You are here: HomeNews2014 10 11Article 329859

71% debt-to-GDP ratio: BoG must explain!

Read Comments Comments (110)

• Ghanaman 9 years ago

These mpepefuo are liars and corrupt thieves

• HONESTY 9 years ago

Do you think the mighty USA or Uk would ever tell you the exact figures of their economies.

This should not even be discussed. I say no more. Stay in your ignorance and I wish a generation rise up one day who truly unders ...

• Nii Tsokor 9 years ago

explanation of the Dept-to-GDP ration they gave out before you start vilifying both the BoG and the government ?

The people who worked under Bawumia at the bank are the same people giving out these numbers.Ghanaians are p ...

• HONESTY 9 years ago

GHANAIANS ARE TALKING THEMSELVES TO HELL. I just hope the other parties do the same to any NPP gov't and then after some lost years, people would start to see reason. In fact, I should not even be explaining this to them.

• SGT ANANI FIADZOE 9 years ago

How can under any Government of NDC always drag back the economy and the progress of this country?

Look at National Service Secretariat, what a sad amount of corruption, thievery, brigand, snowball lies, and
    the highest l ...

• KB,LONDON. 9 years ago

SO,ONCE AGAIN HIPC STARING GHANA IN THE FACE. NDC HAS MANAGED TO RUN THE COUNTRY DOWN, PRETENDING TO BE A GOVERNMENT BUT ACTUALLY OPERATING LIKE ARMED ROBBERS. THE COUNTRY PAYS THEM TO WORK FOR MOTHER GHANA, BUT STEAL WHAT WE ...

• ADJOA WANGARA 9 years ago

Ghana’s Central Bank, the Ministry of Finance and the NDC Goovernment were surveying for another means to loot and share again.

Just look at Kofi Wampah carefelly, nobody will tell you that he is a criminal and for Maha ...

• Mahmoud 9 years ago

The P/NDC and its sycophant stomach politicians, claiming to be supporters of the failed Nkrumah's ideology, are nothing but cut-throat, blood sucking vampires and nation wreckers masquerading as socialists. No wonder they ha ...

• Wisdom Smith Awanu 9 years ago

This is another Ndc praise singer who refused to think,. May l asked you ?Who Head BoG? Who appointed them what's their roles as leaders? please think

• JK 9 years ago

DO U HAVE ANY SENSE OF SHAME? SHOULD YOU TELL LIES JUST TO BE EXPOSED? THIS IS NOT THE FIRST TIME YOUR DEMONIC NDC HAS FALSIFIED FIGURES. BE BRACE AND GOOGLE world bank fines ghana AND STOP SPEWING SH1T.

• HONESTY 9 years ago

I am worsting my time with lead polluted brains. bye.

• HONESTY 9 years ago

...waisting...

• yanks 9 years ago

time indeed

• Kwadwo 9 years ago

Do you mean wasting? Is sad being an NDC foot soldier.

• HONESTY 9 years ago

Now, you also stop assuming every critic of the NPP is NDC. Let me see how humble you are.

• DusTY-FooT-pHiloSophER 9 years ago

Honesty, if I were you, I would strike the first honouring by finding out the authenticity of the said posting from the office of the Deputy Director in the Fiscal Affairs Department of the International Monetary Fund (IMF), ...

• HONESTY 9 years ago

I am genuinely not an NDC but can not take the foolishness from Ghanaians whenever they are discussing things that actually have impact on us. I defend Ghana first and correct them at home later.

I have notice with great ...

• AbasZ 9 years ago

Is not your fault. You are illiterate so dont know what's going on. 'wasting' a class 3 word, you could not spell. You see,ndc is ILLITERATES PARTY therefore you cant understand Dr. Bawumia assessment on the economy. You are ...

• HONESTY 9 years ago

So now you accept people can write twenty two zone.

You have to also check your eyes because I had corrected myself before you landed.

Do you want to the the majority people of this nation that there is no sensible or honest person in our country? KWASEA LIKE YOU. Is that what you see American people and Government doing?

Therefore if you are sent there t ...

• HONESTY 9 years ago

You are a sad fool and you will be found out when the people start waking up to reality.

• NANA OBUOBI II 9 years ago

Wo maame twe kan kan is talking about thievery here. KRONFUO LIKE YOU, GOD
    will punish you and your mother and all your families.

You will never live to see the end of 2014, I prophecies. ANIMAL with only human skin cover ...

