was there to rescue her so she acted in self defence.

• OSEI TAWIAH 9 years ago

If the police finds out that there is no other issue between them except for this, then it's definitely self defense. The law says you are not to touch anyone, even if you have issue with them. Forcing yourself on another hum ...

• KYEBI ADVOCATE 9 years ago

Self defense , all rapist are murders, they are capable of killing you if you can Identify him. After investigation they should set her free without any prison term

• JK 9 years ago

This is an unfortunate and sad incident that could have been avoided, if the deceased would have exercised good judgement.

The law is clear on stautory rape, and it is on the side of this 14 year old. There is no discreti ...

• Mike Olongo, USA 9 years ago

So, in this scenario are you suggesting that the girl should have exercised patience and allow him to rape her only to report to police later? I see this as a clear case of self defense.

• KWAME 9 years ago

If your daughter kills her attacker you will be the first to rush to her defense. The 25 year old pedophile deserves what he got for statutory rape of a 14 year old girl. This is a brave young girl who defended her honor and ...

• OLD SOLDIER 9 years ago

BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! WHERE DID GHANAIANS GO WRONG TO SUFFER LIKE THIS? YOU MAHAMA BUILDING YOUR HOTELS ABROAD, AFRIYIE ANKRA BUYING MANSIONS AT EAST LEGON, OKUDJETO ACQUIRING FILLING STATIONS ALL OVER, TOGBUI AF ...

• obroni 9 years ago

Such a serious event and you want to use for political reasons, you are just to narrow minded to be allowed at this platform

• ??? 9 years ago

God will wipe away every tear from her eyes.

• Osiprey 9 years ago

This young girl has done very well and Police should release her immediately. Rape is a crime. There is no FOUL PLAY or DOG PLAY as some family members allege when this happened to a 19 years old girl.

• Osiprey 9 years ago

This young girl has done very well and Police should release her immediately. Rape is a crime. There is no FOWL PLAY or DOG PLAY as some family members allege when this happened to a 19 years old girl.

• Simon Kwashie Yormesor 9 years ago

Bod Ambo, what would be your advice to your wife, girl friend, sister or daughter if she should find her self in the situation the young girl found her self? in an orange farm, where no amount of shout could attract anybody f ...

• RAYMOND NASH 9 years ago

You are sick Bodambo.
    Why should she be prosecuted for self defence. So assuming the guy rapes and then kills her what would you say.
    If you are a rapist, your's is coming soon. Abodam.

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 9 years ago

Raymond, Hmmmm, that is democracy. She should be prosecuted and set free. I wish she killed him well well. Chop his hands off and nis Nimrod rod too before she killed that fool. Ghana cannot be like India.

• k the h 9 years ago

THE GUY WOULD HAVE KILLED THE GIRL AFTER. FOR FEAR THAT THE GIRL WOULD REPORT HIM TO THE AUTHORITIES

• ogyam 9 years ago

BODAMBO i think you are a rapist yourself else you wont support this nonsense.

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 9 years ago

Yes, I agree the law must work but I wish she killed him again and again and even kill his ghost too. How can he force a 14 year old girl to have sex. Nonsense, having sex with a 14 year old girl is itself a crime. Hope they ...

• No jugement 9 years ago

Guyz it is allege so u can juge like dat bcos de guy is dead so no one can defend him.Im from de town and dis is de fact

• kwasisei 9 years ago

Why not reverse the sexes? See whether you need the woman to be alive to prove rape - we can't have it always 'cos we're men; some are sick, with no self-contrl or discipline - he deserves it very well.

• kokotii 9 years ago

If what the girl is claiming is true,she should be let go.
    There is is two problems here
    RAPE AND PEDOPHILIA

• Ken Ntiamoa 9 years ago

How do we know what she is alleging is true? The guy is dead and can't testify. Were there any witnesses?

You have no idea that people can fabricate stories, if they suit them.

Ken

• Abongo 9 years ago

I am sure you are a rapist as well

• abraham akuamoah 9 years ago

Abongo are you from ghana oooh u Are part of those rapist right fool

• Bature 9 years ago

What is it about forcing women even teenagers for sex? Only mad men in society would do so. They deserve to be cleared by killing them off and putting an end to such bad "genetically defective" and crude social orientation.

• alisha 9 years ago

Nonesense!! first of all she is a minor and also thats self deffense case. if thats your child will you say this stupid crab. she is 14 for God sake and in united state , they will Trest it as self defence and even arrest tha ...

