You are here: HomeNews2015 01 26Article 343954

Growing Africa’s next Scientists: Meet NASA's Ashitey Trebi-Ollenu

Read Comments Comments (33)

• Adjoa 9 years ago

Great idea with the RISE project... we need a lot of African scientists...BRAVO

• Sethoo 9 years ago

Fiifi Kwettey is intelligent than this guy,the former had Grade A in Economics from Achimota.Oh sorry Dr Ollenu did not also go to a big school in Ghana.

• NOBODY 9 years ago

It's not what grade a person received in high school. It's also not what school a person attended. What matters most is what one is doing with the education that one has acquired, and more importantly, how they're using that ...

• ELINAM 9 years ago

In a sea of negative news reports from Ghana, from dunsor,dumsor to so-called big men stealing left and right to men who do not know female outfits from that of men, this news is very uplifting.

• LARYEAH 9 years ago

WHAT GHANAIAN FEMALE, ELINAM?

• azuma 9 years ago

Bravoo!!!! Dr Trebi,sometimes when I look at the caliber of professionals and educated people Ghana have in diaspora and the country is deteriorating like this, its very sad,because we have good people with brain to make Gha ...

• daniel 9 years ago

Bravoo!!!! Dr Trebi,sometimes when I look at the caliber of professionals and educated people Ghana have in diaspora and the country is deteriorating like this, its very sad,because we have good people with brain to make Ghan ...

• TIJANI 9 years ago

because Ghanaians tend to behave well only when they live outside Ghana, but when they're in the country, they're worse than illiterate. secondly, its not about political party, its about our society. our society is full of l ...

• Francis Dery 9 years ago

The Lies!!! Ghanaians lie so impulsively and so much that we can't even keep up with our own lies. I listened to the programme on BBC myself yesterday. I called my two kids to listen too. Dr. Ashitey was not even being ref ...

• konkonsa 9 years ago

I can relate to your comments. This is Ghana for you.

• Pround pepeni. 9 years ago

WELL DONE DOCTOR OLLENU. WE ARE ALL PROUD OF YOU. PEOPLE LIKE YOU MAKES THE WELL KNOW THAT BLACK PEOPLE ARE CAPABLE. IN GHANA, MAJORITY ARE PULL ME DOWN SO YOU WON'T SUCCEED. OUR UNIVERSITIES ARE NOT ALLOWING THE BRILLIANT ON ...

• The mask 9 years ago

It has been said that many lecturers lack teaching methodologies. What should be the minimum requirement when recruiting lecturers into a tertiary institution? Is it a masters degree or a PhD with a course in education??

P ...

• Abua 9 years ago

While Ghana/Africa is crumbling the whites have very intelligent ways of stealing our best brains.

• NANA 9 years ago

Some of these brilliant brains come back to help but there is so much corruption in the system they end up going back. Our politicians just don't get it.

• Kofi Basabasa 9 years ago

Hey, Starrfmonline! I would suggest your reporter go back to school to refresh his English lessons.
    The past tense of "broadcast" does not change. In other words, the sentence should have gone like this: "... broadcast on BB ...

• Kofi Basabasa 9 years ago

Hey, Starrfmonline! I would suggest your reporter go back to school to refresh his English lessons.
    The past tense of "broadcast" does not change. In other words, the sentence should have gone like this: "... broadcast on BB ...

• DOBOO, MD. 9 years ago

KUDOS! Dr. Trebi-Olleenu, continue to inspire our young students to be life long students of science.

• KWASI IN EUROPE 9 years ago

He is running a science school in Africa. Where is the school? This article is just for a black man to blow his horns. Most of those NASA machines are made by Germans but the Germans are quiet. They are the real engineers.

I listened to the programme on BBC. They man did not ask BBC to interview him; BBC chose him. The programme has always interviewed accomplished people from around the world. I have listened to Architects, Medical Doctors, ...

• Ibn Batuta 9 years ago

Ghanaians are doing big things all over the world except in Ghana. It must be the home culture. It has to change!

• Contemporary Youth 9 years ago

Robust STEMICs is a the most prudent and proactive way of reducing poverty,

• Dr. K. Danso 9 years ago

Politicians should make regulations to help limit the greed in private enterprise and retrain these STEM graduates who invest their time to study hard subjects and later find unstable jobs as technology changes in the develop ...

• YB 9 years ago

(1) Great opportunity for job seekers and pensioners.
    (2) Cleanshield, Amazing health solution product for everyone

CLEANSHIELD, Natural Alkaline supplement from US designed to clean inner Ossian, clear stomach toxins, as ...

• AMMUNITION IS CHAOS. 9 years ago

www.aloloom.net

• patriot 9 years ago

Is he serving the interest of Ghana?

Yes, how much did Ghana invest in his life for him to serve Ghana's interest? People talk trash. I don't care if he serves the devil's interest - if the devil invested in him, the devil will reap. What is the incentive tha ...

• SIMON 9 years ago

STEMIC'S IS EXCELLENT IDEA AND IN A COUNTRY WITHOUT A RESEARCH AND DEVELOPEMNT NOTHING BECOMES POSSIBLE WHETHER IN THE FIELD OF MECHANIZED AGRICULTURE, MEDICINE, AERODYNAMICS,SANITATION, RAIL, ROAD, OCEANIANIC AND REMEMBER NA ...

• SIMON 9 years ago

IT WILL MAKE THE WORLD A BETTER PLACE IF WE CONTINUE TO ENGAGE WITH THE YOUTH POLUTION. GHANA HAVE THE LARGEST YOUTH POPULATION AND IF WE DON'T EQUIP THEM NOW WITH PROPER EDUCATION IN RESERACH AND DEVELOPMENT WE WILL LOOSE TH ...

• me 9 years ago

That is the spirit

• GHANABA 9 years ago

A man of substance.

• Giant 9 years ago

Dr Ollenu was my senior at Ghana Secondary Technical School. Takoradi. He was an extraordinary student no wonder he has made it to this point. Kudos Senior Giant.

• ghanaman 9 years ago

The decision by StarrFM to portray Dr. Ashitey Trebi-Ollenu is laudable. to go a step further, media and film houses must also promote films based on the lives and achievements of other scientists/heroes. This is one of the s ...

• DOPE BOBA 9 years ago

THIS IS EXEMPLARY, WE NEED A BLACK MAN ON EVERY LEVEL OF THE PROFESSIONAL STRATA, THAT IS WHAT NKRUMAH ALWAYS PREACHED YEARS BACK...WHAT HAPPENED?? NOW GHANAIANS ARE MASTERS AT CLEANING AND SHELF FILLING ABROAD, THEIR SPECIAL ...