You are here: HomeNews2014 11 20Article 335867

Block revenue leakages instead of imposing more taxes – Economist

Read Comments Comments (27)

• WOW!! 9 years ago

"NDC ALL THE WAY!!!!

• Hello 9 years ago

Prof, have you taught your students how to block the leakages? Always pontificating. We are where we are because of the type of graduates you have turned out.

• Mahmoud 9 years ago

Being in power for six years with high commodity prices including the newly found oil, and after recklessly borrowing more than 60% of the GDP or $27bn in six years for dubious contracts and useless "oil curse" expenses, forc ...

• ROYAL SIKAMAN 9 years ago

My country men and women kindly shine your eyes when voting because John Dracula Mahama government is not good for us. THIS MAHAMA NARCOTIC DISTRIBUTION COMPANY (NDC) is a curse and disgrace to Mother Ghana.

• Nyatorpke 9 years ago

The govt, can raise more revenue by exporting more coke and Ntampi instead of imposing taxes on the poor souls.
    only dont divert the money into your private pockets.

• MENSA 9 years ago

WHAT GHANA NEED NOW IS ARAB SPRING THAT IS THE ONLY WAY THE FOOLISH MAHAMA WILL START LISTING TO THE PEOPLE SUFFRING UNDER HIS VOODOO ECONOMIC PLANS THAT ARE DESTROYING GHANA

• KING LOMOTEY 9 years ago

Don't discourage the payment of taxes Prof. Kusi. Kindly propose a new tax policy to increase the payment of taxes in the country.

Why is it that practically all the Akan professors are anti-Mahama?

• Lorgo Ligri 9 years ago

Offer a view and you're anti Mahama. Keep to your view and you're not helping. Now it's practically all Akan professors are anti Mahama even though many are NDC. Ooo ho Ghanafuor, let's be real for once and stop labeling indi ...

• KWABENA OHEMENG,LONDON 9 years ago

What makes Professor Kusi anti-Mahama?Suggesting to the government that it should block revenue leakages to enhance higher revenue collection?Why is it that issues affecting the nation are always discussed along tribal lines? ...

• Banza Yaro 9 years ago

Some people are so tribal to the point where even if you cough,-excuse me Ayariga-they will swear it's a tribal cough.

• Ugly Akufo Addo 9 years ago

He is a son of a pig

• The African Nationalist 9 years ago

Prof, we can do both. Block leakages and impose taxes where due.It is high time Government stopped giving Things to Ghanaians on a silver platter.

• MANTSE 9 years ago

"Everybody knows the leakages from customs, the leakages from the bonded warehousing facilities, the leakages from transit goods, the leakages from under declaration of imports, the leakages in auctioning of confiscated impor ...

• KAKABO 9 years ago

I am no economist. However this much I know that there is nowhere on this planet that the state has successfully taxed the people into prosperity. Not a single example is avilable. So can Ghanna be the first country to tax it ...

• ALIMI YAO 9 years ago

Go to the Scandinavian countries, especially Sweden. Their citizens pay higher taxes and every year they are voted the best places to live.

• GHANANI. 9 years ago

The government should also look at examining all the allowances paid to government workers and stop the payment of those which are outmoded and unnecessary.Are government workers living in government bungalows etc paying ren ...

• ama 9 years ago

Blockage of leakages is the SUREST SOLUTION. THE PRESIDENT SHOULD FIND WAYS AND MEANS TO BLOCK ALL LEAKAGES IT WILL HELP THE CORRUPTION IN THE INSTITUTIONS IN THE COUNTRY. The government monies are now with the individuals. G ...

• Jay london 9 years ago

With NDC it does not matter how much Ghana makes for the number of NDC folks who feed on the STATE is nummerous ranging from Asiedu, Ablakwa, Mensah Nunoo, to the Oga himself Mahama.

NDC National Destructive Criminals

• dani 9 years ago

HE IS TOO BUSY BUILDING HOTELS AT THE UAE

• Abeeku Mensah 9 years ago

Imagine this coming from a Ghanaian intellectual elite who has known about the tax leakage for over 3 decades but had an epiphany of late.
    Ghana was the Gold Coast before Gold Coast became popular in Australia. So for decad ...

• bulinga 9 years ago

massa if u have nothing to say on this platform better shut up nd stop saying akkufu addo is stupid.Ghanaians are not moved by yur such stupidities any more.talk about issues wai. BOLABOY big fool.

• BOY KOFI 9 years ago

There are only 2 ways possible for govt. to collect taxes.The first one comes from the "formal sector" that comprises of public and private workers.The second one comes from "informal sector" where owners of such commercial a ...

• adacanaen. 9 years ago

It would help his Govt

• Prof. Appiah, USA 9 years ago

Even the US has less than 15 ministers and no deputy ministers. Ghana has about 86 ministers including two or three deputy ministers in one portfolio. Each minister is paid 1000s of GHC, drives 2 or more V8 cars with paid dri ...

• KWAA 9 years ago

The Scandinavian Governments provide it's people the necessary amenities with the taxes they collect from their people,so the people are happy to work and pay taxes.Tell how many jobs have this Government created with all the ...

• GHANANI 9 years ago

It is because Scandinavians pay their taxes and do not steal monies belonging to the state.Their government therefore has enough money to provide them with all the amenities they need.If Ghanaians will pay all their taxes,sto ...

• Moses 9 years ago

You are right sir. lt takes wisdom to rule not taxes. In the bible King Solomon never taxed his pepole.
    he applied wisdom in all areas that made his successfull and rich.
    Lord please bless our leaders with wisdom.