You are here: HomeNews2014 11 28Article 336978

Ghanaians harassing me for visas every day – UK High C’ssner

Read Comments Comments (64)

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE (OFIE) 9 years ago

AUTHOR : MAMA ROSINA - - - - - - - - - -
    We are under economic shackles all because of NDC incompetent and corrupt government. We had eight years of NPP government and times were certainly better for us than we have found ou ...

• HONESTY 9 years ago

Build Ghana and let others wish to visit you too, lazy people.

• The mask 9 years ago

We must review our association with British C'wealth (Not to be confused with the commonwealth of Independent States with which we have had fruitful discussions).

Some British Commonwealth countries do not need Visa to vis ...

• MANTSE 9 years ago

“I can neither impose change nor reverse any visa decision taken by our visa experts in accordance with our rules, for a system where such ad-hoc decisions was possible merely on the whims of the big boss.”

The Foregoi ...

• Senior Wisdom 9 years ago

This is why the West is morally superior. It is not the number of people who go to church and pray in tongues, or those wear collars and call themselves men of God. We are so corrupt that we think of the world in the eyes of ...

• Kuuluuluu busibie 9 years ago

THE BRITISH HIGH COMMISSIONER SHOULD PUBLISH THE NAMES OF THESE ROGUES DISGRACING GHANA BY LOBBYING FOR VISAS. I HOPE IMANI STAFF HAVE GOT THE MESSAGE.

• DER-KUULE 9 years ago

That is how things ought to go. In Africa and in Ghana in particular, the brother's friend's neighbour etc has been the bane of our life. We would never go anywhere with the kind of attitude we have been showing.

• SEAL 9 years ago

What are u talking about! CIS was a loose federation of communist breakaways from old Soviet Union.they couldn't even agree on anything .we never had any fruitful dialogue with these communists.they are even more corrupt than ...

• Mike Olongo, USA 9 years ago

You got it all wrong ! the BHC is not complaining about the high number of visa applications. He is complaining about those Ghanaians who try to pressurize him to bend the rules in their favor to obtain visas for themselves a ...

• kwabena 9 years ago

Instead of sending the jobs abroad.

• ICONIC-07 9 years ago

WHAT'S THE PURPOSE OF THE UK HIGH COMMISSION IN GHANA, IF APPLICATION FOR VISAS IS NOT PART OF HIS LAME-DUCK DUTIES.
    THIS MAN IS PLAYING POLITICS UNDER DISGUISE AND THE NPP-LEANING HIGH COMMISSIONER KNOWS WHAT HE IS DOING TO ...

• Daavi 9 years ago

Grow up and stop being mischievous. These kind of thinking is hampering our development. Everything is interpreted with political connotations. This is a simple governance issue yet you make it NDC NPP. You guys are destro ...

• OLD SOLDIER 9 years ago

Author:PIFF POFF...
    THE NATIONAL HEALTH INSURANCE HAS COLLAPSED. THE NHIS HASN'T REIMBURSED ALL HEALTH SERVICE PROVIDERS FOR 9 MONTHS NOW BUT THIS IS WHAT THE THIEVING NDC/MAHAMBOLE ARE USING OUR TAX FOR. WHILE THE ACC GENE ...

• Sappey-Agboh, Atsiame-Alabohkope 9 years ago

This guy is a jerk. What a disgrace of a High Commissioner? The British are renowned for their diplomacy but this guy is a joke. High Commissioners and Ambassadors don't grant travel permits. It's the Chancellor that deals wi ...

• Nii Tsokor 9 years ago

How can a British High Commissioner get to this level? He should refer people who make all such requests to the Consular, end of story. No need to even comment on it publicly.

• Annorwuo 9 years ago

Surely appreciate the CONDENMINATION this Envoy is making of our 'big boss' society,wherein in high-level state functionaries - Minissters,Judges, MPs Chief Directors,University Dons,etc,as well as other influencial members ...

• MANTSE 9 years ago

Annorwuo, I couldn't have said it better.

What the British High Commissioner used VISA as only as an Example but it is in every FACET of our Lives and Actions and is, In Fact, what defines us as AFRICANS and Explains our ...

• mensah 9 years ago

You should think outside 'your',calling someone a jerk.