• Asoreba 9 years ago

Bodambo, while you argue that "murder is murder," you should also know that there's something called "self-defense." This little 14-year old girls was no match to the bid 23-year old fool. He should not even be trying to a ...

• Kobooh 9 years ago

Nonsense! Where did you go to law school to propagate such demagoguery? Let the brave girl go with national accolades!

• Kobooh 9 years ago

Nonsense of the highest degree! Where did you go to law school to propagate such stupidity. Let the poor girl go with national accolades.

• k the h 9 years ago

BODAMBO, YOU ARE WRONG. WHAT OF SELF DEFENCE?
    SHE HAS BEEN VIOLATED OR THE RAPIST WAS IN THE PROCESS OF VIOLATING HER. SO SHE KILLED HIM. PERIOD. IS THAT NOT SELF DEFENCE?

• pj 9 years ago

May your daughter and wife be raped. Amen

• King George,South Africa 9 years ago

UNITED GHANA is right,this is self defense,the girl must be set free

• guit 9 years ago

dead men dont talk but the case must be investigated well

• BODAMBO 9 years ago

KKD IT'S TIME TO BE CAREFUL!!!

• Sir John 9 years ago

You ah funny

• masa 9 years ago

its a sad story, the girl had it all wrong, this is manslaughter and cant run away from it, it wud have been better if the guy is alive.

• kokotii 9 years ago

Rapist don't deserve to be alive

• SEE ME 9 years ago

This young acted in self defence and must be left to go. All rapists must be treated in like manner.

• P. Y. Agbeko 9 years ago

Hmmm I wonder what the outcome will be like after the investigations are over. Why will you rape such a minor?

• LAST DON 9 years ago

This is self defence No criminality. She needs to go through anger management thats all !!!

• John Datson 9 years ago

What the court will to rapist
    Is good she kill me to save her life
    Foolish court

• Rude buay!!! 9 years ago

Why is this happening to other people and not happening to some people that deserve it eh!!! I never mentioned any names oooo pls!
    GHANA ABR3,,

• Amega 9 years ago

It is a criminal offence to attempt rape; similarly, it is criminal to murder. Both are guilty before the law.

• Agonaba 9 years ago

This innocent girl deserves mercy,God willing.

• Chief amankwa 9 years ago

Ok judgement

• THIEF OF BAGDAD 9 years ago

Give her bail of freedom a lesson to Teachers and politician who took advantage of their position and abuse mostly young ladies but the president sometimes protect them from been arrested.

• Alhaji A Brutus Germany 9 years ago

This poor girl deserve national bravery award from the president,incase this girl was the daughter of the chief justice how will they interprate the same law?

• ben 9 years ago

she acted in self defence.what were they expecting her to do.open her legs for him to finish the job.she used the next available weapon.women activist wake up.

• KWAME 9 years ago

She acted in self defense after she had repeatedly said NO this pedophile still forced to have sex with her. Set her free to go back to school. She's had a traumatic experience and will need psychological counseling and show ...

• Boateng 9 years ago

I agree with you Kwame. I am in 100% agreement with your comment. Here in the USA, many people that rape women in the bush end up also killing them.

I do not wish anyone dead but for this girl to suffer rape because so ...

• Simon Kwashie Yormesor 9 years ago

I know we have good laws as well as judges in Ghana! If it is true that the boy attempted to rape the girl, then i have the following questions to ask: 1 . what would have any body do if he or she was in the shoes of this ...

• naa 9 years ago

the girl is not rong for what she did

• Nana Effah 9 years ago

The girl's action was not proportionate to the alleged crime.
    Again the police must do a thorough investigation whether it was a revenge attack for something between them and the girl lured him to the farm to attack him.

• no rape in Gods kingdom 9 years ago

if all teens will do that, there will be no rapist in our systerm, give that girl psyco doctor to help her.

• Alex Boatang 9 years ago

The guy used exessive force that is why the
    girl too used exessive force to defend herself THIS GIRL IS BRAVE

• Pelicles 9 years ago

Why arresting the girl? She acted in self defense. Imagine the rapist got away, and the girl went to the police, will the police search the rapist and arrest him? The girl will be looked down and she will be made to bear the ...

• ANAGO 9 years ago

Girl, you have used inapropatiate self defensive method and must faced the result of your act. Every murder is a murder

• Boateng 9 years ago

Are you afraid something like that may happen to you? That fool should have gratified himself at the expense of the little girl? The fool must have been doing this with other girls. Who knows if he is not AIDS infested? ...

