You are here: HomeNews2014 12 08Article 338281

It is gov’t responsibility to collect taxes and clean cities – Nduom

Read Comments Comments (85)

• KD 9 years ago

Communism is dead!

• Another Thief of Bagdad 9 years ago

I thought you were trained by the Young Pioneers and you truly understand the ONLY PRESIDENT WE HAVE EVER HAD IN GHANA, Dr Kwame Nkrumah. For him national sanitation is an obligation for ALL GOOD CITIZENS. not passive or BAAA ...

• Mahama 9 years ago

Truly said Nduom.They collect our taxes to chop, and then they come and tell us to clean gutters that zoom lion is collecting money for

• MenayeAFUAforiwa 9 years ago

Being trained as a Young Pioneer doesn't mean that he should blindly follow the stupid and useless do-nothing-leaders we have today.It saddens him to see our cities,towns and villages being engulfed in filths as it is today.

• Another Thief of Bagdad 9 years ago

You see,it's been said by many well meaning Ghanaians well before Obama re-stated it here that WE SHOULD ALLOW THE STRUCTURES TO WORK. NCCE is supposed to educate Ghanaians on their civic rights, icluding sanitation, not only ...

• Hendrick Minnow 9 years ago

I don't think you guys have you nation at heart.

• Ali 9 years ago

It is the the responsibility of the citizen not to throw litter into gutters. The gutters are for water. In the western world anyone found littering is fined. Laws must be made to reflect the present trend. Such a stupid uned ...

• Nana Yaw 9 years ago

The question is, why isn't the government arresting people for littering, urinating or defecating in public? If the government arrest and fined people, I think they will stop polluting the environment. But first, the governme ...

• Koshie 9 years ago

Ndc is always taking lazy options! What are our taxes for? In which civilized society do you have all citizens coming out to do one particular kind of job? Collect the taxes, organize the sanitation companies to clean and pay ...

• CORNEY 9 years ago

You think that nonsense is patriotism?
    Nduom is just saying what some of us are saying,some of us strong NDC members but we don't agree with that so called National Sanitation Day,it is backwardness,you don't see that in any ...

• Close Observer 9 years ago

FOOLISH FOLLOWERS AND VOTERS, you are worse than those actively involved in corruption and thievery, because you give them cover. Ghana is where it is today because of FOOLISH FOLLOWERS AND VOTERS. Political party delegates a ...

• papyrito 9 years ago

My friend kwame Nkrumah never clean gutter's and sweep streets fool

• Parker 9 years ago

Masa stop the Hypocrisy!!! Wots the job of the AMAs n the KMAs? Isn't someone already paid to do these jobs? 25 million attention seekers n their clueless president

• John 9 years ago

Thank you Paapa Nduom,where on this planet is the President involve in monthly clean-up?Just give money to the people to clean the city period,if the citizens litter prosecute them.

• kumi 9 years ago

Responsible citizen dont liter around because there are no bins provided, u cant do that in uk, u.s or any European country so why encourage that in your own country?its ghanaians responsibility to make ghana attractive place ...

• PK 9 years ago

It takes leadership to make laws and enforce them. Do you know why people in the US, UK etc do not litter, They have laws that fine voilators. Thats the job of local city governments. And thats why they provide dust bins arou ...

• NIA 9 years ago

YOU WILL SEE THE STUPID CORRUPT OKO VANDER-FUCK ARRESTING PEOPLE FOR NOT TAKING PART IN MUDAFUKER SANITATION INSTEAD MAKING HIS ABA-YE ABA-YE BOYS (CITY GUIDES) CLEAN ACCRA BUT RATHER CHASE PETTY TRADERS AND SIE THEIR GOODS ...

• ebola 9 years ago

Ghanains need to vote for someone like kwasi nduom.its time ghanains stand up against this bastards in govt. whwer are the collected taxes? where are the people paid to clean the gutters?

• Ras Bo @ London 9 years ago

You are looking for excuse not to clean...Is this a leader? Aiii Ghana

• KWAA 9 years ago

The man is right,this is the responsibility of Government,if we continue like this,next time Government will tell us to repair our roads because our roads are bad and is killing people through accidents,then it be our hospita ...

• KWADWO A 9 years ago

Talking about taxes. Are Ghanaians ready to pay their due share of taxes?
    people are always going on strike because the government wants them to pay a little more in taxes. Ghanaians will do everything possible to flees the ...

