You are here: HomeNews2015 01 29Article 344483

Angry Akosa blasts public sector Doctors

Read Comments Comments (124)

• Yaw 9 years ago

All these deficiencies bores down to lack of effective leadership and accountability structures

• Zoobie-Zoobie 9 years ago

poor Ghana

• OLD SOLDIER 9 years ago

Author:-Close Observer...

O Lord I pray for Mother Ghana, that you reduce the number of FOOLISH VOTERS in 2016. Father the small number that will be left, wash their faces with sea sand so that they would be able to see th ...

• Jojo 9 years ago

HAVE THE SO CALLED LOCAL EDUCATED AND TRAINED DOCTORS ALSO BECOME CRIMINAL
    THIEVES IN THE COUNTRY.

TIME FOR THE GOVERNMENT TO BE HARD ON THESE CROOKS AND TO ASK THEM TO CLOSE THEIR PRIVATE HOSPITALS, PHARMACIES AND LABORA ...

• Omanhene(U$A) 9 years ago

"Incorrigible and unbelievable, Oman Ghana."

So, these doctors are working only some few hours daily and go to their own private businesses, BUT ALAS, they're being paid FULL-SALARIES as public/government workers/employees ...

• losto 9 years ago

This nothing to do with voting. We need to change our attitude towards work

• Visinary 9 years ago

All these assholes are killing our beloved country and blame it on the poor President.
    Fire all those nation wreckers and get the young one who looking a job and love their country.

• FUNNY THAT 9 years ago

? Ko tile le ye won ni titi lai.

AUTHOR: MARTIN A.B.K. AMIDU....
    It would appear that those in control of the NDC, for the time being, were bent on excluding other bona fide members of the Party who may wish to lay democratic claims to who becomes the next ...

• bam 9 years ago

Health workers are short in the country and private practices help bridge gap. It should be clear how many hours they should work and how many off day excluding weekends they may have, but the institution should introduce the ...

• Rans 9 years ago

There is nothing wrong with them having a second job to secure their future. What is wrong is them not finishing their duty daily. If they want to work for 5hrs and then have time for their private work, that's fine. The gove ...

Author:-kk...
    FLYING AROUND IN THE PLANE THE NPP BOUGHT THAT THE NDC SAID IT WAS A WASTE OF PUBLIC FUNDS AND WILL SELL IT IMMEDIATELY THEY COME TO POWER, LIVING IN THE FLAGSTAFF HOUSE THE NPP BUILT WHICH THE NDC SAID IT WAS ...

• AKORABS 9 years ago

Better still, they can resign their public posts and concentrate on their private practice and build private pension for their retirement. They can not have it both ways because the sums do not add up that way.Civil servant o ...

• ABAAH-- 9 years ago

HAHAHA,AKORABS ARE YOU STILL A CHILD?.FUNNY YOUNG MAN,DO YOU KNOW HOW AND WHY THE MEDICAL DEPOT WAS BURNT? THESE MEDICINES DIDN'T FIND THEIR WAY TO MAKOLA MARKET.DON'T LET ME BLAME ANYONE.IN SHORT IF THESE GUYS RESIGN THEIR P ...

When Kwaku Baako informed us about the atrocities of Kwesi Pratt during PNDC Regime, some of us did not believe until the truth was confirmed during the NRC. Kwesi Pratt is the most dangerous Journalist Ghana had ever have, h ...

• AKORABS 9 years ago

It gets complicated by the minute. Private practice is fed with clientele via the public practice - good! Sack me then if I can not give the public practice 100% dedication. On the burning of drugs, well, our cynicism is unsu ...

• moyo 9 years ago

Dr. Opoku Adusie is a liar. The practice has been going on since time immemorial. How can you run a private clinic and work in a govt hospital at the same time? That is even against health and safety of the doctors concerned ...

• Sethoo 9 years ago

You don't even know the difference between good & bad,how can a doctor/nurse genuinely say he has completed his job in this high Doctor/patients ratio environment?Only a corrupt doctor can create more time for extra job.

