You are here: HomeNews2014 12 26Article 340576

Akyem Ofoase: Police arrest 5 more ‘Boko Haram’ members

Read Comments Comments (52)

• Sporty 9 years ago

Why arrest them only to grant them bail?

• abass 9 years ago

Thank u my brother why Grant them bail? And when we talk about kwaw kesse being denied bail and some people will insult us....

• SARPONG 9 years ago

Ghana Police is a joke. First you just said you have now started investigating this group so how do you know whether they have any connection to the Boko Haram terrorist group?

"The Deputy Regional Commander emphasised th ...

• MENSA 9 years ago

WE MUST DEPORT ANYONE IN GHANA THAT IS CLAIMING TO BELONG TO THIS CRIMINAL ENTERPRISE CALLED BOKO HARAM
    WAKE UP GHANA WE MUST FLUSE OUT THE RADICAL MUSLIM KILLERS OR SOON THEY WILL FLOURISH JUST LIKE IN NIGERIA AND STOP B ...

• abe 9 years ago

Ghana govt must start to destroy homes of terror suspects just like the Israelis are doing and just like the jordenians under king abdalla is doing. anyone in Jorden or Israel
    that was proven to belong to terror group his h ...

• ky 9 years ago

Eiiii MR PRO that is how nigeria version started. they downplay it till it excalated to what it is now. Investigate the so called clergies in that zongo community. how i wish DCOP KOFI BOAKYE is commander in the EASTERN REGIO ...

• yanks 9 years ago

ghana is not a muslim country so why should they be spanking people for religious reasons. sooner or later they will start beheading people for refusing to accept their religion because the koran admonishes muslims to elimina ...

• Don 9 years ago

Give me the chapter and verse...do not assert something in ignorance...

• KANTINKA 9 years ago

Wicked Islamic men, who are infleunced by satanic drunkiness.Islamic Women should stop worshiping this satanic god called Allah. This god is sending all Muslims to hell. Do you hear these evil men of this satanic religion con ...

• Yaw Berko 9 years ago

“They desire that you should disbelieve as they have disbelieved, so that you might be (all) alike; therefore take not from among them (the unbelievers) friends until they flee (their homes) in Allah's way; but if they turn ...

• Kofi Ghana 9 years ago

These ignorants are spoiling the name of Islam

• LET THERE BE LIGHT. 9 years ago

Shame on the Muslims in that region. We are all in Ghana but they are seeing things with the Arab eyes and are going to bind us to Arab living flogging people for nothing. Why can't people be just free in Islam.? What trouble ...

• Samson 9 years ago

Shame on the Muslims in that region. We are all in the same country, Ghana, but they are seeing things with Arab eyes and are going to bind us to Arab way of living, flogging people for nothing. Why can't people be just free ...

• HON SHAMO 9 years ago

All these people are aliens from Niger and Nigeria, they hide behind NDC PUT ING THE mantle of Northerners and living freely in Ghana! And because of power ndc don't care to give any Togolese, Niger and Malians a Ghanaian pa ...

• Nii Nortey (New York) 9 years ago

His behavior was first experienced in Ghana during the MATEMIHO (NPP)time in the Ashanti region.

• mojingles 9 years ago

Law enforcement authorities have to tread carefully in dealing with these Zongo knuckleheads. They are by no stretch of the imagination terrorists as some desperately want to characterize them. They are just a band of unempl ...

• CORNEY 9 years ago

This is not even a mere criminal case let alone saying it was people taking the law into their own hands,this is a terrorist group and must be treated as such.
    That James Abbas-Abaah guy does not deserve to be a commander,h ...

• 4 Year Old 9 years ago

This is one thing we should all commend the No-nonsense approach by the Rawlings and AFRC/PNDC Administrations- They kill!!
    They kill the innocent and guilty as well.
    If these guys call themselves "Boko Haram" then they de ...

• Kwaku Eshun 9 years ago

Please jail them. Please jail them. Please jail them. Period. Period Period

• Kwaku Eshun 9 years ago

this is how terrorist organisations start. Please Jail them and kill the organisation before it is even born

• Concerned 9 years ago

The police chief didn't comment on the accusation of religious punishment being meted out to people breaking religious rules. The public should be reassured that this is not the case. The press did give at least one example o ...

• Reba 9 years ago

They granted bail to a would be terrorist who call themselves Boko haram while Kwaw Kese is still in jail? Smh

• Kwame Dokyi 9 years ago

"GHANA , MY COUNTRY IS FREE FOREVER"

• Emeka 9 years ago

abi ghanaians no the faer nothins?why boko haram?

• koliko 9 years ago

jail all of them why bail?they are all akans!!
    akufo addo knows its roots.
    fools

• Asem 9 years ago

Send them back their home towns. If they own they homes, demolish them , if not warn landlords not to give them their homes to rent.

• Elliot 9 years ago

What do GhaNAIANS EXPECT. wE ARE SO GULLIBLE As a PEOPLE THAT USELESS PASTORS, FETISH PRIESTS, MALLAMS PROPHETS AND SELF ACCLAIMED BISHOPS WHO ARE MARRIED SLEEP WITH CHOIRISTERS AND YOUNG CHURCH MEMBERS UNDER THE VERY EYES OF ...

