You are here: HomeNews2014 12 25Article 340439

General Quainoo speaks out! West African state plotted Sgt. Doe’s death

Read Comments Comments (95)

• Ben 9 years ago

Too late now! You failed miserably.

• OLD SOLDIER 9 years ago

Author:-Close Observer...
    O Lord I pray for Mother Ghana, that you reduce the number of FOOLISH VOTERS in 2016. Father the small number that will be left, wash their faces with sea sand so that they would be able to see the ...

• Sam 9 years ago

At this stage it is difficult to sift fact from fiction but the tendency of people of the Ewe tribe in Ghana to resort to treachery in political circles is well known. The said General Quainoo is an Ewe man so need I say more ...

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 9 years ago

Anrold was an Ewe and so what? Doe needed to die. He is the cause of the problems of Liberia, Guinea, and Sierra Leone. That region was peaceful until he started his murderous regime. Anrold Quainoo did not need to put his li ...

AUTHOR:- KOFI ************ hehehehehehee ahahahahahahaaa....ndc filled our governance system with nobodies and non achievers like ablakwah okudzeto the judgement debt negotiator who asked ghana to pay 1.5 billion dollars to a ...

• Akonoba 9 years ago

For your information, the subject under discussion is about the truthfulness or otherwise of this Quainoo guy and not whether you, who have assumed the rights of God, thinks Doe should die.

If you yourself had any brains ...

• koffi parker 9 years ago

if Johnson came with only 25 armed men against 100 disarmed men of Doe then I am convinced that the plan to was to get Doe out of the country, Yes gen. Quainoo you are right, but his refusal to so got him killed, he realized ...

• Asem Beba Dabi 9 years ago

I was only twelve years at that time but the account I read strongly pointed to complicity on the part of Gen Quainoo and possibly the Commander in chief of Ghana.

Those were the most dishonorable moment for Ghana and par ...

Akonoba, today is X'mas eve and don't spark me on with your insults. I don't have brains in my head but maggots. Yet I am not dumb not to know the differences and problems between the Indigenous people of Liberia and the "Bee ...

• mojingles 9 years ago

It is important that we don't twist facts as the Liberian tragedy unfolds, Mr.Karikari....Doe was not largely responsible for the problems that eventually led to the implosion. There were long simmering tensions between the A ...

Mojingles, I know very much about the disrespect that the "BEEN TOs" exhibited towards the indigenous people, not forgetting even excluding the latter from important positions in civil and political positions. I will not hold ...

It was peaceful until Doe turn against America and the West dominance in the Region, All these countries you mentioned were still under slavish mentality of the West. Gaddaffi died a hero Please, he never desert his People in ...

Koffi, just name me one country in Africa that is not aligned though we have the Non aligned movement. Gaddaffi is the cause of all the problems in the Sub Region. He was no brave man. Was he not trying to flee when he was fi ...

The underpin factor that got Gaddaffi out of Power was his refusal to sell the Oil in petrol dollar instead of Gold,
    Frank, is Libya better off today or not without the dictator?

Libya is worse off without Gaddaffi now but I don't like leaders who encourage dictatorship, supports and finances the overthrow of other governments. Gaddaffi was not even much liked by most of his own people except his trib ...

You cannot say for a fact that most lybians did not like Gaddaffi.If you say some, that will be fine. But then again, no leader is liked by all his people. American used the divisions among lybians to sacrifice Gaddaffi who f ...

• princewilly@ymail.com 9 years ago

GENERAL ARNOLD QUAINOO'S FATHER IS A FANTE WHO TAUGHT AT KETA SECONDARY SCHOOL.
    HIS MOTHER IS AN EWE.GHANAIAN SOLDIERS DID THE SAME THING IN THE CONGO.
    THEY DISARM PATRICE LUMUMBA'S TROOPS AND LUMUMBA WAS CAPTURED UNDER THE ...

• A Son of The Land 9 years ago

Fantes and Ewes are not like Ashantes who inherit maternally. Fantes and Ewes inherit paternally. If Gen. Quainoo's papa is [was] a Fante, then what is his tribe.

Definitely, a Fante. I don't know why people brand him as a ...

