You are here: HomeNews2014 11 05Article 333586

Parliament’s refurbishment is a waste of money – MP

Read Comments Comments (119)

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE (OFIE) 9 years ago

WE KNOW ONLY TWO NAMES, NANA ADDO & BAWUMIA. NANA'S LEADERSHIP WITH BAWUMIA IS EXCELLENT. NANA IS OUR POLITICAL MESSIAH!! WE WILL PATIENTLY WAIT FOR HIM TO COME AND LIBERATE US FROM OUR ECONOMIC OPPRESSORS.WE CAN'T PUT OUR TR ...

• KOFI 9 years ago

SKIN PAIN. THIS MP IS AN IDIOT

• Mama Tula 9 years ago

What a rubbish?? Where was this stupid MP Asiamah when it was proposed that Parliament would be refurbished? Why did he wait until the work was carried out just for hi to come out and say it was a waste of Tax Payers' money?? ...

• Boadu 9 years ago

Useless populism. What about ex-gratia Isaac Asiama collected in 2009 what about 2013? What about the whooping G¢50,000.00 he collected as rent allowance.

• OLD SOLDIER 9 years ago

BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! WHERE DID GHANAIANS GO WRONG TO SUFFER LIKE THIS? YOU MAHAMA BUILDING YOUR HOTELS ABROAD, AFRIYIE ANKRA BUYING MANSIONS AT EAST LEGON, OKUDJETO ACQUIRING FILLING STATIONS ALL OVER, TOGBUI AF ...

• EVIL DWARF FROM KYEBI 9 years ago

t is the NPP that never had their priorities right. This idiot is one MP who must criticise anything that the Government does. He craves to be heard all the time, and that means that he's working as an MP. Does Asiama remembe ...

• NOBODY 9 years ago

Stop looking at things with one lense. Both NDC and NPP ministers and their cronies equally looted Ghana, and that fact cannot be buried. Start naming all the saints in the NPP to prove your point, and let's see how many name ...

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 9 years ago

He might have voted against refurbishment but is it not wrong to refurbish with imports from China if Ghanaian artisans could have provided them?

• Daddy's boy 9 years ago

Nonsence!!!! Is it not also wrong to renovate Kuffuops private resident and build residence for the president alone with imports from India and China if Ghanaian artisans could have provided them?

• CORNEY 9 years ago

Frank,that idiot never opposed the refurbishment but wants to score a political point to make the leadership looks bad.
    The contract was to refurbish the parliament and this has been on going for months but this idiot never ...

• KK 9 years ago

I think you idiot can not comprehend. You need to go back and read the article one more time to get the fact right what this wise man said. Idiot!

• Another Thief of Bagdad 9 years ago

They will never appreciate anything, EXCEPT WHEN THEY ARE IN CHARGE. What sort of beings are these? Human Beings or Beasts?

• king 9 years ago

You must learn how to talk socially,you wished he could be a member of your family.Uncivilized fellow.

• Sulemana 9 years ago

WE are tired of your complaints. What will your god Nana Addo do? All he says is he wants to be president.

• Prof. Appiah, USA 9 years ago

This MP is right. This is a waste of scarce resources. The color of chairs is disheartening too. The chamber now looks worse........I'm very disappointed in the minority leader, Hon Kyei-Mensah trying to justify importation o ...

• KWAA 9 years ago

This Governments preiorities are always concentrated on projects they can get a cut back,not what the people need.
    A Government which was contemplating staging the AFCON,in Jan,2015,despite Ebola,despite the short time,just ...

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 9 years ago

If Addo comes, surrounds himself with praise singers and he goofs, Ghanaians should hang him by his balls.

• CORNEY 9 years ago

Frank,forget it Addo is not coming near the presidency,the presidency is not abolo one can just go to the roadside to buy.

• SAMO JEWELERY 9 years ago

Call or whatsapp us on 0244717600 to send u latest designs of yellow n white gold rings to choose from for yr wedding n engagement........locally design rings soo perfect n accurate with superb finnish touches.....u call also ...

• Pee the maths teacher 9 years ago

ONLY IN GHANA "THE BANANA REPUBLIC" YOU WILL SEE THAT THE PALIAMENTARIANS HAS REFURBISHED PARLIAMENT WITH A WHOOPING SUM OF SIXTEEN MILLION GHANA CEDIS (GHC 16.000.000.00) WHERE BY OUR HOSPITALS ARE LEFT TO RUIN AND PREGNANT ...