• mustapha 9 years ago

The boko harram they should not allow them to stay in Ghana

• Haruna Abbass-Nima 9 years ago

Infact its shocking for any group to name itself as Bocom haram.As a muslim l am totally against these characters.
    The rate at which Nigerian troup into our dear country it will surely be imported one day if we do not take ...

• Haruna Abbass-Nima 9 years ago

Please our police carry out spot checks abd ask for ldentity.Before the full implementation and issuance of the national Identity cards.Paliament should be recalled back on this issue to impliment a form of identity.President ...

• Awuni 9 years ago

Plz the media should stop using the boko haram word to describe ppl...boko haram is no joke plz

• Ayamba 9 years ago

No Boko Haram in Eastern Region - Ghana Police. Assistant Commissioner of Police (ACP), James Abass- Abaah, Deputy Regional Commander, Has explained that, in line with the police policy of allowing communities to form neighbo ...

• Hard Listeners 9 years ago

They start like this and if not checked grow into such nasty groups. Good to nip them in the bud right now.

• Kwadwo Oppong 9 years ago

We all read in the past in a news report-probably in this same website -of a Boko Haram sect formation in probably the same area where the recent incidents and arrests took place. Now, the Police is denying they are Boko Hara ...

• Merlin 9 years ago

u idiot stop talking like a drunkard, who told u boko haram is a Muslim group, OK if they are Muslims why will do blast mosque as well, let pray they all should be arrested instead u are talking rubbish Allah will surely p ...

• Vera 9 years ago

Book Haram is strict Moslems following Islamist Islam. They use Shariar law that allows beheadings, cutting of hands of thieves and stoning people. Like they did during the prophets time. Read the Koran and you will learn.

• Omanba pa. 9 years ago

What is the chief of the town and the people doing about this? The Akyems as we know talk too much but there is little they can do. Why should they allow these 'mfofono' turn into 'kwai'.
    If Mahama is messing up Ghana, we de ...

• ky 9 years ago

Eiii Mr. PRO that is how nigeria version started. How I wish DCOP KOFI BOAKYE is an Eastern Regional commander

• Virgo Sly, Nkwasiafour Boko Haram 9 years ago

Police take dat foolish money and grant dem bail if something happens to our pple, there you go.Stop making unnecessary investigation and arrest dem and jail anyone who misbehaving in Ghana.

• DR BOOM 9 years ago

ACP Abass- Abaah, please your name show that you are Muslim so stop defending them because of the bribe they gave to you, all of us has seen the Video, what are you trying to tell us, you think we Ghanaians are fool, THEIR BR ...

• Kofi Thomas, Tema 9 years ago

The Police thinks the public are fools. The Police should stop lying. What does the Police gain by lying to the public about and event and a group of such nature. Today's technology easily exposes any hidden event. It is bett ...

• N yaba 9 years ago

pls this people who called themselves muslims are not.pls!!! don't and nerver called them muslims.

• N yaba 9 years ago

Some people are not rational,You Kantinka

• MAKAMAKAMWOLUMO 9 years ago

what at all give these Nigerian and Niger persons the right to first a Chieftaincy in Ghana? Did they buy lands from the Eastern Regional Chiefs?-we need to know.....Then also one wonders at their self claimed autonomy wi ...

• MAKAMAKAMWOLUMO 9 years ago

tHE NATION SHOULS SPARE NON OF THOSE RATS>..that is how the book-haram started in Nigeria where the authorities underestimated them. Soon You will have foreigners from other muslicountries descending on Ghana to aid them.. ...

• jerry 9 years ago

ALL THIS BOKO HARAM KILLERS THAT LOVE KILLINGS AND WOMEN ABUSE AND LIKE TO SCARED FALKS SHOULD BE DEPORTED TO IRAQ,SOMALIA,GAZA STRIP AND ALL OTHER PLACES WHERE THEIR BROTHERS ARE BUSY PRACTSING TERROR
    UNDER THE BANNER OF I ...

• Sensible 9 years ago

If you r Akan does not mean u r Christian and if u r northerner does not mean u r a moslim so pls that note

• Aya in Rotterdam 9 years ago

There is no smoke without fire. The Police have to be strict and dont cover up and face the hooligans head on.Well done the Police Service. Thanks.

• Patrick osei dankwah 9 years ago

Who gave them the right to punish people in the name of religion? they should be. punished severely to deterr any dumb person thinking of forming such a group in my beloved Ghana

• Mustapha baba rahi 9 years ago

Please the name should be changed

• Joesant 9 years ago

The denial will not solve the problem because that's what happened in Nigeria. The biggest trick the devil has ever played on mankind is telling us that he doesn't exist. If only they know what is going on in northern Nigeria ...

• KWAME ACHI (GHANA 9 years ago

THIS IS VERY DANGEROUS FOR THE ENTIRE COUNTRY,ALSO,FOR THE PEOPLE IN THE REGION.BOKO HARAM WILL DO EVERYTHING TO LET THE PEOPLE IN AKYEM OFOASE TO WIN THE HEART OF POOR AND VUNERABLE,IT STARTS WITH MONEY AND GIFTS DONATIONS A ...