You are here: HomeNews2015 02 02Article 344989

ISODEC vows to 'fight' govt's privatisation of ECG

Read Comments Comments (21)

• OLD SOLDIER 9 years ago

Author:-Joe...NDC governments beginning with JJ has brought this nation to this situation. The lack of discipline and respect for the elderly and "skin pain" which motivated JJ to overthrow 2 governments started it all and co ...

• Ben 9 years ago

IT IS INSANE FOR THE GOVERNMENT TO SEE ECG COLLAPSE AND THEN THEY COME BACK AND SELL IT. GOVT MUST SERVICE ITS GHC1 BILION DEBT TO ECG.

• Kofi Nyame 9 years ago

please go ahead gov't and do it.We the suffering Ghanaians need efficiency and competition in the case of electricity and power. We are also ready to stage a demonstration to block all who who will stand against this good ide ...

• Concerned 9 years ago

Yes we need to have detailed consultation with all stakeholders before a decision is made. When a donkey who is thirsty in the midst of water is sidelining the general population and making such an important decision without ...

• BabaUS 9 years ago

Think before speaking. These people are bucking for newsheadlines without thinking things through. They should rather ensure that the privatization of ECG happens without any corruption

• OYIWA 9 years ago

We would all recall the matter involving the loot of Merchant bank, where debts owed Merchant Bank were not paid by Ibrahim Mahama, and Tony Lithur wrote a letter to John Mahama to maintain the status quo ante when the Late P ...

• kojo 9 years ago

If Mahama want privitized ECG what need for setting up power ministry. what will b thier core objective. Or is another means of siphoning public purse. Gh paa nie

• Ge'ez a 9 years ago

Ghana telecom before privatisation was just like the ECG. Useless and unproductive. ECG must be privatise at all cost to give Ghanians the energy we deserve. Privatise and sack all the ECG workers.

• Azumah Nelson 9 years ago

I am prepare to buy shares in the new company.

Correct privatize ECG. Too much talking. Indecision are bigger failures that await us if we do not act. Just take caste of the humane aspect.

• Kofi Basabasa 9 years ago

Why resist any attempt to privatize ECG? Don't Ghanaians see the inefficiency, corruption, laziness, and the like that have characterized the ECG since its inception? It is economically wise for the government to privatize it ...

• Naaba kugri 9 years ago

Those who are agains the ECG to be privatize were in this country when Ghana telecom was privatize . Any way it has proven to be wise to give up Ghana telecom to Vodafone. It's properly manage now makes profit pay taxes and ...

• fireman 9 years ago

if that will restore our lights please sell it fast and lets be free we are already paying higher bills for no service mahama dis one d3.we support if that is the solution sell it

• Akwess 9 years ago

So you came to rule or destroy.God.s judgement is ahead of you remember Atuguba.s judgement ooo.

• Pround pepeni. 9 years ago

privatisation is a good idea. Go to UK and see the benefits of competition after allowing private distribution of electricity. Go ahead Mr President.

• Insurance Co vacancy 9 years ago

Do you know anybody in Accra in need of a job? Or even you, yourself

There are over 200 vacancies available for Sales Reps for a reputable Insurance Co, even if you don't need the job, you definitely know someone who does ...

• One Ghana. one destiny. 9 years ago

I am afraid coz one day my wife could be privatize if government needs money oooo.

• Anande 9 years ago

I think by privatizing ecg will reduce the corruption in the system . A private company will not sit down for people to be dipping their hands into the money like how it is happening now.

• nash 9 years ago

Why are ghanaians afraid of privatisation, if only you not doing anything interms of youraaffected employment or business relations to the affected company, then you should be ok with it

• nash 9 years ago

You cant eat your cake and have it at the same time. Know what u ask from ur government, if the government sells it it willsstill employ Ghanaians and aslso pay taxes to the government

• Gasco 9 years ago

In U.S, all electricity companies are private, always we have power, even if light goes off, in a few minutes, it's back. Is only thieves who do not like privatisation, period!!!!!!!!.