You are here: HomeNews2015 02 16Article 346796

Bloodbath looms in Kumasi over demo

Read Comments Comments (142)

• warankoko 9 years ago

The good olden days political rivals is happening and that what happened between UP and CPP is going to come in Ashanti Region. I hope there will be peace among each other. God bless Ghana

• J0eY LOnD0N 9 years ago

Stop panicking the good people of Ghana.Ignoring this piece (from the Blays) will do Ghana better.

• OLD SOLDIER 9 years ago

Author:-Mahmoud...
    The president has been saying that he tried to introduce electronic payment and acquisition systems into the public sector {to reduce human contact with cash} in his effort to fighting corruption, but lam ...

• OLD SOLDIER 9 years ago

BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! WHERE DID GHANAIANS GO WRONG TO SUFFER LIKE THIS? YOU MAHAMA BUILDING YOUR HOTELS ABROAD, AFRIYIE ANKRA BUYING MANSIONS AT EAST LEGON, OKUDJETO ACQUIRING FILLING STATIONS ALL OVER, TOGBUI AF ...

• Dr Bawumia 9 years ago

Come on

• HANS 9 years ago

THE POWER-HUNGRY ASANTE/AKYEM POLITICIANS WANT TO BRING BACK "MATEMEHO". THE GOVERNMENT SHOULD MOBILIZE THE SECURITY FORCES TO CRUSH THEM.

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE (OFIE P33) 9 years ago

AUTHOR: CATAPULT---------
    "The Presidency has become a den of criminals"- Prof. Amoako(Political Science Lecturer).
    Afriyie Ankrah looted and upon uttering the famous words "open sesame" in the story of Ali Baba and the 40 ...

• MENDS 9 years ago

BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! WHERE DID GHANAIANS GO WRONG TO SUFFER LIKE THIS? YOU OLD SOLDIER BUILDING YOUR HOTELS ABROAD, SOLDIER BUYING MANSIONS AT EAST LEGON, SOLDIER ACQUIRING FILLING STATIONS ALL OVER, OLD SOLDIER ...

• KWASI 9 years ago

IN A DEMOCRATY FREEDOM OF SPEECH AND FREEDOM TO DEMONSTRATE IS PEOPLE GOD GIVIN RIGHTS THE HELL WITH NDC AND THE POLICE THEY SHOULD STAY AWAY

• Galley Dzokoto 9 years ago

is the Mahama gouvt so incopetent ? verify and let the group who first put in its application to demontrate, to go ahead. the other group may demonstrate later.

• Dr Bawumia 9 years ago

Asantis will turn upside down.

• Iddrisu Karbo 9 years ago

I Karbo will never vote for a tribal party like Npp, who do not respect other tribes like the EWES, Gas, Northerners and Ga adamgbes

• Omanbabea 9 years ago

Karbo you are more entrenched in tribalism than NPP, if indeed it is a tribal party. For you to declare that you will vote because of tribe, you are the one who supports tribalism.

NPP has not declared they are tribal p ...

• fr 9 years ago

Who cares?

• LARYEAH 9 years ago

KWASEA, GO BACK TO SCHOOL!

• Kwame Birmingham 9 years ago

I don't care a hoot if the Ashantis in Kumasi decide to cause a blood bath after all this is Kumasi they are used to violence, armed robbery etc. One of the most dangerous places in Ghana

• WOFA WOHOO 9 years ago

Why in the name of GOD and our envied peace and prosperity should our beloved and civilised Ghanaians be deceived by some greedy,evil politicians to commit the lowest for of action fight amongst our selves?The question is WHY ...

• WOFA WOHOO 9 years ago

This is my advise to the Asantehene,never get or say anything involving politics,for your own sake and the sake of of the ashantikindom.Anywise king should stay away frompolitics period and please nana watch what you say,like ...

• MUMU VOTERS 9 years ago

Blame the police, the police should stand on their ground and say yes to the first grounp that choose the said date, and no to the last group. Sikyena. See what's happending in Atebubu, the police already knew two of the musl ...

• Deep Thought 9 years ago

Oseeeee yeeeee, yeeeeeè yeeeee!!!!!!!.This is just the beginning.

