You are here: HomeNews2014 12 15Article 339171

Oil price falls below $60; Ghanaians still paying more for fuel

Read Comments Comments (75)

• Fifi 9 years ago

Every country is lowering the prices at the pumps. Do the right thing.

• SSE 9 years ago

THE GOVT WAS SUFFERING WENN PRICES INCREASE AT WORLD MARKET

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE (OFIE) 9 years ago

MAHAMA AND HIS BUNCH OF CROOKISH INCOMPETENT CORRUPT MONSTERS CAN NEVER DO IT! NO! NOT IN A MILLION YEARS!!! NDC LACK THE BRAINS. ---------------WHO CAN PROVE KWASI ADADE WRONG? I AM SAYING, THAT, GHANAIANS VOTED FOOLISHLY!!- ...

• BlindMan 9 years ago

A simple ARITHMETIC for which most Ghanaians find it difficult to solve. We all love to see the fuel at the pumps at least, cut to 50% of the present value, however, Ghana is paying much more than it receives in return, for t ...

• OSU 9 years ago

It is clear that the government is robbing the citizens -- taking money out of their pockets !

• julo INT 9 years ago

You guys are hypocrites. In 2002 when Kuffuor raised petrol prices by 100%, Kan Dapaah admitted that the petrol prices will not be reduced even if the world market prices fell.

Tell me one time between 2001 to 2009 that pe ...

• DAN 9 years ago

PETRO PRICES IN USA AT TIME WHERE $4 GAL (4 LITERS)...ndc WILL BURN IN HELL FOREVER!)

• nana 9 years ago

WHEN THE ENTIRE WORL GOVTS REDUCE PETRO PRICE DUE TO WORLD GLUT MAHAMA AND NDC RAISE PETRO BY A WOHOPPING
    17.5% ,MAHAMA GOT TO GO HOME FAST WE HAD IT WITH HIS NONSENSE

• mensa 9 years ago

shame on you mahama reduce petro prices or get out of town go home Ghana had it with your bull-shit

• BlindMan 9 years ago

The EXCESSES or the higher petrol price at the petrol stations goes to FIX the CORRUPT monies the Ex-President made on the OIL exploration switch-over, to his 'friends-in-crime'.

• KnYc(USMC) 9 years ago

The reason to have price reduction is to insect more money in the market place. This is the reason why many country are lowing the price of gas. So tell that people in position of interest that, they are fools. The chew and p ...

• Ras Bo @ London 9 years ago

OH NDC, BONE BEN? THIEVES SUCKING OUR BLOOD,! We are not blind we hv been seeing you banking and buying mansions in foreign lands, buying luxurious cars for your girlfriends and relatives, educating your children abroad while ...

• jj 9 years ago

Why waste our time if you know you are not competent to make things easy for Ghanaians. I am verydisappointed in this administration. As other countries are reducing you are increasing. Incensitive President.

• SSE 9 years ago

GO SLEEP AND LEAVE THE GOVT ALONE

• SAMO JEWELERY 9 years ago

call or whatsapp us on 0244717600 encase u need yellow n white Gold wedding n engagement Rings.....also search us on facebook/samojewellery or samojewellery.blog.com for more pictures...for more pictures...

NDC Government, we beg you reduce the fuel prices for us, life is becoming unbearable.

• Driver 9 years ago

Daily guide should publish the price of petrol in the UK, France, USA, Norway for comparison. It is time for all subsidies on petrol to be removed.

• GBEWAA 9 years ago

KWASIA! WHYDO GHANAIAN LEADERS ALWAYS WANT TO COMPARE GHANA TO WESTERN COUNTRIES WHERE PER CAPITA INCOMES ARE CONSIDERABLY HIGHER THAN GHANA'S?

IN CIVILIZED OIL-EXPORTING "THIRD-WORLD" COUNTRIES LIKE THE GULF STATES, PETRO ...

• michael 9 years ago

Do u realise as the price of fuel reduce so does our own revenue from fuel sales also reduces and the only way to balance it is to keep the sales price same, bcos its we the same Ghanaians who want the governmentto provide ee ...

• mensah abrampa 9 years ago

Your excuses for the government are the silliest I've ever heard. Ghana is not different from all other nations. When prices of oil go down on the international market the price at the pump goes down as well. The NDC Administ ...

• Ayivor 9 years ago

It pays to be fair to people voted you into power

• KENNEDY 9 years ago

WHAT DO U EXPECT FROM A GOVT WHOSE MANIFESTO IS THAT IF ITS BLACK SAY ITS WHITE AND IF ITS A SHEEP SAY ITS A COW......SO LOOK AT NORTHERN POVERTY AND SEE HOW SADA WAS DESTROYED BY NDC THIEVES....SEE VOLTA POVERTY AND COMPARE ...

• Neutral Zone 9 years ago

Ghana for u. Wonder if someone is shaving from top n enriching themselves. It's not a party issue, it's a Ghanaian problem.