• Wo Nua 9 years ago

Liar!!! 'A Son of The Land(maybe Togoland!)' do not exhibit your ignorance!!! Fantes are also part of the Akans who inherit maternally. Though NOT all Akans inherit maternally (some Akans in Cote d'Ivoire have paternal mod ...

• GBOYAKA TEVEZ 9 years ago

Wht has Ewe's done again. plsss give Ewe's a brk kk. and tryna be puttin on ur thinkin cup, cos u speak #RUBBISH

• Jaja Wachuku 9 years ago

Listen General Quianoo is a Fante from Saltpond and his mother an Ewe.The best ever produced General of the Ghana Army who did marvelously to save the Military Hospital when stupid Doctors were responsible for numerous deaths ...

• seidu ali 9 years ago

This is not about tribe. Live Ewe people out of this. Quaino is just a bad general. They promote themselves waawa without seeing war, office generals.

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE (OFIE) 9 years ago

Ivor Greenstreet said directly to President John Mahama and Vice President Kwesi Amissah-Arthur that: “You don’t care”.

“Nobody is feeling your better Ghana”, Greenstreet shouted when he delivered his party’s s ...

• KWANSAH 9 years ago

Yes, I & my men knew it was planned deal because I particularly told my sgt. friend Adade M. Pra to be careful because Blaise Compaore of Burkina Faso and then Cote D'ivoir President were sending unknown mercenaries from Cote ...

• BIG LIAR 9 years ago

PRINCE JOHNSON AND CHARLES TAYLOR GAVE YOU DIAMONDS IN EXCHANGE OF DOE'S LIFE.. HOW CAN A POORLY TRAINED REBELS OF 40 COME TO AN ECOWAS BASE WITH OVER 500 WELL TRAINED ARMY COMBATANTS AND CAPTURE SOMEONE. YOU HID UNDER TABLE ...

• walantu walansa 9 years ago

TRUE Big liar... Quianoo is a big liar!!

• SANSAN 9 years ago

MAY THE GOST OF COL AYIKU STRIKE U DEAD QUAINOO, FOR STEALING ALL THE HOUNER TAHT HE (AYIKU) DESERVED.

• mensah abrampa 9 years ago

Imagine what the non-Akans would be saying if Arnold Quainoo was an Akan, especially Asante.

Could you believe Nigerian peacekeepers at that time were mostly ordinary people like (trotro)drivers, mechanician(filters) etc to represent their country instead of the real army. That was his Ghanaian commander downfall and ...

• Solomon Dormenyo Quist 9 years ago

Master Kwaku
    Do not expose your ignorance. Yes, he can write a book. Most of the books in circulation were not penned by the authors themselves. There are professional writers you, Kwaku, can narrate your story to and they w ...

• Master Kwaku 9 years ago

Coward; Bone-head. Can you write a book? You can't even write your own military instructions to your subordinate commanders. Go hide in your bunker as you did in Liberia!

• DR TRUTH , author of BIG LIAR 9 years ago

QUAINOO WAS A Lt. GENERAL NOT A FULL GENERAL. BECAUSE BEFORE THE ECOMOCOG ASSIGNMENT HE HAD NEVER BEEN TO WAR BEFORE. BECAUSE HE WAS DISGRACED AFTER THE ECOMOG ASSSIGNMENT THE ONLY GENERAL IN GHANA ARMY GENERAL MENSAH WOODE R ...

• Balaraba Adam 9 years ago

He knows much about the death of the late Doe because after his death he then over throw and they handle the battle leader to Dogo Morrow Nigeria army leader commander... that's how he keep on doing now confiscating people's ...

Author:-Joe...
    Thank you, Mr. Greenstreet, you spoke what is in the heart of Ghanaians. Everyone in this world knows NDC hates the truth and would like to hear lies because they are liers. If NDC is really truthful to thems ...

• JUJ RAWLINGS 9 years ago

QUAINOO YOU KILLED DOE FOR BLOOD MONEY

• seidu ali 9 years ago

How can a general allow a rebel leader to come to his headquarters without invitation let alone to kill a president and still claim is not my fault. Wearing the rank is beautiful but knowing what to do when war cries is anoth ...