• Papa yaw 9 years ago

Why

• Dr Bawumia 9 years ago

Hahahah, know u guys dey fear??
    All die be die

• Iddrisu Yaya 9 years ago

Npp and Ashantis are destroying Ghana, they hate da other tribes in Ghana, Northerners, Gas, Ewes and Ga adamgbes let come together and fight Ashantis in Ghana...

• ziggy 9 years ago

you are a fool

• abodam!!! 9 years ago

@lddrisu yaya, we don't need ur vote, tanii aboa

• Stevo USA 9 years ago

It's you, your family and your village that'll destroy first. Why are you calling for help. Even among you northners are great conflict. You can fight over a mere guinea fowl. Why don't you suggest something peaceful that can ...

• Stevo USA 9 years ago

Why are you calling for help. Even among you northners are great conflict. You can fight over a mere guinea fowl. Why don't you suggest something peaceful that can bring peace fool! How many northerners are in Ashanti? It's n ...

• WOFA WOHOO 9 years ago

What you wrote is nothing but hate,i am from the north but to hear you say this,does not make any sense.We need a peaceful GHANA and we want to stay peaceful until the end of time,it is not about tribes it is about civilisati ...

• ksi 9 years ago

If u want to fight ashantis, do it urself, why re u calling other tribes to join. U think we all reason foolishly like u

• Aadey 9 years ago

Npp does not need ur useless vote. Keep it bastard

• Hassan_Yaayima _ JASIKAN 9 years ago

Dis is political nonsence.

but Papa Police, der is a saying dat, first come, first served.
    so y dont u let dos idiotic nincompoops whu brought theirs late demonstrate on a different day bcos dey brought it late so dey shu ...

• United Ghana 9 years ago

I agree, first come first serve. Simply. In the interest of law & order on one of them can demonstrate on the day

• yaw-london 9 years ago

why cant the police be decisive, its first come, first serve, period. I am an npp, if the pro-ndc wrote to the police, give them the chance, afterall the pro-ndc demo is already dead on arrival. prove to the pro-ndc guys you ...

• Jake 9 years ago

Did your leaders agree to the different day suggested to them initially?

• Bismark Abban 9 years ago

Npp will loose again in 2016 despite all da hardships in Ghana, there is no way I will give my vote Npp, NEVER, foolish akan party

• kk 9 years ago

foolish boy...your moda

• kweku 9 years ago

I am an akan and voted for ndc, so am I stupid? Kwasia, I will never vote for ndc again, do u really know the akan population in Ghana? Your dirty stinking party is losing vote because of the double standard of your comments. ...

• Abu 9 years ago

There is a saying that if your mum is gone to the market and a neighbour asks and you reply that she is indoor, it is you who will be hungry for long. It beggers belief that when hungry and all is gone wrong you still stick o ...

• nonsense 9 years ago

This NPP and their aggressive behaviour will keep them in opposition for another 4 years because they don't learn from their mistakes. Demo don't win elections but good policies win election. I have noticed that all demo aga ...

• KOJO 9 years ago

show them where power lies.let them know that it is ashanti region and not volta reg.ghanaians are suffering due to poor management of the economy.dumso;bad roads;depreciation of the currency.ghanaians are suffering too much

• kwaku, akyem 9 years ago

nmjk

• nana 9 years ago

pls are you normal

• Papa Azuma 9 years ago

After all the NDC has nothing to demonstrate on. The NPP should just relax for the NDC people to express their ignorance after which they go all out.

• KWAKU KYERETWIE 9 years ago

THE NDC GOONS WILL SUFFER IF THEY DON'T STOP THEIR FOOLISHNESS. ASHANTI KINGDOM WILL FIGHT IF NDC DOESN'T KNOW HOW TO CLOTHE ASIEDU NKESTIA FROM MEN WEARHOUSE.....WE WILL FIGHT.

• Jake 9 years ago

NDC will kick ur ass in ur own homes

• ORIGINAL OBTT 9 years ago

THIS IS AN INDICATION OF A GROSS LAWLESS COUNTRY. WITH SUCH IMINENT DANGER IN SIGHT, IT IS THE RESPONSIBILITY OF THE POLICE IN THE INTEREST OF PEACE AND THE PROTECTION OF CITIZENS TO BE FIRM IN DECISION MAKING TO ENSURE THE G ...