• Kweku 9 years ago

They need to keep rejecting applications for visas so that they can turn around to give those peanuts to us as aid! The so called aid are in fact our own monies! If you wanna study in Britain fine, otherwise I see no reason w ...

• Naa Ashawa Milton Keynes 9 years ago

The Chancellor deals with visa requests?
    don't show your ignorance on the world wide web my brother.and do try and read properly. You just confirmed what he said that he's not responsible for doling out visas.The jerks Sappe ...

• Samuel Ansah,New York 9 years ago

Will the government call this High Commissioner to order? He seems to be meddling in Ghana's internal affairs. Since this cocaine arrest made in the UK his utterances never seem to be diplomatic ;his utterances seem to be ful ...

• Yaw USA 9 years ago

What bulls hit internal affairs do you Ghanains have apart from stealing and lying.

• ........ 9 years ago

Kwasea....councellor or chancellor ....

• little 9 years ago

And so? What does people looking for visa got to do with the public? Please stop this your cheap popularity by not mingling with issues of Ghana. If you are an ambassador that does not meaning you should be interfering in o ...

• j s addo 9 years ago

he is right the import of his statement is about corruption.the altitude of ghanaians influencing high bosses without passing thru proper processes and procedure.this must stop he cautions. i like this man he knows the impli ...

• TUOZZAFI 9 years ago

It's very pathetic. Ghanaians love visas too much and will do anything for a visa, including sacrificing a limb. People do not know that traveling abroad without any aim is a waste of time. You are better off staying in Ghana ...

• Abrantie 9 years ago

This man is referencing how corruption has eaten deep into the fabric of our society."The whom you know attitude" but not the most qualified is always given the preference.That is exactly what he is talking about here so folk ...

• Kwabena Erzoah 9 years ago

The Hihg Commissioner is taking things too personal. The British Representation is the British High Commission. He is not directly involved in issuing of visas therefore in saying so is understating the civility of Ghanaians. ...

• Dr. Ezanator Rawlings 9 years ago

just travel with diplomatic passport.apply for it at the NDC headquarters.the one located at Sogakope.

• SEAL 9 years ago

You damn stupid ignorant weasel!come out of your cave and smell civilization .

• Kweku Boateng Jnr. 9 years ago

If we work together in a scientific manner, we can develop Ghana and make life better for all. There is so much fresh water at Ada Foah to irrigate parts of the Accra plains, Southern Volta to produce jobs, jobs and jobs for ...

• Naa Ashawa Milton Keynes 9 years ago

He's been in the country only six months and already knows how corrupt every one from children to our so-called men of God are. Ghanaaians demean themselves everyday.

• Shaz Aku 9 years ago

We Ghanaians should learn to follow the rules. if you want to cut corners, you will not succeed in your application for a Visa to the UK. The UK officials know all your dishonest tricks. Stop disgracing Ghanaians.

• Josiah 9 years ago

It is very sad harassing UK HC for personal gain. Most Ghanaians don't get it that we are all subject to obeying the Law. Please stop harassing the HC and follow the requirement rules.

• The mask 9 years ago

The economy is hitting workers hard and many have run out of ideas.

Boachsoft Finance 2012 software, developed in East Akim Municipality (Akyem-Maase and Bunso) in the Eastern Region of Ghana and in Accra/Sakumono, is help ...

• FOREIGN mp 9 years ago

START TAXING those who failed the requirements of your Visa section. Ghanaians are used to taxes,apply that principle to minimize the inflow of applicants.By the way, how much in cash was left for the country after Independen ...

• GABRIEL, USA 9 years ago

THE HC IS INSINUATING THAT GHANAIANS ARE FOND OF CORRUPTING HIGH OFFICIALS TO ACHIEVE THEIR OBJECTIVES WITHOUT RECOURSE TO DUE PROCESS. THE LADY AT THE CETRE OF THE DRUG SCA DAL WAS NOT QUALIFIED TO POSSESS A DIPLOMATIC PASS ...

• Annorwuo 9 years ago

Particularly offended by these specific comments,because I know it goes on regularly,and this 'nonsense' has to stop! Those, who his not-so-disguised message is targeted,know themselves.

