You are here: HomeNews2014 12 19Article 339679

Influx of foreign students sign of robust edu system – Ablakwa

Read Comments Comments (62)

• Ghanaman 9 years ago

The system that expelled you for hooliganism and fraud?

• Gye Nyame 9 years ago

How many of these politicians and well to do Ghanaians actually send their kids to Ghanaian universities? Even JJ failed to educate his children in Ghana. Ablakwa don't kid yourself, many of the students from countries you me ...

• ELINAM 9 years ago

If our education is that good, are we in position to use our IT brain to stop SONY and the US as did by the North Korean without firing a missile or flying a drone?
    Bad taste movie about NK leader was pulled out from screen ...

• Village Food 9 years ago

ELINAM u are very smart and i always agree with your comments.

• eugene 9 years ago

I BET YOU WORK AS THE TOILET CLEANER

• OLD SOLDIER 9 years ago

BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! WHERE DID GHANAIANS GO WRONG TO SUFFER LIKE THIS? YOU MAHAMA BUILDING YOUR HOTELS ABROAD, AFRIYIE ANKRA BUYING MANSIONS AT EAST LEGON, OKUDJETO ACQUIRING FILLING STATIONS ALL OVER, TOGBUI AF ...

• Kweku Boateng 9 years ago

and kuffuor renovating his private house,bought hotel and acrra mall....selling gov't lands and bungalows to npp cohorts,building nonexisting hipc toilets from accra to kumasi during ghana at 50....hypocrites!

• eugene 9 years ago

YOUR WOULD LEARN FAST AND HARD YOU DUMB NIGGER...ANYTHING CAN BE HACKED AND MORE THAN LIKELY WAS CHINA THAT DID IT TO SELL 419 COPIES OF THE MOVIES...HUGE MONEY TO BE SOLD SELLING THEM ONLINE ON SAME NETWORKS THAT SELL CD'S W ...

• Plain plain 9 years ago

Ghanaian degrees have become cheap and that is it. And besides it is in the interest of NDC to turn the masses into illiterates so they can manipulate them. Foreigners are flocking to Ghana and what percentage of the Ghanaia ...

• Joe/TX 9 years ago

Exactly so.

• Pround pepeni. 9 years ago

PLEASE ABLAKWA, PLEASE. WHAT QUALITY EDUCATION? WHAT INNOVATIVE PROJECTS ARE THEY DOING? CHECK THE WEBSITE OF KNUST ONE OF OUR PREMIER VARSITIES AND SEE HOW POOR IT IS. I HAVE HEARD OF STUDENTS WHO SPEND MOST OF THEIR UNDEGRA ...

• ZoRRo 9 years ago

Look who's taking ! How can a country without water or electricity be a preferred destination for foreign students. I guess they have no were better to go. All the other countries in Africa have been similarly messed up.

• Thief 9 years ago

Kuffour's government saw the upsurge of private tertiary institutions in Ghana..Before 2000 there were no private univrsities in Ghana

• Ibn Batuta 9 years ago

From North Korea? Really?

• Nii Lante 9 years ago

If North Koreans want to go outside to study, they will go to Russia or China or Vietnam or Cuba or even India. Why will they come to Ghana? As for the Nigerians, they are just running away from Boko Haram. Ablakwa should ...

• NANA YAW 9 years ago

Ablakwa is just like Goebbles, the propaganda minister for the nazis. He is playing that role very well.

• eugene 9 years ago

ANY NORTH KOREAN JUST LIKE CUBAN WOULD EXCAPE TO FREEDOM....AND THE PAKISTANIS COME FOR SAFETY SINCE MUSLIMS ARE KILLING EACH OTHER LIKE THE BOKO HAREM THERE

• Tijani 9 years ago

fool, if you get students from war torn countries,,,,, and you just conclude ,,,aba minister,

• Kk3 9 years ago

....need I say more honorable Ablakwa

• Agyeman. 9 years ago

Go to Nairobi ,Dar es Salaam or Botswana institutions they equally have lots and lots of foreign students including Ghanaians.(watch "Empire:the new scramble for Africa" on youtube and see the many Ghanaian students intervie ...

• AWURADE KASA 9 years ago

This man is a pathological lier. He is a story teller with no facts. About 99.9% of these foreign students are from NIGERIA the country
    collapsed education.

• eugene 9 years ago

just remember a semester in USA is even $3-4000 for cheap state or city college..HARVARD/YALE OR EMORY ARE 10,000 OR MORE PER SEMESTER..WHY DO YOU THINK THEY TURN OUT POLITICIANS AND DOCTORS...WHILE POOR KIDS OR HIPPYS COME T ...

• The Concerned Ghanaian 9 years ago

Ablakwa must stop talking trash.What kind of education has he and knows that Ghana education is the best.i do not blame any body than the stupid president who does not know his left from the right and put people like Ablakwa ...

• Osei Assibey-Boston 9 years ago

U would have been the last person to waste my pen on but just let me explain what u seems not to understand when education sometimes beco mes questionable.

We are not saying our education is bad. After all, we all went t ...

• ASSINMAN BA, COLUMBUS, OHIO 9 years ago

Okwasea! And how many jobs have your visionless government created to accommodate the graduates? You ugly liar. Foolish boy. Irresponsible, stupid minister.

• Nana adu 9 years ago

North korea?

• Kofi - USA 9 years ago

THE REASON WHY SOME FOREIGNER ARE COMING TO GHANA IS FOR CHEAP EDUCATION. FOR EXAMPLE $4000.00 WILL PAY FOR A WHOLE YEAR'S TUITION IN GHANA WHILE IT MAY NOT EVEN COVER HALF A TERM IN THE USA. THEY ARE COMING NOT BECAUSE OF T ...