• ORIGINAL OBTT 9 years ago

I AGREE WITH THOSE ADVOCATING FIRST COME FIRST SERVE.

• azi wofie woyie 9 years ago

WHICH GROUP WROTE LETTER FIRST? NOT NPP? THEN WHY? THE POLICE SHOULD STOP SO CALL OYA. ELSE HHMMMMMMMM

• Abrabo Ye Hard 9 years ago

IS THIS NOT A VIVID REFLECTION OF 2016-ELECTIONS? AND the police wld look unconcern for lifes to be perished.WHY CANT THEY STOP THE STUBBORNESS of OYA,being the minority in that REGION.The police MUST NOT UNDERATE the NPP as ...

• Dr Bawumia 9 years ago

Who cares if asantie life's are lost??

• King George,South Africa 9 years ago

soldiers and other military agencies must be deploy because what can make Ghana calm and peace to prevail is to deploy soldiers and military personnels

• Dr Bawumia 9 years ago

Ahhhh why??

• Antwi 9 years ago

Western style democracy is nt working in Africa ... Let's find our own way of governance.

• Oking 9 years ago

thank u Antwi-we are lacking behind the whole world and we had been brain-washed to the extend that we are becoming blind-Democracy is not helping us in Africa-it is rather dividing us and the few priviledged ones are squande ...

• Oking 9 years ago

WE NEED TO WAKE UP AND BE WISE ENOUGH TO CONTROL OUR AFAIRS

• Oking 9 years ago

WE NEED TO WAKE UP AND BE WISE ENOUGH TO CONTROL OUR OWN AFFAIRS-IT IS NEVER TOO LATE WE CAN STILL MAKE IT

• Stephen Adjei 9 years ago

As a constituency Vice Chairman of the most chesrihed Party (NDC) in another constituency, I think it is most appropraite for the sake of decency and respect for democracy, for the NDC group to reschedule theirs. Let us allow ...

• Dr Bawumia 9 years ago

When the Npp were told to set a different day before, they still went ahead to tell thier stupid followers to mark that day on thier calendar even tho they weren't clerared.

• Uncle 9 years ago

The notorious National Liberation Movement (NLM) formed in Kumasi which tormented Ghanaian including the throwing of bombs and killing may innocent citizens during the time of Dr Kwame Nkrumah and eventually caused his overt ...

• Kumfana Yele from Techiman. 9 years ago

i trust kofi boakye. he will not make any mistake. he will crash both parties down if they dare him.

• Isaac, Royal Oak 9 years ago

Please Kofi Boakye support ndc and he will not do anything to protect NPP because Boakye came on air and said NPP nearly kill him

• Ekow, Cape Coast 9 years ago

NDC should be very very careful. Ashanti is not Volta region. Ewes are warned

• Dr Bawumia 9 years ago

And after come to Our home and see??

• K.D. 9 years ago

The police should allow the MFC to demonstrate and do everything possible to restrain OYA since it was MFC that first wrote to the police. If NDC Government really love the people of Ghana then they should see to it that Peac ...

• King Edward 9 years ago

This useless paper called Daily Guide at it again. Alwys Alwqys creatig fear, tension and panic among the citizens.

• Addo kuffour 9 years ago

Hahahaha, I can imagine Npp shaking to hear JJ coming to thier own back yard.

• 0265217070 9 years ago

Do you know anybody in Accra in need of a job? Or even you, yourself

There are over 200 vacancies available for Sales Reps for a reputable Insurance Co, even if you don't need the job, you definitely know someone who does ...

• Criminal mahama. 9 years ago

The Ndc should
    Just bring it......we are ready waiting for u. Mother fucker.

• mas'ud 9 years ago

fools, cant wait to see dis day.
    if u hav notin precious to do on dat day, why dont u pick buckets each so u can fetch water and fill the akosombo dam?

• love 9 years ago

Some ghanaians a sooo stupid its npp for all ghanaians u ashantis a conffusion people is the demo people all a ewes, i blem ur teachers who teaches u because how u speak english thats how u write ndc is not only for ewes, the ...