• SSE 9 years ago

SORRY BUT THIS IS NOT NEWS; WHEN GOVT WAS TOPPING MONEY WHEN PRICES INCREASE WE DID NOT SEE ALL THESE

• abuah 9 years ago

the price hike for petro in ghana has nothing to do with supply or demand.it has to do greed coupled with mismanagement. they used to say, 'that will stop smuggling to neighbouring countries .what has this to do with increase ...

• Yamba 9 years ago

Low world oil prices is bad news to Ghana. It affects our budget, our ability to pay debts and probably salaries. IEA should explain to all Ghanaians.

• Koti apedwa 9 years ago

exactly so yamba. This is a country that is enjoying fuel subsidies from government. When there is world reduction, you expect government to further decrease it together with the subsidies you already enjoying. That is the ...

• yaw 9 years ago

@ koti apedwa pls know yr fact well there is no subsides on petroleum it has removed we are paying for the right amount.. check yr facts how is barrel on the international market as compared to what we are paying... this is ...

• ToMe 9 years ago

I beg! Ever since NDC came to power, every year, in its budget the subsidy, is removed. Is it that the subsidy keep inventing itself? Or a means to cheat? And we get people to defend?

• DAN 9 years ago

PRIOR TO 2007 IT WAS BASED ON GOLD AND COCOA SALES! PETRO IS $2.45 PER GAL( 4 LITERS) IN usa TODAY...(7.60 CEDI)...WWW.NEWYORKGASPRICES.COM

• Otis 9 years ago

They are silent abt the reductions but let the prices go up and they every now n then justify the need to increase fuel prices. What kind of better ghana agenda is this?

• Hokor Emmanuel 9 years ago

if it is true then govt hv to reduce fuel price but wait oooooo why is it that whn price increases they quickly increased it but whn it falls they dont want to?.hummmmm 2016 these idiot politicians will be telling stories aga ...

• ugly akufo addo 9 years ago

he has no sense

• OSEI 9 years ago

MAN, CAN YOU READ THE ARTICLE? HAVE YOU BEEN PAID TO JUST SUPPORT MAHAMA? THIS IS ONE MAIN PROBLEM WE HAVE IN GHANA. PEOPLE WHO COULD READ AND ANALYSE THINGS. AFTER READING THIS ARTICLE, IS THIS YOUR RESPONSE TO IT? WE NEED F ...

• KnYc(USMC) 9 years ago

Mr. Osei, why waste your time with this moron. All he think about is Nana.

• Ras Bo @ London 9 years ago

John mahama wife pussy stinks and it's like Manhole, hahahaha

• George 9 years ago

The best solution for the govt of Gh.to reduce petroleum price is very simple,Drivers should go gargantuan demonstration,they block all the important roads with cars about 100 cars or more stand on the road for more than 24 ...

• mahama john 9 years ago

How is this changes going to impact on our power generation? Now the crude is cheap so why don't we buy crude to power our thermal plant to generate more power for our industry. Eiiiii Asem ben koraa nie

• GBEWAA 9 years ago

KWASIAFUOR GHANA LEADERS!

WHY DO GHANAIAN LEADERS ALWAYS WANT TO COMPARE GHANA TO WESTERN COUNTRIES WHERE PER CAPITA INCOMES ARE CONSIDERABLY HIGHER THAN GHANA'S?

IN CIVILIZED OIL-EXPORTING "THIRD-WORLD" COUNTRIES LIKE ...

• ABBA 9 years ago

THE SPIRIT OF JUNE 4TH 1979 REVOLUTION IS TOTALLY DEAD BECAUSE MAHAMA LED NDC HAS LOOTED THE COFFFERS OF THE NATION. NOW IT IS OBVIOUS THAT THE BLOOD OF GEN.I.K.ACHAMPONG AND THE OTHERS WHO WERE EXECUTED ARE INNOCENT.

• ABBA 9 years ago

EVEN THE OIL DESCOVERY HAS BEEN THE PERSONAL PROPERTY OF NDC CRIMINALS.

• Mike frm Ho. 9 years ago

What have we done wrong by electing Mahama ? What kind of wickedness is this ? These people are wicked by nature. They don't abt death. They don't care if the people who bring them to power are starving. What is this ?

• Ghanaman 9 years ago

Get away from there.

• GABUS 9 years ago

KUFOUR DOUBLED PRICE OF PETROL, NO COMPLAINT

• MUGU 9 years ago

Useless animal

• B-WISE 9 years ago

It is very surprising to experience this evil in Ghana today. There is no way the expresident John Attah Mills would ever be this evil and insensitive. We as citizen were recently told that when oil prices increase on the wor ...

• EFO 9 years ago

THIS IS A GOVERNEMENT THAT CALLS ITSELF SOCIAL DOMOCRATS. THIS GOVENMENT IS REALLY MILKING THE GOOD PEOPLE OF GHANA COS THEY NEED TO PARCEL MONEY IN MATCH BOXES AND GIVE THEM OUT TO BUY ELECTION 2016. NDC SHOULD NOTE THAT TH ...

• Kumi 9 years ago

What is the TUC and the civil society doing?

People must stand up and talk.
    Make notice

• ghana paa nie. 9 years ago

Ghanaians don't want to live good they want to rot under ndc.Leave them alone.even school children receive money from the gov who has no oil in uk germany.. sit on your fat ass and do npp ndc mahama is not loosing anything ju ...

