You are here: HomeNews2014 11 06Article 333650

Spio slams Parliament over “China furniture”

Read Comments Comments (88)

• kobby 9 years ago

very true minister...dey must set an example by patronizing in made in ghana products....hmmmmm

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 9 years ago

These are the kind of ministers that Ghana needs but not the stomach ones. Criticize constructively.

• CORNEY 9 years ago

Frank,I like this guy but this one I disagree with him.
    There is no way we can have that furniture made in Ghana within that short period because our local artisans will have to import the raw materials from places like Chin ...

• The 9 years ago

Just because of the 'noko-fioo' you are getting by vertue of the fact that your NDC is in power should not make you support or defend any thing at all. What do you mean by 'within that short period of time'? do you reason at ...

• Stand-up Comic 9 years ago

Who got chopped for the breaking sticks? Does the Minister have any authority at all?

• ZoRRo 9 years ago

You've been silent too long, seeing all the bad things happening. Don't let team D bring you down to their level; rather uplift them to your level with constructive criticism. It's typical in Ghana for good intellectuals to f ...

• Yaw Owusu Frimpong 9 years ago

Spio has said nothing new. It is all about corruption. In Chin, the quality of products you get depends on how much you are prepared to pay.

Please anyone concerned should look at how much it cost to buy the chairs and ho ...

• MenayeAFUAforiwa 9 years ago

Corney, you are sick in the head. These reconstructions was not planned only yesterday.

• Zoobie-Zoobie 9 years ago

DR. who?

They knew over a year ago that the parliament is going to be refurbished.

• Mike frm Ho. 9 years ago

For the sake of promotion of made in Ghana goods, can't the time be extended ? We are our own enemies. Listen to yourself.

• Concerned 9 years ago

Like Spio said a consortium of companies should have been used. As for the materials, it's wood, fabric such as cotton are readily available. The nails and glue can be imported. Leather can also be imported from other African ...

• @Corney 9 years ago

Crazy Corney, there's something called foresight or planning ahead. How long did it take them to realize they're going to need parliament refurbishment? Idiot like you are why we're suffering with corruption in Ghana. You mea ...

• David Ansah 9 years ago

Do you know the meaning of your name?.It means you are a fool.How can a young man like you carry such a name.

• coolman 9 years ago

Are we normal

• Kwakuvi 9 years ago

You people just jump into conversations without any critical analysis. The furniture cannot be imported without someone in authority giving the go ahead and ordering its payment . Who did that?

• Otsibu Darko 9 years ago

THE KALABULE MAN/WOMAN WHO IN COLLABORATION WITH THE CHINESE MANUFACTURERS DEMANDED 10% KICKBACK-THE MIDDLEMAN IS ONE OF THE VERY STUPID MP'S WE HAVE IN OUR PARLIAMENT WHO KNOWS NO SHAME-GREEDY BUFFOONS!

• Zoobie-Zoobie 9 years ago

FAKE

• VERY BAD.... 9 years ago

NAWWWWAAAAAAOOOOOO,,,,NDC

• Sasha 9 years ago

I agree on the use of made in Ghana goods

• Ghanaman 9 years ago

He should tell the truth. Is there a ban on furniture imports or not?

• Victor A. Young 9 years ago

This Parliament Furniture contract smacks of a dirty/rotten deal. Drag the culprits or criminals to court now, and give them their due sentences. It's time to set good examples!

Remove the Mahama-led NDC gov't from office in 2016 and all these things will be something of the past!

• TEE 9 years ago

PROUD OF. MAHAMA THE USELESS IDIOT FOOL

• TEE 9 years ago

This is a government that resorted to draconian measures, antithetical to principles of free trade, in an attempt to halt the precipitous fall of the perennially-embattled Ghanaian currency, the Cedi, against all major curren ...

• Kassim Assiru 9 years ago

Those involved knew what they were up to. From China the prices may be difficult to determined but if they were bought in Ghana the prices would be transparent.

• TEE 9 years ago

Those involved knew what they were up to. From China the prices may be difficult to determined but if they were bought in Ghana the prices would be transparent.

• Senior Wisdom 9 years ago

What a bunch of Nincompoops. Which western government would take such a stupid decision. You want to encourage business in Ghana and you trough money away to another country to boost it's economy. It really beats my imaginati ...

• ABONGO LOORO 9 years ago

individual are sending furnitures such as kitchen set and doors from europe to ghana to fix their home, but they want parliament to buy ghana made.

• VOICE OF REASON 9 years ago

And an insult to our collective intelligence.How could the drafrers of the constitution be so daft as to allow a sitting President choose EC chairman when he is.a cotesting candidate.......a recipe for rigging and abuse of in ...