• Obibs 9 years ago

Too right he is. Its absolutely the responsibility of government to ensure a clean environment.

• Esther 9 years ago

You missed the point. No doubt your home town is dirty.

• Egya 9 years ago

No wonder your country is suffering from cholera, malaria and guinea worm. Listen to the man well, well, and stop the kindergarten thinking.

• ERIC K. 9 years ago

PLEASE HE HAS NOT MISSED ANY POINT. THIS MAN IS TALKING ABOUT JOB CREATION AND NOT ONCE A MONTH THING AS IT'S BEING DONE. WE ARE IN THE 21ST CENTURY OK WAKE UP.

• Egya 9 years ago

Lazy politicians and incompetent leaders - tell them to work and collect our taxes

• Yaw Selby 9 years ago

It's also the responsibility of the citizenry to responsibly dispose their refuse and to assist in clearing their environment. So many times we seeb ourself waiting for the leadership to tell what to do, the citizenry has the ...

• KBK 9 years ago

What is the purpose of collecting taxes this government has failed the people of ghana don't repeat your mistake.we paid taxes for better services

• ABLETSI 9 years ago

AO PAA KWESI NDUOM - YOU ARE THE ONLY SENSIBLE PERSON IN GHANA CONCERNING THIS NOTORIOUS SANITATION DAY. GHANA IS A FAILED STATE. WHERE ON EARTH DO WE ASK CITIZENS TO CLEAN THE CITIES? CLEANING THE CITIES IS THE RESPONSIBILI ...

• MenayeAFUAforiwa 9 years ago

He is not a lazy man but the government headed by lazy people. Where in the world had one you ever heard of a government shirking its responsibility to her citizens to clean its cities on particular days? Where are those empl ...

• Joe 9 years ago

There is no law anywhere in the world that compels citizens to desist gutters. yes, we are responsible in cleaning our home and surroundings but certainly not to desilt gutters and clean the streets. Someone is paid to do it ...

• Kojo 9 years ago

This guys is fond of flowery proclamations and pretentions of superior knowledge and capabilities. Yet we all saw him as a minister of State and we all know that he was as mediocre as the next minister. He has nothing to show ...

• BRO DA N -TRC 9 years ago

BLESSED PEOPLE OF THE NATIONS OF THE WORLD, NOBLE PEOPLE OF AFRICA, INNOCENT PEOPLE OF GHANA; NATION BUILDING ACCORDING TO -THE NATIONAL VISION; -WE ARE ALL INVOLVED.ONE GHANA!! (PULSE); LET MY PEOPLE THINK. FOR, "IT IS FINIS ...

• ATOOOO 9 years ago

This Paa Kwesi Nduom mna is looking more like somebody who does not think these days. In a country where resources are scarce, it is the people who must help. Has Paa Kwesi heard of South Korea, Malaysia etc and how they bec ...

• Okuley 9 years ago

South Korea or Malaysia didn't get to where they are simply by asking citizens to become street sweepers and garbage collectors! They improved education and applied division of labour: you specialized in what you did best! Go ...

• TOFE 9 years ago

resources are scarce indeed! when people have delight in milking the animals without feeding them, you say the resources are scarce. it takes a good leader to change the trend for the better. can the monthly cleaning change t ...

• ZITO 9 years ago

even if we give this NDC voters one million years they can never never never understand Dr Nduom because a decorated donkey is nothing but still a donkey.......LOOK AT POOR VOLTA REGION AND YET EWE CHIEFS SUPPORTED WOYOME FOR ...

• ZITO 9 years ago

NDC are not fit to rule.......they are thieves whilst their followers are too sheepish and ignorant.....

• Modibo Keita 9 years ago

I think Ghanaian voted for the wrong people to rule us. This time we have to vote this incompetent government out. They are planning to buy our votes, what I want to tell the good people of Ghana is that when they offer u m ...

• Nana Kwame Asuom 9 years ago

To vote 4 who Nana Addo tweaaa that useless oldman

• NANA 9 years ago

Lack of knowledge shall our people perish. Very sad that those managing the country are morons.

• ERIC K. 9 years ago

I AM IN AGREEMENT WITH MR. NDUOM. SHOULD A NATION COME TO A HALT AND LOSE SO MUCH TIME IN THE 'GUTTERS' WHILE WE CAN EMPLOY OTHERS TO DO THAT AND GET PAID. WE NEED TO BE CLEAN ALWAYS AND NOT ONCE IN A MONTH. I THINK WE NEED T ...

