You are here: HomeNews2014 10 29Article 332624

Go back to work – Chiefs tell striking workers

Read Comments Comments (78)

• Onipaba Of Akyem Maase 9 years ago

You all indirectly contributed to the mess we are in now. At the time Mahama went about distributing 4X4 runners to you for no work done, did you for once ask him about the source of the money? You think we are fools. If Maha ...

• OLD SOLDIER 9 years ago

AUTHOR:-PROFESSOR-----------------
    In just two years, John Dramani Mahama and the NDC have brought Ghana to its knees economically. Now, after stealing all of Ghana's money, these stupid and low life miscreants from the NDC ...

• kpeglar 9 years ago

did you think of others, when this idot distribution suv's for the chief's did you stop him. where did he get the money from? did you know how much one suv cost? the only strikers i will beg them is the nurse's and the doctor ...

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 9 years ago

The problem with Mahama is that he has no problem. The money has been chopped already. The National House of Chiefs should rather speak to the government. What is Amissah doing in the absence of run away Mahama. Which preside ...

• OLD SOLDIER 9 years ago

BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! WHERE DID GHANAIANS GO WRONG TO SUFFER LIKE THIS? YOU MAHAMA BUILDING YOUR HOTELS ABROAD, AFRIYIE ANKRA BUYING MANSIONS AT EAST LEGON, OKUDJETO ACQUIRING FILLING STATIONS ALL OVER, TOGBUI AF ...

• Old Monk 9 years ago

Fake old soldier you are a pharasee. This is the same charges your matemeho elders falsely accused Kwame Nkrumah of. But after overthrow of Nkrumah's government all those bogus charges became false. Now you are the matemeho ...

• Gye Nyame 9 years ago

Why is this chief doing the work of the acting president? This strike is a serious matter and should be handled by someone above the ministerial level. Our VP is useless.

• BOY KUMASI 9 years ago

I'm a strong sympathizer of the NDC but i disagree with the govt for not allowing the workers to control their own destiny.

• KOFI 9 years ago

This is childish submission. Yes. This is how the society has decayed and descended to. The chieftaincy department under the Ministry of Chieftaincy has been resourced by all governments even the colonial ones before independ ...

• Gye Nyame 9 years ago

@KOFI: But don't see this BIG government as one of the major problems we have today? Who needs Ministry of Chieftaincy, what exactly is their role in our current democracy and why should the government be responsible for chi ...

• JH New York 9 years ago

Thank you,Kofi !
    People do not know that the African Chiefs were the leadership/gov't and the Custodians of the laws,before the Whiteman arrived at our Shores. Later some African Scholars and a Merchant (Paa Grant) mainly FA ...

Correction:
    Could not have been possible without the involvement and blessings of the Chiefs.

Correction;
    Could not have been possible without the involvement and blessings of the Chiefs.

Arko-Agyei recommended Kwame Nkrumah.

• Mensah la 9 years ago

Fuck you! Why couldn't they advice the government rather to do the honourable thing but aggrieved workers instead

I don't think you expect Ur Chief to walk on foot to whatever.The Chiefs deserves to have Vehicles but through the District Council/Assembly Common Fund.And not by direct political propaganda distribution by the President. Th ...

• kpeglar 9 years ago

what are they driven for?what roads are they goona drive the suv? what money are they ganna use to service the suv's? look what i going on in ghana, people can not afford to bring thier kids to coolege, and this chiefs using ...

• Francis C. Quainoo 9 years ago

Yes, you are absolutely right. Most of these chiefs have condoned in the misery that this THIEVERY GOVERNMENT has visited on the good people of Ghana.

They think every day should be a Christmas for NO work done when Dullar ...

• AKASI MARTHA NZEMA 9 years ago

NANA WILL LOOSE 2016

• DAVI 9 years ago

This is about NDCS' Lost Creditbility and NO Nanas' sure election wins.

• Ben 9 years ago

Do you really know what is going on in the country ? You just hate Nana that is why. Open yr eyes and ears and find out why people are crying for change.

• Jew 9 years ago

And you think the man who claims to be a lawyer but has no law certificate to show will perform miracles and " transform the economy rapidly"? He is more corrupt than any of his accusers because he bribed the delegates to get ...

• BBC NEWS! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 9 years ago

That useless Opoku wasn't in Ghana when criminal Kufour was busily redistributed Ghana's wealth to the Akan's ? Where are the Car's Kufour brought into the country ? These Kufour Car's can be seen mostly in Ashanti Region and ...

• kwasi 9 years ago

Good advice, not the methodise Bishop from obuasi who wants civil war

• Agbee 9 years ago

Kwasi, don't mind those unpatriotic people. They don't just care what happens to this nation. Leaders of all those unions must be made to pay for the repercussions of this useless strike, if the court should compel us to go b ...

