You are here: HomeNews2015 01 19Article 343164

Repatriate arrested pirates – Maritime lawyer

Read Comments Comments (42)

• St. Ghfuo: Be Bad & Hang Nyantakyi, N 9 years ago

Ghana navy must by protocol keep the goods as bounty and reward for their good work done. However, jail these pirates for 3mths and after repatriated them back to naija. These thieves have now cost the naija govt loss of good ...

• LARYEAH 9 years ago

YOU ARE A FOOL, GHANA SHOULDN'T REWARD THEMSELVES WITH ANY STOLEN GOOD.

• GRAND REGENCY 9 years ago

A HOTEL IN KUMASI
    HAS VACANCIES FOR
    OFFICE CLERKS,COOKS, CHEF, PORTERS,WAITERS, WAITRESSES,HAIR DRESSERS,
    BARBERS,FEMALE ROOM ATTENDANTS, FEMALE CLEANERS,
    SECURITYMEN, KITCHEN ASSISTANTS, LABOURERS. CALL NOW FOR

QUICK ...

• ASHAWOBA RAWSHIT 9 years ago

I AM NOT SURPRISED THAT YOU ARE ADVOCATING FOR JUST THREE MONTHS FOR ARMED PIRATES.

• Be Still 9 years ago

Go to Europe and the US and ask them to repatriate all Ghanaian prisoners due to syndicates and affiliations. You go to prison where you are caught committing crime. I wonder where some of you get your law degrees. Always put ...

• Holly 9 years ago

I'm wondering the same thing. Some of these experts are lawyers by mouth not on paper. Does Ghana need to repatriate all Nigerian criminals from Ghana because of the fear of retaliation?

• CORNEY 9 years ago

Some of these Ghanaian lawyers I wonder how they manage to become lawyers.
    Is this guy telling the world that if you arrest terrorists because of acts of vengeance you extradite them to their country even if they commit the ...

• DusTY-FooT-pHiloSophER 9 years ago

Corney, what are talking about here? Didn't the-said project come before the August house prior to its commencement? Also who ever told you that Ethiopia used $64m to construct 3 modern airports? I get all "Jiggy Gaga" when ...

• CORNEY 9 years ago

I think next time when you see a comment you have to read it fully even if you have to read it over and over.
    Did you really read my comment to know what I wrote about NPP MPs approving loans and then turn around to accuse t ...

• DusTY-FooT-pHiloSophER 9 years ago

Sorry for that. I saw my own mistake for not reading your posting thoroughly to the end before commenting on it to put your right. Sorry again there.

• CORNEY 9 years ago

Not a problem,I know you and I are always mostly on the same page.
    Thank you.

• daladam 9 years ago

why waist our money on this criminals

• LARYEAH 9 years ago

ANOTHER GHANAIAN FOOL, YOU CAN SEND THE CRIMINAL BACK TO HIS OR HER HOME COUNTRY, IF IS IN YOUR INTEREST.

• k the h 9 years ago

A very useless lawyer. Let take his name and particulars so that I will stay away from him if ever I would need the services of a lawyer. These made in Achiase Lawyers they make me sick

• CORNEY 9 years ago

"made in Achiase Lawyers" lol

• Obed Adore 9 years ago

Hello, he is not a useless lawyer as such. I know Dr. Mbiah- I believe he is afraid of reprisals from other pirates who may target Ghanaians and ships carrying Ghanaian flags etc. But I also did not buy his argument. He sho ...

• CORNEY 9 years ago

My brother,your school mate may be a brilliant guy I believe though I don't know him but so far as this issue is concern he is a useless lawyer,nothing can convince us more than that.
    He is the only one I ever heard of say ...

Is Dr. Mbiah saying we should repatriate them because they be belong to terrorist cell that may take action against Ghana? I think that is a defeatist attitude. We must deal with them the way the law says, no exceptions!

• Sam 9 years ago

What kind of lawyer is this? Where did he study his law? The crime was committed in Ghana, it's within Ghana's jurisdiction and you are advising that we repartrate them to Nigeria for trial. Secondly, we should try them here ...