• HONESTY 9 years ago

I'm beginning to pay attention to you.................

Thank you.

• HONESTY 9 years ago

You can use my alias name, 'honesty' and I will freely give it to you and go back to my favorite.
    FELLOW Ghanaians I will never write such a thing as the comment above this.

• HONESTY 9 years ago

YOU WILL GO FIRST. TOMORROW YOUR HAND WILL SWELL AND THAT SHOULD TELL YOU, YOU ARE ON YOUR WAY TO YOUR GRAVE BEFORE THE END OF THE MONTH. RIP .

• Osei Akoto 9 years ago

GHANA MUST KNOW THAT MATHEMATICAL TRUTH IS ONLY ONE. PROPAGANDER HAS NO PLACE IN MATHEMATICS.
    SPEW GARBRAH HAS MET THE CHALLANGE IN THE GHANA'S MINISTRY TO DESTOY HIMSELF OR TELL THE TRUTH ONCE AND FOR ALL.

• Atugabiig 9 years ago

Dr Bawumia exonerated.

• HONESTY 9 years ago

Keep exonerating a traitor and an opportunist.
    His day will come though when I trust the same NPP to use this against him like you did to Dr. Anane and Dr Weruku Brobbey. Mark my words.

• ISSA ABONGO 9 years ago

THESE NDC FOOTSOLDIERS WILL DEFEND WRONGDOING TILL KINGDOM COME AND IT IS THE WRONGDOING WHICH IS BRINGING THEIR GOVERNMENT AND GHANA DOWN. THE WRONG IS FALSEHOOD, IT IS HOLLOW, A MIRAGE AND FAILS, SOON AS IT IS PUT UNDER SCR ...

• Koku Kesedovoo 9 years ago

They do not borrow from Ghana

• mensah abrampa 9 years ago

What are you talking about? Nations do go borrowing but it's common knowledge and financially prudent for the lender to ascertain the credit worthiness of the borrower. No financial institution will lend money if they have ev ...

• HONESTY 9 years ago

When on top of bad management, you have traitors making things even more harder for the average Ghanaian.
    Now who will suffer for the time being Ghana is waiting for a good leader and the only means of relief is destroyed ...

• Time Will Tell 9 years ago

Honest...this is the kind of thinking that does not make Africa develop....why should government hide the truth from her own citizens??? Bawumia speaks the truth even before IMF's investigation and you call him a traitor? How ...

• HONESTY 9 years ago

Imagine why they would want to come out to make statements while negotiations are on going. Try and read the article.

Stupid Cow like you living in America, do you see any American Politician Governs their country to make the nation a comfortable and economical vibrant for you idiots to live there like the way NDC crooks, liars and incompete ...

• SARPONG 9 years ago

Idiot, even if they do they don't come borrowing from Africa countries or come crying to give them budget support or debt forgiveness, that is the difference but I don't expect you dunderhead to know the difference anyway bec ...

• HONESTY 9 years ago

Why did President Kufuor whine Ghana out of the IMF?
    NDC must know, you don't do business with cartels unless they are thieves themselves.
    If you accept this, why are you now praising the same Brettonwood institution the ...

• HONESTY 9 years ago

...Kufuor wean...

• SAMO JEWELERY 9 years ago

Call or whatsapp us on 0244717600 to send u latest designs of yellow n white gold rings to choose from for yr wedding n engagement........locally design rings soo perfect n accurate with superb finnish touches.....u call also ...

• Odwan like you. 9 years ago

It is goats like you that why we are at where we at right now .

• HONESTY 9 years ago

The world is moving on.

India has elected a leader who puts the people first before international interest and friends and you backward people are still trapped in the 19th century.

I try to improve myself everyday, t ...

• Komla Agbeshie ( Ho ) 9 years ago

You may be crazy,witched and blind. Don't you know that a beggar has no choice? Telling the truth will make the NDC Mahama led government free?I don't understand why people like you always come out and throw dust into the eye ...

• SARPONG 9 years ago

This should not come as a shock to Ghanaians. Ndc have done this statistical number massaging since its inception as a party.

Dr Bawumiah told Ghanaians this useless bunch of create, loot and share thieves have been doing ...

• Toffey 9 years ago

To me it may not be a case of massaging of figure. It may be sheer 'boonhyism'. Blockheadness on the part of those doing the calculations, I mean. It's such a national embarrassment and shame.