• nonsense 9 years ago

Meanwhile, Kennedy Kankam, the Ashanti Regional Organiser of the NPP, has sternly warned OYA not to try to disrupt MFC’s demonstration on February 24, saying that his group was prepared to match OYA “boot-for-boot.”
    I ...

• Criminal mahama. 9 years ago

Suck your mother.

• nonsense 9 years ago

No sensible person want people with your attitude of insulting behaviour in power, it's only the NPP who behave this way and that is why your ashantes tribal NPP party will remain in opposition again come 2016. The NPP is lik ...

• Efo Kwaku Canada 9 years ago

Stupid NDC propaganda to scare NPP supporters but gone at the days where NDC fools were fooling around ,NDC is doomed and lack wisdom , this is funny oya FOOLS group

• meshack 9 years ago

forget urself ..... ghana is striving frm the bad deeds of npp..

• ERIC YEBOAH 9 years ago

THE TRUTH SHALL BE THE TRUTH AND NOTHING ELSE. WHO EVER SORT THE PERMISSION OF THE POLICE FIRST SHOULD BE ALLOWED TO DEMONSTRATE SIMPLE.

• Osei Yao 9 years ago

Reenactment of Kumasi Students Union (KSU) a voluntary association and Ashanti Students Union (ASU) pro government students group who insisted on organising activities on the same occasions as KSU. of course, the KSU function ...

• kelewele - Lawra 9 years ago

This is the time react to the numerous demo by the Npp

• BENJAMIN 9 years ago

We are in a time of intense difficulty and Ghanaian's must pray for the change and development. We dont need to insult each other. We are one people.

• jt 9 years ago

Ashantes, do u agree Kumasi be put in that distraction? Our concern should be this what would happen if war break out in kumasi.War as I know normally do not end up the way the starter want it. Mark my word.

• Kwame Oduro 9 years ago

Allow the movement to start theirs first as it is a pilot scheme

• wwc 9 years ago

The element of blood shed is in the NDC and its supporters

• osuman mohammed. 9 years ago

GHANAIANS HAVE TO KNOW THAT THE BACKWARDNESS OF GHANA AS A NATION COMES FROM KUMASI AND THE ASHANTE PEOPLE. ASHANTES THINK THEY ARE THE ONLY PEOP[LE IN GHANA WHO SHOULD RULE AND THAT ANY OTHER TRIBE IN GHANA HAS NO RIGHT TO ...

• Akwasi Boateng 9 years ago

Come to Kumasi, you will see Asante power.

Inferiority-complexed Osuman Mohammed.

We Asantes, are fed up with this unnecessary hate from other tribes.

• Obiba Broke 9 years ago

John Mahama s wife is from Brong ahafo, John Rawlings wife from Ashanti my own wife from Volta region, so why these tribal war?

• kofi Agyare 9 years ago

This advice goes to my NPP brothers and sisters in the Ashanti region not to allow themselves to be used by politician such as Nana Nana Akuffo-Addo to create unnecessary tension in Kumasi and Ghana in general.

I am NPP me ...

• ABAAH. 9 years ago

KOFI AGYARE YOU ARE A LIAR AND THE MOST STUPIDMAN AMONG THE STUPIDS.YOU ARE COMMENTS ARE VERY DANGEROUS TO NPP.YOU ARE NDC HOOLIGAN WHO PRETENDS TO BE NPP.WHO IS THIS INCOMPETENT ALAN AT ALL,THE MAN WHO COUNLD'T GOT EVEN 4%OF ...

• Azamboni Jamini 9 years ago

Fire for fire. We are more than ready to get Mahama off our backs

• kk 9 years ago

your m
    moda

• KOFI 9 years ago

THE GROUP THAT APPLIED FIRST SHOULD BE ALLOWED TO ORGANIZE THE DEMO. THERE SHOULD BE NO POLITICS IN THIS.

• Akufo Addo 9 years ago

What do these guys want at all. Can't you wait for 2016 to see how your evil dwarf will fair. Will take refuge with the courts again or will he opt for bloodshed.