• Kwaseabi Nti 9 years ago

Asantehene is hiding behind NHC to do Mahama's dirty work to fly the presidential jet in exchange.

• fuck ndc 9 years ago

after buying u 4x4 u see the strike to be inappropriate abi. return those cars oh hypocrite prez stole our money to buy so he will address our prob cuz there is no money

• Birry Wade 9 years ago

The NHC should rather ask the Government to have the situation brought under control by asking the latter to let the unions manage their own affairs instead of them mingling in the affairs of the unions. The SSNIT managed fun ...

• Kwaku Ananse 9 years ago

Utterances, these days from chiefs and custodians of our hallowed traditions, don't seem to speak from the wisdom of sages. Like the government who issues senseless fiats, why don't they utter reasonable solutions to the cris ...

• TK 9 years ago

You see, money is powerful. After Mahama gave them Pick-up trucks, they are telling striking workers to go back to work.It would have been better if they rejected those pick-up trucks, and advised Mahama to use the money to p ...

• David 9 years ago

Dramani Mahama purchased the 13 SUV's from the sweat of our poor workers.

• Joe 9 years ago

It is just unfortunate that it would take the Chiefs of this country to ask th striking workers to go to work instead of the government. The reason is that NDC never do anything right until there is strike. The government is ...

• Bitter Ghana Agenda 9 years ago

NORTHERNERS STABBING ‘BROTHER
    MAHAMA’
    By theheraldteam
    A 70-year old native of Bole, the
    hometown of President John Dramani
    Mahama, has taken a swipe at people
    of Northern extraction, who have been
    given appointmen ...

• BAFFOUR -- YAW 9 years ago

Here we go again,another bullshit,i wondering if army can come back to clean the mess we see in Ghana,who even called for democracy in Africa.

• OSABERIMA 9 years ago

Don't you know Ghana is made up of different tribes? Silly statement -- why don't you place your village under another chief from a different tribe.

• KBK 9 years ago

Why don't u advice Government to act quickly to solve problems than wait till this time

• Nii 9 years ago

Look at this so call chiefs they got their share so they are talking nonsense.

• Agbee 9 years ago

You spoke as such because you lack wisdom.

• mahama abugri 9 years ago

this man is a disgrace to we northerners.. instead of telling the so called president to change you are just there supporting him..is because he has gotten his share of the nation's money.. the judgement day awaits you..

• south african 9 years ago

Ghana need to move forward but NPP is trying to destroying Ghana, NPP is behind all this stricking. when'll teaches stop this nonsense stricking?
    After demanding 4 everything, where's so-called workers output? We imported ev ...

• Pusiga Naaba 9 years ago

Nananom, I will take your attempt to wade into this pension quaqmire to explain how it is done. If infact the monies were deducted from the employees salaries, the monies do not belong to the govt. anymore. but the enployees. ...

• Kofi Boateng 9 years ago

The chiefs should also tell government show workers where theit pension fund and allow them invest their own funds. I'm sure when that is done, workers will be more than happy to go back to work. In our modern world who liste ...

• southafrica 9 years ago

Kuffou bought 4X4 for his Family and in-laws

• Asibey 9 years ago

They should have used their positions as fathers of the workers to appeal to government to show them where their money is, instead of asking them to return to work. If our influential people fail in their responsibility of ad ...

• kWABENA kUMASI 9 years ago

Please keep mute and talk to your government to release our money. As for you, you can sell land for a living. Stop this intervention and advise the government to sit up. leave us alone greedy chiefs!

• mensa 9 years ago

CHIEFS THAT TALK NONSENSE AND DONT UNDERSTAND THAT FALKS MUST STRIKE TO STOP SLAVE WAEGES AND INJUSTICE AGAINST THEM IN GHANA MUST GET LOST ,JUST BEACUSE THEY ARE IGNORATE IT DOES NOT MEAN THEY WE THE PEOPLE MUST BE IGNORATE

• mike U S A 9 years ago

Can someone tells mi why worker should be on strike and get paid? Is this not corruption?. Do this labor unions get leaders, if so what is their job as leaders as they lack common bargaining skills.

• Amos 9 years ago

When u keep going on unnecessary strikes,you are weaken the economy and you will suffer more in future.Strikes doesn't help in the longrun.

• KRONFO TAKYIAMOA 9 years ago

SHAME ON YOU ANABILA .

• Potash 9 years ago

Those chiefs should pipe down. When they were given cars gratis did they suggest to the government to even provide bicycles to workers at a reduced price? The struggle CONTINUES.

• zaks 9 years ago

I suggest all those workers who embark on dis clueless strike must be sacked das all after all graduates are all over looking for jobs to do n u people which many of u has no degree bt working yet u r messing up wid governme ...

