You are here: HomeNews2014 11 24Article 336266

Akufo-Addo’s gov’t to emulate S. Korea in economic transformation

Read Comments Comments (107)

• NYANTEH. 9 years ago

WE'VE HEARD THIS A MILLION TIMES BEFORE FROM OUR POLITICAL "LEADERS", BUT WHAT DO WE SEE?

AS LONG AS GHANA REMAINS A BLACK AFRICAN NATION WITH BLACK LEADERS AND BLACK MENTALITY, NOTHING WILL CHANGE IN GHANA FOR THE BETTER ...

• Boagyaa Appiah-Kubi,Connecticut. 9 years ago

SO YOU WANNA TELL ME ZAMBIA WILL LOOK LIKE GERMANY BECAUSE A WHITE MAN IS THE PRESIDENT?WHAT KIND OF THINKING IS THAT.

• KWEKU ANANSE 9 years ago

KWEEEEH! APOKA HEAD, ALL THE CHILDREN IN MY CLASSROOM HAVE STARTED CRYING AT THE SIGHT OF THE SCARY LOOKING KAKA-MOTO-BI ON MY COMPUTER SCREEN!!!

• Frankwise 9 years ago

It is always stupids who are not ethical when making comments to an article. Learn how to speak next time @ kweku ananse. If u happen to have him as a father or a member in ur family like ur like will not be as ur seeing now. ...

• jim 9 years ago

It is sad indeed but we have at some point to admit the truth that, there is a genetic inadequacy with the blackman. The Mahama led government is a livid example. We have gone beyond curruption, greed, selfishness, foolishnes ...

• jealous ashantis 9 years ago

Why not kufour's govt? Ashanti greedy bastard

• Prince Kay 9 years ago

Don`t expose your ignorance. Go back to school to learn the ethnicity of the man.

• Kojo T 9 years ago

Just talk , you cannot do it You have crooks and greedy people with little or no idea

• SGT ANANI FIADZOE 9 years ago

Nana Akuffo Addo is not like corrupt, thief, corrupt and incompetent Dramani
    Mahama who says more but does not nothing at all.

Tell us what Nana Akuffo Addo said but
    was unable to deliver? Swine you.

• Kojo T 9 years ago

MP for 16 years and what did he achieve Minister for 6 years and what is there to show .Sure I am an idiot but I THINK. Can you?

• SGT ANANI FIADZOE 9 years ago

Which of one of the NDC bunch of criminals got even a common certificate,
    do you know NDC women has certificates
    under their pants for Mahama to see and offer them appointments?

Monkey don't ask certificate even if
    you ...

• Kojo T 9 years ago

Even in the forces the bright ones become officers. I am not surprised you are NPP. All are brainless

• DOOBIA 9 years ago

You can never be like S. Korea cos they do not do or steal cocaine to enrich themselves like you NPP get-rich-fast people. You lack level-headed people in the NPP to make any difference. After-all, your fathers ruled this cou ...

• Iinsight to the bone 9 years ago

HE PROMISED TO BRING COCAINE DEALERS PRISONERS BACK TO GHANA BUT DID NOT DO IT AFTER FUCKING HIS FRIEND LATE CHAPPY WIVES

HE PROMISED TO BRING COCAINE DEALERS PRISONERS BACK TO GHANA BUT DID NOT DO IT AFTER FUCKING HIS FRIEND LATE CHAPPY WIVES KALOMO NANA EBOLA ADDO

• Obeng , Kumasi 9 years ago

I am surprised Nyanteh does not believe in himself because he is a blackman with black mentality. I believe in myself and many honest ones I believe president Kuffour did his best

• kwomo 9 years ago

This is a show pessimistic attitude...Good policies not.colour of skin ensure developement

• OKOE 9 years ago

MR. NYANTEH AFRICA MAY NOT BE PERFECT BUT WHATEVER WE ARE SUITS US. YOU HAVE EXTREME NEGATIVE EXPECTATION FOR AFRICA BUT YOU ARE WRONG. AFRICA IS EXPERIMENTING WITH DEMOCRACY AND IT WILL TAKE TIME. EVERYTHING IN OUR CURRENT G ...

