You are here: HomeNews2014 10 18Article 331007

Okuapeman mobs Otumfuo

Read Comments Comments (53)

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 9 years ago

How Great. This is how Chieftainacy should be about. Unifying people but not modern politics. We also ask Nananom to respect themselves so we can respect them. Double and triple deal land sales. Anyway, nobody can do that to ...

• princewilly@ymail.com 9 years ago

Chooboi,Chooboi,Nananom made me switch your Camera four times around to sell your lands to Vicky Hamma. Sne wants to make Millions.

• Julor Agyekum Kwakwe (JAK) 9 years ago

Ashantis will never learn, they always display their stupidity everywhere.

• Kwame Dokyi 9 years ago

Akua, I love you!

Jato, that was not for you, but it appears that you,rather,are being stupidly arrogant!!

• Akua Mansah 9 years ago

The reporting is poor and misses the historical significance of the visit rather dwelling nonsensical minutiae

This is a powerful historical visit and the writer shoud have done his homework

• William 9 years ago

Mr./Madam reporter, take this very good advice for future reporting.

• KnYc(USMC) 9 years ago

This were nana education come in place

Akua,my love is for your feminine eloquence,characteristic of Yaa Asantewaa, but , I missed her , but you!!

• KWAME KWABIA 9 years ago

At this time of our time when we are preaching to avoid hand shake, with people running out of handshake, others are fighting to shake hands to gain what? Ebola or what? To hell with so called handshake with the devil.

• AKASI MARTHA NZEMA 9 years ago

ASANTEHENE OTUMFUO AGYEMAN PREMPEH II WENT TO NZEMA LAND IN 1947 TO VISIT OKOMFO ANOKYI HOMELAND. NKRUMAH SHOULD REBURIED IN NZEMA OTHERWISE IN 200YRS TIME, THE GA'S WILL SAY HE WAS BORN IN GA'LAND AND ALSO GA MAN.

I come to this forum once in a while, but I don't know why I should not, for the drama in historical perspective; and all!!

in indeed; a historical perspective?

• gloria usa 9 years ago

Who is Ahsanti hene that you can't shake hands.Jesus has open the way that everybody can come to him and have peace.forget about Ahsanti king

• tyb 9 years ago

You fool. It could have been because of the Ebola thing. Precaution!!!! Precaution !!!!!!

• Lorgo Ligri 9 years ago

How many times did you shake your father's hand? Jesus came to save mankind and therefore invited all. Asantehene is the Otumfour of Asanteman and not all are welcomed near him. Have a problem with that? Then don't bother ge ...

• George Nimaco Yaw 9 years ago

Is this Okomfo Añokye who tricks our chiefs to surrender all our resources to one family .Anokye is the cause of Ashanti woes

• princewilly@ymail.com 9 years ago

History is his story not her story.
    Thats why people talk about the virgin Mary not the Virgin Joseph that took all the insults in Bethlehem Judea when Mary was pregnant.
    If the people from Avatime or Amedjope are Volta Aka ...

• REEPE. 9 years ago

Princewilly you are intelligent. History writers have actually misplaced this whole truth about the origin of Okomfo Anokye. He's a 100% Ewe according to Ewe history. You can trace this till you meet Ham the second son of ...

• Akans Prophecies 9 years ago

APUUI. His name could never have been Okomfo Anokye !And by the way, Volta Akans have never existed! One is either Akan or Ewe even in multi-lateral blood relations. Spare us your frustrations , no EWE would neglect his nativ ...

• MAAME 9 years ago

Please stop it. You can't distort history, he was called Okomfo Anokye not notsie, when I was a school girl, we went on an excursion to Awukugua to have a view of the oware he used his fingers to make on a stone,, we found th ...

• REEPE. 9 years ago

Go and ready the real history not the scholastic one you know. The name Anokye derives from Notsie. In Akan they said Okomfo that comes from Notsie. Find out how he was discovered by the king who was in a desperate need of ...

• TP 9 years ago

Could have been, might have been. Facts pls, otherwise it's all noise.

• Ugly Akufo Addo 9 years ago

He is a bastard too

• did u heard him dissn otumfour 9 years ago

d least said abt u. ure a rat! abowa wai

• TP 9 years ago

Wow!!! For the first time, I'd post an insult. Monkey brains for disrespecting Otumfuo.

• adumtumi nyansafuo 9 years ago

No asantehene should go and greet any small cheif of akropong. This is foolishness. Kwaku should be destooled. And asanteman should look for the pure asantes in braman and kenyase

• ur moda n fada r d small chief 9 years ago

kwasia cant u jux see der x no wise being in dat ur braman n kenyase. no ur fada shd go n greet ur moda. abowa ba. wise up! ure a rat!