• yaapoti 9 years ago

Look at senseless chiefs in Ghana so called kings of the nation chiefs like asantihene okyehene and others they can't advice their obodamfo mahama to do right but they can't advice the hungry man to go work with out food be ...

• STRIKE 9 years ago

Clearly, the Mahama led NDC gov't doesn't not understand and appreciate the facts of the matter, which is until the tier-two pension funds are transferred to the appropriate quarters as prescribed by the law, this strike is j ...

Our chiefs are part of the problems the nation is facing. Most of you chiefs are not after the truth.

• Joe Turkey 9 years ago

Maybe, just maybe, it will be faster t tell John Mahama to return the monies to the people it belongs to. He may have been using it to complete his 5-star hotel in Dubai.

• Joe Turkey 9 years ago

.... Instead of some village chief ordering all works to go to work

• Tina 9 years ago

Yes as well as we want government to do it part, we must change our attitudes. Long strikes will not save the country and when things go bad even Jesus can't solve it's for you. Jesus face problems during his time because o ...

• Awurade kasa 9 years ago

NATIONAL HOUSE OF THIEVES !!!!.
    NATIONAL HOUSE OF THIEVES !!!!!.
    THEY DON'T KNOW WHAT PENSION IS ALL ABOUT BRCAUSE THEY CALL THEMSELVES
    CHIEFS.
    CHIEFS MY FOOT.

• Nathaniel 9 years ago

Why should we end the strike? If your son out of a year is paid three months will you be happy? Our September salaries not in. Go advice the president not us. You can equally donate the 4x4 you were given.

• ghana 9 years ago

ooh so mahama will not cut short his visit n come home to help solve this strike problem. in fact Ghana paaa nie.mahama has really disappointed me I regret voting for him.what a waste

• Jew 9 years ago

You didn't vote for Mahama. You voted for your certificateless all die be die lawyer.

• wwc 9 years ago

Eat and grow fat while your people fast and grow tinny under Mahama. 4×4 for no work. God will deal with your insensitiveness

• VIGILANTE 9 years ago

This is a story which goes to show clearly that the workers tier-two pension funds has been looted and stolen by the Mahama led NDC gov't with the funds within the region of anywhere between Ghc2-3billion nowhere to be found, ...

All could not have been possible without the involvement and blessings of the Chiefs.

Arko-Agyei recommended Kwame Nkrumah.

• EFI 9 years ago

The akans are generally people who don't accord respect to chiefs and elderly in society.nana addo bro is just dead in zambia

• kay-vii 9 years ago

afta folding ur arms fo these wicked politicians to loot awa monis luk @ wat u chiefs aa telling us.l don blame u pipol cos u've sold ur mind to dem n u fom pat of e corruption soup.

• GhanaBa 9 years ago

I guess you are being influenced by the 4x4 wheel drives you got. Nonsense

• Joseph Boateng 9 years ago

After accepting your covert bribes, is that the advice you are giving to your suffering people? Sheer selfishness and display of apathy.

• alavanyo 9 years ago

God will punished u and the stupid mahama

• OBIKYIRE 9 years ago

IT IS THEIR MONEY. Let them have it.There is no need for any negotiation. NO CHIEF,NO PRESIDENTIAL ADVISORS OR COUNCIL OF STATE.It is their money. STUPID ,WHY CANT YOU UNDERSTAND THIS SIMPLE STATEMENT.

• BBC NEWS! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 9 years ago

That useless Opoku wasn't in Ghana when criminal Kufour was busily redistributed Ghana's wealth to the Akan's ? Where are the Car's Kufour brought into the country ? These Kufour Car's can be seen mostly in Ashanti Region and ...

• Abacha 9 years ago

Some of u go from one minister to the other every day for money if not NDC supporters who will do this u also voltarians n James town guys stop that . Go look for job oooo. U fools stop begging oooo.

• Abacha 9 years ago

Don't forget priz mahama n Ibrahim mahama owns a bank previously called merchant n 1000 traks . Workers from volter can go to work

• Old Monk 9 years ago

Matemeho generation. They think Ghana is for them. If they are not in power everything is wrong. They said they will make Ghana ungovernable. And that is the path they have chosen. But Ghana will overcome. We shall overcome.

• worma funu aka fax highjack 9 years ago

Matemeho generation.

• ob 9 years ago

Do we have chiefs in Ghana, shame unto you. When mahama n ndc were chopping all our money, where were you?

• TAFLATS3 9 years ago

WHAT ARE THESE ILLITERATE CHIEFS SAYING. GIVE US A BREAK JOOOOR, YOU PRAISE SINGERS !

due to oppression......

• The Consciencious Objector 9 years ago

The time has come to abolish chieftancy in Ghana.For real,what contribution do they make to the development of our beloved country?They're those who corrupt us.They don't work, but they have all the resources that make them r ...