• Nii Addo 9 years ago

Spare us this -inbele nkila- write up

• OUT NDC 9 years ago

leave them to demo , they are right all business are getting down just because of dumsor . this country need a military leader , mahama have to be over thorw

• Lord Tennison 9 years ago

The Police admin. in the region is to blame.A first come,first served decision should have averted the problem.
    If the NPP group was the first to notify the Police,then they should be allowed
    to demonstrate on the 24th.
    Al ...

• amevor 9 years ago

All Akans are dirty people,they are fools, all Akans must go to hell, we must not tolerate them, all Akans take ur npp, foolish Akans ,

• s.d 9 years ago

anti ashanti or akan sentiment will do nothing,they are the backbone of this country if u like it or not,is their resources,the gold,cocoa,timber,oil,forest everything,stupid people like you amevor & the moron prez.mahama wil ...

• Akos 9 years ago

Please NPP Youth, kindly pospone your date to a later date.

• Sarjo Bayo 9 years ago

well the security of the country is in the hand of the police. i think the police should give permit to first come first have. if OYA's application is first received then they should do their demonstration on 24th February bu ...

• ohyew 9 years ago

Ban both organisations from protesting on the said day, period! No one is above the law!

• nana 9 years ago

Infact um contribution doesn't contain anything useful .to me we are all the same people and one nation.

• kyd 9 years ago

we are not one nation, we cant even understand each other language,we r just a collection of people,it will be better if we seperate, ewes back to togo,Akan unite to form their nation,the zongos & northerners including mahama ...

• impromptus 9 years ago

If the economy is good it benefits both Mahamah supporters and non-supporters. Therefore, what the point of demonstrating against bad policies?

• impromptus 9 years ago

Ashanti has been peaceful throught history. Very titanic tolerant tribe. We accommodate every human beings whether from Bukina on their way to Accra etc. Let remain that forever

• impromptus 9 years ago

He knows his job and politics and media bias

• Titriku 9 years ago

TOSS THE DICE AND LET WINNER DEMONSTRATE 6AM TO 12 NOON, AND NEXT GROUP 12 NOON TO 6PM.

• abby-south 9 years ago

why demonstrate if your government is in power huh just do the work n ppl will see your good works and will feel it in their pockets and their home NDC is a failure to ghanaians they have no business being in power

• Jam 9 years ago

Ashantis are corrupt and backward thinkers. If Ghana should plunge into chaos one day, it will definitely come from them.

I believe both demonstrations are not important. NPP must just be patient for the ruling government ...

• Jonas Kwaku Bilson 9 years ago

Simply arrest the leader and ban the match on grounds of public safety or whichever group asked first should match one day and the other group the next day of week. You tell not ask them.

• Ali Mahama. 9 years ago

Kofi Boakye is too clever to be grilled by this problem Which group applied first ? He should put his feet down stop taking sides and stop the second group like the Commander we know him to be.

• BabaUS 9 years ago

Why not issue permits for different days?

• Sheik 9 years ago

The NDC will learn hat 'patapaa. will help no one. When the people are pushed to the wall, they will fight back and no police force contain that!

• NANA BONSU 9 years ago

THIS TIME THE NDC AND OSEI TUTU WILL NOT BE DANCING

• Nero 9 years ago

Or get the leadership of the 2 groups together, negotiate a pledge of non-violence/non-confrontation, and together formulate the processes to realize those objectives. That will be democracy in action.
    But if that course of ...

• DEPORT FOREIGN MUSLIMS , 9 years ago

NPP HAS THE RIGHT TO DEMONSTRTE FEB 24 . PEACEFUL DEMONSTRATION IS PART OF POLITIC SENDING THE MESSAGE TO THE PRESIDENT . FIRST OF ALL MFC WAS THE FIRST TO WRITE TO THE POLICE TO HIT THE STREET 0N FEB 24 SO WHY THE SECURITY C ...

• THANKS 9 years ago

OYA whatever please stop this futile demo.Look at Nigeria and count yourselves lucky to be alive.

• kwaku 9 years ago

If you're going to vote for ndc despite all the hardships that is your own problem ,however it's idiotic to abuse npp voters

• CAO 9 years ago

set,

• Adjabitiase 9 years ago

employment embago

• Adjabitiase 9 years ago

No employment

• Awurade kasa 9 years ago

There is something wrong here. Do people apply to demonstrate?. Are permits issued for such events?. If yes, who applied first?. Is this difficult to decide my this useless police of ours?.
    Arrest the leaders of the group wh ...

