You are here: HomeNews2015 01 21Article 343397

“Petty ethnic, partisan divisions” drawing Ghana back - Mahama

Read Comments Comments (96)

• TP 9 years ago

NANA ADDO AND HIS PEOPLE ARE NOT FOR GHANAIANS WELL BEING.

• OLD SOLDIER 9 years ago

When Kwaku Baako informed us about the atrocities of Kwesi Pratt during PNDC Regime, some of us did not believe until the truth was confirmed during the NRC. Kwesi Pratt is the most dangerous Journalist Ghana had ever have, h ...

• facts 9 years ago

Since when did Mahama realize that ethnicity, tribalism and partisanship is not helpful to our country? He went to the north to tell them they should vote for him because he is one of them. To this his babies with sharp teeth ...

• OLD SOLDIER 9 years ago

AUTHOR: KOFI-----
    THIS WICKED AND THIEVING NDC GOVT EVEN BUDGETED FOR JUDGEMENT DEBTS PAYMENTS WHEN THEY CAME TO POWER...GHANAIANS SAW THIER THIEVERY AND BAD IDEAS ABOUT GHANA SO THEY QUICKLY REMOVED IT FROM SUBSEQUENT BUDG ...

• I. O. Boateng, New York 9 years ago

This guy Mahama is a hypocrite and a conman. He knows no shame. He's just full of himself. He said it was no longer enticing for Northerners to be vice presidents. Now he's talking against ethnic politics?

• nii 9 years ago

JM spoke so well that even those who did not like him fell in love with him.He is such a humble man.People came in their numbers to listern to his speech

• Mahmoud 9 years ago

Strong partisanship started in Ghana when Kwame Nkrumah divided the nation into patriots and traitors. Patriots were those who accepted that he should be president for life, practice one party state and communism and indulge ...

• Mahmoud 9 years ago

I have been challenged by Francis Kwarten to explain line by line what Dr. Kwame Botwe-Asamoah said in his three-part series that confirms our claim, even remotely, that Nkrumah was a communist that cunningly and dishonestly ...

• USA 9 years ago

Mahama is a foolish President to have ever led the country. How many people from the north works in your administration. Aboa like that

• TWEAA 9 years ago

AND HOW MANY OF THE PEOPLE FROM THE NORTH ARE IN GOVERNMENT COMPARED TO THE OTHERS FROM THE SOUTH? MAHAMA, WE HAVE EYES OO!

• Aruna 9 years ago

All these quotations in Twi must stop. This is subliminal tribalism. 70 percent of Ghanaians don't understand them. I don't understand it. So what is the point in these Twi sayings

• BIG BOY 9 years ago

Kwesi is a populist idiot. Don't waste your time on him

• SARPONG 9 years ago

Whose fault it is, petty Mahama? If as a President you tell people from the Northern region that you will develop Northern region instead of saying you will develop Ghana.

If as a President you will go to Kumasi and say ev ...

• Aruna 9 years ago

All these quotations in Twi must stop. 70 percent of Ghanaians don't understand them. I don't understand them either. This is tribalism by stealth. I don't want to learn Twi and other non-Twi Ghanaians are proud of their own ...

• Pontius Pilate 9 years ago

double-tongued man.

• Ayi Kwei, Berne 9 years ago

When it suits you, you play the ethnic card. When others play it, you cry wolf. Be consistent, son of Jakpa!

• Tibaa 9 years ago

Mahama's assertion is disgustingly sophomoric. Ghana is not made up of only Ewes and Ashanti's. This is a very simplistic view; an orchestrated cover of a very foolish administration with a leader who dabbles in the politics ...

• Nii Ablorh 9 years ago

We should learn each other's language that is one of the sure ways to bring us together

• Akans Prophecies 9 years ago

Bringing pretty maids and stoned aged to getter? You must be in a Dream !

• Nii 9 years ago

You must not do that Ablorh. How many Akans speak Ga? They refuse to learn anybody's language. Ablorjh stick to Ga and Enhlish like me and you should be alright. Don't t let your own language disappear

• tim 9 years ago

NPP demonstration was the lowest we ever saw.Why did they continue when they knew there was no support atall there?Disgrace,no one even heard of them.They were not even up to 15 demonstraters and some even came from other cou ...

• John 9 years ago

Manama never made any reference to Ewes and The Ashantis in the statement

• Tibaa 9 years ago

As a result of this, virtually all Ewe-speaking Ghanaians are automatically branded as NDC members while all Akan-speaking people in the country are also, automatically seen as belonging to the NPP.