• Nana Amane 9 years ago

I agree 100% with Papa Nduom, it will be unfair on the part of the government to take this move after all the taxes we pay, the huge sums of money given out to Zoomlion and the rest to manage our waste. Ironically, the paste ...

• kumi 9 years ago

Responsible citizen dont liter around because there are no bins provided, u cant do that in uk, u.s or any European country so why encourage that in your own country?its ghanaians responsibility to make ghana attractive p ...

• Abudas 9 years ago

That is non patriotic comments odies.
    No wander you have not been able to pull up to 2% in 2 general election in Ghana. Ghana does need leaders like you. You are comparing apples and oranges. The attitude of people in UK etc ...

• Toffey 9 years ago

Dr. Nduom is very right. He's speaking wisdom. Mahama and his ministers should go for pen and paper and jot down important points and apply them expediently. This Sanitation Day thing is a complete nonsense. It's days are lon ...

• QUEEN 9 years ago

Renowned American preacher, Bishop T.D Jakes has called for a team of thinking and vibrant leaders to inspire the much needed transformation the country expects.

According to him, Ghana needs innovative and resourceful le ...

• ADANKO 9 years ago

WHY SHOULD WE AND THE PRESIDENT LEAVE OUR JOBS AND CLEAN GUTTERS? WHY DO WE PAY TAXES? AND MUNICIPAL LEVIES? AFTER PAYING SOMEBODY JUST CHOPS IT WHILE WE CLEAR THE GUTTERS? NO, NOT ACCEPTABLE. NO MATTER WHAT PEOPLE SAY THIS I ...

• Anaaba.Bawku 9 years ago

We are ready kick out the Ewes as we are doing to JJ and take proper control of the party.A payback for what jj did to Limann.

• Bawku Naaba 9 years ago

We are ready to kick out the Ewes as we are doing to JJ and take proper control of the party.A payback for what jj did to Limann.

• Abeeku Mensah 9 years ago

Paa Kwesi Nduom knows good and darn well that in Ghana the word government is more apt to imply the national government and not local governments. Paa Kwesi also knows national governments do not run advice and prefer one was ...

• qq D 9 years ago

shocking,what's wrong with national cleaning exercise,too low boss,no politics common sense.aaaba!

• ASEM WO MANO 9 years ago

President moustache?
    What A Nation

The so-called National Sanitation Day where the president gets into the gutters to clean them is just a failure in leadership.

• south africa 9 years ago

Then tell citizens of Ashanti Region to pay their taxes so that local government can clean their cities. If total taxes from Osu is more than taxes collected from Ashanti Region, how could gov't cleans their city?

• Efo Kwaku Canada 9 years ago

You're right guy to lead Ghana but you don't have enough MPs and right people to help you so join NPP and forgot about Kwame Nkrumah his ideas was good but was becoming a dictator thinking he was the only wise at that time ,

• Efo Kwaku Canada 9 years ago

NDC always sent Ghana backwards like 50 years back K4 without oil hired individuals company to clean the country now with oil money NDC fools party wants Ghanaians to clean so that they keep the money in their pockets , idiot ...

• Peace 9 years ago

Government should take taxes and make sure towns and villages are cleaned. Good point! But let ask our selves how many people pay tax in our villages. I think there is nothing wrong if citizens take the responsibility by maki ...

• Butubu 9 years ago

Just take a ride on the Tema motorway you will understand why people are not motivated to pay taxes.

• Aggrieved citizen 9 years ago

Anas please investigate the consular section of the South African high commission in Accra and the way the officers are handling visa applications with their ridiculous demands and bribes

• Sam, Bern 9 years ago

I don't think so in our current situation, how many people can you employ to collect the garbage if the 25million people are all dropping things around? then u need 25million people from another country to collect the filth.

• GhanaBA 9 years ago

can you drop filth in the U.S?
    if your answer is NO then why?
    the U.S. population is a little of 380 million. do the U.S. need 380 million to clean the entire continent?
    if your answer is NO then why?

• Law, Tema 9 years ago

Kudos to Ndom for this candid opinion. Why can't our taxes be used to to provide employment for the even the NDC youth that you misuse during elections. We will soon see how much is being spent on sanitation day. May the Goo ...