• ABU 9 years ago

ENEMIES OF PROGRESS, THEY WILL OPPOSE EVERYTHING INCLUDING THE REFURBISHING OF PARLIAMENT Aaaaaaaaba

• Kaku USA 9 years ago

Nothing to offer, just be yourself and work hard

• PlainPlainTruth 9 years ago

What? How can somebody who has benefited from the "system" by being called to the bar fraudulently and has actually recently practised it by inducing delegates with cash be the solution to the problem personified by his polit ...

• ashanti black monkeys 9 years ago

A million cedi of Ghana 50 and presidential palace is not rubish ?

• kofi''' 9 years ago

when did this mp got to know of this project??? and why is it that we didn't hear from the loud minority with their skewed media abt this project before now ... oh need I worry? no, cos its politics as usual run it down so t ...

• Kay 9 years ago

Kwame Nkrumah Circle would have been a prefect place for parliamentary meetings looking at their performance.What a waste of scarce resources.

• APOLO T 9 years ago

HOW LONG MUST WE STAND AND STIR WHEN OUR RESOURCES ARE BEING WASTED IN THE NAME OF CREATE, LOOT AND SHARE BY THIS GOOD 4 NOTHING NDC GOVT

• KANTINKA 9 years ago

As usual these are some projects that notorious NDC looters and thieves can embark upon so that they can loot and steal from our national treasury. Notorious NDC thieves, as usual will inflate the cost of refurbishing parliam ...

• KWADWO 9 years ago

DID PARLIAMENT DEBATE AND VOTE ON IT BEFORE THE REFURBISHMENT?ARE OUR LAWMAKERS SHORT CHANGING US AS THE SUPREME BODY IN OUR PARLIAMENTARY DEMOCRACY?THIS COMING FROM AN MP IS WORRYING!!!!

• Baffour Agyemang 9 years ago

Well said MP Mr Isaac Asiamah but what other action will you take after the verbal condemnation. I guess none.

• JAB 9 years ago

He will do foko!! He should boycott parliament. The last time you heard from this MP he was complaining about poor conditions in parliament and now look at this. What about his leader Osei Kyei Mensah Bonsu who praised what w ...

• Mama Tula 9 years ago

Mr, Agyemang, Isaac Asiamah has no alternative action neither has he any logical suggestion. He is just an empty barrel who wants to make the most noise.

• James 9 years ago

Charlie its not a waste of money abba...why do we African always want every thing of ours looking cheap and mediocre...Lets move past the bare necessity type of mentality where we say "oh there is no money so lets build some ...

• FUNNY THAT 9 years ago

At least letting the local artisans to take up the job of furnishing could at least help creat a jobin another way. The import of the goods from China is a waste of our foreign currency. When will these Niggers at the parlia ...

• Affordable 9 years ago

James the issue here is 'priority, ' ok? Setting one's priorities straight is a sign of maturity and thoughtfulness. Some of the devices and gadgets installed for members use are alien to them. If you spend your hard earned m ...

• kwaku kotobaabi 9 years ago

So wont the PARLIAMENTARIANS learn how to use the gadgets ?Why are overly critical of everything this Govt does.I am praying hard for THE PYGMY NANA ADDO to be President so Ghana will be PARADISE.I learn there will be NO SCHO ...

• James 9 years ago

So in your opinion, what is priority,??

• adanko 9 years ago

that is all NDC is about. Always finding ways and means to loot. If we go into the finances of this refurbishment the SMELL will kill you, so do not go there now. Wait till NDC is gone and Nana comes. It is kuuuuuun, smellin ...

• Wahabu 9 years ago

When did this dishonorable man get to know about the renovation activities in parliament. Did we finish paying all our debts as a country before building the so called presidential palace.

• 123 9 years ago

For the GHS 10,000 you receive a month, it is not a waste of tax payers money? Most of the MPS absent but take home GHS10,000 as salary but they are silent on this.

• )))))) 9 years ago

the parliament does natin else either than approving huge sums of money which poor ghanaians will be working thier asses off to pay it off....ghana needs God...

• Ninii, UK 9 years ago

...allow it to rot! Everything in Ghana needs attention because of such ways of thinking…very sad!

• Kofi Lawson 9 years ago

Hypocrisy of the highest order!
    Is he P seeing or hearing of the renovation for the first time?

• Mama Rosina 9 years ago

The NDC does not think and that is why that is why they need IMF.
    If I don't have money, I don't spend money. The NDC have designed many ways to siphon money from the system. They are thieves

• Nzema K 9 years ago

Much as I support Hon Asiamah that as a country we must look at what our priorities are, I strongly disagree that my first choice Ofori-Krom - Asante Carpenters have reached the level where they can provide swivel chairs for ...