WE HAVE HEARD IT BEFORE EIGHT YEARS IN GOVERNMENT WHY COULDN'T YOU DO IT IN FACT THE MAN IS GROWING UP SO BADLY JUST LIKE HIS LATE FATHER HE LOOK HO HORRIBLE JUST LIKE THERESSA KOFOU ASSS BOMONE

• Kanawu!!!!!!! 9 years ago

Mahama is stupid fool cocaine president. A disgrace to Ghana

• fidelity 9 years ago

So how long do some ghanaians have to take to know that Akufo Addo realy want to take all Ghanaians to a brilliant black image. This man realy want to learn a good from others and most of all he not thinking of parties but,h ...

• kusasi 9 years ago

nana tell ghanaians the law school you attended.you fake man you not ashame of yourself you went to court to become president through back door

• Adelayita Mathias 9 years ago

Stupid kusasi@0 degree

• kusasi 9 years ago

just want to know the law school nana attended so l can help him locate his missing law cert.

• Mabel 9 years ago

Ghanafo kasa

• kusasi 9 years ago

you will never never become president of Ghana.impersonator like you.

• Nii Tsokor 9 years ago

If he knows how to make Ghana look like South Korea, why didn't he show Kuffour the map to accomplish that ?

All these people do is talk, talk and talk while nothing gets accomplished.

• FREEDOM IN THE TRUTH 9 years ago

WHATS THIS SUPPOSED TO BE MEAN. YOU ARE NOT THE FIRST POLITICIAN TO MAKE THIS STATEMENT. YOU DIDN'T EVEN HAD A CLUSE HOW TO IMPLEMENT A YOUR PROPOSED FREE EDUCATION FOR GHANA WHEN QUESTIONED

• Joe Moore 9 years ago

npp/ndc are all the same. can npp prove that there no corruption in their 8 years government ? if in fact Mr. rawlings did not accept democracy Ghana wouldn't be what are seeing today. we would be still fighting today like Eg ...

• Aikins 9 years ago

That is why we should give Nana a chance.He is not corrupt

• kaketonti 9 years ago

Better emulate the Late OSAGYEFO DR KWAME NKRUMAH.Every policy and decision making was clair.But you nation destroyers collided with foreign enterprise and retarded our socio-economic advancement.See thief K4 for your gold ch ...

• Nana Nua 9 years ago

We need a better phot of Nana. As for this one die, I beg oooooo

• Aikins 9 years ago

Forget about photo, what is important is he becoming our next president. NANA ADDO DANQUAH AKUFO ADDO is 10 thousand times wiser than mahama and has Ghana at heart than that corrupt man called mahama president

• Majesty 9 years ago

Some Ghanaians are shallow minded. How did you come to that conclusion?

• kwomo 9 years ago

Leadership is not beauty contest!!

• ZABS BOY 9 years ago

where is the drill ship money. you sold the drill ship, but the proceeds have never been accounted for. do you think S. Korea achieve the development with this kind of bogus life your grandparents have done to Ghana. Like you ...

• Me 9 years ago

this is a mere political talk to woe the fools. How can a man change the behavior of Ghanaians who always seek to cut corners to become rich overnight. People who are taught to be corrupt right from toddler years. People who ...

• Joe Moore 9 years ago

npp/ndc are all the same. can npp prove that there no corruption in their 8 years government ? if in fact Mr. rawlings did not accept democracy Ghana wouldn't be what we are seeing today. we would be still fighting today like ...

• Otubuah Siaw - Sappore 9 years ago

Akuffo Addo should stop lying to us. He can never lead this nation like South Korea. Why? 1, This shows this man has no original home grown plan for Ghana .
    2. Ghana was doing better than South Korea when his predecessors D ...

• Kojo T 9 years ago

God bless you for your wisdom

• osei yaw - london 9 years ago

This Akyem Akufo Ado is for South Korea and i Ashanti Osei Yaw is for North Korea; does this matter?; not a jot; for, both of us are being nonsensical; but i'm helping this pretentious Akyem Akufo Ado to look stupid

• Ibn Batuta 9 years ago

If wishes were horses,beggars might ride.

