You are here: HomeNews2015 01 06Article 341450

Two men charged in US over Gambia 'coup plot'

Read Comments Comments (28)

• The mask 9 years ago

The broad achievements of the United Nations Millenium Development Goals are out and Africa was last in all the goals. There is growing irritation amongst concerned citizens and stakeholders on the lack of information from th ...

• Atinga Kobla Atongo 9 years ago

US SHOULDN'T DO ANYTHING TO THIS BRAVE MEN. THEY HAVE THE SUPPORT OF THE SILENT MAJORITY OF GAMBIANS.
    THIS IDIOT LEADING THAT BEAUTIFUL COUNTRY MUST GO, HE CAME TO POWER THROUGH A COUP.
    HE SHOULD KNOW HE WILL GO THE SAME W ...

• Koo Dwomo 9 years ago

This idiot of a president must go, period!

• Zoobie-Zoobie 9 years ago

1994-2015... a waste

• SCOUT 9 years ago

This brutal dictator called Jammeh will arrest a few people, execute them, and by that action, really juice up the vengeance against himself.

Just a matter of time.

That day, Campaore will thank God that he had fled Bur ...

• the lone crusader 9 years ago

Why should he shelded? As the saying goes that he who draws a knife falls on it too at the long last so let thisbuffon flair the gunpowder too for posterity deterrance.

• Mensah 9 years ago

ridiculous

• Adiatogbor 9 years ago

I have no control over who is a friendly nation of the US, but my problem is can different yardsticks be used when it comes to democracy in certain countries? They go after other countries over democracy and then treat Yaya J ...

• onetribe 9 years ago

America has no friends, don't kid yourself it cares about any country, cause or people. how honest do you want them to be.

• OBIBINI 9 years ago

Just look at the hypocrisy of America trying to throw dust into the eyes of the world.It was the US and other western countries behind the coup.Now that it has failed it is behaving as if it had nothng to do with it.The truth ...

• Mmmhhh 9 years ago

Where is your proof that the USA was behind the coup?

If you can't provide it then be mute.

• Ghanaba 9 years ago

The West wasn't behind the abortive coup against the crazy, bastard of a murderous tyrant, Jammeh. On the contrary, the US is ready to prosecute the Gambians who were behind the coup as a gesture of goodwill towards their boy ...

• Ghanaba 9 years ago

Only those who haven't got what Obama is about are shocked by these actions. Barack Obama is the biggest fraud ever perpetrated on the black race. Barack Obama has met with every murderous, blood-dripping African dictator you ...

• maxwell 9 years ago

I am surprised the US government did not arrest J.J Rawlings when he visited the US after toppling a democratically elected government of Ghana in 1981.

• MenayeAFUAforiwa 9 years ago

Rawlings was saved by the Clinton administration on condition that if he Rawlings would hand over power to civilians at a certain period of time then he would not be prosecuted for all his crimes. But at the same token do not ...

• Abongo 9 years ago

You and Maxwe are idiots

• Paa Henry 9 years ago

Look at this semiliterate idiot. Sometimes u wonder how people can just put together lies and spew it over the place with no concience. First, Clinton WASNT president in 1981. Next, US has no control over any head of state. U ...

• Amoako 9 years ago

Max, once we open that can of worms there won't be going back.They will be using threat of arrest and imprisonment to subdue our leaders and that is something we must never allow.

• Kofi Virginia 9 years ago

you should not expect support when you have failed to change the government.

• kumnipah jnr 9 years ago

hahaha, prez has over stayed in office aaaahhh seized power in 1994 and still want to continue to rule them and what goes around surely comes around so he should dance to the turn of the music doe he is Lucky this time round ...

• kwadwo grusi 9 years ago

this shows that people of Gambia to not vote ooh
    eei America should spare them now for taking such a boldly decision.

• kwadwo grusi 9 years ago

this shows that people of Gambia to not vote ooh
    eei America should spare them now for taking such a boldly decision.

• EDUARDO DOMINGO 9 years ago

UNCLE SAM YOU PAA!!! SO YAYA GYAMEH'S GOVT. IS YOUR FRIEND? OF COURSE I SUSPECTED; JUST LIKE LATE BONGO'S SON IN GABON IS YOUR FRIEND ALONG WITH FRENCH GOVT. ALSO PAUL BIYA TOO ? AFTER ALL I HEARD AN EX CIA BOSS SAID THAT T ...

• Asem 9 years ago

The hypocrate USA as usual. The two men should be given medals for trying to over a lunatic Yahya Jemmeh

• Wayo 9 years ago

I pity the African.We never learn.

• Paa Henry 9 years ago

Ghanaweb. Look at this semiliterate idiot. Sometimes u wonder how people can just put together lies and spew it over the place with no concience. First, Clinton WASNT president in 1981. Next, US has no control over any head o ...

• BOWONDA 9 years ago

Ebei Master Paa Henry, you are calling someone 'semi-literate idiot'for expressing his/her views? Then you ask why the USA did not "...arrest Afrifa, Kotoka, Busia and co...."? Do you see who is semi-literate? The works of Af ...

• The boy 9 years ago

Yahaya Jammeh is the most wicked leader Africa ever have..He became a dictator by GUN..so he has to be overthrown by the same GUN...so please America stay away..What goes around comes around. ...