You are here: HomeNews2015 01 09Article 341983

Manhyia denies sacking guards over 'Yentie Obia' video

Read Comments Comments (83)

• cha 9 years ago

The coountry have been destroyed enough under this failed Mahama

• MAHAMA KILLED MILLS!!! 9 years ago

HAHAHAHAAAA OTUMFUOR DANCING YENTIE OBIAA IS A TOTAL DISGRACE TO THE ENTIRE ASHANTI KINGDOM!!!! ASHANTI KINGDOM HAS GONE INSANE!! EVEN IF THE COUNTRY IS ON FIRE, OTUMFUOR SAYS: YENTIE OBIAA!!!!

• Kwame Dokyi 9 years ago

Ghanaians ,by colonial instrumentality, appreciate the melody,rather than the lyrics of music!!

• NANA OSEI (QEEENS, NEW YORK) U.S.A 9 years ago

THIS FRAUDELANT ASANTEHENE HAS DEFILED THE ASHANTE THRONE. THIS THEIF, LAIR AND UNFAITHFUL GUY DOESNT DESERVE THE THRONE AND MUST BE KICKED OFF IT.
    NO WONDER HER MOTHER STOLE IT FOF HIM

• Queen 9 years ago

I HAVE BEEN YOUNG, AND NOW I AM OLD. I HAVE NEVER SEEN THE RESPECTABLE, GRACIOUS, ELEGANT BRITISH QUEEN DANCING IN PUBLIC.

• Norsaid 9 years ago

You are very stupid. Who composed the song? Not Daddy Lumba an Ashanti?
    Your head contains sawdust

• okofo 9 years ago

Who is disputing the composer of the song? The subject of discussion here is the ohene dancing as if a "commonner", and the implication to his position as a King. Kings don't do that in Ghana's tradition.

Stop insulting so ...

• OSEI TUTU 9 years ago

The Golden Stool is very well respected by Ashantis because they believe it is thier soul. So for an Asantehene to stoop low to dancing with a song believed to have been used as a tease by the offender is unheard of. No amoun ...

• Kwame Dokyi 9 years ago

Kwasea,e! if you didn't understand my post, don't insult me!Who composed " God save the Queen"? Was it an Ewe?Was it enjoyed by MATEMEHO, DOMBO NLM main opposition party of the Gold Coast?

• oy3 9 years ago

Woy3 kwasea paa!! Do you have a father,you bastard? Your prostitute mother filled your empty skull with insults and nothing else!!

• Nana Yaw Koram 9 years ago

This is a disgrace to the Ashanti Kingdom. The Ashanteman council should summons the King who does not listen to anybody. Words from the song alone should be used to remove the King from the throne. The King should have known ...

• Desperate for truth 9 years ago

Why should the King be removed? Nonsense

• Frafra Ha 9 years ago

I beg, leave the Otumfuo alone! The Ashantis are the wisest creatures in the history of mankind. And the northerners know how to make their Otumfuo dance. Mahama knows how to make "King Solomon" tick.

• derridaniel 9 years ago

Nonsense when dose it become a crime for chief or a king to dance ?

• Frafra Ha 9 years ago

THERE WAS AN ASHANTI KINGDOM, NOW WE HAVE, AN ASHANTI REGION! ...WHICH IS, BUT THE THIRD LARGEST REGION (BY LANDMASS) IN THE COUNTRY. THE BRONGS SEPARATED FROM ASHANTIS ABOUT 55 YEARS AGO, FOR BEEN DISCRIMINATED. ASHANTIS DID ...

• Alah 9 years ago

Because Nana Otumfour of the great Ashnti kingdom and the president have danced to the tune of "Yentie Obiaa", you categorized the Ashanti Kingdom as a disgrace. Well, I am not an Ashanti (born and bred in Accra), but my moth ...