• Alhassan Mohammed Taju Deen 9 years ago

how can you emulate south Korean's when Ghana situation now need a lot of commitment and corporation from all and sundry which your own people fail understand. Because GHANA is going through transformation now which would hel ...

• KANAWU 9 years ago

TO ALL YOU HATERS: AIM HIGH. IF WE GET 10% NEAR SOUTH KOREA, IT WILL BE BETTER THAN BREEDING "NKOMFEM" IN BURKINA FASO. Y'ALL TALK ABOUT AGRIC AND FARMING, GOOD, BUT HOW MUCH LAND DOES OUR COUNTRY HAVE? WE NEED INDUSTRIALISAT ...

• Bawku Naaba 9 years ago

Lies, talk is cheap show us a single regional hospital you and your government built in eight years you been in power, show us one low cost housing your governent compleated, show us any public university you put up, show us ...

• emmanuel asore avoka,garu 9 years ago

nana addo has great things in mind for this country.i know ghanaian's will regret after 2016 after he starts the transformation that all along we have left the great thinker and gone for incompetent persons to mare ghana's im ...

• Kodjo 9 years ago

How can a septuagenarian transform anything? He has already had 7 decades to do something transformational. What has he done??? NADA!!!

• zaks 9 years ago

kusasi u r idiot y is it dat some of northerns das nt wanna c anytin wrong wid dis corrupt mahama administration dis guy is enriching his family members yet whn people wanna talk abt dis corrupt president guys like kusasi is ...

• Aziz 9 years ago

Wait until you are elected and sworn in as president. Do you have conscious at all.

• Cabo 9 years ago

Akufo Addo is a sickler , kwasia go n treat urself

• FAKE PASTORS - NO SCIENTIST 9 years ago

GHANA CAN NEVER MOVE FORWARD AS GREAT NATION TILL WE CHANGE OUR EDUCATION SYSTERM . S.KOREA , FINLAND , GERAMANY , CHINA , RUSSIA , NORWAY , HOLLAND , ITALY , DENMARK AND IRAN DO USED THEIR OWN LANGUAGE IN SCHOOL NOT ENGLISH ...

• MAHAMA LOOT ND SHARE 9 years ago

NANA ADDO THE WISE MAN,GHANA NEXT PREZ,NDC CAN CRY BLOOD,NANA ALL THE WAY PERIOD

• OMAN BAPA 9 years ago

NANA GHANA ANIDA WO SO,GOD HELP YOU,GHANA AND NPP

• Tina 9 years ago

Before your party came to power year 2000, you made ghanaians believe you are going to transform Ghana just like Malaysia. Now it's not Malaysia but south Korea. I don't blame you but most ghanaians have short memories. It ...

• Mac 9 years ago

Prior to the 2012 elections he promised to use the Brazil model to transform Ghana. Just last week he received the Japanese Ambassador and promised to transform Ghana using the Japanese model. Today he is in S. Korea and its ...

• Captein 9 years ago

Tomorrow there will be Thailand, oh sorry the Thailand happened already that was bringing drug dealers in Thailand to serve sentences in Ghana.
    Maybe by 2014 it will be India then during the elections it will be TAIWAN and ...

• ENYONAM 9 years ago

We look forward to that day when GHANA
    will be truly transformed with a modernized economy.This is needed in Black Africa now .Nana we await your presidency in earnest

• Ugly Akufo Addo 9 years ago

Akufo Addo mother gave birth to him out of marriage

• sikdo 9 years ago

U.arr.from.stone.God.punish.u.and.u.family.God.no.u.

• Adelayita Mathias 9 years ago

Nana Addo not bastard but rather JJ is 100 percent one!!!!!!!

• Mohammed Nassamu A.B 9 years ago

Nana your farther and busia has already destroy the country with thier develish ideas.they are the reason why we are facing power problem now.we don't need you gbaaam.

