You are here: HomeNews2014 11 07Article 333820

Judge decries poor leadership in Ghana

Read Comments Comments (66)

• Ghanaman 9 years ago

She won't talk about that. How about the corrupt CJ?

• Obed Adore 9 years ago

You are very right and keenly observant. Ask again! We have heard of litigants paying private visits to judges handling their cases just to influence the outcome of the court cases. What about that?

• AyiOgladzo 9 years ago

Even a Fool can see OUR COUNTRY is SICK but nobody is WISE enough and BRAVE enough to administer THE CURE!!! All the leaders are BANZA, Stomach POLITICIANS!! They REAP where they DON'T sow. The Results? INDISCIPLINE, CORRUPTI ...

• MARY 9 years ago

What have u done in your own field,
    Corrupt.

• Corruption 9 years ago

Leadership definition, according to Mahama is by STEALING, MASSIVE CORRUPTION

• Asem Beba Dabi 9 years ago

Have you talked to Atuguba and Betty Mould?

• ABDUL 9 years ago

She is right by affirming to the fact that corruption is not only found in high places and even went in further to pinpoint areas where and how corruption is practiced. But why couldn't she tell us exactly how corruption is p ...

• nana 9 years ago

Change start from somewhere. This lady has made a valid points. We need to sit down to exam all her points one-by-one to affect positive change. After all, we will die and leave all assets behind. Thank you

• Dr. Akpanga 9 years ago

Couldn't agree with you more, madam. It's all about leadership, at all levels: community, local council, district, regional & national! It's thoroughly rotten at every level. The smallest unit of leadership copies the biggest ...

• Aikins 9 years ago

Blame Atuguba

• joe 9 years ago

prove it.dont tarnish peoples reputation without any substantial evidents no wonder you call yourself Ghanaman.

• Close Observer 9 years ago

Pause and reflect on what influence your decision on who you vote for. If your decision is influenced by the APPEARANCE of a candidate and not his/her COMPETENCE, you are a FOOLISH VOTER. If you are someone who is fond of exc ...

• The 9 years ago

We definitely need a crusade on educating Ghanaians about voting. The only way Ghana can turn around again is for us voters to vote wisely. If we do so it will discourage what we see currently;
    1. Competition for character a ...

• Pusiga Naaba 9 years ago

Oh yes, come election time a truckload of bicycles is sent to the north for distribution, cell phones are handed out, mats, hoes , cutlass, wellington boots,flashlights you name it are handed out to buy votes. When you take t ...

• Close Observer 9 years ago

Thank you for understanding my position. We can reverse the bad trend with a strong positive 'crusade'. Thank God for a powerful social media. Let's voice out and take photograph of any negative happening and expose the bad g ...

• kwasi kyei baffour 9 years ago

By comparing ghana to singapore is just like comparing oranges to apples.people in singapore are not africans ,but do not forget that those in ghana are africans.

• mensah abrampa 9 years ago

Being African has nothing to do with the spate of corruption in our nations. It's the nature of all men to be influenced by corruption but it can be brought under control if there are stiffer penalties against those convicte ...

• Lord Tennison 9 years ago

That is excellent.You have hit the nail on the head.
    One of the wonders of the world is Africa swimming in superfluous human and natural resources but wallowing in abject poverty.

• Ada Boy 9 years ago

How timely one of our very own calling our spade a spade? All 57 years of heartbreak and the nation's leadership clown around in unending circus.I cant see any change on the horizon come 2015,the same old mindset and mediocri ...

• Ada Boy 9 years ago

How timely one of our very own calling our spade a spade? All 57 years of heartbreak and the nation's leadership clown around in unending circus.I cant see any change on the horizon come 2015,the same old mindset and mediocri ...

• Birry Wade 9 years ago

Judge Torkornoo, you have hit the nail at the right point and thanks for the points you raised. Objective people will take the points you raised in good faith and change their ways. Thanks Judge.

• GhanaMan 9 years ago

As much as I agreed with you madam your examples are con men. conning the poor Ghanaians.

