You are here: HomeNews2014 12 01Article 337363

Photo: 'Tro-tro' with passengers aboard towed at Kumasi Central Market

Read Comments Comments (103)

• NANAÖ MOTHER !!! 9 years ago

Wow funny Ghana.Are they goods from abroad.

• SGT ANANI FIADZOE 9 years ago

Because they love monkey meat so much the people in Kumasi behave like monkeys: very destructive!
    When you are in Kumasi you find the behaviour of the people sub-human.

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE (OFIE) 9 years ago

DR. BAWUMIA:-----------
    “In the last six years, the NDC has borrowed US$27 billion. Before that, we, the NPP, borrowed a total of US$5.5 billion in eight years. Compare that to the NDC borrowing $27 billion in six years an ...

• Osbon 9 years ago

What kind of jungle Justice is this. Did the Tow Truck have Insurance to carry the extra 14 passengers? Accident can happen any where any time. How can the police allow the Tow truck to transport the passenger? That is agains ...

• Philip New Jersey. 9 years ago

YOU SAW CLEARLY A POLICE OFFICER STANDING THERE LAUGHING TO THESE SCENES,DID HE DO OR SAY ANYTHING ABOUT THE RISK INVOLVE? THEY ALL LOOK IGNORANT AND ALWAYS WANT TO COLLECT BRIBES. VERY RUTHLESS NATION WHERE THERE IS NO DISCI ...

• Mame 9 years ago

I thought you were going to say that Ghanaians are beginning to know their rights. Shouldn't the car and driver's details be taken and the driver arraigned before the law court if he has gone contrary to the law after safely ...

• Dessy 9 years ago

Kumasi is a lawless city..it is a fact..I didn't get your point across but I might assumed that you wanted to make a point of right and rresponsibily..but I think it is a rresponsibily if every individual to know where boardi ...

• Respect diversity 9 years ago

Sub-human??? Oh my brother? This statement is backward and concocted from a sub-human then? It is wrong to make statements such as these because regardless of the diversity of tribes, we are supposed to be one people.
    Karma ...

• ##Osama 9 years ago

NDC PARTY GOVT PREZ FULL OF LUNATICS

The govt full of CHOPBAR FUFU Pounders
    Idiots who are full of SHITTY

Greedy Bastards

• charlie 9 years ago

Sick nation!. How could you tow vehicle loaded with passengers.

• Simple 9 years ago

What indiscipline by the passengers!
    And we sit and blame government after government for ineffective systems. Someone commits a crime and you are preventing the law from taking its course. Elsewhere, they would be arrested ...

• Phinehas 9 years ago

Thank you. Before the citizens of Ghana change their mindset,...... the least said the better..
    They will turn back n blame govt..they break the law n point fingers, God have mercy.

• Ghfuo: Be Ruthless, hang nyantakyi, N 9 years ago

1. These spots must be clearly demacated with visible signs
    2. If you catch motorists floating the rules. The police must only issue a ticket, for a designated amount. Link the ticket to the license plate, drivers license an ...

• CORNEY 9 years ago

The data you have at where you live is not in Ghana,up until they have that what you are saying cannot work.
    They have a system that is the spot fine that every citizen should respect,you cannot refuse police orders at where ...

• Owusu Acheaw 9 years ago

Ya type of jungle law is what Ghfou is talking about, wow!still supporting that colonial law, I heard someone said,"forward ever".

• KKO 9 years ago

Where do you live? Where in the world apart from jungle Africa, can passengers prevent law enforcement officers from carrying out their legitimate duties? Do you remember chiefs from the Volta Region trooping to Accra to prot ...

• CORNEY 9 years ago

How do you know those passengers belong to the ruling government?
    Lawlessness in Ghana has no party colors,police can break into that car to arrest all of them for obstructing their work.

• KWADWO A 9 years ago

The passengers should have been fined for disobeying the instructions from the police to disembark the tro tro.
    What a lawless country.

• kk 9 years ago

Look, it's the pasengers right weather to get down or sit in the car, all they have to do is to give the driver a ticket , we have a long way to go.

• Kwame 9 years ago

Thank you. We blame government for everything and we don't hold ourselves accountable for anything. It is going to be tough for the country to progress if we all don't change our ways.

• Abrewa Duku 9 years ago

Are they that stupid to tow the Tro-tro with passengers on board?
    What a country

• koo 9 years ago

It is done here in America in so many cities.

