You are here: HomeNews2014 12 15Article 339163

EU withholds £135 budget support to Ghana over payroll malfeasance

Read Comments Comments (83)

• Gina 9 years ago

NANA ADDO AND ANGELA MERKEL ARE TIRED FRIENDS

• Kojo T 9 years ago

Another scare tactics What is about $200m in the scheme of things? Come on NPP , cook up something worth while . This is village politics

• (N)ana (D)ey (C)ome 9 years ago

WAIT AND SEE

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE (OFIE) 9 years ago

MAHAMA AND HIS BUNCH OF CROOKISH INCOMPETENT CORRUPT MONSTERS CAN NEVER DO IT! NO! NOT IN A MILLION YEARS!!! NDC LACK THE BRAINS. ---------------WHO CAN PROVE KWASI ADADE WRONG? I AM SAYING, THAT, GHANAIANS VOTED FOOLISHLY!!- ...

• ISIS 9 years ago

IS NANA AKUFO ADDO RESPONSIBLE FOR PREZ MAHAMA'S PROMISCUITY AND FORNICATION TOO?

• Oba Nyansani Baako Pe In Ghana! 9 years ago

YOU IDIOTS CALLED ME A TOILET CLEANER AND YOU WANT BRITISH GOVERNMENT TO GIVE MY TAX TO YOU IDIOTS LIVING IN A DUST TO CHOP WITHOUT THINKING. BESIDES MAHAMA HAS CREATED DUMSOR DUMSOR FOR THE PEOPLE LIVING IN ABROAD TO SUFFER ...

• NO NONSENSE TAKER 9 years ago

Check out all Pepeni's communities and you will find out common ardent atrocities and all kind of insidious practices just because the value of "pepeni born ayigbe's" common sense contradict with any rule of law. We thought t ...

• ISIS 9 years ago

IS NANA AKUFO ADDO RESPONSIBLE FOR PREZ MAHAMA'S PROMISCUITY AND FORNICATION TOO?

• KB, London. 9 years ago

Africa is led by fools, mostly thieves. You think there are no needy people in EU states? African politicians are so stupid it is hard to believe. What kind of human beings are we?

• Humanity 9 years ago

Every story/topic is about politics to you...exercise your brain, before GOD takes it off us...

• Ghana 9 years ago

Hahahaha, Ndc free education in colour. Gina, what is TIRES FRIENDS?

• AbasZ 9 years ago

ALL THE ILLITERATES ARE SUPPORTING NDC.Gina is a BUSH fellow.

• don tema 9 years ago

Gina YOU ARE ONE OF THE BRAINLESS FOOL FOOL IN NDC JUST LIKE MAHAMA AM NOT NPP SURPORTER BUT I HATE YOUR USELESS COMMENT NANA ADDO CAN NOT TELL EU WHAT THEY HAVE TO DO WITH THEIR MONEY.BUT THE EU HAS SEEN THE CORRUPTION ON YO ...

• Michael Savi Kodjo 9 years ago

THE EU aid is hard earned tax payers money so you think the eU will sit aloof for NDC foot soldiers the chop!! No way GINA!! I think your ass hole private part is itchy!!!

• Odee 9 years ago

don tema, what do u understand by surporter ?

• (N)ana (D)ey (C)ome 9 years ago

It shall be well in 2017

• 5B Cedi deficit back to hunt the NDC 9 years ago

The ndc felt they could bluff their way regarding the 5b cedi budget deficit but look at what God is doing to them. Without this mahama donkey, Ghana would have heading to the top end of a middle income country. He must be pu ...

• papyrito 9 years ago

YOU'RE A STUPID FOOL JUST TO SAY NANA ADO IS BEHIND JOHN MAHAMA'S CORRUPT REGIME AND PRACTICES. LOOK THOSE IN THE EU ARE NOT STUPID TO SAY WANT TO INVESTIGATE LOOK MAHAMA LEAD NDC REGIME ARE ALL LIES SO DON'T BE FOOLISH. AT T ...