• the lone crudader 9 years ago

Maame le why waited till this time man is born to die oneday whatso ever

• Togbe K. Agbenyo 9 years ago

Madam Judge you hit the nail right on the head. Am commenting from North- America. The entire Nation and the Continent needs a radical reforms, beginning with the MINDSET of the people. I done studies on Israel, South- Korea, ...

• MARY 9 years ago

It she a man or a woman look at the ugly face

• Concerned 9 years ago

This woman seems to have offended you. But like they say, who the cup fits, let them wear it. Ghana is not being led property that's why we have all our current problems. And as for her looks, anyone with class can see the ju ...

• Togbe K. Agbenyo 9 years ago

Madam Judge you hit the nail right on the head. Am commenting from North- America. The entire Nation and the Continent needs a radical reforms, beginning with the MINDSET of the people. I have done studies on Israel, South- K ...

• HAZOR 9 years ago

The news is that the president claim to Christian and worship God and claim God annointed him to rule Ghana and steal at that belong to Ghana which God has not intruct him to do to disgrace God that annoint him to president ...

• barimaba,new yrk 9 years ago

you hit the ail on the head .thanksgirl

• Lopez 9 years ago

Brave woman may God bless you for speaking out. I know the NDC gangster will be drawing their dagger after you and say all sorts things about you. All these corruptions going on is because of lack of effective leadership in t ...

• DePureOne 9 years ago

You did poor comparison. Those you are commending for good leadership extorted money from the poor ignorant to build a lavish lifestyles for themselves. Built colleges using money from the poor but none of the children of the ...

• Yarchoe 9 years ago

I agree with you 100%. The judges comparison is a poor one The churches are also part of the problem. The pastors extort money from these poor people and then preach prosperity to them because they know that is what the chu ...

• All die be die Bubum Rawlings 9 years ago

Mice in castle steal contract money, Mice in church steal tithe and offerings, mice in schools steal school grants and books, mice everywhere steal from everywhere. Does Ghana really need independent? Common toothpick is bein ...

• mr amin 9 years ago

this country we are having leaderdhip crises. children at the helm of affairs pls vote them out. CRYING BABIES.

• Roger 9 years ago

And if a judge. .........., it's surely corruption

• kwami ninson 9 years ago

Comparing Singapore and Ghana brought out exactly the failure of most African leaders, I made this comparison to some friends of mine from Bostwana in 1996 and they thought I was crazy.

• Obournana 9 years ago

If your colleagues collude with the attorney General's department staff to dupe Ghana, what do you expect? If judges are the most corrupt institution in the country, what will happen? It is not about leadership rather, the ch ...

• Honest Tony 9 years ago

This lady is not serious. Try to work hard and stop taking money before you judge. You applaud pastors who insulted our president. Stop the hypocrisy. I think you attend this mafia churches. Shame

• Kofi Thomas, Cape Coast 9 years ago

All that you are saying falls back to denial of justice in the country. Somebody steals a chicken and the person is jailed. A politician steals millions from the public is pardoned. Why can't you educate the public about thei ...

• dede 9 years ago

Great Woman

• Omanhene 9 years ago

Gh needs women like the judge. Well spoken.

• Brainy Guy. 9 years ago

Ms. Torkonoo for President 2016.

• Kofi Thomas, Cape Coast 9 years ago

The education system in Ghana is hopeless and does not meet national interest, but I blame Ghanaians many of whom do not read and reach and only spend time talking. The JSS and SSS systems are hopeless. Well, it's simple: if ...

• DR KUFFOUR 9 years ago

If only she and her fellow judges were not taking bribes, then Ghana wopuld not be what she says it is today.

• summy addo 9 years ago

ILLEGAL SCALE ADJUSTMENT IN COCOA SECTOR IS A PAIN IN THE HEART OF COCOA FARMERS. PURCHASING CLERKS AND THEIR DOs MUST STOP THIS ILLEGAL PRACTICE

• Ossom 9 years ago

Pretenders.