• Ugly Akufo Addo 9 years ago

If u are a man don't call security agencies n see this Zongos will Do to u , without this Zongos no Ashantis

• Ugly Akufo Addo 9 years ago

All die be die

• Issah H amdu 9 years ago

i think for the peace of this country the demos should be held seperately on seperate days we love the current peaace that is going on and there is no way we should allow anything to distrupt it Ghana is bigger thatn any poli ...

• Odikro Eyeuo Mununkum 9 years ago

This is not "Einstein Theory" whoever granted permit first should demonstrate first. Everything should be made as simple as possible, but not simpler.

• mr manu 9 years ago

We prefer peace in the darkness than war in light . Even though the dumsor is a hard pill to swallow , Ghanaians all over apart from AR wld prefer dumsor to bloodbath. I hope after all these ,the light wld come on, since de ...

• Constructivist 9 years ago

Is the police telling us the two pressure groups came to obtain police permission the same time and asked to hold their demos on 24th?

• Ericus-Ericus 9 years ago

Demonstrating to praise government for good works??????..... Where in this world has this ever happened? Is the NDC trying to say that they are happy for Ghana experiencing continuous dumsor for about three year???. Normally ...

• NEW LIGHT 9 years ago

NDC wise up! Who will suffer when violence break in the stronghold of NPP. You don't care about safety of the minority in Kumasi...a word to the wise is enough,

• Obit 9 years ago

Hmmm when will you die

• Joe, UK 9 years ago

I think the demonstrations are of no importa nce since it might bring mayhem to the country. Ghana is not the only country with problems. Ghanaians are very fortunate but all of you should listen to news about Syria, Libya, U ...

• nii nii niiiii 9 years ago

Now you see why Ghana will and cannot develop. Instead of working together they are now fighting,those for and against.Most of my friends who went home for good from the diaspora had gone back as nothing good is happening in ...

• gloria usa 9 years ago

FIRST COME FIRST SERVE GHANA IS IN POWER CRISIS ALREADY WE WANT PEACE

I knew NDC got the most MUMU supporters in Africa, the most ZOMBI in Africa, the only think about their party than the country. Did they read news atal? Hmmmm... We read everywhere that the country is sinking and somebody wan ...

• DENTERN 9 years ago

BLAME THE ACTIONS OF CORRUPT POLICE WHO PROBABLY ACCEPTED BRIBES TO PUT
    OYA ON THE SAME DATE MFC WANT TO DEMONSTRATE. IF MFC WAS THE FIRST TO REQUEST FEB 24 FOR DEMONSTRATION WHY NOT ISSUE PERMIT TO THEM FOR THAT DAY

• PROFESSOR ASHAWO!! 9 years ago

REMOVE THE EMBARGO

• Obiba Broke 9 years ago

One ashanti life is equal one million of other ghanaian tribes.

• OMANNI 9 years ago

Wait and see .we will make sure there will be no more asewase town.

• Prince Yogin 9 years ago

it is in Ashanti region where you can find every tribe located peacefully in every location.i tried to find out and i was surprised to see that in many areas in Ashanti you find Gas,Ewes,Ashantis,Northeners,Fantis and other t ...

• Isaac, Royal Oak 9 years ago

The police Commender should be blamed Incase of any bloodbath in Kumasi on that 24th n I hope God will ask him if anything happens. The Commender has make the whole Police force in Kumasi look like fools because they should b ...

• Amensco Refill 9 years ago

Quality Toner and Ink refill at Amensco Techno Services at Abeka.
    We also service Photocopy machines and Printers.
    Call: 0244523451

• OKOROMANSA 9 years ago

WAA LOOK, LITTLE MINDS CALLED OYA STILL SUPPORT MAHAMA. THESE ARE IGNORANT AND BRAIN-WASHED MINDS THAT CAN'T EVALUATE OR ANALYSE ANY SITUATION. THEY SEE NOTHING WRONG WITH THE KNEE-JERK NDC ADMINISTRATION. GOD SAVE GHANA.