• Asem 9 years ago

@Seidu Ali I want to shake your hand. Gen Quainoo is a disgrace and an apology of army general, a liar and a deceitful human being . Look like he is getting bloke after stealing from Ghana so he needs to write a book to make ...

• Kwadwo 9 years ago

Was he not around when the other Generals were rounded up by Rawlings and his posse and eExcited? What did he do the save them from murder. He was complicit in the plot. What an ass hole

This Gen Quainoo has no shame one single bit!
    What he is telling us is that he could be in command of a military facility and any armed man can walk in and kill every body, just be he is not at the entrance to issue orders.

• Daniel 9 years ago

General Arnold Quainoo,your complicity in the capture and death of Sgt. Doe, former President of Liberia, is evident in your narratives. There is no way that you did not know what was going on when you had acces to Sgt. Doe, ...

• paapa 9 years ago

good comment Seidu

• kwame ofori 9 years ago

General Quainoo collected money to plan the meeting so that doe can be killed.
    Useless General.

• WISE MAN 9 years ago

HE KILED DOE WITH BRIBE OF DIAMOND AND MONEY FOOL OF BAG THERE AFTER RUN TO GHANA AND HANDED OVER TO NIGERIA COMMANDER. HE WILL NEVER LIVE IN PEACE UNTILL HE CONFESS THE BLOOD OF DOE IS STILL HUNTING HIM .A BETRAYER DISGRACE ...

• Ogya 9 years ago

I was at the Danquah memorial lecture as a history student at the time and I find it rather sad that General Quainoo has denied what he said on the day. Prof Adu-Boahen said something alluding to the fact that Ghanaians could ...

• Neutral Zone 9 years ago

Bit n pieces. Put more meat in ur comment.

• David 9 years ago

Do not waste your time on this man. Even his account on the killing of Samuel Doe is inconsistent. He is a shameless man trying hard to twist facts.

• Nii Lante 9 years ago

What he said amounted to threatening the life of Adu Boahen. No wonder Adu Boahen was eventually attacked by supposed armed robbers who turned out to be soldiers.

• Captein 9 years ago

Hey you are right "INFERNO" henceforth, became Gen Quainoo's middle name or better still his second nickname after "Buffalo Soldier"

• IT WAS NOT Q & A, Gen Q insisted tosp 9 years ago

i hope the times reporter is not trying to let Gen Quainoo look good by misreporting his interview. The Danquah Memorial Lectures do not allow Quetiona dn answer after the lecturer has spoken. But on tghis occasion Gen Quain ...

• Neutral Zone 9 years ago

He had Doe killed. How can u disarm one section n not the other with the excuse he was in conference. All he had to do was give a standing order. Like the Ghanaian he is, passing on the buck without accepting responsibility.

• Samansaman 9 years ago

LIKE THEY DID TO NKRUMAH, THIS IDOTS ARE PLENTY IN THE GHANA ARMY FORCES. SUCH GREEDY FOOLS LIKE JJ ARE NOW TURNED POLITICIANS ALL OVER.

• sasabronsam 9 years ago

Foolish so called General. Do you remember the Nigerian General who slapped you? He is still around. Your ass will come out one day. I was at the executive manson. Stay tuned. S H A M E. U N T O. Y O U.

• KOFI 9 years ago

Truth stands

• EDUARDO DOMINGO 9 years ago

THE GENERAL COULD HAVE LOST HIS LIFE IN THE PLOY BY THOSE WHO ASSASSINATED SGT. DOE. BECAUSE THE GENERAL WAS SO EXPERIENCED TO ESCAPE WITH SOME OF HIS MEN PEOPLE THOUGHT HE WAS INVOLVED. THESE ARE COMPLICATED MATTERS BUT GENE ...

• sasabronsam 9 years ago

Old boy, were you there? If not then shut up. What Will call you say if Doe was your father?Gen Quainoo needs to be stripped of his rank to Pte soja

• Oooo 9 years ago

Quainoo, you are a mega LIAR, what you are saying has not a single proposition of reality and there is no iota of truth in it.
    Readers please check out for the truth from Nigerian Concord Press. A printing house of daily ...

• KWAME-BELGIUM 9 years ago

This we know it that the ex-President of Togo, EYADEMA was the person who killed Samuel Doh and Sankara.