• Obed Adore 9 years ago

Thanks. This is a very good comment and a suggested solution. They could work part-time for the ministry and get paid accordingly.

• Nana 9 years ago

There shd be a law that bonds Doctors and other health personnel working in the public sector not to own clinics and lab

• Satan 9 years ago

Dr.Opoku Asiedu,please I respect you too much,but this one ,NO.
    This system had been there long time before ALL your excuses you mentioned here. I always change a job because I was not satisfied or secuered. If your people y ...

• POG 9 years ago

They should rather resign and take care of their business if they feel they are not secured. The public want full time doctors.

• GOV 9 years ago

Why cant the Government do away with these greedy doctors .After all there a graduate doctors with no jobs.What a gready society.

• Pround pepeni. 9 years ago

Let the government be bold and introduce the Cuban model for training medical personnel whereby every district hospital will be accredited to train doctors and nurses. Within a few years, we will have enough doctors and they ...

• Kyeremante 9 years ago

There's too much indiscipline in the country. What we need is a manly man to put people in order. A few public execution of corrupt politicians, judges, civil servants and pastors will go a long way to make our institutions s ...

• FUNNY THAT 9 years ago

Ko tile le ye won ni titi lai.
    It will not help if that bastard comes.A stupid fool do you want to tell us we cannot organise ourselves without the bastard. What mahes the Ghanaian society sick is lack of common truth amoung ...

• Pontius Pilate 9 years ago

Opuni Frimpong please come again. When did this practice start? Was it immediately after the implementation of the single spine or has existed long ago? Please be truthful and abide by your own work ethics. What is wrong is w ...

• Henry 9 years ago

There is nothing wrong for the doctors to engage in a second private job,but they must do the right thing being their primary responsibility they have accepted to do.

• Mansah 9 years ago

This is very silly answer to Prof. Akosa
    by Dr Opoku Adusei who has the penchant in always blaming government. Either you work as a part time with public hospitals or resign. You cannot serve two masters. Is the doctor telli ...

• Mawuli 9 years ago

Ghanaian doctors see themselves as demigods whose work ethics should not be questioned, who will refuse to answer or tell patients what is ailing them.
    They get extremely furious if you ask them to explain things to you but ...

• Ataa Kanfla 9 years ago

This kind of behaviour by Medical Doctors gives room for other workers to find second jobs since all workers care for their future. We can all do it; it's very easy.

• Clarence 9 years ago

Where are the policies and regulations governing the hospital staff and who is in charge? This is will never hqappen in any civilised society never! I think there are loyts of misplaced priorites at KBTH leading to directors ...

• kwabena Agyei 9 years ago

I am disappointed in Dr Opoku Aduseis response.Doctors of these hospitals even direct rich men to their hospitals for a higher fee.They sometimes report to public hospitals to look for client(rich people) to their hospital.If ...

• James 9 years ago

We go to church every Sunday,telling people we are Christians.bt........? I wonder indeed if the wll be judgement day.

• BAB 9 years ago

THAT IS A SILLY RESPONSE FROM AUDSEI POKU

• Aklig Caringson 9 years ago

This response from you Dr.Adusei is one of the most stupid answers a leared person like can offer.If the kitchen is to hot for just get out.lf looking at and ur answers you are just something.tweaaaaaaaah!

• Mas 9 years ago

Is that man Dr Edusei still at post?

• koo hia 9 years ago

If you feel your pension will not be enough VACATE your post. What nonsense if that, Dr Adusei.

• The lone prophet of Jehovah 9 years ago

Even Ghana medical Association and his members are not trusted people.They collaborate with quack doctors takes bribe from one Gabriel Ayisi who is neither a doctor or gynecology yet causing abortion at EL RAPHA CLINIC MATAHE ...

Doctor Edusei forgets that there a lot of Ghanaians in the civil service whose pensions are even worse than that of doctors and they are still at post. This same man is always pushing for strikes and yet is unwilling to put i ...