• Dzaka K 9 years ago

Folks just last week or so the president was preaching that we should patronize made in Ghana goods. How do we believe in what this presidents says. It's all lies. I have said it so many times that, my dad once said any man w ...

You can't trust the NDC; they'll say something to people and turn around and do the opposite. That's what the NDC is noted for. Remember they Boateng-Gyan once urged NDC supporters to say: "it's red when it's really black and ...

• OMANBA 9 years ago

Ad you can't trust the NPP either.Thieves who sold state assets to themselves and became millionaires from Ghana's oil.

• ATO 9 years ago

ANY THING IS POSSIBLE. WOYOME? Possible. GYEEDA? Possible. SUBAH? Possible. EMBRAER INFLATED PRICE? possible. INFLATED SCHOOL BUILDING PRICE? Possible. CHINESE BILLIONS DOLLAR LOANS? Possible. THEREFORE CHINESE FANCIFUL TOYS ...

• Sammy 9 years ago

That is the "y'etie obia" policy in practice. Spio, that is what many of us have to live with every day.

• VOICE OF REASON 9 years ago

Be amended forthwith to THE PRESIDENT IN CONSULTATION WITH ALL OPPOSITION LEADERS appoint the EC chairman,and not ON THE ADVICE OF THE COUNCIL OF STATE.....what a load of baloney foisted on is !

• spyda 9 years ago

Patronizing made in Ghana goods will increase the economic growth of the country.heartless pple hu do not think of the future of te nation.

• Nii Joromi 9 years ago

These dogs in government are so disgusting they don't surprise me any longer with their stupid decisions. What a country!

• pascal 9 years ago

Everything from china and now mp's furniture. So no professional carpenter in the country to be given this contract.Our leaders should think fast.

• Osei kuffour 9 years ago

God will ask all the stomach politicains

• joojo2014 9 years ago

Ghana has the finest quality lumber (wood) in the world. The country also has some of the best wood workers (crafts people) in the world. Why would any sensible person bypass these rich natural & human resources & spend the c ...

• Angie 9 years ago

Wow, here's a country that keep crying 'broke' but somehow, politicians always able get funds to cater themselves. All this noise encouraging Ghanaians to buy 'made in Ghana' & yet, they can't even abide by their word & set a ...

• JH New York 9 years ago

You scored 97percent.keep it up.

• NAOMI AKPALINGA 9 years ago

Dear Mahama, you are a big fool. You and your stupid parliament even import furniture to sit on yet you expect Ghanians to produce goods and services. You are not with it, we will all import from china. Shameless idiots.

• nigger 9 years ago

There is no way developed country would import furniture to furnish its legistrature house. This shows how stupid blackman is. That is all

• John Mensah Obina 9 years ago

These MPs, you can't trust them. If the items are in their interest, they would agreed as an entity, but if its in the interest of the nation, they would device. I can't trust them.

• The mask 9 years ago

There are many fields where Ghana lacks the needed expertise. To solve this problem the government of Ghana has over the decades made scholarships available for the needed human resource to be trained abroad. In some cases so ...

• Saywhat 9 years ago

And what has this got to do with the article above?

• @@@@@@@@ 9 years ago

MEN AND CIVILIZED GHANAIANS ARE AT IDLE THEIR HANDS TIED BEHIND THEIR BACK WITH GUN IN THEIR HEADS AND ANIMALS ARE CONTROING GOD'S CHILDREN.

• DOME HOTEL 9 years ago

GHANA PALIAMENTARIANS HAVE AGAIN PROVEN TO BE JOKERS.WHAT IS THE MATTER WITH CHINA MADE FURNITURE AND GHANA FURNTURE.
    I WILL CHALLENGE ALL PALIAMENTARIANS TO CHECK THEIR TV,STEREOS FURNITURE AND GADGETS ADDING BEAUTY AND LUX ...

• Saywhat 9 years ago

And who's side are you on?

• @@@@@@@@ 9 years ago

TEACHERS, NURSES, ORDER CIVILIZED SERVANTS, HUMAN BEING PENSION ETC ARE NOT BEING PAID.AND THESE ANIMALS
    ARE SHAMELESSLY DECORATING WHERE THESE WORTHLESS BOTH NPP AND NDC ANIMALS AND TOILET CARRIERS MPS MEET.GOD DAMN THESE ...

• babs bkk 9 years ago

JUST TWO MONTH WILL NOT BE LONG WITH THESE CHINESE FAKE FURNITURE.

• DOME HOTEL2 9 years ago

YES WE HAVE TIMBER.BUT WE DO NOT KNOW HOW TO ADD VALUE TO OUR TIMBER.THAT IS WHY WHY WE ARE LACKING IN THE EXPORTATION OF FINISHED TIMBER PRODUCT.
    OUR FINISHING IS TOO,TOO POOR.
    DON'T TALK ABOUT GHANA MADE FURNITURE.
    I DON ...