• OBIA DIE MIENU MIENU 9 years ago

YOU CANT PROMISE USA OR NORWAY MODEL, YOU AND YOUR LARGE RETINUE OF TOO KNOWN, THIEF COUSINS, NIECES, NEPHEWS BLAH BLAH WILL NEVER TASTE CANAAN. 3RD CLASS GRADUATE, DUBIOUS LAW CREDENTIALS, LOCAL ACCRA LAWYER, WHAT IS SPECIAL ...

• AK48 9 years ago

Grandpa Addo must retire and give young leaders the chance to lead NPP

• Patriot 9 years ago

Nana be honest and tell Ghanaians how south Korea started its path to economic transformation.It all started under a one man dictatorship which deprived South Koreans even to privately possess foreign currencies.The economy w ...

Pause and reflect on the Idiotic statement made by Nana Addo in South Korea .Park Chung Hee, was a dictator who ruled from 1962 -1979 and set South Korea on an industrial footing.Any different from the path Nkrumah set for Gh ...

• G. K. Berko 9 years ago

We may not be able to emulate the Asian Economic miracle without resorting to stringent Political will and tough moral or legal adherence.

The four pillars of Singaporean anti-corruption program, dating way back to the Na ...

• MARCUS AMPADU 9 years ago

I hope Mahama, Akufo Addo, the other political parties and their supporters understand the spirit of what you are saying about the achievements of the Asian tigers.

Without a doubt the weltanschgen of the oriental people a ...

• Kojo 9 years ago

Hello Marcus,
    I am really enjoying your brain... But guess what... 80 years ago, nobody thought the miracle of Asia was possible... The West had developed beautiful cities and working economies while Asia was in abject pove ...

• Kojo 9 years ago

Hello GK,

You have done a brilliant job on your piece...So the question is whether Akufo Addo can emulate South Korea...?

I am in China now and I jumped at my laptop when I saw the story.

Indeed, I have been saying ...

• freddie 9 years ago

Can unproductive hopelessly lazy ghanaians, who always want to reap what they haven't sowed yet emulate hard working south koreans. And can that non acheaver like akufo addo do what he is saying?

• Slayve, DC 9 years ago

What won't any crafty politician say to a host? Nana was only being natural, no real substance in what he said. The South Koreans know this for they have and continue to play that game better than Nana ever thought. So shut u ...

• BULLET 9 years ago

Dream your own dream and stop dreaming somebody,s dream...massa have your own vision..

• nii 9 years ago

Do U have your own ideas???

• james 9 years ago

8 months loss of productivity and therefore contributing in no small measure to present economic difficulties

• chemistry 9 years ago

see his face like chaco condem all die be die is still in your mind

• bright 9 years ago

I don't think he has something to offer mother Ghana he has been in politics for his whole life so why now. Time to look after your grandchildren .

• Justine 9 years ago

This represents a complete lack of basic knowledge of South Korean economic history. Korea pillions on American capital and direct political fostering following the Korean war and the splitting of the peninsula into communist ...

• MD 9 years ago

This is to you another poli-trick-cian an Africa black-man, Nana Akufo Addo Danquah. Dismount your Don Quixote horse of somnambulist, to the India Jubilee House of powers of mirage. Shall you not wake up to the virtue of self ...

• Nii 9 years ago

Go and tell that to the Dogs

• samuel boateng owusu 9 years ago

Ghana need this men

• samuel boateng owusu 9 years ago

nana we need you

The verdict of the SC on the 2012 election petition was NEVER a 5-4 split decision!
    Each of all 6 counts was dismissed by majority decision - varying from 5-4 to 9-0 - which legally means the same thing. Nana Addo cannot be ...

• Nana Antwi 9 years ago

TVET Education will follow German model, Economic Transformation will follow South Korean model. Now is the time to hear from our so-called Political Party Leaders whether they really have a good grasp of what it took Germany ...

• Okponglo Guy 9 years ago

That is the clear observation when you listen or read any comment by an NDC partisan. They detest democracy.

• BOY KOFI 9 years ago

Nana Addo can talk of policies he intends to put in place if elected but there is no way to talk of my govt.Thank you.