And you call me stupid. Please, I will put curses all over the eastern region you try me. I may be abroad but I was taught the ways of obosom. Hmmm

• Patriot 9 years ago

Strictly speaking Akropong is an Akyem Abuakwa entity and headed by a brother of Okyehene, Ofori Kuma. Asantehene should have paid homage to Okyehene before going to Akropong as tradition demands. That should have been the pr ...

anyone. Except his oyoko uncles

• TP 9 years ago

He has now

this eastern regional fools. Asantehene just greeted the stupid chief, not pay homage.

• DON'T JOKE WITH EBOLA 9 years ago

WHAT MECHANISMS HAVE OUR LEADERS MADE TO PREVENT EBOLA COMING TO GHANA. THE SECURITY AT OUR BORDERS SHOULD BE TIGHTENED ESPECIALLY THE SEAS AND LANDS. COULD YOU BELIEVE THAT SOME AFRICAN DIASPORIANS ARE BEING CALLED NAMES IN ...

• Kwabena 9 years ago

Look, like it or hate it, this is rich culture revisited and at its best. Long live Asanteman, Okuapeman and Ghanaman

• Mallam Tula 9 years ago

For those who prefer not find out how the Ashanti Kingdom came about and in particular for those Ashantis who think Ashanti as came tribe came out of thin air ; they should go find out their history and stop this Ashanti arro ...

I feel sorry for you and your false god

• TP 9 years ago

But u can't say Ashanti's are nothing. U might as well say Ghanaians are nothing.

• AKASI MARTHA NZEMA 9 years ago

MALLAM TULA, I BELIEVE YOU READ ADDU BUAHENE'S HISTORY BOOK WITHOUT RESEACH, AND ALSO YOU DID NOT MEET YOUR GREAT PARENTS WHY SANTE'S AND NZEMA'S ARE ONE BECAUSE OF AKONFO ANOKYI. OKOMFO ANOKYI HOME TOWN IS ANOKYI NEAR ATUABO ...

• MAHAMA LOOT ND SHARE 9 years ago

HUUUUUUUUUUU,NDC CORRUPT CHIEF,HE CAN NOT GO TO CANADA HAHAHAHAHA,HMMMMM WHY????? NSEM PII

• Abraham 9 years ago

Corrupt chiefs indeed they are people to blame for winner take all, when they are crowned all the land and other properties belonging to the city, town or village would be sold in their advance. I don't understand why they st ...

• Sm4better 9 years ago

Observers are worried.Nana nyankwa daaaaaaa.thats d great king.dont envy him.who d caps fit let him wear..

• Abu Samson 9 years ago

I do admire Otumfuo for such a historic event.Your are a Great King with a great Kingdom and wisdom. Pls, minimize your involvement in Ghana`s dirty politics which carries no respect. Your Kingdom is greater than Ghana`s dis ...

• Pappa 9 years ago

So where is the chieftaincy minister? He has been sidelined and never allow to address public gatherings like this? Sad for Ghana

• Tony S. 9 years ago

Was he really mobbed? What wrong did he do? Check the use of the verb.

• REEPE. 9 years ago

For those who opposed what I've said regarding the origin of Okomfo Anokye whose real origin is from Notsie. Kindly Google; THE ORIGINS AND A BRIEF HISTORY OF THE EWE PEOPLE. You will find 15 page pdf detailed history over ...

• Osei-bonsu 9 years ago

Thanks, but we don't need ewe books to know our history. What we know is his name was Anokye, which is definitely not an ewe name. Why do u always want to be part of Asantes history?? First it was kente is from Eweland, now A ...

• MR MAWEGYATA 9 years ago

VISIT THE OTHER AKAN KINGDOMS FANTI,BONO, AKYEM,KWAHU AND NZEMA BUILD AND UNIT THE AKAN FAMILY.WE NEED A STRONG GHANA. WITH ISLAMIC CRIMINAL SPREADING WE NEED A STRONG AKAN UNITY TO HOLD GHANA.SHOW THE WAY NANA.

• Kwasi Afriyie Asamoah 9 years ago

Okomfo Anokye was the 4th chief of Agona -Asante so he was an Ashanti. The Asantes do not appoint a stranger as a chief so otumfuo should go back to the drawing table and learn the history.

• Appiah 9 years ago

Can somebody tell me the meaning of Ashanti and who is An Ashanti ?

• King Bascious 9 years ago

The real name is ‘Asanti’. It is derived from ‘asa’ meaning ‘wars’ and ‘nti’ meaning ‘because’. ‘?Sa’ means ‘war’ in singular; and ‘asa’ is the plural. The name ‘Asanti’ therefore means ‘ ...

• Akadu Mensema 9 years ago

It is Okuapehene.

• King Bascious 9 years ago

The real name is ‘Asanti’. It is derived from ‘asa’ meaning ‘wars’ and ‘nti’ meaning ‘because’. ‘?Sa’ means ‘war’ in singular; and ‘asa’ is the plural. The name ‘Asanti’ therefore means ‘ ...