You are here: HomeNews2015 02 15Article 346696

Offshore Power Plant from Turkey to Ghana

Read Comments Comments (58)

• The mask 9 years ago

The only rationale conclusion one can draw from the present crises in the face of falling crude prices is a reduction in electricity generation capacity in the country. If this is so then what could have possibly led to this ...

• yaaanom 9 years ago

total failure for the $3 billion chinese loan for the gas project to suply gas from the oil field to the generating plants. ndc gorverment is always a fuiler,liers and corrupt gorverment. they shit before they remember to use ...

• Huges mends 9 years ago

He he he !The fault seeking campaign begins today by NPP. They will deny the move is a good thing. Ghanains will know their true colors. They want Ghana in DUMDOR! NPP should better such for a new war theme and better stop th ...

DUM SOR should better search

• Evans-Scotland 9 years ago

I now believe that the NPP just want Ghanians to suffer for their political gains. Dumsor is a night mare. If government has some solution, what the fuck is your noise about again! You are just whiners who just want to score ...

• DAN 9 years ago

you know the truth beside what you have mention..no money to pay in advance for gas or oil..Plus they are setting up the muslim money transfer connection with turkey..Wasn't that where the plane full of gold was flown to???

• maxfrance 9 years ago

The Mask my brother, the whole problem is 1.when Dr.Nkurumah built Akosombo Dam, the population of Ghana was 7 and half million.2. not all cities and towns +villages where having electricities as we see today, ok. 3. Cities a ...

• G Amoh Toronto. 9 years ago

Thank you Maxfrance.I think I can share a drink with you.

• Samuel Ansah New York 9 years ago

You started well but partisanship destroyed what you started . It's true that Rawlins would be credited for the extension of electricity to rural areas and at the same time not doing enough to add to the existing pow ...

• Sankofa 9 years ago

When the water level of the Black Volta rises, the Bui dam will produce more electricity than it does now.

• Ebenezer 9 years ago

Awo Ghana, these people talk too much, but they do little, they sleep a lot hoping that, the government will come and feed them in their homes. They turn to know everything, but they know nothing. If the government of the day ...

• Kwame Birmingham 9 years ago

Watch boko haram leader akuffo addo will set fire to it. Npp is not happy power is coming they will burn it down

He he he ! NPP should better search for a new war theme and better stop that dumsor shit! Is Ghana a better country than iran or Dubai who are depending on this electricity source? What do you mean by stooping low? You fool. ...

The fault seeking champaign will begin today by NPP. They will deny the move is a good thing. Ghanains will know their true colors. They want Ghana in DUMDOR! NPP should better such for a new war theme and better stop that sh ...

nOW THEY WILL JUMP O ANOTHER WAR. HOW LONG ARE YOU GOING TO BE KNOCKED DOWN?

• William Sorkpor, USA 9 years ago

The answer to this question is very simple: under capacity.

In perspective: Akosombo was not built to support the present level of population grow, and socio-economic development of our beloved Great Ghana. At the time Ako ...

• SAARA-MENSAH 9 years ago

We should have made this arrangement 3 years ago. But, alright , better be late than never.

• Boamah 9 years ago

Why did you not propose it 3 years ago?

• CAPTAIN BOB 9 years ago

WHERE ARE THE BRAINS OF THOSE YOU PUT THERE TO ADMINISTRATE OUR AFFAIRS?.DON'T THINK FROM YOUR ANUS.

• Foreigner 9 years ago

This short term solution will put a high cost component into the cost structure of Ghana's future electricity scheme. JUST to run it, they will take 65Gp per Kw hour. The average household pays less than that per Kw hour. ...

• Nene Akwesi-Somanya 9 years ago

NPP what is your problem? You think government has not done all that analysis before venturing into this? You surely wanted Ghanaian in Darkness for a while- until you can use them for your political points. Shame on you! Gha ...

• CAPTAIN BOB 9 years ago

IDIOTIC EXPRESSION,YOU THINK EVERYONE THAT COMPLAINS ABOUT THIS ISSUE IS NPP.STOP THE FOOLISHNESS AND TRIBAL HATRED.OFUI!.