• Osei Yao 9 years ago

GHANAIANS ARE IN FOR ANOTHER IMITATION POLITICS UNER AKUFFO ADDO. SOUTH KOREA WAS AMERICAN CREATION DURING THE COLD WAR. THEIR ECONOMY IS FUELLED BY 30,000 US SOLDIERS STATIONED THERE. IS NANA ADDO PLANING OF STATIONING US TR ...

I find it very interesting that Akufo-Addo is now eyeing Seoul for the model of Economic Development that he would apply to our Nation, should he be elected the next President of Ghana.

Long before now, it has always been ...

• Captein 9 years ago

I debunked the the Singapore model in Akufo Addo's face as a returning professional from East Africa during an Accra meeting in 2000 everyone heard me loud and clear. Luckily, NPP won elections and by the time they were leav ...

• MARCUS AMPADU 9 years ago

You would have to contend with our culture, our laziness versus their hardwork ethic, lack of maintenance predisposition, and our weak institutions.

The cultural matrix is very important, Mr. Akufu Addo.

You are right, Marcus. Our deep-seated Corruption, of which nepotism and cronyism are integral parts, would have to be effectively controlled before we can ensure any significant sustainable growth. And I seriously doubt that ...

• Abeeku Mensah 9 years ago

What was CPP's Kwame Nkrumah trying to do for and with Ghana when the party that gave rise to NPP conspired to have him overthrown? There are those who will accuse him of being a dictator then and now who shamelessly, however ...

• ob 9 years ago

It's time to call him president Nana Addo because mahama has totally failed.

• Nii Adjetey 9 years ago

Ghanaians our attitude retrogress us

• Kwesi 9 years ago

Nana is just a big time dreamer.NPP has no track record for infrastructure development in Ghana. They are good at looting Government lands and sharing Ghana Airways property among themselves, and selling government bungalows ...

• DANJUMAH DAO 9 years ago

Akufo-Addo,please you are still hunted with western Imperialist ideas.
    Go back to baisics, our roots [Sankofa] ,Nkumaism .
    Our Makola women can even help us solve our problems.
    Long live Ghana

• Fuseini pong-Tamale 9 years ago

Akufo Ado our prayers always with you in shaa Alah 2016 is yours.all our dreams will come true

• Ganyo 9 years ago

We would have been there and better if your crooked forebears had not out of personal greed engineered the overthrow of Dr. Nkrumah. How do you hope to attain such when in eight years you and the people you represent could no ...

• Mama Amma 9 years ago

We've heard this before. Last time it was Malaysia who apparently gained their independence almost same time as Ghana now you have shifted. I wonder why?

• Lord Tennison 9 years ago

From a per capita income of $80.00 to $8,000.00 is worthy of emulation.It was $33440 last year,comparable to the average in the United States.What an incredible success story?
    This astronomical jump was made possible by bril ...

• Abbas, london 9 years ago

GRAVE GOVERNMENT

• Paa Joe 9 years ago

ECONOMIC TRANSFORMATION CAN ONLY BE ACHIEVED BY THE QUALITY SKILLED FORCE OF GHANAIANS,IN THE TECHNOLGY, TECHNICAL-KNOW-HOW AND SCIENTIFIC INNOVATION.

KNOW WHAT YOU PREACH.

• YUSSIF YAKUBU 9 years ago

God bless u nana u.

• HAMAMA 9 years ago

It is time to elect a leader that will spread the wealth, instead of hoardind the wealth to their part while the rest lives in abject poverty.
    It is time for Nana Akufo-Addo and Dr. Bawumia.

• Asanteman 9 years ago

Akuffo Addo is aiming at instituting an Akyem dynasty in Ghana and that is not going to work. Foreign diplomats will never pay homage to Okyenhene.

• paa 9 years ago

why for 8 years in power u did not emulate ghana;

• NOBODY 9 years ago

Talk talk and more talk, but not an ounce of vision when it comes to Akufo-Addo. South Korea did not achieve its economic and political suvccess on its own sleeves. South Korea was built by the American taxpayer, and that st ...

• Captein 9 years ago

Ghana I am afraid cannot emulate South Korea because Ghanaians and S. Koreans are not the same. This is just talk.
    For economic transformation to occur in Ghana we need to be ready to descend or stoop low, be humble first cl ...