• Pelicles 9 years ago

Yes, NDC is full of truants, vagabonds hence their constant disrespect to Ghanaians. They will never stop lying till "thy kingdom come". Someone said that "If you lie to rule a nation, the economic indicators will expose y ...

• Kwadwo 9 years ago

NDC is built to even lie to God. That why they have planned to build a party school for that purpose. Unfortunately, Volta region and North regions will enable the party to continue to rule and destroy Ghana. What a shame.

• JK 9 years ago

THE VERY DAY THAT BLOOD SUCKING RAWLINGS FORMED THAT CONTRAPTION CALLED NDC, SATAN CAME TO LIVE IN GHANA AND GHANA WILL NEVER PROSPER UNTIL GHANAIANS EJECT NDC FROM GHANA. THE PARTY IS SO DEMONIC THAT WHEN THEY ARE CAUGHT STE ...

• Mboasemaaa kwaakwa 9 years ago

J.K. the NDC party is like the Ebola disease/virus. It is so dangerous and murderous that it destroys anything that it comes across. It is so contageous that whoever joins the party becomes a liar and corrupt, and has no pas ...

• VOICE OF REASON 9 years ago

Ghanaians must rise up......and chase this dumb and corrupt president away from the flagstaff house.He is just a crook

• Kofi - USA 9 years ago

DR. BARWUMIA POINTED THIS SAME ISSUE AND HE WAS VILIFIED BY NDC FOLKS. THIS SAME ISSUE HAS COME UP AND IMF IS DEMANDING ANSWERS. THIS IS WHAT YOU GET WIHEN YOU HAVE CORRUPT PEOPLE RUNNING THE AFFAIRS OF THE COUNTRY. YOU MAY B ...

• HONESTY 9 years ago

They can only take you on when they see you are divided.
    Imagine, your wife is fucking your neigbour and she is also telling him everything in your house. Don't you think it would be hard to even take your neigbour on if he ...

• MINOR CASE 9 years ago

A typical Ghanaian - telling us that those who know our economic malaise should tell the whole world that it is robust. A classic case of " if it is a goat say it is a cow " mantra of the NDC . They lie through their teeth an ...

• HONESTY 9 years ago

OF course how can you fool a neigbour being fucked by your wife and her exposing all your bedroom antics? You are very ignorant.

• adumtumi nyansafuo 9 years ago

I resign as a Ghanaian. I will sell my three business in Ghana. Useless country, how can you lie about your economy when people feel the pain. Asantehene please separate Ashantis from Ghana. We are tired.

• Raymond 9 years ago

You are right, Ghana is bound to suffer more these idiots destroyed our economy. This really Sucks ass!!

• NANA OSEI (QEEENS, NEW YORK) U.S.A 9 years ago

IT IS CLEAR THAT NDC'S ARE IMCOMPETENCE FOR THE OFFICE THEY'RE HAVE OCCUPIED THROUGH LIES AND SCAMS. BUT AS THE BIBLE SAYS, BY THEIR FRUITS YOU SHALL KNOW THEM. THESE CROOKS AND CONS SHOULD BE REMOVED FROM THEIR OFFICES.

• HONESTY 9 years ago

Ask your self, why should a hardworking African farmer earn less for his products than a common street cleaner in Europe. The whole world economy is fictitious and it is really hard for any third world gov't.
    The way you ra ...

NDC had a perfect opportunity to prove themselves after wining the last election. NDC simply blew it. This economy would have been excellent if nana akufo addo were elected as president. What virtual economy. Are you serious.

• HONESTY 9 years ago

They should have realised going for a bill out from IMF was not prudent especially at a time the NPP are hell burnt on coming to power to carry on their destructive job and would expose everything to have their way.
    Now tel ...

You must be a NDC man. You are a waste of my time. Good day sir.

• HONESTY 9 years ago

You have not answered the question, why should a hardworking farmer, who does 14 hours a day on a farm and harvest plenty find it difficult to make enough money to buy a toothbrush compared to a street cleaner in Europe who c ...

• VOICE OF REASON 9 years ago

Trained and foisted on Ghanaians by Rawlings,the master crook......what have we done and where did we go wrong as a nation of noble people to be now ruled by a mafia gang of crooks and fraudsters......what have we done to des ...

• HONESTY 9 years ago

Do you know the Nigerians fix their numbers worse than anyone and yet, because they understand themselves and the lies in the whole world economy, no one is taking them on.

With people like you, no wonder Busua said, Ghan ...

