You are here: HomeNews2014 11 03Article 333194

Ban on rice imports a bad move – Ghana Grains MD

Read Comments Comments (22)

• MUSAH MOHAMAD. 9 years ago

We have rice in Ghana. Why don't we eat local rice and locale staple than expecting the government to import rice to the tune of USD.1 billion. That money could have built factory's for the stupid graduate to get job. I can t ...

• xxx 9 years ago

"Stupid graduate".... I think you are a stupid illiterate... individuals import rice not the govt...., Ghana is not a communist country. If you have ever studied economics, granted you haven't, you will understand laissez fai ...

• BlindMan 9 years ago

If local RICE continue to sell same or above imports, then producers are denying themselves the market to trade it goods, and something is not going right in the production!
    Stop thinking RICH overnight at the expense of ha ...

• Ajit Babu 9 years ago

Non-thinkers like you are the reason others bully black Africans because your lack of comprehension of simple issues.

• Ghfuo: hang nyantakyi, NOW!!! 9 years ago

I'm.sure he ks colluding with foreign rice producers, gh rice importers..collecting bribes to import more grains, foreign gmo rice into ghana to give ppl cancer. Kwasia!
    DEVELOP ur rice industry professionally and export

• ghanaman 9 years ago

There must not be a senseless pursuit of outright ban on import of rice. The emphasis must be building and augmenting capacity locally. Thus, when the adequate levels are reached, placing a ban might not be even necessary. Th ...

• Roger Halabiri 9 years ago

So long as rice importation is encouraged, importers will do everything to thwart local rice production as happened in Nigeria and local producers will not have the confidence to invest huge capital in local production. We wi ...

• ISSAHAKU MALIK 9 years ago

AGRICULTURE PRODUCERS, ARE NOT SUPPORTED AND WELL TREATED.eg COCOA FARMERS BEING SWINDLED WITH DECEITFUL METHODS SUCH AS ILLEGAL SCALE ADJUSTMENTS BY PURCHASING CLERKS

• EDUARDO DOMINGO 9 years ago

THE DOCTORS HERE ARE TOO BUSY GOING ON STRIKE TO NOTICE THE MOST IMPORTANT SERVICE THEY CAN RENDER TO THE COUNTRY,

INSTEAD OF RISKING RETALIATION, AFTER BANNING ANY COMMODITY, THE POLITICIANS SHOULD BE MORE PATRIOTIC, AND ...

• ghanaman 9 years ago

Eduardo, you are spot on with your contribution. The use of upper-case letters almost scared me off but after going through the whole post, I discovered what invaluable contribution you had made. The health benefits of consum ...

• Ebo 9 years ago

Ghana can produce all the rice it needs! Policy and hard work!

• John 9 years ago

Mr Ansah and his likes are the reason why Ghana is not developing. There is absolutely no reason why we should continue to import rice while there is ample arable land and farm hands that can produce it.A short fall should mo ...

• Dont impose local rice on us 9 years ago

Whose money is used to import the rice? Wat about tin tomaoes, chicken and the other stuffs. Dont we have the fertile land for all these? lets be frank, wont we have boxes of rotten tomatoes from Akumadan but still import the ...

• idiots 9 years ago

if you cannot feed your children at home how do you stop your neighbor from feeding your children.Government ,government atitudes that we have in our society is not helping can you alone as feed all ghanaians you just in ther ...

• idiots 9 years ago

it is only fools who will follow the outcome of the idea of banning of Rice immportation because there are losers and have nothing to lose

• Rice Importer 9 years ago

Africans need to continue depending on foreigners to feed them. That is the only way we can keep you enslaved. Ha ha ha.

• MENSA 9 years ago

YOU MAHAMA HAVE NO RIGHT TO PUT YOURSELF OR GET INVOLVE IN ANY GHANA BUSNISS YOU WERE ELECTED TO LEAD GHANA NOT TO KILL JOBS AND BUSNISSES AND OR TELL GHANA BUSNISS HOW TO RUN THEIR BUSNISS SOMTHING YOU KNOW NOTHING ABOUT

• daladam 9 years ago

without import rice Ghana people will be killed by the price of rice in our country ,import rice create planty of rice and reduce prices for the consumers,mahama is bend on cusing the rice price to go up so less Ghana falks ...

• Joey. 9 years ago

This is absolutely ridiculous. I am appalled by these unwarranted santions being imposed on Ghanaians by this government.What happened to competion? You can't monopolize your way into making things work in Ghana. I don't thin ...

• Ibn Abudu @adams1financial@yahoo.ca 9 years ago

Leave your post now , what is wrong with the natural healthy rice produced in Ghana .

You want the country to deprive its citizens of job creation & also use hard foreign exchange when we have better healthy brown & white ...

• onipanua 9 years ago

Because of the ban i am going to vote for Mahama.Spending over 1 billion dollars to import rice is pure madness.

• Frank 9 years ago

ARE YOU HAPPY GHANA IS IMPORTING TOOTH PICK? IF A COMMODITY IS NOT IN THE MARKET IT MAKESECONOMIC SENSE FOR SOME ONE TO PRODUCE IT AND NOT TO IMPORT IT. LOCALLY PRODUCED CREATES JOBS AND SAVES GOVT MONEY.

IF GOVT SUPPORTS ...