• DR TRUTH 9 years ago

WHY ARE WE SPENDING HARD EARNED TAX PAYERS MONEY ON OUR CHIEF ASANNTEHENE BY PROVIDING HIM WITH STATE POLICE GUARDS? HE IS RICH ENOUGH TO RAISE HIS OWN PRIVATE SECURITY. DOES THIS PRIVILEGE EXTEND TO CHIEFS OF OUR OTHER GHAN ...

• THEO 9 years ago

You are just too stupid . Did you read some of the Policemen relieved six months ago have worked at the Palace for more than ten years?

Can you count? The election petition was just two years ago, idiot.

Cos he is the king of the ASHANTIS!!!

• Frafra Ha 9 years ago

The "Jews of Africa".....who is putting that in your empty head. Nonsense!

• BBC NEWS! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 9 years ago

Why should he be sack? For what? Long live "Yentie Obiaa" , Long live GHANA.

• DOGON YARO 9 years ago

I respect okyehene more than Asantehene..okyehene is intellectual

• Cano 9 years ago

Yes, he is intellectual that is why he lives in Accra and his galamsey is going on behind his Palace at Kyebi.

• Akofena 9 years ago

You can respect the Okyehene and disrespect Asantehene we care less.Our king is not there to please his enemies like you.He will dance to any ghanaian song of his choice.

Well said. I agree with you totally.

• Frafra Ha 9 years ago

WHO CARES ABOUT YOUR CORRUPT KING. MY FOOT!! THE ONLY WISE KING ASHANTI EVER HAD, WAS OSEI TUTU I. ...HE WAS TRAINED BY THE DENKYIRAS, PROTECTED BY THE AKUAMUS AND PSYCHED BY OKOMFO ANOKYE. SINCE HIS DEATH, ASANTIS HAVE ONLY ...

• Opanin Koo Kwakye 9 years ago

Mr. D. Taro, why this statement from you? It is uncalled for.

• Krab 9 years ago

DCOP please don't get involved in this politics. Stay above it and your hard earned image/reputation will be protected. You were sent to protect the region and not the asantehene.

• Kojo Billy Duncan 9 years ago

It is important that journalists and others are intellectually honest. There is no need to publish falsehood.

• KING 9 years ago

SO FOOLISH YOU CAN'T MAKE OUT FALSE REPORT AND TRUTH

• Norsaid 9 years ago

Why are NPP people straining so hard to discredit the Ashanti King at all cost? Just because the King is a friend to the northerner, NDC-sponsored President?
    Since when have Ashantis started loving politics more than their k ...

• Norsaid 9 years ago

This idiotic, tribalistic and nation-wrecking attitude of the NPP is the reason why i always pray that the "Good Lord" may save Ghana from the stupid NPP forever

• KING 9 years ago

ANSWER THE STUPID QUESTION YOURSELF

What is stupid about the question posed by Norsaid?

• NDC Akoromfuor Party. 9 years ago

The writer of this is comment is totally an insane guy that is why he/she mentioning the NPP's name on this issue.The Cursed ndc is 100% more STUPID than NPP.

• Kirk Douglas 9 years ago

I was young when Prempeh ll was the king. Wow, he was well respected. That respect is dying slowly

• Araba Blay 9 years ago

ASHANTIMAN IS DYING SLOWLY UNDER OTUMFUO. HE HAS DABBLED TOO MUCH INTO POLITICS

• MAHAMAH 9 years ago

THIS NEW ASANTEHENE IS A USELESS MAN FROM THE BEGINNING. HE TRY TO BEFRIEND MAHAMAH JUST FOR MONEY. THE TWO WANTED TO DESTROY THE KUMASI BIG MARKERT SO THAT THEY WILL SET UP BIG MALLS THERE.
    THE ASANTEHENE IS BAD CHIEF TO H ...

• KWAKU AFRIYIE AMPONSEM 9 years ago

and so what.... he is a human being and he can make mistakes.... besides what you are saying are all lies....

• kofi 9 years ago

ghanaweb, you provide the platform for people to insult ashantihene, i think chronicle should be made to proof his source. Our media must be careful the kinds of things they report. Even if the believe the story they are tell ...