• MINOR CASE 9 years ago

Why should you insist that we lie about our figures ? You must be a crook indeed .

• HONESTY 9 years ago

TELL ME, where are commodity prices fixed everyday. If you are able to. I answer why China, India etc would do even worst than the gov't of Ghana.

• KnYc(USMC) 9 years ago

Are you alright?

• HONESTY 9 years ago

WHAT IS INSIDE TRADING. WHY ARE THE BIG GUNS AGAINST INSIDE TRADING. HOW DOES IT AFFECT THE THIRD WORLD ECONOMIES. YES, I MAY BE INSANE BECAUSE THESE THINGS ARE HARD FOR YOU TO UNDERSTAND.

• KnYc(USMC) 9 years ago

I live in New York City want to school there, worked my intern with Morgan Stanly you are going to tell me about inside trading. Moron.

• HONESTY 9 years ago

GHANAIANS LIKE YOU ARE DISHONEST.

• KnYc(USMC) 9 years ago

Why? The government cooking the books
    lolol

• JAA 9 years ago

If you lie to secure the loan, don't you know you put yourself into more fiscal problems because you will not be able to pay back. The burden will then be on the next government to pick up the pieces; just as Rawlings did to ...

• KnYc(USMC) 9 years ago

You don't need to be Einstein to know that the country is moving backward under this incompetent NDC morons in power. Now they are cooking books, what a shame. You can't borrow your way out of debt, unless you don't care, and ...

• bigbrosam 9 years ago

THE SAME GUY HIRED TO INTERUPT THIS PLATFORM CONVERSATION BEFORE BY NDC HAS CHANGED HIS NAME TO DIVERT ATTENTION IS NOW BACK.PRINTS NONSENSE TO ENGAGE MINDS IN EFFORT TO PUSHH PEOPLE OFF.I TELL U HONESTY THUG,YOUR DAYS ARE NU ...

• HONESTY 9 years ago

I thought you guys are democrats or you don't understand democracy as well? The right to freedom of speech.

• Kwadwo 9 years ago

Honesty, please stop embarrassing your family with your pea brain. It is sad you don't seem to comprehend this simple issue raised by the IMF of cooked figures by our government. This has nothing to do with NPP, stupid.

• HONESTY 9 years ago

The truth is self evident and we will know what you are doing with time. Keep your threats. You are indeed worst than I remember the PNDC or early stages of the NDC. Threats from the NPP indeed. Great democrats.

• SARPONG 9 years ago

Freedom of speech does not mean you have to carve a niche for yourself as the king of morons, do you understand that? I doubt it.

• HONESTY 9 years ago

I work like the Comoros dragon. I hit my victims and leave them to go. I am patient and I have time. That is my strategy to help re-educate my people.

• Joe Baba NYC 9 years ago

Your hyperactive is making you a big fool of yourself. You are making no sense. Get lost!

• HONESTY 9 years ago

You guys resort to insults when you can not answer simple questions.
    If you ask nicely, I may ask the simple questions again.

• John Benson (PHD Candidate) Purdue Un 9 years ago

Not when you are confusing "WASTING" time with "WAISTING". you don't even know how to spell how can you be taken seriously. You are the kind of guy who troll the internet with false information.

• ISSA ABONGO 9 years ago

JOHN BENSON THE NDC THE LEAST FOOTSOLDIER TO THEIR FOUNDER THINK EVERYONE IN THIS WORLD IS A FOOL AND THEY ARE WISE AND CAN PULL A FAST ONE OVER EVERYONE, INCLUDING WELL ESTABLIHED INSTITUTIONS LIKE THE IMF. THEY ARE SO SIMPL ...

• HONESTY 9 years ago

As yourself, why would the gov't reduce the debt percent from 71 to 55. IMF will still give them the money, mark my words.
    1. What do you do when you go to the market to buy milk. Do you tell the trader, I have 40 thousand ...

• HONESTY 9 years ago

The substance is more important than the misspell. Look, I was not sure and when I asked someone else, I got the wrong spelling from that person.

I was in a hurry to somewhere and could not check. But hey, the most import ...

I guess those ignorants who comment on this platform and insult economists like BAWUMIA are ashamed. As i said economics and Information Technology must be compulsory in Ghanaian education.

• HONESTY 9 years ago

You are a Ghanaian, so stop putting too much faith in politicians.

He knows the truth and he uses it to his personal advantage even to the detriment of all.

