You are here: HomeNews2014 10 10Article 329693

Don’t attend my funeral if… – D.K. Poison warns state officials

Read Comments Comments (55)

• ABROKYIRE Y3 FUCKEN! 9 years ago

Again, where did this guy go wrong? Even foolish John boye who scores an own goal in every international match gets paid---so why not DK? Huh?

• seth CALL 07737190496 9 years ago

THE STATE MUST PAY THIS MONEY WITH INTEREST.IF IT IS IMF THE NATION WOULD HAVE PAID LONG AGO.YOU ONCE HAILED HIM AS WORLD CHAMPION BUT NOW FORGET HIM ENTIRELY.IT IS A DISGRACE TO THE WHOLE SUCCESSIVE GOVERNMENTS.PAY HIM THAT ...

• Akadu Mensema 9 years ago

Yes I remember those KALABULE days when Ghana was misruled by SMC1 led by illiterate Kutu Acheampong(he ignorantly referred to TECH as Kumasi Legon). The economy of Ghana was so hard even yellow corn was used to prepare kenk ...

• afrikaba1 9 years ago

I like a lot the stuff you have written but I am surprised why the WBC could not afford to pay for his plane ticket, accommodation etc if they are the one honoring him? WBC is a mega rich organisation.

• Ma 9 years ago

How can D.K Poison come here and tell us that he loaned $45000 to Ghana with no paper work or credible witnesses and expect us to believe him?Azumah could come to us ten years from now and claim he also loaned Ghana 4.5millio ...

• YAKUBU KOBO 9 years ago

IF THERE IS ANY PROOF ABOUT THE WHOLE DEAL ,WHY DO THEY REFUSE TO PAY HIM .D.K POISON SHOULD TAKE THE CASE TO THE HIGHEST COURT IF HE HAS SOME PAPERS TO SHOW .

• Hope 9 years ago

In the seventies there was a lot of shortages . Does he remember the name of the officials he was dealing with?

• MAHAMA 9 years ago

MA, OR WHATEVER YOUR NAME WHAT HAVE U DONE FOR GHANA? AT LEAST HE HAS PUT THE NATION ON THE WORLD STAGE. WHY DOEST THE GOVERNMENT INVESTIGATE? THERE WAS A MINISTER OF SPORT THEN WHY DONT THEY FIND OUT AND COME OUT PUBLICLY TO ...

• Hola Miguel 9 years ago

Thanks for the comprehensive write-up. I am a little worried about "...title against Olivares to borrow his hard earned purse to Ghana...". Did he lend the money to Ghana or did he borrow it to Ghana? Just wondering

• Sam 9 years ago

What do you mean "Did he lend the money to Ghana or did he borrow it to Ghana?"

It's clear he lent the money to Ghana, he didn't borrow from Ghana. The difference bt lend and borrow is clear, but some Ghanaians confuse the ...

• THE TRUTH 9 years ago

Now you say Acheampong was bad for Ghana? Just that you know, that is what brought Rawlings into the picture.

• Mike Olongo, USA 9 years ago

As far as I can remember Rawlings came into the picture when Akuffo was Head of State.

• Mike Olongo, USA 9 years ago

I wonder if there is anyone who can testify that proceeds from the Tinapa sale actually went into the government's coffers? That, perhaps, explains why the government appears unwilling to reimburse him. It seems to me Simpe ...

• omane 9 years ago

Nothing went wrong, itz ur mismanagement that went wrong. Did the Ghana gov't take your houses, gas stations, ur companies? Men just chill.

• KATAKYIE OF ST LUKE HOUSE 9 years ago

DOES DK HAS AN EVIDENCE TO SUBSTANTIATE HIS CLAIM ? HOW DARE AN
    INDIVIDUAL LEND MONEY TO A GOVT ?

• OSEI TAWIAH 9 years ago

I am not quite sure if this is true but it's possible at that time. This amount was huge at the time. Ghana government is useless.

• SALINSA 9 years ago

i have been following his story keenly. it was true that those days times were very hard. in fact the mackerel he is talking about was listed amongst items referred to as essential commodities or provisions. when you enter th ...

• pppp 9 years ago

PEASE THE GOV'T SHD TRACE ITS RECORDS AND VALUE THIS MONEY AND PAY HIM WITH ALACRITY.

• Sam 9 years ago

It was happening those days. You see DK fought in Japan and was paid in dollars, so the government borrowed the money there (in Japan) to import/ship some mackerel which is produced in Japan to Ghana. They promised to pay him ...

