You are here: HomeNews2015 02 16Article 346836

Gyan to resume penalty-taking duties for Ghana - George Afriyie

Read Comments Comments (32)

Misleading headline plus foolish journalism

• JAK The RIPPER 9 years ago

Think carefully before making utterances....failure to be thoughtful and deliberate results in such costly disappointments like rushing to take a penalty without first sufficiently calming down an dcomposing one's self....

• Baba 9 years ago

Jordan has been vilified for his inability to score goals but it has become obvious that the guy is an expect in penalties.

• PATIENCE 9 years ago

"10 out of 9 times"?

Afriyie and the stupid writers, you couldn't wait to go eat your fufu, kenkey, akpele, banku, kokonte and waakye?

Dummies!

• Gbonyo Mafia 9 years ago

This old cargo better sit down somewhere cuz we don't need that heart attack right now. Be getting ready to retire because you ruined most chances in the final game against Ivory Coast.

• The Truth 9 years ago

Just tell him to change his mind period,and stop disturbing us.

• BOY KOFI 9 years ago

If all the Black Stars players score during penalty shoot out and our goal keeper is unable to save just one ball,what will be the results?I will advise GFA to look for a better goal keeper trainer.Let them study the 1982 Bla ...

• Owusu 9 years ago

Our only problem is the goalkeepers trainer,I don't know why he is still there

• OSEI TAWIAH 9 years ago

Thank you very much for finally realizing the main reason why we lost the penalties. Your attack on Gyan was uncalled for but I think it was based on emotions. I am glad that you have made a U-turn and now speaking the truth. ...

• JK 9 years ago

Why couldn't Konadu convince his boss to bring on Adams just for possible penalty shootouts, if not to man the posts during matches? Did they see how the Dutch had a goalkeeper in camp just for penalties? What was the Daniel ...

• kwaku ghawa 9 years ago

Very foolish comment. When did Djan missed a penalty? Over 5 yrs now in South Africa WC 2010. Stupidly you guys could not psych him up only for us to lose , Any good leader will have gone for the 3rd kick. When you are leadin ...

• abi 9 years ago

Than you brother.Foolish decision by Andre Ayew to wait for the last kick.
    Common sense should prevail.

• ??? 9 years ago

more sharp and skillful up-n -coming lads around the blocks.

• BANGER 9 years ago

We the faithful want Gyan to start taking penalties after all everyone deserves a second chance.

• anokwale 9 years ago

I suspect that Gyan will merely be a part time player in 2017. I can see him being someone who plays only 60 minutes and goes to the bench by the time we get to that AFCON. He is getting old. He gave an excellent effort th ...

• Rastafara"I" 9 years ago

Gyan should take the free kicks instead of Wakaso. He shd not be forced to take penalties if he is not comfortable with it. But he cannot be the captain if he cannot participate in a shoot out...

• Samir 9 years ago

Yes Ghanaians are staunch soccer supporters but they also need to be educated a bit about soccer.They have to like it or not nobody is ever guaran teed to always score when it come penalty kicks check the records almost all p ...

• JAY 9 years ago

The guy is honoring what his mom told him, so why force him when you can train others to be better shooters of penalties?

• rida isaac 9 years ago

Gyan u did a dis service to your mother by refusing to take that kick supposedly in her honour. I you had taken the kick you could had brought honour to your country of which she could have been proud of you in grave. Instead ...

• Adam 9 years ago

Who cares either you resume penalty kicking or not, the bottom line is, when the Black Stars and the nation needed you, you were missing in action and it's too late. I honestly don't expect you for any major tournoment again. ...

• Victor A. Young 9 years ago

No one should force Captain Asamoah Gyan to resume taking penalty kicks. He's had enough of the bashing from Ghanaian fans already. For the fact that Afriyie Ankrah,Frank Acheampong and Goal Keeper Brimah missed out on their ...

• JOE DEE 9 years ago

Gyan, you a very good payer but two unforgettable mistakes u will never make again is:
    1)Not leaving the penalty for stephen Appiah @south Africa 2010
    2)opting not to tae penalties which led to your team losing the cup to I ...

• OSEI TAWIAH 9 years ago

How is it because of Gyan that we lost the penalties? Let me analyze things for you and maybe you will understand and stop blaming Gyan. The top 5 players who took the penalties were.
    1. Wakasso
    2. Jordan
    3. Acquah
    4. Ach ...

• JK 9 years ago

Por coaching decision in player selection. Plus, Stephen Adams should have been in the posts for the shootouts. Get rid of Nasamu for a better trainer

• Banana 9 years ago

Ghanaian soccer fans are just stupid...oh sorry...well, they are just ungrateful and don't know what they want...today, they condemn and want to hang Jordan Ayew...next day they want him to start instead of kwasi appiah...whe ...

• joe 9 years ago

we don't need him

• jojo 9 years ago

Gyan doesn't have to be the number one PK taker, but when push comes to shove and as the Captain he needs to stay on the field to show support and encouragement for the rest of the players and not allow himself to sub because ...

• sheriff wisdomgold of u s a 9 years ago

I think Mr Gyan is very nice and humble man and some of you Ghanaians should respect his feelings and rather help him with good advice and I think he did his best and I wish him all best and blessings Amen

• JK 9 years ago

The problem was the set of first five players selected for the penalty shootouts , and that was a coaching issue that must be addressed.

• jobling castro 9 years ago

everybody know Gyan he miss penalties 2006 Germany and south Africa 2010 and Africa cup of nation he miss 2 penalties this guy need to rest we tired of him

• FREEMAN 9 years ago

No, do not force him. What should have been done on that day was to fave replaced the goal keeper (Gyan was not to have been removed. Daudu should have been brought in. We all know that he has a track record of stopping penal ...

• FREEMAN 9 years ago

Train all the players on penalty kicks at the start of camping. Not before knock out matches when they are tensed. Experts to train Goal Keepers also early stages in camp.