Why has he never said such things because you will be naive ...

• Agyeman 9 years ago

Debt to GDP ratio is not bad at all.We borrowed to invest into a more productive Ghana so it kinda pays itself off thru an expanded economy which gives Ghana more tax receipts.More debt is like a borrowing a snow ball- you ro ...

Come on man not a debt of 71% when previous investments haven't paid off.

• Don kobo 9 years ago

You heard the IMF loud and clear that:we borrow but nothing is shown for it...am sorry bro

• SARPONG 9 years ago

Idiot, how can you compare an economy with a gdp of 60 billion dollars to economies like UK, Italy and Japan with ecnomies with gdp from 700 billion to trillion dollars?

Your problem is that you don't understand gdp to de ...

• Don kobo 9 years ago

U must demand accountability from your politicians , the president ,the gorvenor, and the Ndc is sucking the country dry....

• Don kobo 9 years ago

Ghanaians hate the truth .and does why we are suffering .until you all realize that mahama is a thief the better..

• HONESTY 9 years ago

If Ghanaians is a set and Mahama is a Ghanaian and the saying goes, all Ghanaians are thieves and you think Mahama is a thief then where does Mahama belong?
    I mean most of the people you are calling on to wake up are either ...

• XYZ 9 years ago

Nana Addo vindicated, anything Mahama touches turned to dust. Zita come again.

• Time Will Tell 9 years ago

You think IMF will build on your rotten figures???

• Nyankomago 9 years ago

Dr Bawumia, HERE IS YOUR STONE!!!!!

• Mars1 9 years ago

What naivety to think that the IMF will not know. Somebody at the Bank of Ghana and the Ministry of Finance need to explain the discrepancies in the figures. If the IMF figures are correct, heads must roll. Have we not learne ...

• BOY KOFI 9 years ago

What is Nana Addo and Alan's position on the IMF bailout?These 2 gentlemen want to rule this country but they don't care about what IMF is going to do with our economy.A good opposition leader will always critise govt's bad p ...

• Adjua 9 years ago

You NDC guys never cease to amaze me. Where were you when the NPP economists were drumming into your thick heads that you were taking us into doom with your reckless policies and outright robbery? When you were offered advice ...

• BOY KOFI 9 years ago

Politics is not a chieftancy affair,when there is a debate you have to keep going.There is no Ghana NPP and another Ghana NDC.Politics is about policies so if you are not going to debate it's up to you.

• imPOSSIBLE 9 years ago

Unprecedented LIARS.

• Tawiah 9 years ago

Obviously, all our leaders except Kwame Nkrumah and General I.K. Acheampong were smart leaders.

The fact that, Acheampong could mobilise Ghanaians and initiate "Operation Feed Yourself " to rally us all around his governm ...

• HONESTY 9 years ago

That is why I said, it was not prudent for NDC to go to the IMF at a time the NPP is hell burnt on dragging Ghana down.
    The other question is, why did the IMF or who brought this whole information of a cooked data out?
    I r ...

• TEE 9 years ago

SO ARE WE SITTING DOWN UNTIL 2016

• TEE 9 years ago

SO IS THERE NO SENIORS OR INSTITUTIONS WHO WILL BRING THIS SUFFERING TO AN END. LET MAHAMA STEP DOWN AND TRIAL HIM IN COURT. ASK HIM WHERE ARE OUR MONEY PERIOD

• USMAN. 9 years ago

This is how far our useless university graduates have brought us.

• NSS Board of Director 9 years ago

IMF themselves (in fact the World Bank)are experts at padding financial ratios. So there is no point trying to convince an entrenched position of IMF, Sanjeed Gupta. This brings to mind: Indians are the world's best figure co ...

• Eddie Blay, Daily Guide 9 years ago

The latest IMF Fiscal Monitor report released Wednesday also projects the debt levels to peak at 71.1 percent in 2015, before easing to 68.3 percent two years later.

Commenting on Ghana’s debt level, Sanjeev Gupta, Deput ...

• Dagadoo 9 years ago

Now, should the NPP come in 2017 what will be left for them? No room to operate, therefore it would be better to let the NDC continue in 2017 and reduce the debt level. This is a painful fact as they have maximum the debt lev ...

• Dagadoo 9 years ago

It is bad as such, only if the country has the ability to repay its debt-Ghana can do it. This creates more spending, more jobs, more taxes, and of cause better infrastructures in the future.