• Re 9 years ago

Boss stop the damn lies, what American city did you see a towed vehicle with people in it. Some of our people act so uncivilized cuz you have others like you justifying it.

This Hitlerlike approach by civil servants makes my blood boil.That said,what do they do with they taxes?...it ends up in their pockets.

• danduriwa 9 years ago

They should've been charge for the ride

• FOYOOSIS 9 years ago

What a lawless country with its lawless people! A whole vehicle with passengers sitting in it is being towed because the driver refused to pay a fine imposed on him.

And look at the buffonery of the "KOTI" in black; laughi ...

• CORNEY 9 years ago

The police didn't have a choice than to tow the lawless people away to serve as deterrent to others,you don't flout police orders when you break the law.
    That said,I think the police should have called for back up to arrest ...

• Deputy Minister of Education 9 years ago

The policemen had called for back up, but their usual tro-tro was delayed for some reason.

• JAMES Y 9 years ago

This is very dangerous. The passengers who refused to alight should have been physically forced out of the car. Alternatively, they should be charged for obstructing police to perform its duty.

• Daniella 9 years ago

ALL OVER THE WORLD EXCEPT PLACES LIKE GHANA, THAT IS HOW IT IS DONE; FORCED PASSENGERS OUT OR ARREST THEM. YOU CANNOT TOW THE VEHICLE WITH PASSENGERS ON BOARD. MY BAD WE ALL ERRED.

• Soothsayer 9 years ago

The passengers have no right to obstruct the police. Do they jointly and severally own the trotro?

• Gyata 9 years ago

Only primitive apes like you will do this. Lawlessness and sadistic behaviour, no respect for any law and human-beings.

• HAHAHAHA 9 years ago

Too many pepefuo in Kumasi. This trotro was loaded with people going to Zarbo zongo

• Nzema K 9 years ago

Hahahahaaaa How could they be so lawless... Tweaaaa. Ashantis

• Nzema K 9 years ago

Just look look at their faces in the Trotro with Ashanti police having a fun... Tweaaaaa Asantefuo

• Re 9 years ago

Chale check your grammar before spewing insults..."having a fun" please come again, nonsense illiterate talk!!!

• HAHAHAHA 9 years ago

This trotro was loaded with people going to Zarbo zongo.

• francis 9 years ago

How can the passenger be so indiscipline to the officers, they must be charged for disruption of service by the authorities. Actually Kumasi is becoming lawless and must be checked.
    The officer laughing must be dismissed for ...

• PATRIOT 9 years ago

The police should have arrested the passengers for obstruction ad arraigned them before the courts for prosecution.This a typical example of ghanaians disregard for the laws of the country.Next time passengers who fail to com ...

• Photosy. 9 years ago

This is the problem with Ghana, indiscipline and until we as a people understand the issue of indiscipline and what it's doing to this country, corruption shall reign supreme.

• Joe Turkey 9 years ago

This is lawlessness. The policeman standing in the picture enjoying the whole scene should be fired immediately. At worst, the passenger should have been arrested or forced out of the car, for their own safety and punished in ...

• Deputy Minister of Education 9 years ago

No! The policeman is laughing. So should we all be. When Ghana has come to this, all you can do is laugh or cry.

• Otuo acheampong 9 years ago

This is quite disgraceful!

• AKWADAA SWISS. 9 years ago

THE OFFICER SHLD HAVE JOINED DE URVAN TO ITS DESTINATION FOR ALL THE PEOPLE TO ALIGHT FIRST AND ESCORT THE VAN TO THE KMA YARD.NOTHING WORKS IN GHANA ANY MORE

• AGYE-WO-DIN 9 years ago

THIS IS VERY SAD FOR THE TASK FORCE TO DO THIS, THE VEICHLE HAVE REGISTRATION NUMBER TAKE THE NUMBER LET THE DRIVER GO AND DROP OFF THE PASSENGERS AND REPORT LATER PERIOD, GHANA IS GOING BACK
    AS I COTED FROM OSAGEFO DR KWAME ...

• Possi 9 years ago

So you support the driver and the passengers for disobeying the law.kumasi is part of Ghana ,freedom and justice

• aso 9 years ago

They should allow the driver to take the passengers to their destination first. That's more civilized and respectful to the innocent citizens or arrange alternative transport. If driver makes a minor mistake then you visit th ...

The day is fast approaching when the country will degenerate into stark chaos.