• nana 9 years ago

What we should look at is, how did the boy get to know that girl went to the farm. 2, why did she go there with a knife and why didnt she report to the parent for the first and second time the guy requested for sex.To me it l ...

• Nonesense. 9 years ago

No Nana your defense is weak and flawed. They have no basis. Here are the reasons why, or call it rebut to your weak point raised:

1. The boy might be tailing her so he knew and saw the girl going to the farm. Or if even s ...

• Obed Adore 9 years ago

This could be an act of self-defense A great and interesting case to follow to its conclusion. Hope justice would be served.

• obroni 9 years ago

Rape is to often seen as a minor crime, maybe to the rapist but certainly onot to the victlim. Girls can be traumatised for years, sometimes for a lifetime.

• DUMSOR 9 years ago

Personally, I think girls or women otherwise known as the 'weaker sex' should be allowed to defend themselves whenever they are attacked by this callous and senseless rapists.
    custodial sentence has not in anyway deter this ...

• jojo 9 years ago

She's only 14 years and the 23 year old deserve it if its found that he force himself on her (she should be freed). this should be a warning for all those old fuckers raping kids in Ghana (awingaaa)

• SHAKER 9 years ago

if it were to be a police man going to arrest someone and the fellow try to kill the police what will he or she do nonses let the girl go.

• Abongo 9 years ago

Leave the girl alone. More grease to her elbows to defend her self any time those monsters approach her. Bravo girl

• gaZ* 9 years ago

Nonsense! What do you know about criminal justice and right to defend? That brave young girl who defended her with the scope of law. She did the right thing. I applaud her

• Igp 9 years ago

Its a killer be killed in self defence. Any pro bono lawyer out there to her aid.

• doTHEdo 9 years ago

What about if the guy happened to be HIV positive? He could have killed the innocent girl secretly. The young girl has DONE WELL! They should set her free. This is simple algebra! Those who don't understand this ,never unders ...

• Boateng 9 years ago

You are funny but I agree with you.

• Ebow, Virginia USA 9 years ago

This is what should happen to all rapists especially the Fulani herdsmen who have been raping our women

• Agya Yaw 9 years ago

Leave the poor girl alone there are better things out there to do rather than someone who was trying to defend her self from a rapist, Mahama is responsible for this atrocities been meted out to the poor in our society

• Vida (a cncerned citizen) 9 years ago

Sometimes I get very confused when I read some of the comments made by some people. What exactly is the connection between attempted rape and the stabbing death of the alleged perpetrator and Mahama? People are responsible fo ...

• MBK 9 years ago

I think the girl should be set free. From all indications she stabbed the rapist in self defense. She is a minor too and the element of defilement also comes in. She should be freed...

• Gabby 9 years ago

This is a self defence case. the guy could have succeeded in raping and even killing the girl. He deserves what he got. Why would someone in his right frame of mind want to rape a 14 year old girl. She is a minor and has defe ...

• JH New York 9 years ago

Bodambo,are you alright !
    A 23yr old man endanger(spoil)-
    the welfare of a minor,as little as14ys, and u say what ! "If murder is murder"
    Rape is rape, and rape has its reprisal in self-defense by the victim.Again,the 23yr ...

• Sakpatey EE 9 years ago

I thing this is a pure case of self defense. Women activists should rise up to the defense of the poor innocent girl.She is already under a severe trauma.

• ALLROUND 9 years ago

The man deserves death. It should serve as a deterant to men who try to destroy the ambition so young girls. Bravo girl. You are brave. Your name should be changed to YAA ASANTEWAA.

• gloria usa 9 years ago

SEIF DEFENCE BRAVO GIRL

• JJ 9 years ago

I can not believe Ghana web allows for gruesome images to be shown to tell a story. When will civilization get to us Africans? You ca tell a story without being part of the story. What a foolish journalism. We go to school fo ...

• Sewordor E Evans 9 years ago

I am not a lawyer but I think this is a clear case of self defense. Women groups, feminists, WILDAF, please rise up to the defense of the innocent girl who is already under trauma.

• JK 9 years ago

A 14 year old, will be considered raped, by an adult, even if she agreed to the sex.

Statutory rape laws are very clear in Ghana. Any adult who sleeps with another person under the age of 16/18 who is not married to them, ...

• Esi 9 years ago

Why is this girl being held in police custody? isn't she a minor? Let's say she's not telling the truth (for the sake of argument, ok); should a 14 year old be held in jail? What kind of training do our law enforcement agents ...