• Sarpong 9 years ago

Can't you see my brother how difficult it is for Ghanaians to understand issues,the man spoke directly and people are busy chasing shadows,it is the people that corrupt institutions

• Abenaa Kwabena 9 years ago

Let's develop our country and make it into whatever we want it to be for us. Ghana has everything to make us happy without the need for anything from that tiny island called Britain, or any other country for that matter. The ...

• Joe Turkey 9 years ago

.. just so they can change the cocaine carriers

• sammy 9 years ago

If Ghanaian elders are showing such charater to the world why not Uk authorities wont take hard decision

• Sarpong 9 years ago

The man simply told Ghanains to stop corrupting institutions for personal gains especially people who are influential

• SEAL 9 years ago

I think this High Comissioner likes being in the spotlight with his ugly face.UK is only a prime destination for the ignorant.USA,USA,USA,All The Way!!!

• Kojo 9 years ago

While he is speaking the truth. The way this ambassador speaks - reading other statements he's made elsewhere- smacks of arrogance! I sense the same level of disdain his forebears showed towards Gold Coast Ghanaians of yore.

• fredsaid 9 years ago

Africans deserve no respect because they don't respect themselves. Period

• Reeva Akua 9 years ago

This ambassador needs to be brought in line. Is he really an ambassador. There should be a forum to speak and I doubt that this forum was the best for him to raise a number of the other issues he spoke to.

• James Appiah 9 years ago

So if you are High Commissioner and someone ask you for visa you come to the open and talk about it? As a commissioner you tell them what you know best rather than honoring an invitation which has no topic of visa issuance an ...

• TONY 9 years ago

This Jon Benjamin or whatever he calls himself is talking too much. I don't think he is a qualified diplomat. The British authorities should think of replacing him before he starts giving out classified information to the res ...

• OKP 9 years ago

Whatever! You have no right or soever to talk about this in public. Is this also part of currupt activities of our leaders or do they begg you to help excort cocaine to the UK. Keep guite massa, we are tired of you.

• Grace divine jesson 9 years ago

We have all the natural resources but we are poor. We have incompetent and narrow minded building our country. We need to change our mentality, all of us. We vote for tribes not competence and knowledge. We all have to change ...

• Yaw Adu-Asare 9 years ago

This guy should have kept this to himself. Whom is this guy talking to; the gov't or people of Ghana. This high commissioner must know he is a messenger between two governments.

• fire man ogyaaaa! 9 years ago

why shud a Commonwealth country struggle to get visas review that association fast.wat stupid sovereignty x dat

• Araba Blay 9 years ago

THE BIG QUESTION IS WHO ARE THE PEOPLE IN THIS COUNTRY WHO HAVE ACCESS TO THE HIGH COMMISIONER?
    THE ORDINARY PERSON OF COURSE DOSENT!!! ITS THE MINISTERS AND GOVERNMENT OFFICIALS IN HIGH PLACES WHO ARE CALLING HIM

• papa 9 years ago

I pity this commissioner but u know what, they can go to hell and even burn there together with their visas. They see us as fools. Nonsense

• kb 9 years ago

Maybe the people this amb hangs around with are visa contractors.

• NOBODY 9 years ago

far from it. Those asking for visas are very likely well-placed business persons, politicians, and academics. Visa contractors dread getting near an Ambassador or High Commissioner, for they're fear being exposed. Corruption ...

• KING LOMOTEY 9 years ago

Just let them know that you are going to release their names and photos.

• ETWE YE DE///HAMBURG 9 years ago

WHAT ARE YOU DOING IN GHANA? KWASIA

• kelly 9 years ago

British people are hypocrites, they call something diplomacy and should nit be on Africa, honestly they should let our stupid leaders know they are corruo and not treating the so called ordinary Ghanaians well. Hypocrites. Pe ...

• Aryiku Nartey 9 years ago

You are childish and arrogant High Commissioner. Your visa is not free after all. Your High Commission is neither a charity nor an NGO! You are selling visas and we want to buy it under your conditions so, what is wrong with ...

• Ugly Akufo Addo 9 years ago

He is seriously sick

• JH New York 9 years ago

Good ! Ghanaians like connection, connection,too much !

• Kofi Gbagbladza 9 years ago

Mr. High Commissioner, the issue is that most of your personnel at the visa counter put aside satisfying the conditions. imagine someone who says to an applicant: "you are too beautiful, I think you would not come back if you ...