• Tetteh Klokpe 9 years ago

I think we voted for wrong people, how could a lawmaker talk like this? The MP should just come out and say he is afraid to use the equipmet, he is only used to pen and paper work finish. Those who talk about local artisans ...

• McColonel 9 years ago

Just like their usual charracter, if the refurbishment were undertaken by NPP government; they'll be the first to say they are a civilised tribe to have overhauled and brought a change to parliament. We know them by their beh ...

• OPANIN KWAKU ATTA. 9 years ago

THE WHOLE THING LOOKS LIKE SOMEONE'S SITTING ROOM. WHAT A SHAME!

• mr amin 9 years ago

i totaly agrre with the mp. its weast of money. vote the ndc out they ara bad manegers.

• Yankee 9 years ago

May God bless you in everything. Hmmmm, you reason far better than the leader of that YEA YEA house. As you rightly pointed out NHIS, Common Fund, unpaid workers arrears, and high striking poverty levels, certainly the money ...

• Sulemana 9 years ago

Why don't you give up your sslary and ex gratia

• gilly 9 years ago

If truely the hon. MP sees this as a waste of money then I expect him as a matter of principle to resign as an MP so that we can take him serious. He shdnt try to play with the galary and turn around to go and use the same fu ...

• MODIBO 9 years ago

Hon. Asiamah may not have gotten it all right. Lets, however, consider his submission one-by-one. I can only ask about importing furniture from China. Is he wrong there?
    Somebody should also pick another issue.

• The Truth. 9 years ago

The use of these computers are going to expose their stupidity.Most of them bought their certificates,so they are afraid they'll be exposed.

• Kaku USA 9 years ago

I totally agree with you

• BRAINS 9 years ago

Are you law makers telling us that some people some do things for you without your knowledge? Package of your democratic system!! Nsem gu ho.

• BOY KOFI 9 years ago

Our carpenters are very poor in geometry,technology and professionalism.It is about time we train our artisans to meet international standards.If our carpenters are so good as the MP claims,why can't they export their furnitu ...

• wazzup 9 years ago

BOY KOFI you got it wrong, our carpenters are really good, travel and see, they are able to do the best with the little equipment they have and it's very impressive

• Ntente 9 years ago

When the government decided to give all our tax revenue to you MPs as your salaries, you did not cough a bit. You're licking the sugar water but you are calling it bitter. Don't deceive us! Kae Kae

• Bushman 9 years ago

That a Bushman for you. he has nothing to talk about. He wanted his constituency to hear him.

• Fred. US 9 years ago

That's what Mahama means by made in Ghana gooods.

• Issah Elisha 9 years ago

why should furniture be imported from China when there are alot of people in Ghana who can equally make them ?And they want us to purchase made in Ghana goods whiles they don't purchase it.oh God have mercy on Ghana.

• Slayve, Dansoman 9 years ago

Hear some silly idiot pretending to be a member of parliament. This man can't even plush shoes in the developed economies and here we are being told this crap fool is a representative of the people. Ghana's MPs are low cost ...

• Ekow 9 years ago

This level of thinking is killing us as a country. There will always be issues in the country, prioritizing any other thing over the making sure that all the necessary resources are available for law makers to make informed l ...

• Bawa Abraham Norbert 9 years ago

Our MPs have failed us.They lack foresight for this country. They don't feel the plight of GhanaIan's.They are after their own comfort.They keep deceiving us to patronise Ghanaian products while they themselves reject them. T ...

• Ugly Akufo Addo 9 years ago

Dont sit in that renovated parliament n go ur home town to sit there , idiots fool

• Sir John 9 years ago

Did this foolish MP take the taxpayers 50,000 gh cedis rent?

• Mark 9 years ago

what is this man talking about. is he saying he does not know when this refurbishment started and they want to come to power? this is below the belt hon. this is gutter politics and he want us to believe him? aba!!! shame on ...

• Ugly Akufo Addo 9 years ago

For 8yrs npp couldnt even paint their work place

• wazzup 9 years ago

MP don't worry everything has to be imported from China, because somebody got a cut, we don't value what we have, and why didn't you bring it up earlier on and waited for a long time, you're also a crook NKWASIASEM

• Ibn Batuta 9 years ago

He should give up his seat.

• Okando 9 years ago

For me the best thing Asiamah should have done is to resigned as an MP in protest of refurbishment of the parliament house since it is a waste of taxpayers’ money.