• Akans Prophecies 9 years ago

Mahama and his NDC crooks are the most shameful in our society. Do we have to bow so low even to turks for the supply of electricity? After 26years of NDC political annexations with variable promises ,propogandas, their onl ...

NPP should better such for a new war theme and better stop that shit! Is Ghana a better country than iran or Dubai who are depending on this electricity source? What do you mean by stooping low? You fool. So you prefere dum s ...

• Baba Bawa 9 years ago

The LNG fired 2000MW Combined Cycle Gas Turbine Project have provided a more reliable, expandable and cheaper power for Ghana. Why this Government is holding this German project down for a power barge that will cost twice bea ...

• POWER 9 years ago

YOU DONT KNOW WHAT YOU ARE TALKING ABOUT. YOU SAY LNG-FIRED, ARE THERE ANY RECEPTION FACILITIES TO REGASIFY IMPORTED LNG IN GHANA OR CLOSE TO GHANA YET????? TOO MANY PEOPLE FINDING CORRUPTION UNDER EVERY CARPET AND COMMENTING ...

• let them say 9 years ago

Run the state owned power generating machinery down,hide behind multinational companies to bring in independent power producers.Then proceed to privatize ECG for their own private gains.That's the plot.

• el negro 9 years ago

What a wreckless, stupids lazys leaders are we having,, they can't do anything for mother GH if not begging is looting, but time will come we the youths of mother Ghana will stand against them, God bless Ghana and entire worl ...

• KORY 9 years ago

MAHAMA IS USELESS AND ALL HIS CRONIES KEEP STEALING WILL NOT LAST LONG WITH TECHNOLOGY HOW FAR CAN YOU GO. HIDE THAT LOOT IN ANY COUNTRY IT WILL COE TO LIGHT ONE DAY. GHANAIANS BEEN DECIEVED FAR TOO LONG

• ibn abudu @ Canadasheabutter (GhUWR) 9 years ago

YOU TALK TOO MUCH , & GIVE OUT A LOT OF GOVERNMENT POLICY AS AN AMMUNITION TO THE MEDIA & OPPOSITION

WHY NOT WAIT UNTIL THE ACTION IS COMPLETED BEFORE ALERTING THE MEDIA

NUCLEAR ENERGY ALL THE REMEDIES ARE WASTE OF THE ...

• Jay London 9 years ago

WE will believe it when we see it.

Let us write the date of this report down as the NDC has REPUTATION TO GO BACK ON THEIR WORD.

• Sana 9 years ago

Nigeria is no nation to depend on.

• Sensible man 9 years ago

Fucken Country with fucken leaders.U don't plan well at all.We're in trouble but we supply Togo light.What a country

• Paajim 9 years ago

Mr.Ebenezer Baiden have you poeple tought of it cearfuly about going in to deal with the Turkey to sign a deal with them? Allmost half of Turkey are living in a mountains and in caves without water and Electricity and you ...

• NDC4LIFE 9 years ago

I think Paajim is Nana Addo. He is hiding under his bed crying. With Dumsor solved, you will lose the 2016 election potor!!!!!!!! Sosket, you don't want Ghana to have electricity so you can make noise and come to power

• Bryan 9 years ago

Paajim,
    You wrote :
    Mr.Ebenezer Baiden have you poeple tought of it cearfuly about going in to deal with the Turkey to sign a deal with them? Allmost half of Turkey are living in a mountains and in caves without water and E ...

• kwasi 9 years ago

THEY SEEM TO ARGUE WITH MANY COUNTRYS
    TO TRUST TURKY WILL BE A HUGE MISTAKE

• NDC4LIFE 9 years ago

Nana Addo is commenting here on Ghanaweb, masquerading as Paajim, Kwasi, Jerry, etc!!!!!!

He is hiding under his bed crying. With Dumsor solved, you will lose the 2016 election potor!!!!!!!! Sosket, you don't want Ghana ...