• Yaw 9 years ago

Now you advocate for non-ethnic and non-partisan citizens? Meanwhile your cabinet is about 60% Ewes and northeners. Isn't that ethnicity?

• John Nikoi 9 years ago

When did this tribal partisan politics start. From JJ's time

• JOE ALEGELI 9 years ago

MOST GHANAIANS ARE POINTING THIER FINGERS AT PNDC FOR INTRODUCING PARTISAN POLITICS INTO GHANA BUT MY QUESTION TO GHANAIANS IS ARE THE FOLLOWING MINISTERS/SECRETARIES OF STATE DURING THE LONG RULING OF THE PNDC EWES? THE TWO ...

• efi 9 years ago

Yaw u are a stupid fellow. Mahama is not ewe.so if ewes vote for him do u call it tribalism.ashantis and akyems are the most tribalistic in Ghana.

• proud Ashanti 9 years ago

Ewes vote for a northerner because they don't have an option. They hate Ashantis so it automatically means they have to vote for NDC.

• I.k Obeng 9 years ago

JJ was born in Accra so the Ga's vote for Him. Is mother is from Volter so the Ewe's vote for him. He make the Norther President (Hiller )Juss imagine all the resources that are taking from the Akan land to be use to develo ...

• ADJEI 9 years ago

you know nothing about what you're saying. the most tribalistic people are the ewes waiting

• blueprint 9 years ago

You are a thief

• Jonny 9 years ago

If your president is a thief then you are also a thief.

• Yaw Mensah 9 years ago

Only an IDIOT like you will draw a conclusion that if his president is a thief then he is also a thief. Of course if you are with him and feeding on his largesse of thievery money, then automatically, you are also a thief. Yo ...

• TWEAA 9 years ago

TRUE, TRUE, GERMANS DID NOT CREATE JUDGEMENT DEBTS, GYEEDA, SUBA, SADA. ISOIFOTON, EMBRAE SCANDAL, STX KOREA, WORLD CUP 'MONKYE NNI', WATTERVILLE, AND OTHERS TO SIPHONE STATE FUNDS INTO PRIVATE POCKETS AND ACCOUNTS ABROAD. MR ...

• NANA BONSU 9 years ago

It wasn't like that before your founder ascended the throne so the question remains "WHEN DID THIS START "

• Ametsitsi 9 years ago

At the time of your campaign, didn't you campaign on the strength of ethnicity? That your ethnic group should never be second to anybody? Don't bring yourself papa president.

• efi 9 years ago

Some useless a kans can hide under ewe names.but everyone knows it was Nana ad do who said yenakanfuo a tribalist of the highest order.

• Ponponsuo 9 years ago

Check your ministers background before you make such irrelevant statement mr good for nothing preso

• Ebo Brew 9 years ago

President Mahama, pls ask yourself how many northerners are in your govt compared to other tribes in Ghana as well as at public boards, public institutions and even central bank of ghana. Pres. Mahama you are hypocrite

• Angel 9 years ago

Even what the Prez has said here, some pple are disputing it because they are not northerners, thus confirming this tribalistic tendency. It is part of us, but many of do not know how to balance issues of common interest. Let ...

• Yiadom 9 years ago

Mr. Mahama himself is a beneficiary of this same tribalism in our politics. How else could a non-achiever like him be President over a nation of 25 million? He is only competent in communication and nothing else so far as gov ...

• ED 9 years ago

This is exactly what the president is saying,idiots and morons like are those drawing the country back.You such an idiot

• John 9 years ago

Is a moron

• Yiadom 9 years ago

This man is a hypocrite. Just go to the the scholarship secretariat and witness first class tribalism. About 80% of the beneficiaries are northerners. Even in Ashanti Region, almost all the state institutions are headed by no ...

• agyeman 9 years ago

Mr. President that is untrue. The truth is that Mr. President you are a morally weak and incompetent leader that is why as a nation we have gone back ten years. Your appointees are incompetent, inexperienced and stack arrogan ...

• BULLET 9 years ago

HMMMMM...I WONDER WHY WE HAVE ANLOGA IN KUMASI AND NO KUMASI IN ANLOGA.#ALSO WHY WE HAVE AYIGBE TOWN IN ALMOST ALL THE AKAN SPEAKING TOWNS.