• nabia 9 years ago

So what is new. Some of those ghost workers are ur relatives. If they are smoked out do not complain

• SARPONG 9 years ago

So these ghost workers are Ndc fool soldiers the Mahama led administration has been paying intentionally as a reward for voting for them without doing any work?

• Asempa 9 years ago

This mahama is a moron. I command you all assholes following this motherfucker and his gang to cease doing that right now.

• Omanba 9 years ago

The Genie is now out of the bottle. Now it is confirmed that 'Job for the Boys' is responsible for the high wage bill. And Mahama pretends not to know!
    A 2%work force taking home 70% of the nation's revenue! Each MP's month ...

• Gyedabi 9 years ago

This is a very low blow to Ghana's image. This makes others to think all Ghanaians including those outside the country are ccorrupt. Why can't those in government live a realistic normal life? What are all these cars, mansion ...

• Chief amankwa 9 years ago

Big time.
    Nothing is better than these pack thieves and vulture ready to steal every cent from the poor people .....eu stop wasting your tax payers money on these niggers in govt who will swallow everything for their private ...

• Simon 9 years ago

In developing countries, such gestures as termed ghost names but when it is in the developed countries they claim they are on social welfare, unemployment allowances. Neocolonialism at it best.

• DB 9 years ago

See your foolishness. In the developed world they say social welfare because those who receive it have been assessed and they are tracked, the fraudulent ones are always being fished out, In any case it is the taxes from thei ...

• kwajo darko 9 years ago

You are right these guys must be high on some strange stuff. I think a significantly higher percent of our kinsfolk lack thinking capacity and that's why we are poor and least respected all over the world. How could you go in ...

• Nii Lante 9 years ago

In the developed countries, it is their own money and they have the right to use it in any way they like. When the EU gives you money to build schools, they expect you to use it to build schools and not to divert it to pay p ...

• ELINAM 9 years ago

Our ppl are so dishonest and wicked.
    Neocolonization may be real due to our stupid leaders' lack of foresight and innovation, but PLEASE, it has NOTHING to do with this thievery by deceit by Mahama.
    THE CAT IS OF THE BAG O ...

The difference is they use their own generated income to fund those program. Your leaders go cup in hand to beg for the money and squander it on non developarental programs.

• wayomi 9 years ago

UK help to economy is retrospective and must be stopped. That is

• Brian Williams 9 years ago

It keeps happening because nobody is going to jail. Mahama is the most corrupt leader of all time.

• Ayivor 9 years ago

What a pity. Figting corruption is so difficult for this governmaent that pressure is being mounted from outside to do so. I don't even know why this government even came into power.

• Neutral Zone 9 years ago

It's Ghanaian problem. Don't make it a party affiliation issue.

• ugly akufo addo 9 years ago

this our grandpapa is seriously sick

• potohpotoh 9 years ago

do you all now believe mugabe ??? ghana is as broke as ever, and it just got worse

• USMAN 9 years ago

Blame JJ Rawlings for all these ghost names. He knows much about the Ghost names on government payroll.

• KUDUNA SULEMANA 9 years ago

GOD SAVE MY NATION WE ARE IN A SERIOUS TROUBLE, MAHAMA WAKE UP N DON'T DIS-GRASS WE THE NORTHERNERS WE ARE NOTED FOR OUR STRONG SPIRIT OF FIGHTING WHAT IS WRONG N DO GOOD FOR ALL HUMANITY.TRUE SON DO WHAT IS RIGHT.

• Son Of Man 9 years ago

MAHANI & HIS NDC WILL DIVERT THE MONEY SO KEEP IT AWAY FROM THEM ?
    WELL DONE.

• maza zoonaa 9 years ago

The only foolish group of people is the NPP thinking they can win election with these allegations,wait 2016/2017 you will learn more.

When an issue of national importance is at stake you're talking about election. You don't get it! The issue of ghost names these days means a lot to our European donors because of funding for terrorism. So if such a large chu ...