• Tom Jones 9 years ago

all our schools are full of Nigerian criminals posing as students.Please the government need to check all these

• Lord Ezi 9 years ago

Really our educational system is the best in the whole of Africa. We had the UN secretary General coming from Ghana, who was educated in Ghana, together with lots of international positions occupied by Ghanaians

• DABENDA 9 years ago

Do you know what year Mr Annan was enrolled as a class one pupil? Is the system still the same? You seem to be talking from the air. Do not follow this Ablakwa boy for money, he has nothing for you. sooner than later he wil ...

• HAN 9 years ago

IN GHANA, NO PUBLIC OFFICER IS CALLED TO ACCOUNT FOR HIS/HER STEWARDSHIP. I REMEMBER IN THE KUFFOUR GOVERNMENT, MANY MINISTERS BECAME MILLIONAIRES AND THEY WENT SCOT-FREE. THIS HAS ENCOURAGED PEOPLE TO TAKE POLITICS AS A "PRO ...

• DABENDA 9 years ago

Do you know what year Mr Annan was enrolled as a class one pupil? Is the system still the same? You seem to be talking from the air. Do not follow this Ablakwa boy for money, he has nothing for you. sooner than later he wil ...

• DABENDA 9 years ago

• kwasi kyei baffour 9 years ago

Check your facts,the former un secretary general did not have his university education in ghana.during his secondary school days at mfantsipim,that school was headed by a white man with many white teachers.

• Kwame Rought 9 years ago

Simple-minded small boy educated minister. Education in Ghana is cheap for the kids of Nigerian pen-armed robbers, entrance requirements are shallow, degree requirements are not vigorous, etc,

• Kate 9 years ago

Are you aware that most of the Americans are CIA recruits who come to learn our local languages so that they can listen to our phone conversations which are being tapped!

• Martin 9 years ago

Are the Ghanaians colleges providing quality education or just diploma mills?

• GBEWAA 9 years ago

GHANAIAN DIASPORANS DELIVERING TOP-NOTCH PROFESSIONAL SERVICES OUTSIDE GHANA ARE ALL PRODUCTS OF NKRUMAH'S TOP-NOTCH EDUCATION SYSTEM IN GHANA.

IT HAS NOTHING TO DO WITH THE CURRENT RUBBISH AND HOPELESS EDUCATION SYSTEM IN ...

• Fosu 9 years ago

We are climbing higher and higher. Like NDC or not

• CNN News 9 years ago

S O Ablakwa is so dumb that if he is telling lies he does not know

• ABI 9 years ago

listen to another baby with sharp teeth talking. how can this be a factor , how many graduants from our university have secured jobs in Ghana.

• Kwabena Duku Damoah 9 years ago

Thanks Mr,Ablakwa.I only entreat you to visit some of the higher institutions and get some few minutes to peruse some of the dissertations submitted by some of the students.And if you meet 'strongness'instead of 'strenght'bei ...

• Africa 9 years ago

You would say that wouldn't you. Easily impressed fool. When it is an open secret that our education system has been in crisis since stupid Jerry introduced the JSS system. What would he know when he only passed English O lev ...

• Asem 9 years ago

Ablakwa you should not be be talking about education bcos you know nothing. Ghana university is 2500 on the uni league table so come again. Good uni is based on research and educational as well as practical aspect in conform ...

• impromptus 9 years ago

It has nothing to do with your ed system but something to do with lack of alternative in Africa

• impromptus 9 years ago

The youth wants to learn but bogus religion/ideology killing the desire to learn in Africa especially Nigeria and her Boka Halem or whatever. It has nothing to do with NDC education system so don't brag but improve.

Massa the Nigerian students you see here can't qualify to be admitted to Nigerian universities.Ask them and they will tell you.Many have been writing JAMB for four years and cannot make the cut off mark.That is why they are h ...

• FACT 9 years ago

Foreign students have been coming to study in Ghana since our post-independence era. It is not a recent phenomenon.
    Clearly, Ablakwa's position is not supported by the facts. He should go into the records from 1957 to date, ...

• Santino 9 years ago

Influx of foreign students can be attributed to so many factors, not necessarily because our educational system is robust or whatever. Don't be so petty. You are a minister for Christ sake.

• perscoba 9 years ago

Stupid beyong all stupidity..FOREIGN STUDENT ARE COMING TO GHANA NOT BECAUSE OF SUPERIOR EDUCATION BUT BECAUSE OF VERY VERY CHEAP TUITION FEESA AND CHANCE TO DUPE GHNANA(AKA NIGERIA STUDENTS ET AL)...this is what one young ...

Why do the politicians send their children abroad?

• PEKI TUMU 9 years ago

Nigerian students have always been present in the tertiary sector in the I was at Kumasi with many of them in my da.
    If they come, it is my hope that the Minister will read the situation right and not be smug and complacent ...

• Yiddana 9 years ago

Mr. Ablakwa there is always room for improvement. Be humble and stop putting political spins on everything.

• kwasi kyei baffour 9 years ago

Ghana education system was better during the nkrumah and busia regimes and not now.

• Cynthia, USA 9 years ago

I feel v. sad anytime I see such idiots representing my Mother land.
    I always blame Jerry John for allowing these brainless mifits to parade themselves as Government officials.
    What a shame!

I always blame Jerry John for allowing these brainless mifits to parade themselves as Government officials.
    What a shame!