• Soothsayer 9 years ago

Patronize local products, Ecowas, AU, and South-South Cooperation are now away from my mind. I can't withstand the "do what I say and not I do".This is exactly what the pigs were doing in ANIMAL FARM. Read this book again. Fr ...

• OsofoKoo 9 years ago

China is Ghana's post-colonial masters. I am not sure if we can ever sever ourselves from the dominance of developed nations. China should not have unfair advantage over the motherland. Well said, Hon Spio

• Marcus garvey 9 years ago

Why wouldn't the chinaman take over,first the British,then Lebanese,now Chinese and Indian.

It's painful that Ghanians always talk tough from their Arm chairs and comfort of air conditioned offices.

We should support Sp ...

• thebrew 9 years ago

Please where are the Burkina Faso people, they come help us burn our Parliament becos I don't sew any sensible thing being done there. They are there jzt becos if their stomach but not interest if the nation. Fire burn dem to ...

This is a disgrace to Ghanaians. Someone benefitted from this unnecessary import and must be investigated.

• Panin 9 years ago

Now, you have seen your stupidness to join these guys you didn't want to , you will learn sense to stick to your words .

• Agbobliahazo 9 years ago

i heard this president talk about made in Ghana goods, why then china. greedy leaders. God is watching.

• MAHAMA LOOT ND SHARE 9 years ago

YOOOOOO CRIMINALS,CORRUPT EVILS CHOP CHOP MAHAMA DOG BOYS FOR YOU,GHANA ENSEM PII

• Mr.Green. 9 years ago

No Wonder, they can not manage our economy how can they rely on made in Ghana. The next step is to import Chinese to rule Ghana.

• emmanuel 9 years ago

this palimentarians are hypocrites.
    how can you import from china.

• emmanuel 9 years ago

these palimentarians are hypocrites

• Haningay 9 years ago

Ghana High Seat should surely be from Ghana not China. Does Chinese have their High aseat from Ghana ? if so then lets keep theirs.

• Brich skin 9 years ago

Yeah this is the team B you have joined

• Made in Ghana 9 years ago

I think this story is a joke, if not this country is going nowhere? What does China import from Ghana, we sell our timber to them very cheap, they make furniture and ship it for us, who pays for the export in import, that ban ...

• Irene Seidu 9 years ago

what has happened to the government's promotion of made in Ghana goods? Preaching virtue and practicing vice. This waw!

• BOY KOFI 9 years ago

Is it today that we have foreigners doing things that we can also do for us?Don't we have engineers in this country when the same Chinese come and construct our roads,stadiums,hospitals and BUI dam?Why didn't Spio put questio ...

• AMIDINI 9 years ago

Hon (Dr) Spio God bless you for saying the truth. This shows that our MPS re in Parliament for their own personal interest . I made up my mind that I will not vote again. H.E the president must be firm and bring the MPS to or ...

• chief vandal 9 years ago

Frankly I am not sure what all this is about. This is country whose annual budget is supported 40% by grants and we are talking about sovereignty.
    Let us get real.

• SEIDU JOHNSON GERMANY 9 years ago

IS IT NOT THE GOV´T OF GHANA TELLING GHANAIANS TO USE THE GHANA MADE THINGS? TWEAAAAA.......NDC IS REALLY DISGRACE GHANAIANS

• peace 9 years ago

It tells you the caliber of people we have as MPs. They are all hypocrites and fake people representing us.

• KING LOMOTEY 9 years ago

We want solar panels from China, not Chinese furniture nor Chinese toys and made in China cars.

• KING LOMOTEY 9 years ago

We even import caskets from China to bury our dead.
    Is Spio aware of this?

• YAA ANANE 9 years ago

I just bought Chinese made Gucci bag from Kantamanto market for the Christmas holidays.

• Mama Rosina 9 years ago

Ghana should encourage men like Spio,Bagbin and others who speak for Ghana than a party. One must be bold to call a spade by its name,even if it must cost you your job.

• HARD LISTENERS 9 years ago

The man is trying to get his " lost balls " back.

• GIVE ME MY BALLOT PAPER 9 years ago

The Speaker of the House it is alleged engaged in sole-sourcing with some inbuilt looting and corruption in there, as alleged by the Al-Hajj newspaper.
    Clearly, in the Mahama NDC gov't, looting is the major preoccupation of ...

• Paa Joe 9 years ago

WHO PAYS FOR- THE GOVERNMENT THAT HAS BEEN ASKED TO GO FOR IMF BAILOUT.

WE ARE STILL IN A MESS.

• kofi yawson 9 years ago

will there be a light to work on these stuff,

• Prisca Babe 9 years ago

Spio r u anti NDC?what a name Spio