You are here: HomeNews2015 02 09Article 345834

Atsu, Ayew win MVP and top scorer awards

Read Comments Comments (61)

• KOFI - USA 9 years ago

What good will it do if you win all the awards and fail to win the big one? What matters is Winning it All and we failed to win it all.

• etony 9 years ago

Pls credit hard work n determination the boys did their best n have been rewarded for that. Let's be grateful n encourage them to do better next tym.

• Say Some 9 years ago

How can a leader abandon his people when they need him most. Gyan's decision to leave his people show why he can never win African best. Yaya showed true leadership. He's indeed the best.

• Saint Ghfuo: nyantakyi must GO! 9 years ago

HE WILL PLAY N MISS N YOU ASSHOLES WILL WANT TO HANG HIM. HE MADE THE BEST DECISION. HE KNOWS HIS CAPABILITIES

• #Ern is back!! 9 years ago

Thank you Gh Fuo!! No need for me to add any more to your comment. You summed it up perfectly!!

• ***8*** 9 years ago

100% RIGHT

• OSEI TAWIAH 9 years ago

Gyan did not abandon his players. The decision to remove him was made by the coach who feels he was tired. The shoot-out line up was selected by the coaches and the captains have no hand in that. Gyan was dropped and Dede was ...

Osei, come one!! The decision not to take penalties was Gyan's decision!! It is obvious he had discussed this with Grant and the coaching staff. Grant left him on until the very last minute as Gyan is a player who can turn a ...

• jerry 9 years ago

i like his decision not to take the penalties, Ghana that is what we want i tell a time is coming where by no player will like to take penalties for ghana agian.

• Rapture 9 years ago

Don't be stupid.If he plays and makes mistakes,kwasea like you will insult him.Abowaaaaaa

• OBIDEEABA, BELGIUM 9 years ago

I said the same thing to my family when Asamoah handed the captains band to Dede, I told my friend history will repeat itself. Gyan shoud have stayed to fight for his country. I will not insult Gyan, but he is the leader and ...

• Ras 9 years ago

Gyan did the best thing. Dats wat Ghanaians want. We ll now learn from our own foolishness to appreciate people wen they make mistakes.

• Edem 9 years ago

Asamoah Gyan kept Ghana in the competition when all hope was lost; his penalty decision is due to a promise he made to his mother!

• ONIPA NSE HWEE 9 years ago

THIS IS WRONG. GYAN IS AN ADULT, HIS MOM CAN ADVICE HIM NOT TO DICTATE FOR HIM. ABSOLUTELY WRONG.HE SHOULDN'T HAVE PLAYED AT ALL IF THAT IS THE ISSUE.

• yinka 9 years ago

Well said my. We lost b'cos of lack of leadership

• K. POME 9 years ago

Asamoah Gyan kept Ghana in the competition when all hope was lost; his penalty played decision is due to a promise he made to his mother! not to play a

• Carlos 9 years ago

Well done guys, we are proud of you. You've done enough to win our trust.

• ABU JOMO STAVANGER NORWAY 9 years ago

Kofi have you ever played soccer in your lifetime. i am really ashamed for our own citizens putting politics into soccer. What laurels did we win under NPP when Kuffour was the president. Neither would Ghana win, if Akuffo Ad ...

• Ghanaman 9 years ago

Par excellence, Atsu. Well done and God bless you. More laurels to come.

• Emml. Kofi Frimpong, Worcester-MA 9 years ago

In fact, when I once predicted Atsu's diamond future in the national team, I quite remember, couple of normal mouth- lashes, i received from troubled viewers. Surely, the damn critics have shamefully confessed now. Like I sai ...

• Michael Akinola 9 years ago

Ghana will always be Ghana no matter what.These players tried their best and were not in any way disgraced.They will surely come back again.How about those of Nigerians who never got qualified.The Black Stars are the real sta ...

• Ras 9 years ago

Before u comment think deep within ur heart. Be sincere

• Concerned 9 years ago

We had a chance to dream and forget about dumsor and the rest of the problems inflicted by mahama and his greedy bastards. But we did well. Two finals in 4 years is not too bad. Well done to our boys and coach

• obibini 9 years ago

No wonder you live in America,a nation which wants everything in the world for itself.Ghana only lost on penalties which given the chance the weakest team in any football competition can use to win a game.

• ONIPA NSE HWEE 9 years ago

GYAN,NO MATTR WHAT YOU DO IN LIFE, PEOPLE WILL TALK ABOUT YOU. BE A MAN AND DO WHAT YOU THINK IT'S GOOD AND WILL BENEFIT.THERE A PROVERB IN AKAN WHICH GOES,SE WO DE ABOFUO PO ADE MA OKWASEA A, OFA" NANSO ONTUMI NYE NO HWEE.

• Rastafara"I" 9 years ago

The weakness was the late subsititution of Kwesi Appiah and gyan

• etony 9 years ago

The cyan was kept in the against Algeria when he wasn't playing anything but had one chance in last mintue of that game n scored a great goal. Let's learn to take defeat as defeat more work hard n be better next tym. N stop ...

Well said etony! Some people have very short memories!

• Saint Ghfuo: nyantakyi must GO! 9 years ago

GYAN NEEDED AN ATSU TO WORK FOR HIM. APPIAH WASNT DOING THE JOB. GRANT SHOULD HVE PLUGGED ATSU IN APPIAH'S SPOT. N BRING IN JORDAN/ACHEAMPONG TO WORK ON THE RIGHT. ATSU IS THE MOST SKILLFUL DRIBBLER N CAN TERRORIZE THE IVORIA ...