• Michael 9 years ago

That one is not a waste He should bring kitchen stool to come use if its a waste stop wasting our ears

• VOICE OF REASON 9 years ago

A house of Parliament.Never seen a Legislative House like this.Dumb Mahama going for the overkill just to get this rubber stamp and compliant parliament to continue doing his bidding......how else can one explain this proflig ...

• KWAKU SAMMY 9 years ago

I am suprised at the views of the MP. Anything of NDC is not good for NPP.Providing confortablesitting for you is not good. Is over to you.

• VOICE OF REASON 9 years ago

For Ghanaians.Like dumb Mahama,Obama's administration has been a huge disappointment.His mid-term drubbing by the Republicans is a foretaste of things to come in the 2016 Elections.......a lesson Ghanaians must emulate if we ...

• NICHOLAS 9 years ago

How do you expect a president to perform if his hands are tied? A president must be given a free hand and supported by the opposition to succeed.

• NOBODY 9 years ago

Wait until you hear what the Alan Kyeremanten camp in the NPP had to say about Akufo-Addo, NPP Presidential flagbearer, that Akufo-Addo is incompetent and a monumental failure. How then is someone whose own party mwembers des ...

• MKB 9 years ago

Kwasea MP. Where were you when it was being debated on the floor of Parliament to put those items there? Or you think we fools to accept this kind of KWAKU Ajaneesh politics about every issue. We the ordinary citizens should ...

• westside 9 years ago

weldone hon.Isaac Kwame Asiamah keep it up

• raphic 9 years ago

if u know u spend ur common fund wisely,publish it for ur people to know that u are wasting their money:I dare Asiamah

• TOPS 9 years ago

Another NPP MP idiot, Go get some computer skills and stop codemning the improvement. smh

• Lt Horn Blower 9 years ago

Mr minister don b selfish. U aa de type who no de rite stuff but do or say it @ de rong time.If I may ask u a quiz "as a minister aa u telling ghanaians & 4 dis matter de people of Atwuma dat U were not present or did'nt hear ...

• Michael 9 years ago

When are Ghanaians going to stop complaining. It appears no government has done anything good in Ghana. Every government decision is criticized. You refurbish parliament, they complain, when the building is not in good con ...

• B.O.KWATENG 9 years ago

I am surprise the MP just realized the waste of tax payers money. Why did he complain when he was given ¢50000 for his SUV he could have opted for a saloon car that cost less or buy one from kantanka

Nonsence!!!! Is it not also waste of tax payers money to renovate Kuffuors private resident and build residence for the president alone with imports from India and China if Ghanaian artisans could have provided them?

• ATOOOO 9 years ago

I have always said that these people have a luciferian mentality from the pit of hell. They do not appreciate and anything anybody does except them. Ghanaians this is a parliametarian talking like this ooo. Sometimes I am tem ...

• Mambo 9 years ago

This MP doesn't know what the hell he is talking about. We know he comes from the forest but at least he should have the maintenance culture. The renovation of the Job 600 and furnishing it with modern gadgets are not a bad i ...

Don't mind them , Selfish people, They sabotage Nkrumah the same, Is it not also waste of tax payers money to renovate Kuffuors private resident and build residence for the president alone with imports from India and China if ...

• Dessy 9 years ago

Parliament is there to discuss any issue befor implementing..where are the oppositions who stood up against that idea, knowing the fact that,that refurbishing is irrelevant?.cutting corners are part of the norm in Ghana parli ...

• Akwasi Manu 9 years ago

Stupidity at its peak. is he telling us dt he wasn't aware when d budget was approved n he neva saw or heard d renovation going on till it was completed. I think he is even a waste at d house of parliament. siasem aa kwaakwa

• Kaku 9 years ago

Paying NPP MP's salaries is waste of taxpayer money. Prez kuffour gold chain to award himself is not waste resources. These people call themselves educated, to be abreast with modernity NPP do not like.

• Correctguy 9 years ago

I think some group of people get fixated on certain things and every new thing they have to comment on, the fixation makes them keep referring to their only known mantra,nko yeh.

• NANA KNUST 9 years ago

I NEVER KNEW AN MP COULD BE SO STUPID AND IDIOT LIKE ASIAMA.
    SUCH CRITICIZE IS UNFORTUNATE TO HAVE COME FROM AN MP LIKE YOU ASIMA. ITS A SHAME TO YOU AND YOUR FOLLOWERS.