• Soothsayer 9 years ago

Environmental cleanliness is the duty of every sound minded human being. Who's the government, the president, the minister or the DCE?

• stephen yeboah 9 years ago

i agree with doctor nduom why are they collecting taxes and what is oko vandapuye doing this sanitation excercise must be voluntary

• Emmanuel Adu Aniboye-fofie 9 years ago

The purported statement made by Dr.Kwesi Nduom, on his Facebook page, smacks of a display of intellectual dishonesty! Albeit the fact that it is government's responsibility to clean our cities and others, it is equally true t ...

• Papa2 9 years ago

Why have a government at all then? If we had better government, those who litter would think twice before doing so. It is why we elect people to bring order, discipline etc. You want to jump into the gutter with Mahama, g ...

• Paa Joe 9 years ago

OPAYIN NDOUM, GOVERNMENT HAS THE RESPONSIBILTY TO COLLECT TAXES FOR THE DEVELOPMENT OF THE INFRASTRUCTURE IN THE COUNTRY.

UNFORTUNATELY, THESE TAXES HAVE SINCE BEEN MANIPULATED BY PEOPLE PLACED AT VARIOUS POSTIONS FOR THE ...

• TWEAA 9 years ago

WHETHER THEY MAKE THE SANITATION DAY MANDATORY OR NOT, IT IS NOT JUST GOING TO WORK. MARK IT...IT WILL BE ABANDONED IN NO TIME.....

• DDKT 9 years ago

Ghana is not worth dying for

• Liberty 9 years ago

I thought you a true person. you are just a rubber stamp to political power. we need not just competent people to rule Ghana but critical thinkers who can analyse, synthesize and evaluate phenomena or event before talking on ...

• papyrito 9 years ago

Its a big shame to NDC & its cronies for taking taxes and yet Ghana is full of chocked gutters that citizens has to spent time to cleaned. John mahama needs brain surgery look he is taking jerry Rawlings play book of 1979 whe ...

• Photosy 9 years ago

It is strange when I hear educated idiots talk nonsense in the name of politics. Generally, the countries he mentioned collect the taxes, yes, they keep the environments clean, yes their citizens are law abiding, tidy, they d ...

• @@@@@@@@ 9 years ago

That is their job to clean toilets and on the street. NOW THEY are building and buying hotels in DUBAI ONLY WORTHLESS PEOPLE WILL DO THIS NA ST JOB.

• Zewukrebekuku 9 years ago

look at Mr one vote also talking. who is deceiving you that you can be a president. are you patriotic ?idiot come again.

• Papa2 9 years ago

That's right. Waste your vote on clueless Mahama and continue to love in darkness!

• james 9 years ago

Sensible talk ,you have proof to the entire world that you posses the qualities of a good leader thank you

• OK 9 years ago

Cholera indeed

• NAA DEDEI 9 years ago

I FEEL VERY SAD FOR YOU. YOU ARE CHALLENGING A WORD YOU DON'T EVEN KNOW. WHICH TEACHER THOUGHT YOU CHORELA? A BEG MASA, GO GET YOUR MONEY FROM THAT TEACHER OO, THE RIGHT WORD IS WHAT MR. NDOUM SAID. HOPE YOU LEARN.

• Parker 9 years ago

In stead of the law dealing with those in charge of cleaning our cities for not doing their jobs, we go out there n clean in the name of patriotism!
    Patriotism my A$$$$!!!
    Our bin has been outside my gate for 2wks, the bin ...

• runnables,us 9 years ago

Some Ghanaians are STUPID,Papa Nduom is saying the truth yet you insult him .What is wrong with the blackman?Haba.

• JH New York 9 years ago

Sick and Confused nation !

• Nana Agyeman Berhene....(Essuowin/Ama 9 years ago

What did Dr Nduom say wrong? For me even if the President comes to the house adjacent mine to clear. the rubbish I won't even open my door and see his face. Is it my duty to do somebody's work. for him after paying all these ...

• Mr.Green. 9 years ago

I think Nduom knows very well when develop countries like Great Britin, France etc were on the state like Africa today they native gave a helping hand to clean their country. Please very good step and stop dirty politics.

• Mr.Green. 9 years ago

How many of you pay taxes to the state? Think wisely. Let us all involve in this action to have clean country.