• OSEI TAWIAH 9 years ago

The coach made the best selection but lacked tactical superiority. I couldn't understand his last minute changes and worst of all, I still don't understand why he placed the rookies before the experienced players in the final ...

Osei, let me explain the last minute changes. Gyan had probably discussed with Grant that he does not want to take penalties due to what Ghanaians will do to him if he misses! We have to accept that decision by Gyan based on ...

• Saint Ghfuo: Nyantakyi Must Die! 9 years ago

He is the coach and services tnese players in their training. So if necessary couldn't tell these gh players to adopt shots over placing or any combination of both.then Grant' coaching abilities are suspect. Look at his track ...

• FIFA ONE 9 years ago

People should remember that Asamoah Gyan's Mother asked him not to take any penalty for Ghana after people wanted to burn his house and beat his family(mother) at their home after their 2010 world cup penalty miss against Uru ...

• Egya Armochie Pius, (Virginia,U.S.A) 9 years ago

In my own opinion, the captain demoralized the entire players by running away from his lads(the same boys a captain is to be behind them and inspire them.) Even if he had decided not to take the penalties because my Ghanaians ...

• Lex. 9 years ago

Shame on all the so called loud mouthed morons for calling Atsu, all kinds of names among them bench warmer, trokosi,etc.Give credit where it's due morons .We are all Ghanaians but you you those unpatriotic aliens residing i ...

• HANDSOME MAN 9 years ago

Asamoah Gyan was looking to be crown the African footballer of the year,yet he run away when the team needed him most.Haaahaaha,maasa just enjoy your wealth and leave the afircan best footballer award to the hungry and brave ...

• Sethovia 9 years ago

Handsome, u are the same guys who criticized him for missing two penalties. What would u have said if he missed this one too. Its good he stayed away from people like u guys.

• jerry 9 years ago

tell them, people like that never prosper in life, thank you

• Gilbert Dzokoto 9 years ago

we should learn to contains of what we have anr gives thanks to God almighty for bringing us far.
    we were the same people who criticize the entire team and they took us by suprise by reaching finals and getting some awards o ...

• Paa 9 years ago

"Massa", please work on your grammar before you post anything here. Too many "bullets" in such a short comment! I felt a sudden headache reading your comment.

• sarpong 9 years ago

...reading your comment..????'!!!!!

• Upzpi JcmqC 9 years ago

You see, Obama was engaging in his annual tradition of filling out the NCAA tourney bracket on live practice that seems to irk millions of myopic Americans far more than.Launcher, one of the best time-saving apps out there, i ...

• f.alhassan-takoradi 9 years ago

Well done ALMIGHTY BLACKSTARS.I'm proud of You.

• kosi 9 years ago

Wakes so for me has been fantastic in all the games. He played his role very well.
    We'll done Wakasso

• Gordon Yeboah,USA 9 years ago

Why do u guys worry yourselves about English that is someone's language?must English hinder people who have good ideas to share?what are all these?we were born and bred with numerous local languages as Ghanaians,how many of t ...

• Sethovia 9 years ago

U are the same people who criticized him when he missed a penalty. Its good he stayed away so that u can realize his importance.

• Sethovia 9 years ago

It was a painful loss bcos cote d'Ivoire has been on our case for a long time, 92, 2010 and 2015. Our destiny were in our hands but we made it slip by.

• FRANK 9 years ago

Wilfred Bonny, the mega star bound for Manchester City for a whopping amount of money, missed the first penalty for Ivory Coast. There were a lot of positives for Ghana in this game. See how both our full backs made life unco ...

• TRUE TALK 9 years ago

---instesd of Wilfred Bonny. The guy is very lazy, with an over bloated ego. He was using brute tactics and fouling the Ghanaians all the time until he was shown the yellow card. Our lateral defenders made life very difficult ...

• Muscatela 9 years ago

You are the best. Kudos.

• Loway 9 years ago

This guy is good

• Bush 9 years ago

well Ghana black stars, Atwu deserves all the award being given to him...Congrat.....

• NANALONDON 9 years ago

Asamaoh Gyan did his part.It was his last minute goal against Algeria that lifted the team up.Even though we lost but Ghana was the best team.

• EDUARDO DOMINGO 9 years ago

THE BOYS WERE MAGNIFICENT AND WERE NEVER DEFEATED!
    I NOTICED THAT ALL OVER THE TELEVISION DISCUSSES THERE WAS NO EX-FOOTBALLER WHO HAD ANYTHING BAD TO SAY ABOUT THE BOYS , BECAUSE THEY HAVE BEEN THERE AND THEY KNOW WHAT THE ...

• KK-Lebanon 9 years ago

well done. let's hail Gyan and his team. we've seen patriotism this time around

• OGOGLO QUARTER !!!! 9 years ago

PAA GRANT MADE A MISTAKE ,AFTER ALL, A FOREING COACH CAN ALSO MAKE A MISTAKE,,,,,,,WELL DONE ,GUYS,,

• Joseph akwei 9 years ago

How come the black stars failed us after the Ivory Coast missed two of penalties !

• Ike Igbokwe from Arizona 9 years ago

I respect the black stars when is down to penalty kicks, its any one's game. These guys played out their hearts it was not meant to be. My advice to Ghana Football Association, do not disband these gallant losers. Better luck ...

• bebe 9 years ago

they have done well god bless you all

• chief 9 years ago

they really deserve the awards

• jacob azumah (sa) 9 years ago

ghana did well to the cup home.but it was only had luck that denied as.well done the stars