You are here: HomeNews2014 10 20Article 331158

Mahama: Ghana hasn't decided on AFCON 2015 yet

Read Comments Comments (61)

• Kay 9 years ago

It is stupid and mad even to think of hosting this!

• OLD SOLDIER 9 years ago

Author:..Proud pepeni...

THE PROBLEM AS SOMEONE SAID IS THAT EVEN THOUGH THE BNI DID'T TAKE BRIBE, LET US WATCH OUT THAT THE JUDGES DON'T TAKE BRIBES AND LET THEM OFF. IT HAPPENS THAT LOWER DOWN OFFICIALS TRY TO DO THEIR ...

• Mahmoud 9 years ago

In conclusion, the President’s power to appoint the Chairman and Members of the EC is merely a ministerial one. The substantive power of appointment is assigned to the Council of State. The President shall act on the advice ...

• Ghfuo: hang nyantakyi! 9 years ago

Where are the world class stadiums and training pitches? Our capital cities are engulfed in filth,.dust, mosquitoes and ostensible.foul.smells like they only exists in storybooks. Ohene djan sef no.get scoreboard and floodlig ...

• Sigma, London 9 years ago

Ghana should think of eradicating ebola first and improve its health environment before thinking of hosting football games.

• The 9 years ago

This government has no focus and no vision, it is controlled by the wind whereever it is blown to it goes there. The Sports Minister says Ghana will host AFCON, it is received a back lash, then the President comes in to say G ...

• Council Of State 9 years ago

Only if the money is coming from your family! Football does not put food on our tables nor provide us with electricity! Stop behaving like a goat!

• OBIA MAN (JUJU MAN) 9 years ago

Sports Minister"Tractor"Ayiriga must be summoned to parliament to answer as to why he put fear and panic among Ghanaians that Ghana is ready to host the 2015 AFCON after Morocco and South Africa refused to host it due to the ...

• insight to the bone 9 years ago

Nepotism and corruption encouraged through the back door by Mahama is the cause of weakened institutions and lack of justice or the respect for the rule of law . This shameful situation can only be remedied when pepeni and hi ...

• BYRCE 9 years ago

They can take the bribe again.

• SARPONG 9 years ago

Mr President, what is there to decide? Tell your colleague President to cancel the 2015 AFCON because it is not safe to host this event in the midst of the ebola epidemic.

If you say we have not decided yet that means you ...

• KWAA 9 years ago

There is something very strange going on about this whole AFCON thing.Otherwise,how do one explain this foot draging on the side of Government?What is really there to think about?1,apart from Ebola,the time to stage the comp ...

• MAD COBRA 9 years ago

The Ghana govt will use "osonor" lights to replace the flood lights due to dumsor.

• Kwadwo 9 years ago

Just say no. You are no smarter than the presidents of Morocco and South Africa.

• Akyaa 9 years ago

Exactly!! Why should you even consider it?? Do you know the story of the Trojan Horse? Ebola is real and let us not play the ostrich and behave as if we are very special and these things cannot happen to us. Why is CAF so be ...

• Birry Wade 9 years ago

Mahama, it should not take you one minute to decide not to host the AFCON. If you refuse to reduce petrol prices because you think the country is broke and therefore you want to capitalize on the windfall why would you want t ...

• Kofitse 9 years ago

Mr. President, please advise your ministers to think twice before making statements here and there. It appears your ministers are not putting on their thinking caps before commenting on issues before them.

• Ama Serwah 9 years ago

Ebola: Is Morocco wiser than Ghana?

• Ama Serwah 9 years ago

One says no conference, one says AFCON

• OLD SOLDIER 9 years ago

AUTHOR: MARTIN A.B.K. AMIDU....

It would appear that those in control of the NDC, for the time being, were bent on excluding other bona fide members of the Party who may wish to lay democratic claims to who becomes the ne ...

• onetribe 9 years ago

Whilst we have idiots leading us. there is nothing to think about, just say no mahama

• Ama Serwah 9 years ago

EBOLA:Cancel Africa Cup of Nations games

• Obishi 9 years ago

There must be some serious money to be made from hosting this afcon that ordinary Ghanaians (you and I) don't know about. Otherwise, what accounts for the intransigence of John & Ibrahim Mahama in this matter! This family won ...

• MotiVey, Mamponten 9 years ago

This shouldn't be an issue for discussion in Ghana. We have a lot of challenges where concentration is much needed. If CAF cannot postpone AFCON 2015 then it shd go to Cameroon, Hayatou's homeland not Ghana.

• Pumpuni 9 years ago

Mahama Ayariga was used to test the waters. And with the massive outcry and outright rejection from Ghanaians,the best face-saving way out is the response from the President.

• toner & ink refill. 0244523451 9 years ago

Quality toner and ink refill at Abeka-Lapaz.
    We repair and sale printers and photocopy machines.
    Call 0244523451

• kay de 9 years ago

This Ayarega again. You see one of the problems of NDC is the unbriddle arrogance of its appointees to come out on issues without authorisation. I cant recount the number of times ministers like Ablakwa, Ayarega, Jamal and ot ...

• MenayeAFUAforiwa 9 years ago

Doesn't these an authorized statements from Ministers hurt the President? I feel very hurt when the President is put under such position of defending the mistakes of his stupid Ministers all the time. Who authorized Mr. Ayari ...

• Ghfuo: hang nyantakyi! 9 years ago

The more you hear of the atrocities of.ebola in the media. The more you are conditioned to believe it's true. Mahama appointed these persons like Ayariga to be his cabinet ministers. So it's only right for him to take the bla ...

• Yaro de Mann 9 years ago

What is going on, your minister said one thing and you are saying another thing. Who is in charge?