• Okesse 9 years ago

The police should have found another car for the people. How do they go to their destination ? Police don't respect the citizenry. There are many ways to arrest this driver. It is only in Ghana that yu will see this type of b ...

• Lou 9 years ago

Lawless country!! Our country will not progress if laws are not obeyed. This is pathetic. Shameful!!!

• loblaws 9 years ago

What about the safety of the passengers ? OK, then they should have been arrested for interfering with a police officer.

• AKRUGU Bawa 9 years ago

How can we explain this episode to our children and grandchildren here in europe.In fact,the country and her people need a redeemer and a concern leader.All the more,policeman being a member of the Team is laughing over this ...

• faseb 9 years ago

I am still laughing loud.

• Yankee 9 years ago

From the trotro straight to the cells. Indiscipline, how can the laws work if we worship wrong doings? No wonder kumasi is so ungovernable.

• Oh Noooo 9 years ago

Ghanaians are now becoming stuborn and dont respect any law which should be crtically looked at.

• joy 9 years ago

Aaaaaa What a country we have. Shame

• joy 9 years ago

Aaaaaa What a country we have. Shame

• Pastor Francis Asante-Boadu 9 years ago

Put life first.

• Akwasi Nii 9 years ago

Infact this is very every unfortunate.
    We have to learn more even the Police.
    How can you towed a Bus with passengers on board.

• yeyo 9 years ago

paying fine to whom?or paying bribe?

• Jab 9 years ago

Yes people are just tired about inefficiency,corruption, lack of planning, extortion etc. If leaders lack ideas this is what happens. People revolt.

• CRAZY N WILD 9 years ago

This process of allowing law enforcement officials to stop vehicles and impose on the spot fines makes the policeman the enforcer and interpretor of the law. The danger of creating a police state is beginning to show.In the m ...

• Truth. 9 years ago

The Police,thge Kumasi Metropolitan Assembly are all stupid and foolish as they dont know their respective job. What if something dangerous took place for the bus being towed was involved in an accident .The world will laugh ...

• KWAME-BELGIUM 9 years ago

The laws of the country be be respected.The police must charge all the passengers and the driver as a lesson for the future.

• Black Pot. 9 years ago

Stupidity at its best. I hope the passengers would stay on board until the driver is prosecuted for flouting KMA bye laws.

• musah 9 years ago

An interesting play out there

• kofi 9 years ago

This shows the mentality of Ghanaians,what about if the tow truck over turns you people will be grilled.

• GC/USA 9 years ago

NEARLY 90% OF THE PEOPLE IN GHANA HAVE LOST THEIR MIND SINCE TEACHERS STOPPED CANING AT SCHOOL. A COUNTRY GOING BACKWARD. NOBODY OBEY THE LAW/50 YEARS PLUS. THEY ONLY OBEY THE LAW IN THE WHITE MAN COUNTRY. WHO IS BETTER THE B ...

• oscarbunto 9 years ago

How can they request a fine from the driver on the spot. First of all the police didn't issue any ticket to the driver. A car load of passengers on a towing truck. It's like sending 12.5kilos of cocaine, to UK . supported by ...

• Pusiga Naaba 9 years ago

The tow truck driver should and must be jailed immediately. You never and never tow any vehicle full of passengers. This is insane. The tow truck should call the police who should seek an ordely and safe disembarkment of the ...

• Pusiga Naaba 9 years ago

Passengers listen up.Go look for a good lawyer a file a legal suit against the tow truck company and the KMA. Your lives were put in danger for this barbaric action. Sue them for everything they got.

• PRIMITIVE GHANA 9 years ago

THIS PRIMITIVE WAY OF IMPOUNDING OFFENDERS AND FINING THEM ON THE SPOT NEEDS TO STOP. IT IS BACKWARD. THEY SHOULD BE GIVING A TICKET. THEY SHOULD BE GIVING THE CHANCE TO DEFEND THEMSELVES IN A COURT OF JUSTICE. IF THEY ADMIT ...

• NANA USA 9 years ago

Ghanaians are not serious in life at all

• Efo Kwaku Canada 9 years ago

Give those on board ticket too or charge them at law court for indiscipline to set an example, learn how to give tickets to offenders of the law instead of towing give the driver ticket , get proper system that the police wil ...

• Abu Samson 9 years ago

Uncivilized behavior by both the authorities and the passengers all because of corruption. A driver with vehicle moving/packing violation must be summons with reasonable ticket. Such implementation if enforce wisely, will sto ...