• CHARGEZ 9 years ago

MMM I SUSPECT NPP TO BE THE MAIN ARCHITECTS OF THE VIDEO. NPP FOR YOUR INFO PRES MAHAMA WON'T LISTEN TO YOU.

• Timbotimbo 9 years ago

is becoming clear that, Ashantihen is now a crownic to NDC and has mad him self clear that he is a politia.u black dog.

• kOFI 9 years ago

One would have expected that Nana Otumfuo used the rare occasion of hosting President Mahama to tell him that Ghanaians are really suffering and something drastic should be done.
    To be blunt- one needs to have a clear view ...

• BP 9 years ago

NPP Press targeting Manhyia with bad press for what is their frustration over fears of Ashanti Region splitting votes for NDC.

• Joe,london 9 years ago

I like the song'Yentie Obiara'.When I come to Ghana I will throw a party and play only that record throughout the party.Yes,'yentie obiara'.NPP can go to hell.

• kwabena ohemeng,london 9 years ago

Asantehene has the right to dance to any ghanaian song.Those who are not happy that he danced to the song 'Yentie Obiara'can hang themselves.

• Togbe Fiti 9 years ago

Why is Kwaku Duah always in the news? I am not sure that this man is doing any good to his subjects in particular and the chieftaincy institution in general. Manhyia deserves better than this.

• ugly akufo addo 9 years ago

just look at akufo addo , an old pig

• b b 9 years ago

ur father is the pig

• OYOKOBA 9 years ago

Why shoot the messengers? They only recorded the truth, the disdain and the total lack of respect from the disgraceful Asantehene towards his own subjects. As much as we hold the position of the Ashanti monarchy in the highes ...

• GOLD COAST 9 years ago

Yesterday they were praising and kissing the Asantehene as if he were God.When machines broke down and mothers and their newly born babies were sleeping on floors at KATH,the Asantehene chose to spend $5million on a mansion i ...

• GOLD COAST 9 years ago

one-dimensional

• OYOKOBA 9 years ago

Hello Gold Coast, I will normally not jump on any trail that has my name on it, except to correct factual errors, the "OYOKOBA" above is a clone, a thief who has don my moniker. It isn't me the OYOKOBA that you know. The scum ...

• Kanawu 9 years ago

I don't know if you are trying to defend Asantehene or not, but records don't lie. The cocaine saga that sniffed all the way to the manhyia palace during Kuffour's time, the mysterious way that Golden stool regalia went missi ...

• GOLD COAST 9 years ago

Chill,brother! I ain't no NDC apparatchik.Yours truly is neutral in the 'war' between the two dominant parties here in Ghana. Both lack visionary and unselfish leaders who can lead us to the Promised Land.

However,due to t ...

• Kanawu 9 years ago

I disagree with some of your assertions with regard to your preference of a visionary in the mold of Osagyefo Dr.Kwame Nkrumah, to energize the public and transform this country into the Singapore or Brazil of Africa.
    Nkrum ...

• Kanawu 9 years ago

It is NOT based on any ideology but my own personal observation

• Vak Luze 9 years ago

THERE IS A SAYING THAT, ONE DOES NOT POINT LEFT HAND AT HIS HOME TOWN. PEOPLE MUST LEARN TO RESPECT ELDERLY PEOPLE, ESPECIALLY OTUMFOUR.

• BEN USA. 9 years ago

Vak, is OTUMFOUR God? Who is he? HE'S A MORTAL being like any other. If he does not accord his people with respect, he isn't getting it either

• BBC NEWS! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 9 years ago

Npp must blame themselves for bringing back the same rotten tomatoes into the Market. Nana Akanfuo Binaddo will never bring back Npp Motorbikes and Bungalows thieves into power. 

• MUMU VOTERS 9 years ago

The two mumus

• anonymos 9 years ago

Why kwaku dua, why?

• Kanawu 9 years ago

Because he thinks he can. He is the epitome of arrogance. Total disrespect for his subjects. Most Asantes were tickling with joy when they heard rumours of his death in South Africa few years ago. Insha Alla. We can't wait!