• boakye prempeh 9 years ago

oh ohemaa wakasa

• EFO KOKU 9 years ago

Those baby information ministers will come after this pretty lady soon. For them Ghana would not exist had it not been for useless Mahama.

• Tina 9 years ago

Well said. Please clean your house first. Our judges and lawyers are the most corrupt. How can a fast track court seat on case for six or one year. How fast is it ?. When they give you the chance to talk, what comes out ...

• Failed Government 9 years ago

If SO-CALLED JUSTICE ATUGUBA and other JUSTICES of the SUPREME COURT of GHANA can take only five minutes to dismiss a constitutional issue, COULD YOU NOT HAVE DESCRIBED IT AS CORRUPTION?

It seems, Gertrude: you were scare ...

• Tina 9 years ago

Stop comparing Ghana to Singapore. Remember ghanaians are black and blacks only read books but do not think. Black's always copy blindly and accept any filthy things given to them. Black man is greedy. Remember Singapore ...

• BOY KOFI 9 years ago

Leadership is a civil responsibility,social responsibilty and moral uprightness.It has nothing to do with presidents,it's about everybody.You might be a leader at school,in your family,at church or working place and even in g ...

• Pastor Josiah 9 years ago

Lady Judge you really made my day.

• KWAME KWAME 9 years ago

THE WORLD WILL BE A BETTER PLACE IF WE PUT MORE WOMEN AS LEADERS OF SOCIETY. AFTER ALL, GOD MADE WOMEN WISER THAN MEN. MADAM YOU EXEMPLFY TRUE GOD'S CREATION. YOU HAVE UNDERSCORED PERFECTLY THE REALLY SICKNESS IN OUR COUNT ...

• Papa yaw 9 years ago

Yes

• Paa Kwesi 9 years ago

Madam, Pls you got it right! Ghana is waiting for the First Woman President to change this negative trend of governance and leadership.

• Shaz Aku 9 years ago

Leadership applies to all of us. if you cannot clean your compound in front of your house and then say that the county is dirty and you blame govrnment what is your use as a citizen. Judges are also part of the governing st ...

• BBBrown 9 years ago

A Ghanaian appeal court judge decries poor leadership that leads to corruption and others but left out the role of the legal fraternity to the loss of gargantuan judgment debt corruptions in the country. Strange world.

• AB 9 years ago

Are you not a leader too? Chronicle don't think that the pointer is to those in govt alone. As an editor are you not a leader in your organization? We should all be responsible and this country will move on.

• Nana London 9 years ago

There has been a great advance in opening up education for women especially who eventually become Judges, Ministers, High Civil Servants and Terrible house wives.

• The mask 9 years ago

The Bank of Ghana (BOG) has no Eastern Regional headoffice. The BOG must ask for land from the King of Akyem (Okyehene) to construct this building. I don´t believe that the BOG has accurate data on the economic activity in t ...

• Opemsuo 9 years ago

It is obvious that the Black Race needs to Evolve into a higher being's. There must be a shift of consciousness. We are not just good enough as we are now. Believe it or not. The truth hurts but must be told

• Pusiga Naaba 9 years ago

Justice Gertrude, the foremost qualities of a visionsry good leader is "Truth", and the way you speak and project yourself makes me think you are a good judge. And you are right, Ghana has been hijacked by rogues for so long, ...

• kwam 9 years ago

In fact you have hit the nail right on the head, we must all do our part as leaders wherever we find ourselves to move the country forward, if Singapore has done it, why can't we do same? our problem is the greed.

• king 9 years ago

Hmmmm May almighty God fight for we de innocent,eiii wat is going on our leaders,instead of right they will be telling us left,buh mad fight for those whom b,cos they poor u people put dem to prisons, n u ppls leave de rich m ...

• Dan Buduh 9 years ago

Well spoken Madam. Oh how I wish you establied a Transformational Leadership Training Centre and begin coaching a new breed of Ghanaian and African leaders.

I love the dimensions if corruption that you provided. This is e ...