• Sam 9 years ago

we shouldn't try them here... What!

• Azumah Nelson 9 years ago

This is Bull Shit. They were arrested in Ghana.They should be tried here.

• Concerned Ghanaian 9 years ago

Never heard of this shit before, we made arrest in Ghana and want trail in Nigeria? naaa this lawyer be cocoa lawyer.

• Baboo 9 years ago

Very sound good advice!

• Be Still Holly Corney Sam 9 years ago

@ Be still, Holly,Corney, et al, do you guys smoke wee before reading and reacting to issues on the web? Did you read about how Ghana Navy came in to arrest the Pirates? The owner of the Ship to be attacked is a Nigerian ba ...

• Queen 9 years ago

You're here telling people to be constructive and think like human beings but yet, you're here insulting them. Smh

• CORNEY 9 years ago

If we smoke we then you smoke crack.
    If a Nigeria man calls Ghana police to report that his ship has been hijacked in Ghana's waters you want the government to send the criminals to Nigeria because the complainant is in Nige ...

• OBINNA 9 years ago

THIS LAWYER IS SO STUPID I CANNOT FATHOM WHERE HE GOT HIS EDUCATION FROM. WAS THE CRIME COMMITTED IN NIGERIA? HIS EXPLANATION DOES NOT MAKE ANY SENSE LET ALONE LEGAL SENSE. SUCH IDIOTS ARE IN GHANA RUNNING THE AFFAIRS OF THE ...

• Yendi boy 9 years ago

You went too far,now every little thing terrorist.

• Says Who 9 years ago

Why is the CEO of the GSA keen to have these criminals shipped out. Is he trying to hide something. He seem to know a lot about the workings of these pirates. Just wondering

• Obed Adore 9 years ago

I know Dr. Mbiah- was my senior at Wesley Grammar- Accra. I believe he is afraid of reprisals from other pirates who may target Ghanaians and ships carrying Ghanaian flags etc. But I also did not buy his argument. He should ...

• Prof Lungu 9 years ago

Not quite right/responsible, the way we see it!

We are not lawyers, but...

Why not make it a joint-but-separate trial?

All minds should agree that these individuals are reported to have broken Ghana laws. Goes to say ...

• Joseph,canada 9 years ago

They might be working for Biko haram don't forget to rise funds

• Danny Boy, Bronx 9 years ago

Why can't Ghanaians discuss or contribute to articles on Ghana web without insulting. This tanker was hijacked and the oil drained in Nigeria by Nigerians. The owner of the ship sought help from Ghana Navy and they've been ar ...

• CORNEY 9 years ago

My friend we are talking about law okay,we are not talking about what you think.

The people were arrested in Ghana's waters not in Nigerian waters and even if they commit the crime in Nigerian waters before entering Ghana' ...

• pataku 9 years ago

my first question to you what is law?
    (2)How do you understand the rules of extradition?
    (3)do not come and present yourself as a lawyer.

• Samuel Asante U.S.A 9 years ago

They should be repatriated to Nigeria to be dealth with by their government.

• Boss 9 years ago

100% agree with this.

• Nii Nartey Lartey 9 years ago

Do you mean just because Ghana will be responsible feeding these criminals Ghana has to repatriate the monsters without standing trial here for offending Ghana and international maritime laws?

I suspect this lawyer is high ...

• stone 9 years ago

Ghana navy have really done well and is up to time the gorvenment look up to them by equipping them so that they can perform their task to maximum

• stone 9 years ago

That maritime lawyer have a somting wrong with him because I can't believe a profetional lawyer is speaking this way and if so then I think that maritime lawyer is part of that terroriste group he is talking of

• Ben, Lagos 9 years ago

This lawyer has exhibited cowardice by his statement that the pirates may belong to a group or cell of terrorists. They are ordinary this and many of such are in the Nigerian oil producing areas.
    They should be jailed under ...

• JB 9 years ago

The audio makes everything clear so why are Ghanaians attacking him. We owe a duty under Art. 100 of the UNCLOS to cooperate to the fullest possible extent in the repression of piracy and a duty to render assistance to the re ...