You are here: HomeNews2014 12 02Article 337396

Failing to keep tollbooth receipts could get you in big trouble

Read Comments Comments (41)

• poor souls 9 years ago

These poorly underpaid guy steal and u make a big sting. What about the big fat senior government thiefs. Who will prosecute them?

• Konadu 9 years ago

You call these crooks underpaid but through stealing, they are making more than the President of Ghana.

Most of them have their own printed tickets that they issue for payments and then pocket the money. When they issue t ...

• Ghanaman 9 years ago

A simple and effective toll collection is to go for AUTOMATIC TOLL BOOTHS, simple!
    These exist already in the developed countries so you don't have to rack your brains or re-invent the wheel!!

• onetribe 9 years ago

These idiots just want an opportunity to harass motorist. CCTV is also a relatively cheap means of monitoring if they find the cost of automated booths too high. Considering the potential revenue from tolls, it should be self ...

• Neutral Zone 9 years ago

U just don't get it. The more they collect, the more the big dogs can steal.

• Bruce 9 years ago

Masa don't encourage stealing any in way, stop and delete your point, it does not help anyone at all

• Ghanaman 9 years ago

They should install counting devices at the booths.

• DOBOO 9 years ago

EZ pass is an electronic toll collection system which will totally eliminate stealing of public funds and reduce the "go slow" at toll booths.

• Kwadwo 9 years ago

This is soft target. The issue is what has happened to the million collected by the government from the tollbooths. I never keep my tool receipt so I would be targeted when I am stopped? Get a life Apaak

• CORNEY 9 years ago

I thought if you don't pay they don't open the gate for you,how can they say one passed there without paying just because they don't have the ticket in their car?
    Just put a better system in place to check the fraud in the s ...

• Observer 9 years ago

Tollbooth operators are private companies. If attendants steal they should be considered as agents of the company that employs them. Any sanction must therefore be directed at the company. A penalty of loss of the company's s ...

• JKD 9 years ago

Why should the driver suffer because of someone's corrupt behavior?

• Constructivist 9 years ago

It is really in the nature if man to jail the small thief and elect the big ones into office. Apaak and his looting brigade have stolen millions from Ghana yet no one arrested them. He who comes to equity must come with clean ...

• The mask 9 years ago

The economy is hitting workers hard and many have run out of ideas.

Boachsoft Finance 2012 software, developed in East Akim Municipality (Akyem-Maase and Bunso) in the Eastern Region of Ghana and in Accra/Sakumono, is help ...

• NKANSAH DOMPEY 9 years ago

Check with the tollbooth attendants.I returned from abroad last year and drove in the country for three months but didn't pay a pessewa at any of the tollbooths because I don't see the benefits of paying for the gov't officia ...

• kwasi Ata 9 years ago

U are a fool useless man kwasia aboa

• say it loud 9 years ago

Why? The ordinary Ghana is always targetted. The day shall definately come when MPs are also made to pay toll. Jah bless.

• Charlie King Addo 9 years ago

The toll booth revenue never goes to the state.
    Nobody can account for a dime as to how much has been accrued from the toll collections since 66.

“Abongo boys” economy is what we have been dealing with, till this ver ...

• tweeeeeaaaaakai 9 years ago

This is nonsense prosecuting drivers who do not have tickets. They can throw them away immediately they buy it. Use duplicates and triplicates to track down your arranged thieves and leave users alone.

The receipt is for the driver. He does not need to prove he has paid, rather the person who says the driver has not paid must prove so. The burden of proof is on the accuser not the accused. The accused is innocent till prove ...

• Somebody 9 years ago

This is a very bad one. Mr Director come again. There is no way a vehicle entitled to pay the toll could cross without paying if the attendants do their work properly. Better check the attendants not the road user. Your atten ...

• lady fey 9 years ago

A greedy exercise ccchhheeew

• George Agyemang Gyawu 9 years ago

This ticket issue should be a matter of concern to everybody. Monies are stolen day in day out by these ticket racketeers which deprive the Nation of huge sums of raw cash. Anyway does the government account for the monies co ...

• poor souls 9 years ago

The compromised manager can not enforce the rules. Lets take the human aspect from toll collection, make it electronic, no cash changing hands my reduce but not eleminate theft.

• DAN 9 years ago

I SO HAPPY FOR THIS DIRECTIVE. THIS WILL KEEP THE AREA (TOOLBOTH) LITTLE BIT TIDY. THANK YOU MY PRESIDENT OR ANY BODY WIL PROPOSE THIS.

• Y.B 9 years ago

Your new health product

CLEANSHIELD, new natural Alkaline supplement from US designed to clean inner Ossian, get rid of acidosis in the body, bacterials/viruses and help balance body PH.
    Proper PH level enhance body SYSTE ...

• priority 9 years ago

this tema motorway was built by wame Nkrumah, instead of keeping it in shape and extending it ghanaians mend the pot holes on the concrete motorway with bitumen and that is not enough, you charge for using a road WE must be p ...

• Twumasi Bruce 9 years ago

What benefit at all are Ghananaians getting from the numorous revenue you collect. leave the tollboot operators alone. corrupt NDC led administration. God will punish you people for the hardship you have imposed on Ghanaians. ...

• kwame Kyei 9 years ago

This people are always interested in collecting monies from us without properly accounting for it. Why should we continue to pay tolls?, when after several years of collecting toll on the Adomi Bridge we have to borrow money ...

• Juba 9 years ago

Toll booth tickets must give date, time and location otherwise they are useless. I guess that's why drivers don't value them

• Yaw 9 years ago

Equip all tollbooths with electronic counters and computerise them as well.

• Jerry-tema 9 years ago

mtwheeewww. let us think. do u think our minds have nothing to think of like u?
    after paying n misplaced my tickets u'll arrest me for wat?
    put down measures to check u and ur own people thank coming to check anybody else

• Jamil. 9 years ago

Ghanafuor ni nkwasias3m. They won't focus on building the nation.

• Afe Sem 9 years ago

The truth is that these guys and ladies in the tolbooth including their supervisorrs are graet big thieves without detection. They daily pocket their sales and declare just meagre amount to the state. Investigate them thoroug ...

• G. K. Berko 9 years ago

The easiest way to curb the theft at the tollbooths is to install video cameras at each booth. These Cameras are now very cheap to acquire and install. In that case, we can capture the transactions going on, and the conversa ...

• Till Zion 9 years ago

I was once issued a receipt that had a past date stamp on it.
    I later learnt that some drivers bring their old receipts to some of their contacts at the toll both who will later hand out these old receipts to unsuspecting dr ...

• Alex ., London 9 years ago

Clement Apaak you are a doctor because you have a PhD. You can't come out with a sensible solution but to arrest drivers with no receipts. Is it an offence for not keeping a receipt for goods and services one has purchased? ...

• Asoreba 9 years ago

The receipt is the property of the individual and they can decide to do whatever they want with it. You can't force anybody to keep his or her receipt or face panelties. This is gungle law or what? If you wnat records, sta ...

• Adjei 9 years ago

Indsicpline has become part of the moral fibre of the Ghanaian who refuses to separate political affiliation from doing the right thing. It is a shame we have to let the President do our jobs for us. Typically the supervisors ...

• SAMANSAMAN 9 years ago

Prosecution to the TOLLBOTH THIEVES YES. Prosecution to SENIOR GOVT.OFFICIAL THIEVES NO.

• EKO YIE PAA 9 years ago

GHANA PAA. WHERE ON THE TOLL TICKET DOES IT SAY ONE SHOULD KEEP TICKETFOR POSSIBLE INSPECTION, STUPID. BUSHMEAT!!!!