• Jay London 9 years ago

Mahama said the Northerner should vote for him because he is from the North. If that is not Ethnic-ism I don't know what that is.

He said Volta region is their power. These NDC folks they one thing and act directly against ...

• Sandy 9 years ago

You forgot the Seikwa palm wine tapper, who wore ladies winter coat!..Kuraseni

• Babylon 9 years ago

Mr President, if I may ask, how many northerners, ewes, Gas are working as your staff @ Falstaff House and how many akans? Cabinet ministers, all from the north

• Kofi Amoako 9 years ago

Germany ' s postwar success was because they had economic policies which had been thought through and not based on prayer requests and they were not stealing government funds meant for infrastructural projects. You have sto ...

• BIG JAY 9 years ago

I think John Mahama is a confused president. He does not know what he is talking about. Partisan politics has been with us long before independence,and it is a necessary evil.
    However, what is drawing Ghana back is the inco ...

• Jack 9 years ago

Rawlings is responsible for this ethnic and partisan division drawing Ghana backward.The NDC has always drummed home our erhnic differences just to score cheap political advantage.Branding a party Akan when it had over 40% fo ...

• ohene 9 years ago

Yes, Ghana was a cohesive nation before Jerry Rawlings came to the seen, and Mahama has continued with this policy of division.

• Paul 9 years ago

This is precisely what the Osagyefo Dr Kwame Nkrumah tried to get across to Ghanaians and the need for this approach has not changed.

One thing you can trust people like the Germans for is their patriotism, penchant for ha ...

• Aruna 9 years ago

You can't compare Ghana to Germany. They speak one language! One tribe!!

• kumnipah jnr 9 years ago

all this tribalisim started during jery john administration so mr. prez blamed ur founder first

• K. A. 9 years ago

The truth is what we seek in Ghana. President Mahama you are not telling the world the truth.
    Ghana's progress is lacking not because of ethinicity but because of corruption. Who were the heads of GYEEDA, SUBAH, SADA, and ev ...

• Dr Robert K Glah 9 years ago

Don't insult any tribe or nation.
    That is misdirection of aggression.
    Focus on how to eradicate extreme poverty from Ghana and Africa.

That is the battle ground for the brave people of Ghana and Africa.

• FINN 9 years ago

We can still recall when John Mahama stood on a campaign platform and declared that IF NPP WANTED NORTHERN VOTES THEN THEY SHOULD MAKE BAWUMIA THE FLAG BEARER..... and the crowd cheered him on.... SO NA WHO CAUSE AM......

• Adama 9 years ago

If Mahama will stop talking and start working, rid off his 'thiefing' colleagues,appoint honest, smart and hardworking people, Ghanaians will stop being petty and discuss real issues. Right now what is there in Ghana to talk ...

• if the lone crusader 9 years ago

So this woman is an ambassador oh ndc why?

• Ghanaman 9 years ago

Is this wilful blindness? This President is running an openly Northern ethnocentric Executive, the ONLY we've ever seen in Ghana's history, and he has the cheek to accuse others of tribalism or whatever! Blindness indeed!!

• The lone prophet of Jehovah 9 years ago

Surely there is ethic tribalism everywhere in Ghana.Whilst CID police headquarters using ethic tribalism and bribery to COVER UP murder cases.The director of CID Prosper Agblor knew of all this bribery and ethic corruption go ...

• HANS 9 years ago

THE SO-CALLED GOD IS ASLEEP. IF YOU HAVE A PROBLEM, PLAN AND EXECUTE YOUR PLAN TO SOLVE THE PROBLEM.

• good citizen 9 years ago

it is he mahama, Ibrahim mahama and baby with sharp tooth that see that Ghana is moving forward.

• jake 9 years ago

Mahama is right on point

• peter 9 years ago

You mahama must stop ethnic and partisan division first. How many of your appointees are Akans? 85% of your appointments went North which is minority tribe against akans majority. You hypocrite, mahama.

• Efo Kwaku Canada 9 years ago

Tell stupid JJ Rawlins who instituted tribal politics in Ghana that he didn't do good to our blessed nation Ghana , and learn the Germans selfless leaders vision that brought about their development and practice them when y ...

• Nti 9 years ago

The one who organise the demo in Berlin is useless.He disgraced NPP as a whole.Please let him refund the money given to him.How can 10 pple stage a demo and stand so far from the place.