• JERRY 9 years ago

ARE YOU KIDDING ME OR WHAT WHY SHOULD GHANA HAVE A POWER OLANT IN TURKY UNDER ARDUAN THE CRAZY MUSLIM LEADER THAT LOOKING TO FIGHT WITH THE ENTIRE WORLD?

• Asante Anin, USA 9 years ago

The best power source for Ghana in support of Volta Hydro-power is Solar Energy. Therefore it makes sense for the government to provide Home-Owner in Ghana much incentives to draw solar energy to residential areas in order to ...

• Prempeh Bonsu, Orlando, Florida 9 years ago

Let's go solar because we have plenty of sun energy in Ghana. By God's providence, Ghana is so close to the equator and therefore has direct access to plenty of sun energy!

• A.M.A 9 years ago

Ships on sea top generate electricity, by using big engines as well as aeroplanes flying overhead with caterpillers engines ,to be used on board day and night.Cant our big mouth engineers construct engines to and turn it as g ...

• Asass, Ksi 9 years ago

The messages from Utopia should stop now.Please Minister do action now.May God help you.

• Mohammed 9 years ago

I strongly believe you're still taking breast milk
    please stop taking it and use your head to think

• George Kyiama Erzuah 9 years ago

The engineers in the various power generating companies are not willing to cultivate the culture of maintenance and also sabotaging the government, what effort the government will do, i doubt it work.

• Eddie Oduku 9 years ago

The offshore power agreement from Turkey power ship should be properly looked into by Ghana Goverment. So that it will not create another huge debt for Ghana whoever Government is in power. Ghanaians are fed up paying huge de ...

• Ghanabiya 9 years ago

Reading this article, it is clear that our 'policy makers' have nothing to offer us.

How could they not foresee the increase in demand for electricity now and make plans for it?

The arrangements they have made with th ...

• Owusu 9 years ago

we know that u can solve our power crises God bless u

• Annorwuo 9 years ago

Still lurking around signing agreements on behalf of this country?
    Tell you what,until some rationalization is effected,with lines of responsibility clearly drawn,this administration will never be in a position to solve our ...

• Kofi Afrifa 9 years ago

You have put a price tag of $600.
    How much is Ghana going to pay for a month?
    How long are going to stay in Ghana?

• RerALI MANHAMA 9 years ago

After waiting for most businesses to collapse.before sulution. A good leader does does not look on for destruction to to take place before repairs re effected. Just take a look at Nsawam Suhum road. John MAHAMA has look on u ...

• Alex 9 years ago

I believed Ghana will go to bankruptcy very soon and it own by white folks. Facing all these problems why we can look at other african country's. Take Kenya. Nigeria. Angola.Rewanda. for example

• Etwieeba 9 years ago

Tweaaaaa! Another Aboadze Plant .its all much ado about nothing. It will come to nothing as long as the NDC is in the helms of affairs. The will make huge propaganda about it while Dumsor Dumsor continues. Sheer incompetence. ...

• Abeiku 9 years ago

THIS IS ANOTHER PRUDENT MEASURE BY THE GOVT TO SOLVE THE ENRGY PROBLEM. IT IS RIGHT AND PROPER. GOVT SHOULD IGNORE THE NEGATIVE PROPAGANDA BY NPP. NPP MEANS NO GOOD FOR GHANAIANS.

• MUFTY an NDC 9 years ago

kwasia sem. if you want to resolve the power problem you dont go to Turkey. You go to countries like the UK, US, Germany and few others documented to have the best power generation technology

• yusa 9 years ago

das a good new to all ghanaian. if only is not fallacy

• Grand Mufti of Accra . 9 years ago

LOOK AT HIS LIKE SHIT BUAH IS THIEVE AND A ROGUE AND THEY CLAIM THEY ARE MINISTERS WHAT IS THE POINT IN SELLING THE WHOLE EQUIPMENT TO LEONE.

• MUFTY an NDC 9 years ago

Its quite ridiculous to read such an appalling article lauding the mediocre effort of the government to reach out to a country like Turkey (not the U.S., not Germany, not Japan, not the UK). Where the hell are all the monies ...