• Mavis 9 years ago

All rapist must be wiped off this way.Brave girl thumb up

• Mavis 9 years ago

Thumb up.All rapist must be wiped off in the same manner.

• kaketonti 9 years ago

Bravo,girl at 14.Lesson for KKD'S(RAPISTS).Release this girl immediately.This is self-defence.Rather give KKD 25yrs prison sentence now.

• Kwame Frempong 9 years ago

She acted out of self defence and must be set free.

• Possible 9 years ago

This case bring's interesting debate,from Ghanaians without insult,let us always,have good debate!!!!!

• KK 9 years ago

There are so many ways the girl could have avoided being raped. Shouting for help or running away of kicking the deceased in the balls . But once you take someone's life, you are culpable. It is very rare for a Ghanaian woman ...

• k the h 9 years ago

KK, YOU DON'T KNOW THE FULL FACTS. DO YOU THINK THE GIRL WOULD NOT HAVE PUT UP A FIGHT? READING THE STORY, IT IS CLEAR THE GUY WAS STRONGER THAN THE GIRL. JUDGING BY THEIR AGES AND SEX.

• ty 9 years ago

I agree with you.Nobody was on
    the farm with them yet
    a lot of people believe the girl.The guy is dead and cannot defend himself.Rape is a despicable crime and so is murder.Just shoot an intruder in your house and see if y ...

• AKI N POPO 9 years ago

OK

• kujo 9 years ago

Think the police officer in charge shouls be sacked for putting the tenager behind bars . for God sake she is only 14 and a victim of attempted rape.come on shd be released on bail.Does he expect her to agree to be RAPPED?.Jo ...

• social whip 9 years ago

Someone is dead, another is claiming self defense for the killing. The girl must be released on bail, but not until the police have swiftly gone through the initial stages of investigation that the release of the girl could b ...

• ty 9 years ago

A British farmer living on a remote farm was repeatedly harassed by two thieves known to the police.After the umpteenth attack he snapped and shot them.One died and the farmer was jailed.In Itay a jewller shot dead an armed r ...

• Big D 9 years ago

w

• oko 9 years ago

So any girl can kill a man or lie about him and claim rape or attempted rape and be set free without any investigation? All of u who are making the argument in favour of this and other girls should wait until some foolish pro ...

• k the h 9 years ago

SET THAT GIRL FREE. POLICE GIVE HER BAIL IMMEDIATELY. I WILL PAY FOR HER LEGAL FEES IF SHE NEEDS IT.

• Obiba Broke 9 years ago

This is one sided story as the alleged rapist is dead, so police invesigation is needed and justice takes it's course

• MANGOMANGO 9 years ago

BCOS OF T-O-T-O.THAT SMALL HOLE.

• Nana 9 years ago

Please leave the innocent girl alone

• k.darko 9 years ago

Good job....I will award the girl for that brave act....lets see the justice system now and how powerful our lawyers are

• Sound Ghanaian 9 years ago

Why is the girl in police custody? Is she being threatened by the alleged rapist's family? Going by the words of the divisional commander, this is a clear case of self defense. For those claiming she must face the law, on wh ...

• pj 9 years ago

May a serial rapist rape your wife , sisters, girlfriend and daughters and go free. Fool

• King George,South Africa 9 years ago

If all rapist are being treated like this in the whole world,i think the world will have peace of mind

• Chief Vandal 9 years ago

GREAT GIRL

• Elli 9 years ago

Leave the girl alone. She can also die in the process of being raped

This is very stupid 23years old try to rapist 14 years old girl come the girl most go free

Hey john mahama let this gir go ok she defense herself ok if 30years old man rap your 13years old girl and urs daughter kill the rspist you take your daughter to court? ??? I need answer mahama

• kofi sarpong 9 years ago

i dont want to be judge and jurry but in this case i have to be, the law should let the girl go free. saying that a man is also dead. mmmmm

• chloe 9 years ago

Why would you keep the girl in custody, it self defense. Leave her alone.

• Ernest. 9 years ago

It is amazing our so called child right and women right activists have been so loudly silent on this issue. Where is Oye Lithur? The numerous women right activists and female lawyers should come out with their views and defe ...

• Ernest. 9 years ago

It is amazing our so called child right and women right activists have been so loudly silent on this issue. Where is Oye Lithur? The numerous women right activists and female lawyers should come out with their views and defe ...

• Ernest. 9 years ago

• saint James 9 years ago

Rapist naniama.Go n suffer in hell.

• opa 9 years ago

what a sad storey