• Tina 9 years ago

Kumasi is a lawless city and this because of high illiteracy in the region. In Kumasi A becomes B and vice versa.

• KAB-UK 9 years ago

This is madness and look at a law enforcement officer standing by laughing. What is funny about this?

• Ijahman 9 years ago

This is very stupid and uncivilized.

• kwadwo asare 9 years ago

This city guards is their work limited to a certain time of the day or the whole day? For the sake of the small bribe this poor driver refused to pay, you have wasted the day of 14people. What if you have encountered an accid ...

• Ewe Nation 9 years ago

Thats what you get these greedy ashantis apes.They have no laws,no shame and no sense of propriety.They value money more than life itself and they will destroy our precious Ghana to get money.Its time to throw this monkey tri ...

• Agyeman 9 years ago

You idiot Ewe scum again? May God strike you for your blood soaked hate.

• Ama 9 years ago

This can only happen in Ashanti region.
    They are generating Kumahood movie titles

• Nana 9 years ago

It is against the law to tow a vehicle whilst there is even a single passenger on board.
    The police should know that. The tow truck driver before qualified to tow vehicle should have basic knowledge and law surrounding towi ...

• Ewe Nation 9 years ago

Thats what you get in a nation of uneducated villagers rushing into civilised urban areas with village mentality.

• Daniel Danso (Glasgow ) 9 years ago

These passengers risked their lives by going aboard a towed vehicle.
    Among the 14 number passengers there was no one who could say NO to that senseless act of the driver and municipal authority. Please remember this is not ...

• JERRY BEST 9 years ago

ONLY GHANA,RESERVED MY COMMENT.

• AMARIYA 9 years ago

The Nissan Urvan or the Passengers' lives, which of them is more important?

Could not the Police simply find a better way to get to the Driver rather than tow the vehicle with the passengers? By towing a commercial vehic ...

• KOFI 9 years ago

ARE WE STILL LIVING IN A "STONE AGE"?THIS IS A SAD DAY FOR OUR COUNTRY. A POLICE OFFICER LOOKING AT THIS CRIMINALITY AND LAUGHING, THAT SHOWS HOW IGNORANT SOME OF OUR LAW ENFORCEMENT OFFICERS ARE WHEN IT COMES TO LAW.MAY GOD ...

• Zongo Boy,USA 9 years ago

The passengers should sue KMA for their unlawful act. There isn't any law that exist in the country that allows any authority to tow a vehicle carrying passengers.

• saviour 9 years ago

this can not happen in Europe here they respect human bin more then low . they will just take the vehicle nombre and live them

• Agonaba 9 years ago

Leave the passengers alone,tow the vehicle,unless they don't mind a ride,God have mercy.

• Dessy 9 years ago

..and why the passengers still in the car..my answer is that Kwasi is lawless city which do not seek progress..and any state who do not progress is a failed state

• EZEKIEL 9 years ago

We should also LEARN to RESPECT Laws and the like! Without DISCIPLINE, nothing much can be achieved in that country!! GOOD JOB!
    If you didn't do that, THIS SAME DRIVER will be BOASTING that he didn't even mind them......he p ...

• Nii Nortey (NY) 9 years ago

The tro tro has to be towed without the passengers. The police did not do their work. The police should have warned the passengers that their refusal to get out from the trotro van will subject them to an arrest. If they have ...

• kk 9 years ago

I AM SADENED

• Anes m.sallama 9 years ago

Poor mother Ghana do we really have a law in this contry, I don't blame the police but the passengers why they don't want to get out?

• Yendi boy 9 years ago

If any of these get hurt they have the right to sue KMA. Ignorant KMA people

• Dan Buduh 9 years ago

This is getting serious as the country has now become lawless. Driver supported by passengers to refuse to do what the city authorities require to be done due to infraction. We are finished as a nation. This is not a laughing ...

• ANANE 9 years ago

When one reads something like that going on in Ghana, supported by the citizens you ask yourself where is the mind of such people. What can we achiever with such a lawless citizenry. It is sad.

• Sally Gyinae 9 years ago

what should they do if the passengers refused to get down. they have to pay the fine and stop parking wrongly.

• Don 9 years ago

Police towing a vehicle with people in it,. This will only happen in Ghana. I can't believe this.

• Osman saakib 9 years ago

Lawless...ask your fellow law enforcement workers. U corrupt idiots. U are like Doboya M.P, insensitive remarks. A disgrace to your profession

• Mike 9 years ago

How can you show solidarity to the detriment of your life.