• naa 9 years ago

There's no decision about Afcon sir"" the
    Answer is NO NO NO ur thinking about the
    Money involved, but this is a deadly disease other countries don't want why Gh.

• MenayeAFUAforiwa 9 years ago

What would Africa lose if this AFCON is postponed? Africa should think about magnitude of the effect Ebola would have on her citizen than the enjoyment from these games, Afterall, AFCON was created for the enjoyment of Africa ...

• ffonky 9 years ago

You better say no, you have enough Problems to solve, don´t create new once.
    Oh I´ve forgotten "I AM THE PRESIDENT" -"Yentie Obiara" slogans.

• Rastafara 9 years ago

mahama is not straight forward

• john datson 9 years ago

Why Mahama always met people he show is ring on this finger to the to people talking lairs to the people change there mind,only am asking is juju ring or not,we will know everything later,Mahama government the law is not work ...

• Afreh Wontumi 9 years ago

The issue is that you will regret the rest of your life if thru govt indiscretion you open the door which God has closed against ebola to allow the virus in to devour Ghanaians.

• agbeko 9 years ago

then talk to that seven year old boy u called sports minister. i see mahama ayariga as my nephew in class two.

• Ugly Akufo Addo 9 years ago

JDM is the best President ever in Ghana

• Alpha Kunta Kunte 9 years ago

This just shows what we have on our hands as leaders of this country. This straight forward response, the government is looking for time to take a decision on.
    If CAF is insensitive,refuse to use their heads and think they c ...

• Alpha Kunta Kunte 9 years ago

You are too stupid yourself to spot another idiot!

• Saka Baah 9 years ago

You have no cause to decide. You must show maturity. Ghanaians don't need it. Posterity will judge you should you accept to host it and the worse happens

• King Adjei 9 years ago

Please. Our dear président dont accept any gift from CAF to host this tournament Ghana is not for one person
    .hosting this afcon ,surely ebola will enter Ghana

• JAA 9 years ago

How many times did you say that you had not made a decision on IMF yet. Please you do need any careful consideration on AFCOM; pragmatic is a response in the light of the reasoning of South Africa.

It is interesting to ...

• Amega 9 years ago

Is it because the organisers of CAF have no sense that West Africa, and for that matter Africa, have a health problem on their hands and need all hands on deck to prevent its spread? I wish all African countries should boycot ...

• USMAN 9 years ago

What Mahama has said is going to tarnish the image of Ghanaian professionals abroad. How can the president of a nation betray his citizens this way. When did Mahama know that Ghanaian accountants in public service are corrupt ...

• mojingles 9 years ago

What exactly do you mean by productive knowledge, Mallam Usman? Remember this cardinal rule about writing...whenever you write for public consumption and use a term that isn't common...you have to explain what it entails, per ...

• Aden 9 years ago

What is there to think about, BS, we can't risk Ebola, besides the CAF should wise up and postpone the game. Better still sponsorsshould quit sponsoring any of the games. We as a continent can't risk any more spread of the de ...

• author Tjorven's Africa Calling 9 years ago

Morocco's decision to pull out hosting the tournament next year is due to the outbreak of the Ebola virus in some West African countries. As Ghanaians, it should be our concern to support Morocco's reasonable decision to avoi ...

• Joseph Morrison 9 years ago

Indecisive President why don't you say this at home where we have the majority and if any outbreak will suffer the most and how long would it take you to say no to this simple question which even a lunatic will say no. Pls th ...

• tuglo lena 9 years ago

plsss go straight to the point we are not ready to welcome ebola in our poor country plssss

• Oko Vann 9 years ago

Mahama used that dog eating, brain dead Aponkyiriga to test the waters. The answer by the overwhelming majority of Ghanaians was a resounding NO! If he insists on it, Mahama can host it in his hometown. Bole Bamboi is big eno ...

• Ernest Mensah 9 years ago

Mr president there is nothing for the government to decide please tell AFC no AFCON in Ghana in 2015 full stop

• Asempanaye 9 years ago

Mr President do not send mixed signals to us and call the Minister of Youth and Sports to order. Such unwarranted statements are making you very unpopular among Ghanaians as the president who has no control of his Ministers. ...

• Di Wo Fei Asem 9 years ago

What does the President mean by "Ghana hasn't decided on AFCON 2015 yet but certainly 2017 we are putting in a bid for it".So if Ghana is to host AFCON 2015 , will the Country still put in a bid for for 2017?.With just about ...

• Asempanaye 9 years ago

All parties must vote heavily against the NDC if President Mahama host this AFCON and gets Ghanaian infested with the EBOLA virus. Even one death cannot be forgiven, NDC members should rather reject him before Ghanaians act. ...

• Agbeybibi 9 years ago

Can African leaders be any smart thinkers? At the time we are struggling to stop the spread of the dreaded deadly Ebola, I think cancelling 2015 AFCON would have been a simple wise decision.

• Asoreba 9 years ago

Nothing to think about this. Ghanaians are not the stupid ones in Africa. If anything at all, we should be leading the discussion to postpone not to contemplate on whether or not to accept.

• ERNEST 9 years ago

pesident do not think of getting money when you host the AFCONm. think about peoples health.

• Lord Tennison 9 years ago

Shouldn't your cabinet minister have sought your opinion as the president before putting out his statement?
    Do not bring Ebola into our country.
    You have not been able to solve the cholera deaths.How on earth can you face t ...

• oppong london 9 years ago

there must be straight NO of rather thinking about it,any good leader will give straight away no answer,not a second thought is needed.

• gershon ashie nikoi 9 years ago

i love my prez but any decision or advice to accept afcon will be the worst decision i will see you take. i suggest the timing will be wrong.you cannot tell in the face improved infrastructure we may get and open the doorway ...