• Alos Philadelphia 9 years ago

What is wrong with Mahama at all ,was it not him who during 2012 elections said in the North that he Mahama is from the North so ,Northern should vote for him, Mahama is a con man Ghanaians shouldn't take serious ...

• kofi 9 years ago

If silly people can say yen tie obiaa ,what sort of cooperation does he want again.This is bullshit talk.

• Bone Nye 9 years ago

This issue was basically on ethnicity.
    Some Ewes are worse offenders.
    They are jealous and envy akan people.

Heaven has eluded them. Shame on you.

• Novi 9 years ago

What do you think you have for Eweman to jealous off...your ratshiit soup?

• Jambo 9 years ago

The Mahama government should be blamed for the partisan division. In a country where the winner takes it all policy has become well entrenched, it is not surprising to see this. In the presnt government, greater number of key ...

• Bone Nye 9 years ago

Come back home and show leadership by example. I am very happy you have seen how unity, and appointments based on merit and fair administration can grow nations.
    God has really opened your eyes and mind to appreciate true pa ...

• Mama may London 9 years ago

Mr Mahama please I want to the course of this ethnic and partisan problems in Ghana. As it's know in Ghana (Na who course am oga) I started voting for NPP when you people branded all Akans as NPP members and since Wofa Ata pr ...

• Akans Prophecies 9 years ago

That is your observation. It is not true. Ghana have only one problem .That is you. You are destroying this country. You are really incapabity to management but still hang on towards its total destruction. For your personnel ...

• dondejatomolato 9 years ago

I should guess the president always speak before he thinks. Since when did he realised this?

• Ibn Mubarak 9 years ago

Always blaming innocent people for his failure and misdeeds. Where have Ghanaians gone wrong to have such a flop and corrupt person as their President. You pioneer of tribalism in Ghana politics

• KEWILI from KPONG 9 years ago

BLAME THE FOUNDER AND PETTY-MINDED EXECUTIVES OF YOUR NDC PARTY. DIDN'T YOU YOURSELF DO ETHNIC POLITICS IN 2012? HYPOCRITE!!

• CHICAGO Guy 9 years ago

Foolish man

• ohene 9 years ago

Tell that to Jerry Rawlings, the masters of backward ethnic warfare.

• ohene 9 years ago

Mr. President look at your appointments, and think again, about petty ethnic and partisan division. You are not being truthful.

• Pelicles 9 years ago

Mahama, remember what you said during the campaign. You said that you are a northerner so those from the north should vote for you. Isn't that an ethnic statement? Ghana is polarized under your watch.

• good 9 years ago

Jo pepe ni aboa

• good 9 years ago

Pepeni shit carrier asem paa ni !

• Bimbilla youth 9 years ago

But you play divide and rule game in the Bimbilla chieftaincy issue as president you always come to north to divide as and God will surely pay you back

• antwi 9 years ago

Npp= Danquah Busia Dombo who can tell me we have only three tribes in Ghana. Yen akanfuo is what ? Kill all Ewes and Gas is what? You npp people think you know more than us abi. If npp come to power no other tribes are enlist ...

• Kwame 9 years ago

Mr. president dat is nt tru.it is corruption n

dumsur so dumsur.

• K APPIAH 9 years ago

useless president

• Asem se be 9 years ago

I'm very surprised to John Mahama say something like this. Since he became President, all that he s done is promote the interest of northerners. Not long ago he was talking about how northern region is going to be develope ...

• kwame peasah darkwah nyc 9 years ago

EVERYONE HAVE TO STAY IN HIS REGION AND LET SEE

• mensah abrampa 9 years ago

Every Ghanaian knows Mahama is not Ga, Ewe, Akan nor is he from any of the southern tribes but he never misses an opportunity to remind all of us about his ethnic tribe.
    Mahama even asked Northerners to vote for him in 2012 ...

• MAHAMA LOOT ND SHARE 9 years ago

GERMAN NEVER CORRUPT,OR CHOP ALL THE NATION MONEY,PAD PROMISES MAHAMA AKONFEMHENE ABOAFUNU

• OMAN BAPA 9 years ago

HAHAHAHAHA ONLU INSULT HE CAN DO,ABOA,KWASEAPANII ASIEDU NKATIA ASSSHOOLE

• Nana Amankwaatia 9 years ago

Mr President please being a communicator does not mean you always cheat on our intelligence and be smart.When all your pilots projects which effects citizenry emotionally and bring much stress to the effected people start fro ...