• Anaabi Safi 9 years ago

FOR A NATION THAT IS CASH STRAPPED AND GOING TO THE IMF FOR A BAIL OUT, WHAT IS THE SENSE AND THE BEFIT FOR REFURBISHING A PARLIAMENT WITH SUPER TECH ICT SYSTEM THAT THE PARLIAMENTARIANS DO NOT EVEN KNOW HOW TO USE THEM. TH ...

• KnYc(USMC) 9 years ago

MORONS all over Ghana. Very soon the people will set it off. Driving V8 cars on pot holes, only in Ghana. You call this been rice? Fools come and see how Ghanaian are doing it in America. Fools.

• liv 9 years ago

Why are you complaining now. I'm sure this was discussed and approved by all Parliamentarians. Now Ghanaians want to know who refurbished the House and how much he/she was paid.

• Cantankerous 9 years ago

What about our hospitals which are in such a terrible state? NDC is asleep on the job.

• TRANA 9 years ago

WHO BEGGED YOU TO BE THERE. JUST RESIGN IF YOU HAVE ANY BRAINS AT ALL ASIAMAH. YOU NPP PEOPLE ALWAYS TALK BEFORE YOU THINK.FOOLISH MP.

• NANA KNUST 9 years ago

DO YOU KNOW WHY ASIMAH SAYS ITS A WASTE?. HE CANNOT USE THESE MODERN GADGETS THAT'S WHY.
    OH FOOLISH MP COME LETS TEACH YOU ICT.
    YOU ARE A DISGRACE TO YOUR PEOPLE ATWIMAS.POOR MP.

• Victor A. Young 9 years ago

NDC's "chop-chop" still continues without caution; they'll loot and empty state coffers before it's time for them to exit the seat of power. This is nothing new. This is not a big surprise compared to the Woyome Judgement pay ...

• EVIL DWARF FROM KYEBI 9 years ago

It is the NPP that never had their priorities right. This idiot is one MP who must criticise anything that the Government does. He craves to be heard all the time, and that means that he's working as an MP. Does Asiama rememb ...

• T.J 9 years ago

WE VOTE FOR MP,S TO FIGHT FOR LUXURIOUS CHAIRS FROM CHINA.

• PlainPlainTruth 9 years ago

Where was this idiot when Kuffour imported all the Ghana@50 paraphernalia from China when at least three textile firms were laying off workers? As if this wasn't enough, he went on the BBC to defend his warpish, myopic, selfi ...

• William Dzikunu 9 years ago

This is a political talk. Parliament is for Ghana. Not for NDC, NPP or any political party property. Learn a maintenance culture.

• Ziblim 9 years ago

Surprise that the Hon.MP condemning the purchase of furniture from China was in an European suit and not Kente. it is most likely that he has furnished his house with furniture from abroad. lets learn to criticise constructiv ...

• Ziblim 9 years ago

It is not a surprise to hear this coming from the opposition NPP, they were the same people (UP) who said Nkrumah wasted Ghana's money in putting up Job 600

• NOBODY 9 years ago

If it's a waste of money, why did you wait till the completion to voice that opinion?

• Opemsuo 9 years ago

It is about time that we realize that we need a shift and the Black Race need to Evolve into higher beings.
    Until then we remain sub human and incapable of taking care of our own affairs Our capabilities is not up to the lev ...

• NOBODY 9 years ago

Speak for yourself and not the black race. Sorry if you feel your capabilities are not to the level where you can think and solve your problems. The black race is not lower than any other race. Problem is, Ghana has been engu ...

• mickey 9 years ago

Refurbishment of Parliament, may not be the big deal but the way it is done! The stupid president goes about preaching "local content", yet our parliamentary furniture is imported from China! By the time this fool leaves offi ...

• DDKT 9 years ago

Such a hipocrate

• DDKT 9 years ago

FUCKING MP

• Emma 9 years ago

Where was Honourable Asiamah when his colleagues members of parliament some of who are NPP went to China to inspect the furniture.
    Is he a living being?

• BB 9 years ago

YOUR SALARY IS ALSO A WASTE OF MONEY

• Roo 9 years ago

Since assumption of office by Buole Mahama, these r his achievements;
    Increase in MPs salary & ex-gracia
    Market fires
    Labour unrests(strikes)
    Rampant reshuffling of ministers for effective corruption and thiefery
    Introd ...

• YOU AND I 9 years ago

AND NOT SUIT AND TIE

• HAZOR 9 years ago

All along president Mahama making noise of home grown were all gimmick to insult Ghanaians intelligence.President Mahama preach virtue and practise vice.Even most comment from NDC folks shows how fools they are so better show ...

• MUMU VOTERS 9 years ago

Mahama himself is a waste