• Asem 9 years ago

@kwame Belgium, how did he do it? You are the kind of people who refused to accept reality for what is. How did Eyadema come into all this? It's laughable. Sankara was killed by Campaore and his bodyguards and Doe by Prince ...

• NANA OWUSUNYANSA, GERMANY 9 years ago

WHY NOT SAY IT NOW ? WHAT ABOUT IF YOU DIE BEFORE YOUR PLANNED BOOK ? I PERSONNALY FIND YOUR EXPLANATION VERY DUBIOUS GEN. QUAINOO !!!

• you--self 9 years ago

why long time you didnt come out and say this,you are bastard general.your cup is full of evil object,you will be mad if you dont say everything,shame chop ..chop General,

• ISAAC NII BAAH 9 years ago

I'm in tears. Curse be upon those who masterminded that heinous crime. I propose Antoa Nyamaa for all of you. Fire burn you.

• Asem 9 years ago

These were the kind of ragga muffins ruling our country. Whoever wrote this article, it is not by force to have to write something. Arnold Quainoo is a coward who tried to kill Adu Boahen and failed. Why would you disarmed ...

• komkom 9 years ago

General if indeed you deserve that, An account by EcoMOG soldiers gave you away long time.

Doe was made to load all his wealth, Gold. Diamonds, Dollars unto the Ghanabatt Ship. Johnson was told of the planned Sgt Doe's dep ...

• paapa 9 years ago

Nonsense parts of the General's comments
    1)"A siren was sounded when he refused orders". Why sound a siren if you are helping somebody escape?
    2)"Prince Johnsons's men were attracted to the port". If they were not invited t ...

• T'pau 9 years ago

Well explained! Now I get a better picture of the ordeal. I now understand why the siren sounded at the port.

• kwame 9 years ago

The general,s memory is slipping. During the lecture at the british council hall u came in with lt. col. e.k.t. donkor and madam joyce aryee. After the lecture the chairman, prof. evans anfom said u have requested to reply an ...

• BBCy 9 years ago

Serial murderer Rawlings killed Doe just as he killed innocent children in Ghana.All NDC supporters will go to hell for the blood shed under the PNDC which gave birth to NDC.

• the lone crusader 9 years ago

Who is astonished? Are you not a rawlings boy? Pepee

• KYY 9 years ago

Even the so-called Generals are incompetent

• walantu walansa 9 years ago

Ghanaians soldiers were also responsible for the death of Patrice Lumumba! What a disgrace for a country that claims to be spearhead of African freedom fight.

• fire 9 years ago

who was the force commander. don't bring yourself .do you think we are kids. why did you invite Tailor and Doe.to do what? no wonder dela sekyei couldn't also perform in Sudan.

• seeMe 9 years ago

In West Africa we've had coups d'etats and counter coup d'etats but the soldiers in opposing camps respected each other. But what Doe and his men did to Thomas Quiwonkpa's dead body was share evil. Those who live by such extr ...

• DK 9 years ago

I have been in Liberia for 8 years as a Peacekeeper in a civilian setting. About a week ago, a colleague of mine who has great respect for Ghanaians remarked,"Ghanaian soldiers are professional, but the only thing I had again ...

• J .Thompson 9 years ago

Doe was a brutal dictator who made false allegations against his own close associates who helped him to overthrow President Tolbert,and had them all executed.Major General Thomas Weh Sen and Major-General J.Nicolas Podier jnr ...

• BIG JAY 9 years ago

Lt General Quainoo, the ECOMOG Commander in the 70sm was accused of not only masterminding the torture and death of the former Liberian president, Master Sergeant Samuel Doe, but also looting his gold,diamonds and over $5m ca ...

• Idi Amin Dada 9 years ago

BIG JAY, YOU HAVE SAID IT ALL. FROM THE OBVIOUS ACCOUNT THAT WE KOW, ARNOLD QUANOO DELIBERATELY PLOTTED TO SELL PRESIDENT DOE TO HIS ENEMY.

QUANOO MUST BE INVESTIGATED, TRIED AND FOUND GUILTY OF USING HIS POSITION OF TRUS ...