• Ziblim yakubu 9 years ago

please!!fellow ghanains is very very bad to subject our Chiefs into insult,what is ndc or npp, bcos of these cycophants politicians?

• Mariam Agyemang 9 years ago

Rumor has it that Otumfoo is facing problems. The Asanteman Council has suspended meetings until a vote of "No Confidence" is held. Council members can vote YES or NO. The queen mother, who happens to be the mother of Otumfoo ...

• achipelago 9 years ago

3S3 MO ARA...IF YOUR MOM HAS GONE TO FARM AND YOU SAY SHE'S AT HOME...THEN IT'S YOUR OWN PALAVER! YOU CAN DECEIVE US EVERYTHING AND EVERYTIME. GOD IS WATCHING!

• Joe Abass 9 years ago

Next time they will dance "aben woha".

Otumfuo must be careful with the "universal satellite". You can`t hide nothing in this generation.

• No one 9 years ago

n an ordinary person buy that property?

• LTD 9 years ago

hmmmm

• DOME HOTEL 9 years ago

WHO EVER LEAKED THE VIDEO DESEVE THE SACK.ALL BELONGINGS IN A SACK AND ESCORTED OUT OF THE PALACE.IT IS TIME GHANAIANS KNOW THAT YOU JUST CANNOT HAVE ANY ONES PHOTO OR VIDEO IN PUBLIC WITHOUT THE ONES PERMISSION OR AUTHORISAT ...

• Kofi Manu of Tema 9 years ago

The difference between the Asantehene and the Okyehene,in my humble opinion, is that whereas the former talks on national issues with utmost circumspection and decorum as a King, the latter does so by recourse to some level o ...

• yaw 9 years ago

Nana must Gooooo

• Efo Kwaku Canada 9 years ago

This guy was tagged as king Solomon for his two years of reign but now he cliches to NDC he has become the most idiot king on Ashanti throne , that alone prove the calibre of people in NDC party , buddy you're disgrace to yo ...

• ASSINMANBA, USA 9 years ago

The DCOP Kofi Boakye is paid by the government and made some changes six months ago after taking over to ensure security at the palace. Right! So who pays these security staff at the Manhyia Palace? Is the Asantehene more imp ...

• Awurade Kasa 9 years ago

This is the first time in the history of the Ashanti Kingdom that an occupant of the Golden Stool aligning himself OPENLY to a political party.
    This guy is too money conscious. He danced for money from NDC, I guess.

• bash 9 years ago

This particular Ashanti hene is a total disgrace to ashantis. Someone should talk to him

• DEPORT FORIEGN CRIMINALS ASAP 9 years ago

OTUMFUO AND PREZ MAHAMA DESERVE TO HAS SOME FUN SOMETIMES TO EASE THE STRESS OUT . EVEN WESTERN LEADERS ACROSS THE GLOBE DO DANCE OCCASIONS SO I DONT SEE NOTHING WRONG IF OTUMFUO AND THE PREZ MAHAMA ENJOYED THEM SELF AS HUMA ...

• Asamoah Forson 9 years ago

Some times I feel very comfortable to be Ashante

• ADUANA BA OKURUFI, Breman 9 years ago

According to the report, the royal seat is baffled as to why and how the video was recorded in the first place, during a party which was supposed to be strictly by invitation and attended by only highly respected political fu ...

• King George South Africa 9 years ago

Ghanaians most especially Ashanti Region,Kumasi must stop all these criticisms and focus on development,what is wrong if OTUMFO danced with Mahama?we must think of better things and stop all these rubbish

• Asona Ba Asah Bekoe Atuo - USA 9 years ago

So, the celebration was supposed to be closed door event?.

• Kwaku Dua 9 years ago

You see what lack of education can do to a king

• NEW LIGHT 9 years ago

The king has denied his own people suffering on the hands of their tormentor who surprisingly has become the king's friend... God help us!