• waste to mankind. 9 years ago

You are a senseless fool.Think wisely and stop talking about politics, when we are dealing with national issues. IDIOT

• ISIS 9 years ago

OH YES, EVEN AKUFO ADDO IS BEHIND MAHAMA'S PROSMISCUITY AND FORNICATION.

• Mike frm Ho. 9 years ago

It is only under THIEVES that STEALING will become the order of the day. If it is not true, if it isn't about CREATE, LOOT and SHARE then smoke those ghosts so that they can go and rest peacefully in the cemetery. THIEVES !

• potohpotoh solomboh 9 years ago

Ye be dee keke keke keke! asah!
    By the way did you know the omanhene of mankesim, nana sampson and his two timming wife, agnes sampson are thives?

• nii 9 years ago

No wonder the big wigs drive around in Range Rovers and V8s on poor dirty roads. Our leaders need to start thinking positively .No wonder Ghana is lacking in devt.SHAME

• EWE KING 9 years ago

and where is that PUZZY STINKING ANITA DE SOSO

• KOJO 9 years ago

AM SURPRISE IT TOOK THEM THAT LONG TO FIGURE THIS OUT, AREN'T WE GOOD IN GHANA AND AFRICA WHEN IT COME TO CORRUPTION?

• Concern Citizen 9 years ago

This short man Akuffo Addo is worrying us in this country paaaoo. I wonder people follow him no wonder they have short senses, short ideas everything short short like the man himself. He don't want anything good for this coun ...

• Res 9 years ago

And yet again still no arrests for fraud hundreds of beneficiaries for years & no arrests - no refunds - no security cameras who cleared the money from the bank accounts where was money transferred . Jokers jokers jokers joke ...

• DOMBOLI 9 years ago

EU is not in Ghana to help ghanaians, they are ghana to better the people of EU. EU only work in the interest of only its Union members.
    UK and US govts are the only countries who care about ghana and its people.
    Just becau ...

• Kwaku Rawlings 9 years ago

This is so shameful Mr President. How on earth do you do such a thing to your beloved country just for the sake of political power. The mill of God grinds slowly but very pure ,take note.

• AGBEVI SAMUEL 9 years ago

HOW CAN YOU PROOF THOSE WHO GAVE YOU THE BENEFIT OF DOUBT WRONG BY STEALING FROM EVERY POT IN THE NATION'S COFFERS. THIS LEVEL OF CORRUPTION HAS NO PARALLEL IN THE COUNTRY'S HISTORY. MILITARY COME OOO COME AND TAKE OVER THE R ...

• Oso 9 years ago

Kwasia bi ba, you will vomit it . That's why you killed Atta Mills. You're going to pay for this!
    Did God make you a president?

• Oso 9 years ago

How could you all, if you are honourables, sit down and oversee these nonsense; knowing that these are nation wrecking deeds?!
    Where are your honourable senses?! I beg to defer that you could not be honourables!!!
    SHAME ON ...

• OYIWA 9 years ago

Now, the Mahama NDC gov't's thievery has been exposed to the whole world via the Kwabena Duffour, Rickett's Hagan, Fifi Kwetey Ministry of Finance where they filled the payroll choke full via the single spine salary structure ...

• him 9 years ago

He knws notin in grovns only the high court help him to reng the election

• Kwame 9 years ago

JJ, Kuffuor, Mahama they all are thieves they all do this ghost names.

Ghanaians are generally corrupt

• Kwame 9 years ago

Ghanaians are all corrupt from their pastors to policemen and Politicians all akronfo, fiafito balawo

• drobo 9 years ago

I urge the west to place a visa ban on our leaders. Please dont allow these evil doers to steal our money and come and buy houses in Abroad. Shame on you Mahama, always begging for money (as if the money will go to Ghanaians) ...

• Kwabena Yeboah 9 years ago

As a Ghanaian/Canadian, I do not like the Canadian Prime Minister, Stephen Harper, but I admire him for what he stands for and will continue to vote for him as long as he is the Prime Minister of my adopted country. His polic ...