• Paa Kwesi in theBronx 9 years ago

Eyadema of Togo masterminded the killing of Samuel Doe. He did so in order to confiscate the assets of Doe in Togo. Samuel invested a lot in Togo and even had gold bars there. When Doe wanted to flee, Eyadema told him that a ...

• SANSAN 9 years ago

there are leaving testimonies to this issue and will not accept the one sided explanation of the General, personnel of the Two Battalion Of Infantry were right at the sine and will be the right Heros to give a vivid account ...

• Walid Azzam 9 years ago

General Quianoo is a terrible liar. Even the 5 million dollars in the trunk of Doe's car was stolen by him. He was paid to disarm Doe's men. God will punish you.

• ekow woode 9 years ago

I sometimes wonder the type of commentators we have in Ghana. People with no idea of a particular situation who talks as if they were present when an incident occurred. I was a soldier who was with the Gen in Liberia and what ...

• William K. Kyei 9 years ago

General Qainoo, don't be stupid!. Who do you think you are talking to ? Do you mean to say that, you did not know that Johnson and his men were coming there? If you did not know, why did you allow them to take positions when ...

• mensah abrampa 9 years ago

When the dust has settled and the true history of Ghana comes to be written everyone will know the total contributions of Rawlings and the Rawlings inspired men like General Quianoo and how much good or harm they personally d ...

• Okponglo Guy 9 years ago

Wow, the buffalo soldier used those words in 1989. I remember it vividly.

Amnesia or blatant lie?

• Adams Yendi 9 years ago

Who is Gen.Quainoo deceiving.He should keep quit and suffer!!! For Gen.to claim that president Doe was killed by his own people because he refused to take advice is an insult.Let someone remind Gen.Quainoo that "Even though t ...

• xxxx 9 years ago

idiot

• CONSIDER 9 years ago

General Quainoo has important information about President Does's assassination. He is using/spending/wasting sleepless nights on this issue. Come out say the truth and meet your creator in peace. I know you do not want to car ...

• Kofi Kofi Go. 9 years ago

The truth shall set you free.

• Wiase ye sum 9 years ago

General Quainoo - you acted unprofessionally and that was why President Rawlings send you back home. A big disgrace to Ghana armed forces. You disappointed all Ghanaians.

• Daniel 9 years ago

General Arnold Quainoo,your complicity in the capture and death of Sgt. Doe, former President of Liberia, is evident in your narratives. There is no way that you did not know what was going on when you had assess to Sgt. Doe, ...

• Osei Yao 9 years ago

QUAINOO HAS HAD TIME TO THINK OF LIES TO EXONERATE HIMSELF. GENERAL ANKRA WAS COMPLICIT IN THE DEATH OF LUMUMBA IN THE CONGO IN THE SIXTIES. GHANAIAN MILITARY PRODUCE MEN WHO ARE SERVILE TO WHITE AUTHORITY. ONE BRIGAIDER NUNO ...

• Vekeh 9 years ago

General Quainoo, your account of what happened on September 9, 1990 at the Freeport of Liberia that led to the death of Samuel K. Doe is very important in the history of Liberia and even West Africa. If you choose to lie, you ...

• Dinsueo Beela 9 years ago

If Quainoo has.nothing to say, let him close his mouth. Even the blind man knows he was invloved. God will judge him on earth. Quainoo it is ahead of u, unless u were not born of a woman.

• BENONY TONY AMEKUDZI, ESQ. 9 years ago

DEAR READING PUBLIC OF GHANAWEB.COM,

IT IS VERY IMPORTANT THAT GOVERNMENT STRIDES ON TRUST, TRUST AND TRUST AND IT IS UPON THIS "GOLDEN RULE" WHICH PROVIDES AS FOLLOWS:
    "DO UNTO OTHERS AS YOU DO TO YOURSELF" AND IT IS AGA ...

• King deed 7 years ago

Why must the sitting president flee? The plan was to assassinate Doe and install the half brother of the 'Sawyers' as head of state in that country. To do that, General Quainoo was pushed through as army commander of ECOMOG ...

• Fr. George Momoh 7 years ago

Shame to Quaino as it was for Judas in the bible. If you do not stop denying and confess your sins in this case you will die with this guilt. And if you don't take time the curse will follow your children forever. I hope you ...