• Princeattapy Ribeiro USA 9 years ago

Angry Akosa blast public sector Doctors

• Isaac 9 years ago

So is this doctor telling Ghanaians that dis practices that they are engaged in started some three or four months ago, What is he talking about, he must find a better explaination to this than what he just said. He should bow ...

• TANII BA! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 9 years ago

TANII IS STILL TANII, WHAT EVER IT IS. MAHAMA IS TANII, NO BRAINS! !!!!!!!!!!

• A light of the Black star 9 years ago

Massa who said you are any better than anyone? Ugly monkeys like you should go back to the holes you came from.

If you any brains you will recognize that whites also look at you like some chimp, and what do you say about t ...

• sadik 9 years ago

It is your whole generation that have no brains stupid idiot

• Abu 9 years ago

Dr Opoku Adusei response is sad. It shows how unpatriotic he and his group are. Allah has mercy on us. Doctors and Ghanians are wiser than the country.

If Doctor Edusei was a Tanii he will be more sympathetic. Taniis are generally more honest and sympathetic than people like this doctor

• JERRY 9 years ago

That isn't surpring at all .politics has come to takeover everything. some ghanaians because they want to become president will go a hundred mile to implore people to behave what ever way they like and link it to the governm ...

• Nanayaw 9 years ago

Hmmm, You see how politic can make a whole doctor sound so silly? Dr. Adusei has lost his sense of reasoning.

• Kojo Billy Duncan 9 years ago

Does this not illustrate how pathetic and intellectually dishonest he is?

• Louis Annoh Acquah 9 years ago

God bless you Dr

• KWAME-BELGIUM 9 years ago

This is a very honest and frank lesson to our medical doctors on sate payrolls.

• A light of the Black star 9 years ago

Some of these doctors koraa? Why combine private practice and government service if you are not confident in the government pension? Just quit and focus on your private practice and stop the hypocrisy.

I might like to add ...

• Ghanabiya 9 years ago

I was expecting the president of the GMA to dispute the assertion of prof. Akosa's concerns but he is rather justifying it.

I think there is a conflict of interest here. The gov't owes Ghanaians a duty to come out and res ...

• Osei Yao 9 years ago

this opuku eduseiis illogical. if government pension is not good enough, get out and set up on your own. he is pleading that aone who steals bread from the the shop is not athief because he was hungry! this is the logic of gh ...

• Ib 9 years ago

Can Dr. Edusei tell us when private clinics with public doctors started. God will judge us all

• Marquis 9 years ago

The position of GMA president is untenable. This practice has existed for a very long time before this so called imaginable problem with Tier 2 Pension Fund became an issue. If your employer is not treating you well resign an ...

• Joe 9 years ago

Dr.opoku edusei is a naked liar, and a murderer. May God forgive him for his wicked intentions.

• King George,South Africa 9 years ago

Thank you very much Prof.Akosa,may you live long,this is what Doctors are doing and killing innocents soul

• kk 9 years ago

Absolute nonsense resign and go and do your private work

• Emmanuel Adu Aniboye-fofie 9 years ago

The response given by Dr. Opoku Adusei; the general secretary of the Ghana Medical Association, in his reaction to Professor Badu Akosah's statement to the effect that most Medical Doctors on the payroll of the State have bee ...

• hmmmm 9 years ago

Stupid response,Ghanaian doctors are too arrogant,talking by heart,they don't about any other Ghanaians in other professions,what of response is that,doctors absenteeism,lateness,working less than 5hrs has been there even bef ...

• AKASI MARTHA NZEMA 9 years ago

"PEOPLE HAVE COME TO REALISE THAT PROBALE THEY NEED TO (SECURE) THEIR OWN FUTURE AND SO THEY HAVE TO DO OTHER THINGS TO SUPPLEMENT THEIR PENSIONS IN THE FUTURE,"DR. OPOKU ADUSEI SAID. THE BNI SHOULD CHECK THIS DR ADUSEI CLINI ...