• Queen 9 years ago

please EU, DO NOT, DO NOT give John Mahama any physical cash he will misuse it. Instead, find some Contractors to use it in building some roads for Ghana.

• Victor A. Young 9 years ago

So with all these things happening, John Mahama says he still wants to be president beyond 2016? Tweeaaaa! Who is going to vote for a clueless and incompetent man like this "Aplanke Prez" to continue destroying Ghana's econom ...

• George 9 years ago

Who voted him in last time? Little has changed

• John A 9 years ago

Useless Government. Bunch of thieves

• NOBODY 9 years ago

How sad that media owned and controlled by klepto-politicians will stoop so low to misinform and mislead its readers? You claim the EU is withholding a £135 million budget support to Ghana due to payroll malfeasance. And on ...

• the lone crusader 9 years ago

I told you soo .thank you lord and uncover all those deals one by one dito dito for the world to see anf know that you are the creater of the univers and nothing absolutely nothing can hide fro you and you hear prayers of yo ...

• momo 9 years ago

Stupid no brain girl

• GHANANI 9 years ago

Ghanaians will be the most stupid people on earth to vote for either the NPP or the NDC in the 2016 presidential and parliamentary elections.These two parties have destroyed the nation and do not deserve in any way whatsoever ...

• drobo 9 years ago

I urge the west to place a visa ban on our leaders. Please dont allow these evil doers to steal our money and come and buy houses in Abroad. Shame on you Mahama, always begging for money (as if the money will go to Ghanaians) ...

• Patience 9 years ago

This is no news. The EU is late to the party. President Robert Gabriel Mugabe only recently alluded to the sorry state of Ghana, mainly destroyed by massive looting by the current government.

• DENNIS ADJEI-BRENYAH ESQ 9 years ago

Please, see my article on Ghanaweb titled "The Challenge of Defeating Corruption" published on June 24 2013.....

• Fou 9 years ago

British aid bankrolls Ghana’s legion of ghost civil servants

Bojan Pancevski, Brussels Published: 14 December 2014
    Comment (3) Print
    Aid from the EU and Britain is intended to relieve poverty Aid from the EU and Britai ...

• DENNIS ADJEI-BRENYAH ESQ 9 years ago

Please see my article on Ghanaweb titled "The Challenge of Defeating Corruption" dated June 24 2013.

• Yankee 9 years ago

Kufuor did not pay workers on the Single Spine, so your concluding comparison hss defeated your analysis

• Nana Yaw 9 years ago

You see now?

• Efo Kwaku Canada 9 years ago

Our economy is not worse or bad NDC reply Nana Addo , at times I don't know NDC stand point of viewing the country, the economy is not in crisis JDM and Seth T , why you guys don't want to accept truth for once?

• forsonman snr 9 years ago

The mahama administration is worst and most corrupt ever seen in the history of ghana which is a big disgrace to jerry rawlings and the ndc itself . jerry Rawlings came to power because of corruption and now his own party had ...

• QED 9 years ago

INTERESTING ECONOMIC STUFF!!!!!! 4.93 Billion cedis every month for 2% of the population.
    How much 98% of the population would need?
    ANSWER: Less than 4.93 billion cedis a month IF THEY 'USE THEIR BRAINS WELL' TO WORK.
    IT ...

• ken 9 years ago

the eu should hide the money in a book..the ndc ppl won't find it ....they are illiterates...niggars don read

• KOMLA TULASI 9 years ago

MAHAMA NEEEDS TO BE INVESTIGATED FOR THE AIRCRAFT DEAL HE WAS INVOLVED IN DURING THE MILLS ADMINISTRATION WHEN HE WAS A VICE PRESIDENT OF THE NDC. HE MUST BE INVESTIGATED FOR THE SADA DEALS, ETC. HE IS PROVING TO BE DISHONE ...

• Naa 9 years ago

Story is relevant, but the grammar and construction leaves a lot to be desired.

• George 9 years ago

The only solution is to reduce the amount of people employed on the govt payroll. This is the only thing that should be discussed as it is the ONLY solution.
    Keep your eyes on the ball.