You are here: HomeNews2014 11 17Article 335308

No more universities in Accra, K’si and T’di – Gov’t

Read Comments Comments (40)

• Toudy 9 years ago

That is a very useful order. Government must also check the use of farm land for estate development

• YAWVI 9 years ago

SITE THEM IN VOLTA VILLAGES

• DAVI 9 years ago

The baby with Sharp teeth should use his stolen money to develop his Region and STOP buying Patrol stations and properties in Accra.

• SARPONG 9 years ago

Stupid policy. The government should start this decentralization policy instead of forcing private investors in telling them where to invest.

Look at all the roads and overhead bridges being built in Accra. 80 percent of a ...

• LARYEAH 9 years ago

THIS SILLY MAMAHA WAS TELLING PEOPLE TO BUY GHANA, WHILES HIS NDC LED PARLIAMENT WAS BUYING FROM CHINA. NOW THE SAME GOVERMENT IS TELLING US ANOTHER IMPOSSIBLE STORY. SARPONG, YOUR ARE ALWAYS ON THE SPOT ON. WE NEED PEOPLE LI ...

• CORNEY 9 years ago

Sarpong,keeping everything in these 3 towns is the reason why everybody wants to live in these places making life difficult for those who are already there.
    The government gives license to people to invest in the country,the ...

• Paa Kwasi Thomas 9 years ago

Afua Sarpong, you are correct. That is why people are swept away whenever it rains in Accra.

• Ghfuo: Be Ruthless, hang nyantakyi, N 9 years ago

I don't understand why the govt is making it possible for these private entities to get involved in tertiary education. Foolish! If you want to partner the govt in building universities, poly/training colleges in others regio ...

• Foreigner 9 years ago

The government can decide to place their own sponsored tertiary level institutions away from Accra but why force the private sector to do so? It's like the government forcing Shoprite to build their next store in the bush, 2 ...

• Boateng 9 years ago

I do not think the Government is forcing anyone. If it becomes an Act of Parliament then that is it. People can then decide if they want to build those institutions near my village so my village can also benefit from the ...

Establishmnet of private universities is an investment. Why should government determine where someone invests his money? The primary motive of establishing a private university by most investors is to make profit not to devel ...

why western region with on one university at Tarkwa?

• ghanaman 9 years ago

The government must consider the use of incentives to encourage location of universities in areas other than Greater Accra, Ashanti and Western regions.

• ESI MANSA 9 years ago

There is no university in Takoradi,Ablakwa.

• Muscatela 9 years ago

Ghana Technology University College (GTUC) at Windy Ridge.

• OMANBA 9 years ago

If you want a cheap first and second class upper degrees come to Ghana..What is Ghana Technology University College? Rubbish!!!!

• anna 9 years ago

stupid talk do what is necessary

• Boateng 9 years ago

That is heads up, my friend.

• kk 9 years ago

They are doing business in A FREE MARKET ECONOMY.It is up to goverment to stop choping state money and create value in education. Ablakwa and co must think well.

• Boateng 9 years ago

A free market economy with some direction. Over population and concerntration creates pressure on those cities and the inhabitants of the people and the Government.

This is part of economic planning, it must not stop wit ...

• Issa NR 9 years ago

What is wrong with this boy check facts before coming out NO UNIVERSITY IN T' DI

• Pappa 9 years ago

Move MOE to Wa, ACGD to Kumasi etc etc. Relocate the department of Sociology and Political Science of the UG to Bolga and see how development would come

• avor 9 years ago

Yes I think for once you got it right. Push that policy through and also ensure that business programmes are not over duplicated. They should consider the applied sciences. Don't attempt to change the polytechnics into techn ...

• Ogbomosho King Kong 9 years ago

For once govt has put on the thinking cup.
    However 2 points need to be made clear.
    Govt should still kee an eye and not leave education in the hands of businessmen as commercialisation of education can be suicidal for the ...

• Joe Turkey 9 years ago

The government should, as a matter of urgency, stop ministers and government officials from posting official documents, messages and responses on their Facebook walls. This is nonsense. Facebook is a social media and must be ...

• akos 9 years ago

It is because you don't vision to create job for the youth of Ghana. The problem is not private universities that are causing unemployment, but because you people who are in power are visionless.

• ASEM 9 years ago

GOOD, YOU SHOULD DECENTRALIZE THE GOVT AND THE DEVELOPMENT OF THE COUNTRY TOO. EVERYTHING IS FIRST SENT TO ACCRA FIRST.

• Ibn Batuta 9 years ago

If the hinterlands lack reliable water supply, electricity and hospitals why should major institutions be sited there. This kind of ad hoc thinking is the bane of development in most developing nations. The government must fi ...

• Dick 9 years ago

This is a piece of wise thinking.
    Where in Accra could a new university be built. The city is ill-planned,.too congested, and dirty.

• Truth 9 years ago

Universisities are located where there are available infrastructure and basic ammenities and must be accessible etc. So the idea is childish. Rather there must be a wholesale moratorioum on these "high schools" parading as un ...

• NOBLE MAN 9 years ago

DON'T GO THIS WAY IS A BAD MOVE, RATHER GOVERNMENT SHOULD NEUTRALISED IT BY SET UP SOME IN THE DEPRIVE REGIONS

Much as I think there may be too many substandard univerisities in Accra, I don't think it the business of government to tell an enterpreneur where to site his school. If a school is sited some where and it is not protifitabl ...

• Sam 9 years ago

It's not government's business determining where private universities be sited. An investor has the right to site his business anywhere. Mahamah are you serious?

• Paa Joe 9 years ago

HAVE THE MANY UNIVERSITIES IN GHANA MADE A ''DENT'''TO THE SOCIOECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT OF GHANA.

GRADUATES PAST AND PRESENT HAVE ONLY LOOKED TO THE GOVERNMENT TO CATER FOR THEM.

• Dr Robert K Glah 9 years ago

Gov duty to create enabling environment for private investors in both the city and rural areas.

Laize faire, based on Gov regulation of the private sector for the benefit of development, is good for all.

Right move! Gov ...

• OMANBA 9 years ago

We have too many universities in Ghana and it is high time some of them are closed down.Some of the varisities are just money-making institutions for their owners.And where are the job avenues for these conveyor belt graduate ...

• Pusiga Naaba 9 years ago

Stupidity abounds.Listen up, a private institution should and must be set up where the founders decide viable and not decided by the govt. What has the govt. done to decentralise things in GHana, Every thing is congregated in ...

• Kwame 9 years ago

This is bull shit. An investor cannot be pushed where to put his investment!!!

• ASSINMAN BA, COLUMBUS, OHIO 9 years ago

Clueless Minister Ablakwa. Can you please tell me the location of university at Takoradi? otwe!

• the lone crudader 9 years ago

This is long overdued if we have visionious leaders not only thinking of elections their party and their bellies but ghana