• Abeeku Mensah 9 years ago

Greed, selfishness, tribal loyalties, hypocrisy and unprincipled core belief has become the order of the day in Ghana a result that arose from voters unknowingly handing over power to the NPP and NDC for over 35 +years.

As ...

• princewilly@ymail.com 9 years ago

GHANAIAN DOCTOR HAS BECOME LIKE THE TALE OF THE FARMER,THE WARDEN AND DYNAMITE.
    THE HOSPITAL WHICH HAS BECOME THE NEIGHBORHOOD MAY BE SAFE BUT THE DANGER IS IN THE FARMERS AREA WHICH IS LIKE THE DOCTORS CLINIC.

• KWABENA 9 years ago

THEY SHD. STAND AS NPP PARLIAMENTARY CANDIDATES.

• WENDY 9 years ago

FAKE DOCTORS IN GHANA

• Frank 9 years ago

Mrs Elizabeth Bruce Director of Pharmacy at korle Bu Teaching and his house boy Daniel Eledi has stollen 9.5 billion and 400,000 million old ghana respectively. No action has been taken all because Mrs Bruce is top NDC pers ...

• stanley 9 years ago

Dr. Edusei, then tell them to quit the job! When did this pension issue crop up that u r using it as a point? That's govt doctors attitude

• JOE 9 years ago

Opoku Adusei you lie this attitude by Ghana Doctors has been there since Dr Kwame Nkruma time. SSSS did not bring this. I surprise why Doctor can lie this way.

• efi 9 years ago

Dr adusei is a murderer and an npp sympathizer.

• ISAAC, BOGOSO 9 years ago

MAHAMA PLEASE JUST PRIVITIZE KORLEBU
    COLLECT TAX ONLY
    LET THEM RAISE THEIR OWN REVENUE
    LET THEM PAY THEMSELVES
    FROM THEIR REVENUE.
    SET TASK MASTERS

• GHANA HEALTH SERVICE. 9 years ago

I personally think Prof Akosa as Director General of Ghana Health Service performed creditably and the records in Ghana Health Service during his tenure speaks volume of his achievement.I am one person who is of the view that ...

• Akosa 2 9 years ago

If they think they are being shortchanged, then they should quit government work. If a thief is caught, can he excuse himself because his work pay or security by his employer is not enough? I call these doctors greedy "ashawa ...

• Tina 9 years ago

Dr. Edusei you are an educated fool. Why don't you resign and run only your private clinic.

• ROGUE LAWYER 9 years ago

it is simply because they are running the private clinics indirectly under the expense of the government. is only when in government Hospital that they can get People to refer to their clinics , at the same time can get dru ...

• Joe Turkey 9 years ago

John Mahama finds time to inspect work on his 5-star hotel in Dubai. Not only is he using our money; he is also using our time - the time we pay him to work on behalf of Ghanaians.

• NICHOLAS 9 years ago

Is Dr Opoku Adusei making the case that because of the pension issue they have with the Government they must cheat their way to a better pension?

Dr Opoku must be told right in the face that we have one and only one truth ...

• adacanaen. 9 years ago

Actual full time staff will get their exact pay but part time will receive part salaries from now on. It is a deal right.

• pokua 9 years ago

Adusei and his demonstrators(all 2014 demonstrators) are responsible for the burning of markets,shops and the medical shop.

• kyeiwaa 9 years ago

Opoku adusei has lost his calling as a doctor. he has no sense of responsibility. he is uncaring and unfit to be a doctor. he is money minded. prof akosa spoke the truth. lt doesn't justify such idiotic response

• Zavu 9 years ago

I feel very bad when doctors in the public sector behave as if they are more important than anybody else and do things the way they think benefits them. After all every profession is equally important.comong out to justify th ...

• Kusaal Daw 9 years ago

this Adusei man is stupid. is he saying this practice began only lately. because u have issue with current handling of pension doesn't mean justifying this old practice existing before the pension issue came up.

