You are here: HomeNews2015 01 23Article 343728

Spio encourages Ghanaians to rear goats for export to China

Read Comments Comments (31)

• impromptus 9 years ago

Dogs, mice etc

• kk 9 years ago

sit down and eat pepper soup and goat? that is what the Ghanaian will do?
    What gives Spio Garbrah the right to talk down on us like that? Calling all of us lazy fools?
    What nonsense.

• Adama 9 years ago

What are we going to feed the goats with? Ghana does not care about practices, China cares! Our inspection agencies act with their heads burried in the ground, thinking that we live in a village called Ghana. When foreigners ...

• Mawusi Dake 9 years ago

Instead of using his time moving from one radio station to another to insult Ghanaians. What has Fiavi's contribution been to agric as minister of agriculture? How has he acquitted himself in the agric ministry?

• gg 9 years ago

is this a joke for real

• WhyGhana 9 years ago

Are these the politicians Ghana have?

Does Spio know how it takes to export meat to other countries? The ground work, the meat regulations that surrounds the rearing of the animals, their slaughter, export requirements, e ...

• Bertgray 9 years ago

2015 isn't the year of goat, but the year of sheep. Moreover, there's no goat among the 12 animals of the Chinese zodiac.

• JT 9 years ago

Everything is not about export. Ghana needs more meat. China has more goats than Ghana. Worse, the Min of Agric has no clue about how to help the livestock sector

• Predator 9 years ago

the chinese are known to eat anything that moves. if it can move, it will have to be eaten....ants, cockroaches, lizards, frogs, millepedes, worms, anything. so don't restrict it to goats.

• Obiba JK 9 years ago

Sometimes when some of us are in a position of trust we speak as if we do not sleep on a pillow. How can you advise Ghanaians to rear goats for China just because you think it is the year of the goat. Do we evolve policy beca ...

• Nana Yaw 9 years ago

There is nothing wrong with teaching the Chinese how to make good pepper soup to boost demand for real Ghana he-goats (aka aponkye dwan, russian tanker, DC 10, abrekyere etc)!

• Kweku Boateng 9 years ago

Goat rearing is indeed profitable...only few Ghanaians knows this...if you keep rubbishing every idea made from others you don't like just don't comment for others also to know the level of your standard....

• Fi 9 years ago

"Year of the goat" does not mean they will eat more goats. What a joke!

• Kweku Boateng 9 years ago

It could be a joke as you think,but i will advice you to try it,and call back after just one year.....good luck!

• blade 9 years ago

did you understood what he said?

• abena kwabena 9 years ago

The richest country in the world and yet the poorest. The land, only the fertile land alone is enough to make us comfortable if we would work hard. All of you agents of corruption in the capital and other cities who call hone ...

• Kwame Birmingham 9 years ago

All Ghanaians want to put on coat but they can't even read. This is money. There my investments go and when i make money these Ghanaian fools will come and dance for a loan or call you boss, mass, nana etc. Lazy stupid people ...

• batik 9 years ago

but you can put out your point without insulting.

• Neutral Zone 9 years ago

Spio is always in the news talking. Is he working?

• ghanaman 9 years ago

This is the way to go! It could be a brilliant strategy for Ghana! Goats reared in Ghana are resistant to several diseases and also taste great! Indeed the Chinese would love Ghanaian goats. A national livestock strategy must ...

• Joe 9 years ago

“So when you hear such things, you interpret the export orientation in the statement,” the former flagbearer-aspirant said.

Imagine this idiot for President Oh Lord. I am ashamed of you all.

• WO DE AGORO 9 years ago

Are there any grass fields in GHANA?

• k sam 9 years ago

Spio, where are the guinea fowls

• Joe 9 years ago

“What the Chinese Ambassador is telling you is that this is a time for any smart Ghanaian to rear goats and export them to China."

Poor Ghana. Trade minister with such retarded insight. So in the Chinese year of the monk ...

• KOFI 9 years ago

EEII AS3M WO GHANA. A WHOLE MINISTER AND FORMER AMBASSADOR TO US AND HOLDER OF HONORARY DOCTORATE TITLE GIVING SUCH INTERPRETATION? IT MEANS THE TIME THE CHINESE HAD THE YEAR OF MONKEY, THEY NEARLY CONSUMED THE WHOLE POPULAT ...

• Kweku 9 years ago

Ha ha ha. The man is not encouraging Ghanaians to innovate. He wants us to rear goats. Good advice. LOL

• NANA 9 years ago

Hmmm I hope Spio Gabra did his home before appealing for such trade either than that Ghanaians will continue to use goat for Pepper soup. He better know the laws and regulation for such exports

• bi 9 years ago

But first we have think about rearing enough goats/cattle for local consumption and stop importing from burkina faso and Niger

• Paa Joe 9 years ago

ARE GHANAIANS SELF-SUFFICIENT THEMSELVES IN GOAT PRODUCTION TO FEED ITS GROWING POPULATION.

WHAT ARE THE HEALTHY RULES FOR SUCH A GOAT EXPORT.

• TUMBA 9 years ago

Stupid Minister with no brains. Do you know the commercial market of goat rearing and exports. Can you compete with the Austrarian goat farms and exports to countries around the world. Get a white farmer to do commercial ...

• Oheneba Quaye 9 years ago

I had my teen son read this article and he question was " is he serious?" Not wanting to le to him, I told him Mr. Spio may have been joking. I wonder what the Chinese ambassador thinks of Mr. Spio's statement. The worse par ...