• Sir Pee 9 years ago

This Mahama and co don't care a bit about Ghanaians... Just to reduce the prices for your own people who put you there is now a big deal? I can only blame it on the high level of illiteracy among majority of Ghanaians who don ...

• KKO 9 years ago

..... Because we have a bunch of incompetent idiots in charge!

• peter 9 years ago

Ghanaians are quite upon all these nonsense ndcs are doing to us. No pressure on the government. They are the same people presurised kufour to reduce fuel prices. Kwasi hypocrate prat, fiifi quatey, ablakwa. Stupid people

• Santino 9 years ago

Where are the Ato ahwoi's and the Kofi Wayos? Don't they see anything wrong with what is going on?

• Yankee 9 years ago

Why is Ghana government imposing more taxes and price increases in petroleum products, when crude oil is at its lowest price on the global market? These are issues that demand non partisan approach through mass demostrations. ...

• OTCHERE DARKO 9 years ago

"To add salt to injury, it has also imposed a 17.5 percent special petroleum tax on Ghanaians, as specified by 2015 Budget Statement, which was presented to Parliament recently."
    ............................................. ...

• Kwame Dokyi 9 years ago

As long as the government and its affiliates make ends meet,they don't care about the plight of the ordinary Ghanaian. Their aim is to make more money, so they can manipulate the 2016 elections. Winning elections in Ghana is ...

• onnsonyameye Esi 9 years ago

This is the prize for voting for NDC,Tweaaaaaaaa

• Buffalo soldier. 9 years ago

There are no any subsidies on petroleum products in Ghana now,the problem is that,in the abundance of water the fool will always be thirsty.

• Benny 9 years ago

This is a problem. Oil is selling at 60 dollar. Ghana has oil. What nest. This time nobody should bring any khakiman to power. We dont need them. They came to destroy the country for us. Ghana must wait til NPP come to power ...

• Erikuz 9 years ago

This is what the good book calls "WICKEDNESS IN HIGH PLACES" And they all do it - Both NDC and NPP. I can't wait to see the destruction of the wicked and Godless...

• nii 9 years ago

Please be informed that the govt will not reduce the price of fuel even if it drops to 1dollar. Ghanaians must realise that they are in bondage and there is no way their plight would ever change. Grow up and face the reality. ...

• kaka 9 years ago

this is naked robbery. so kuffuor was far better

• candy 9 years ago

kwasia bi nti
    kwasia bi nti ghanaians are sufferin
    kwasia bi nti fuel price is till high
    kwasia bi nti ghana is collapsin
    ghanaians pay for any fuel increment but not decrement, kwasia bi nti
    kwasia bi nti ooo na ghana i ...

• Katakyie 9 years ago

GHANAWEB,Is Nelson Mandela a ghanaian?
    According to your Phamous ghanaians article.
    Come again

• The Solar System 9 years ago

Listen, ordinary people, our cry can never let these people change anything to better us up. Just keep quiet and give your troubles to only God who will listen to you. Man doesn't listen to fellow man's cry these days. Rememb ...

• gou 9 years ago

If they know they cant do anything for gh why come to power?To fill ur pockets?one day God will intervene.
    They pay themselves huge amounts nd put workers on s.s.s.s.tweaa

• Oyibo Counterfeit 9 years ago

Ghana is not paying higher, the difference is going to somebody's pocket

• Joe 9 years ago

These ghugs called NDC must go. Oil is even more expensive now than during Kuffour when oil was being sold at $147 a barrel. With oil that low And the NDC unwilling to reduce the price and even imposed more taxes on it, I th ...

• Queen 9 years ago

Earlier this year Presi­dent Mahama was in Brussels, the EU headquarters, cup in hand asking the European authorities to release the £135 million withhold cash, but nothing came out of it.

Now it has come out that the d ...

• NOBODY 9 years ago

Earlier this year, Alan Kyeremanten camp within the NPP labeled Akufo-Addo as a incompetent and a monumental failure. How then does Akufo-Addo expect Ghanaians to put an incompetent and a monumental failure into office? Any w ...

• Ekyi 9 years ago

This is the time TUC must organize a demonstration to what appears has the Government insensitive pleasure in making life miserable for Ghanaians in order to exact money at all costs to sponsor its activities. If TUC is not g ...

• Nasack 9 years ago

NPP shd let Ghanaian illiterates know abt the insensitive NDC.

• Kwabena.O 9 years ago

The Oil price Ghana is paying today is the Oil GH purchased a year ago. Today's oil price will reflect something 2016 when this corrupt and Greedy government is gone. Vote wisely Brothers and sisters

• Nchor Dayelle Jacob from Kologo 9 years ago

This people in gov't do not care what happens to the ordinary ghanaian,because,they know the ghanaian voter can easily be bought,but they should wait and see,2016 is coming,we will show them red card with their money.

• Kwame 9 years ago

Members of the NPP believe in buy and sell and do not want to produce anything to sell. First of all the price of crude oil in based on how a company hedge it from the producer. Thus when the commodity is selling at 100 Dolla ...