• truth 9 years ago

GO AFTER THOSE POLITICIANS MILKING GHANA. YOU ARE JUST BEEN UNREALISTIC INDIVIDUAL. REMEMBER THEIR RATIO TO EACH INDIVIDUAL IS UNBELIEVABLE. YOU'VE TRAVELED AROUND THE WORLD AND YOU OF ALL PEOPLE MUST KNOW BETTER.YOU WANT ATT ...

• Akua 9 years ago

I tried this. It will not suit everybody, but may help some people: register with www.ihealth-direct.com to speak to a doctor. You can also inbox private questions to them for free through Facebook.

• Ama Gyanfia 9 years ago

I live in Canada most of the doctors have private offices but they work in the hospital as well volunteering for some hours every week at the hospitals they are charged if they use operating rooms then there are doctors who w ...

• Nyansasem 9 years ago

Doctor Akosa is talking about Surgeons, Dentists, family and internal medical doctors who should be working 8 hours at the hospitals. And you are talking about Consultants and specialists like Cardiologists, Nephrologists, et ...

• Ama Gyanfia 9 years ago

Oh no that's where you are wrong family physicians go to the hospitals too but have their private clinics they leave their private clinics and go to the hospital to work what's 8 hours if they are not efficient they swore an ...

• Nyansasem 9 years ago

I gave you a lot of example but you conveniently chose to deal with family doctors. Stop dwelling on just family doctors and let's deal with the whole issue. The reason why we are talking about this was the result of the dent ...

• KOOBOY 9 years ago

WHAT DID YOU DO WHEN YOU WERE THE DIRECTOR GENERAL OF THE GHANA HEALTH SERVICE? TALK IS REALLY CHEAP.

• ROGUE LAWYER 9 years ago

So to dr kwabena opoku adusei GMA president, this evil practice of the medical professionals are correct?
    if you are not happy about the government policies and you think your own clinic is better and enough for you why ...

• NANA KNUST 9 years ago

MAY THE ALMIGHTY GOD SEND A LOT OF PUNISHMENT UNTO YOU OPOKU ADUSEI AND YOUR FAMILY FOR CHEATING US.

• Che 9 years ago

Dr. Op. Adusei, you are a BIIG LIAR! This practice has been there for decades before SSSS. Since when was the SSSS implemented? You people wants to be the highest paid in the country and since the SSSS has made it different, ...

• Thunder 9 years ago

Prof. You are right but the question is, what dis you do about it when you were director general? I remember you wrote in 2004, as Director General,asking all facilities to submit names of staff engaged in such practices in a ...

• princewilly@ymail.com 9 years ago

Many Ghanaian's have to seek medical treatment in foreign countries because they cannot not trust their own doctors.
    Sadly my brother in law Dr Prince Agbenohevi a medical doctor at 37 military hospital died in South Africa ...

• Jimmy 9 years ago

May his soul rest in peace. Very friendly guy! With the likes of adusei poky, we should expect such unwanted and unnecessary deaths.

• pm 9 years ago

train more

• JOHNK 9 years ago

I HAVE LONG THOUGHT OF THE PRESIDENT OF THE GHANA MEDICAL ASSOCIATION BEING A POLITICIAN AND HIS RESPONSE TO PRO.Akoso have prove that. he was referring to pension alliance. What has pension alliance got to do with his.HE Sti ...

• Unpatriotism 9 years ago

Unpatriotic greedy doctor of a kind.The tax payer whom you are neck deep in exploiting helped brought you this far

• Yaa 9 years ago

Why do you complain . If gov refuses to pay salary arrears what do you want doctors to do ? Sit down and cry.talk to the politicians they are the cause. Am afraid it would get worse

• Dan 9 years ago

Is Dr. Adusei saying that the practice started only upon the SSSS implementation? Why do we keep deceiving ourselves? Are Doctors and other health workers the only ones affected by ssss? The solution is simple. Ghana should t ...

• ANABA 9 years ago

AKOSA WOULD HAVE DONE THE SAME IF HE WAS A CLINICIAN.

• Ibn Batuta 9 years ago

Dr. Adusei is a criminal.

• markchar 9 years ago

this practices has been in Ghana for a long time you sound like it started just last year, ask yourself when did GH start the ssss all of you are part of shame on you dr opoku

• kwaku addai 9 years ago

gma president ,are u tellng ghanaians that private practice started only 2009 when the current government came to power?

• Lawyer Nyamekye 9 years ago

Adusei Poku is a commercial care giver. I pray he is not a gaeny. Else this hoodlum would just be fucking our ladies. This brings back the case as to whether this GMA, is a professional body or a credit union.

• HUMANISM 9 years ago

All communist guys talk like this. It's all about envy.
    The whole issue lies at the doorstep of bad governance perpetuated by the corrupt NDC government.

Governments are supposed to create the environment for their citi ...

• Mawuli 9 years ago

How old and dumb can you be.If you are too young to know the the attitude of Ghanaian doctors, stop spewing fart from your leaking brains. Why do you have to politicize every darn issue?

Ghanaian doctors have been doing th ...

• Paa Joe 9 years ago

DOES THE LAW GOVERNING THE HEALTH SERVICES IN GHANA, ALLOW DOCTORS, PHARMASISTS ON FULLY SALARIES,TO RUN THEIR OWN PRIVATE CLINICS, PHARMACIES AND LABORATORIES IN THE COUNTRY.

HOW DID IT BECOME POSSIBLE IN GHANA AND WHAT G ...

• Don 9 years ago

Both of them are right. They workers are very disturbed about their future!
    Te ho te ho wobete pooo

• OKOE 9 years ago

YOU HAVE ALL THESE OVERSIGHTS IN PLACE AND BEING COMPENSATED FOR WORK THEY DO NOT DO. ONE WOULD HAVE THOUGHT THESE INSTITUTIONS WOULD BE DEALING WITH THE PROBLEM HIGHLIGHTED BY THE MR. AKOSA. IF THE DOCTORS FEEL THAT THERE IS ...

• OKOE 9 years ago

Practitioners instead

• Jojo 9 years ago

EDUSEI, YOU ARE A BIG LIAR AND A THIEF.

PAST DOCTORS OF THE GHANA MINISTRY OF HEALTH ARE THE VERY PEOPLE WHO HAVE RETIRED WITH GOOD PENSIONS.

WHO ALLOWED THEM TO RUN THESE PRIVATE OUTFITS AND EVEN THEN, HAVE THEY BEEN P ...

• Adumuah 9 years ago

Dr. Opoku is not being sincere. This practice has been going on for a long time. Our doctors always try to compare their standard of living to American and European doctors, forgetting that their education is 99% funded by t ...

• ugly akufo addo 9 years ago

stupid bastard

• lizzy 9 years ago

What is Dr. Opoku Adusei talking about?

• lizzy 9 years ago

What is Dr Opoku Edusei talking abt, this practice is not new and what is annoying is that they take better care of patients in their private clinics than those who go to see them at the government hospitals.

• komfo 9 years ago

Thieves every where.God save Ghana.

• OLD YOUNG PIONEER 9 years ago

Dr Akosa and Dr Adusei Poku were both raised by one man, PROFESSOR AKO9SAH'S DAD. the two are like brothers MAY HE REST IN PEACE,

• Ben 9 years ago

This man Opoku Adusei is out of his mind. Is he saying that Doctors and other health workers are shortchanging the nation because of the recent pension issue. Does it mean when the pension issue is resolved, they would stop t ...

• kwesi 9 years ago

So why don't they just leave the public service?

• Friday 9 years ago

Dr Akossa, like Kwesi Pratt, is NDC person in CPP clothes. Society does not progress with such shameless characters.

• if the lone crusader 9 years ago

And they are all church and mosqs goers .this is the duty of the pastors and their counterparts

• Jimmy 9 years ago

Stupid doctor opoku Adusei. I am amazed at this politician parading as a doctor. My hall mate, one day your preferred party will be in power, these trash will be played back to you. Note, in democracy, no one party will be in ...