• niibii 9 years ago

HE IS ASKING FOR WHAT THE NATION OWN HIM , THAT IS HIS MONEY AND NO JUDGMENT,KEEP UR GOOD MANAGEMENT SKILL FOR YOURSELF, HE JUST WANT HIS MONEY OK!

• Al Hajj AAA-Rashid(OH. USA) 9 years ago

Mr. Omane, I do not know how old you are but truth be told, DK Poison is very right. Ghana owes him for payment of mackerel that the government bought with his purse money when he beat Fukuyama in Japan.

The Acheampong gov ...

• SALINSA 9 years ago

i was going to say you are not saying anything extraordinary but when you mentioned the late justice, i got the impression you may have a lot more up your sleeves. my elder brother once told me that a syndicate was formed to ...

• Asempanaye 9 years ago

Well said. Ask Azuma Nelson how difficult it is to earn a living in Boxing and as a Nation we rob our own like this. SHAME

• DODZI 9 years ago

At least there must be some truth in there THE OLD BOY MUST BE PAID, but how ?
    (1) A VERY GOOD LAWYER
    (2) WHO WAS SECRETARY TO THE
    OF JUSTICE D. F ANAN
    (3) WHO WAS HIS PROMOTER
    (4) WERE THERE NO RECIEPTS OF THE ...

• SALINSA 9 years ago

DK has indicated that appeals to successful governments including the PNDC - which Justice Annan was a giant - did not yield any results. Apart from that reading the account of DK, i did read any reference to Justice DF Anna ...

• Emperor 9 years ago

you can give out money without any paperwork so you have yourself to blame,this what is call hear say, put part of the at the door step of Rawlings he killed all your witnesses if Acheapong was still alive you may a point but ...

• Nonsense 9 years ago

DK should seek legal redress through the courts not be asking for or begging to be paid? Take the government to court

• Asempanaye 9 years ago

Please give me a break. Sue the government? Which government? The guy is poor and your advice is to sue the government. Please give me a break. The Minister of Sports must make submission to parliament for consideration and t ...

• Che Andrew 9 years ago

If D.K goes to court he has high chances of losing the case. From the face value of what we are reading and hearing from him he will find it too difficult to cross the legal pathways. Surely he can get at least the money back ...

• THE ONE AND ONLY WAHJAHKAMAN 9 years ago

This tells you that Mother Ghana is not a country to die for. The Black Stars were right, when they demanded their appearance fees before their last march. This guy made us proud when he won the world feather weight crown.PLE ...

• STAFFORD 9 years ago

We do not know the full details of this deal. The people must now pay for some commodities that might have been smuggled out of the country ? We demand to know the truth and the benefit of such a deal.

• DDKT 9 years ago

What a shame!!! Politicians are the problem of dis country

• Asempanaye 9 years ago

Dear Asamoah Gyan,

I have never met you personally but have followed your exploits on the game of football and what you have achieved in life. I wish you can assist D.K Poison as a boxing fan but if you cannot do it alone ...

• Sigma, London 9 years ago

I think this appeal should not go to only Asamoah Gyan but any philanthropist. Many Ghanaians profer to be good Christians but you see how dk looks so wretched now. Pls help.

• STAFFORD 9 years ago

Dear D.K Poison, we the people of Ghana should take this opportunity to THANK YOU for our share of THE CAKE. We gave our support and fought with you on the way to victory. If, and only if, this mackerel was fairly and justly ...

• GoodMan 9 years ago

The evidence to substantiate is the problem.However some fast investigation can be done and unravel if not all at least some truth.After that governments decision with the approval by parliament can help D.K in some way.

• Owo 9 years ago

Let him get a lawyer to fight for him in court!

• Yaa 9 years ago

He needs help for free!

• Che Andrew 9 years ago

D.K, some of us sincerely share your pain and frustration. It is even more shameful that a country with proud people had to borrow money from an individual to buy nothing but canned fish! An the rogues knew that D.K is not a ...

• Joe Turkey 9 years ago

When DK Poison was fighting to lift the flag of Ghana, John Mahama was playing in the red soil in Gushiago, Vicky Hammah's mother was not born, the mouthy Ablakwa's grandparents were not born. Waaa look; now, Mahama is now w ...

• Emmanuel Agbesi RSA 9 years ago

How on earth can Ghana Government borrow money from DK Poison? What evidence is there to justify the deal? He's taking advantage, his broke, bankrupt and hungry/angry. Find some kenkey balls for this Accra man.

• Lord Tennison 9 years ago

Please investigate his claim and refund his money to him.Where are the invoice and the other shipping documents?

• Sewordor EE 9 years ago

This matter should be investigated and if found to be true,then the man must be given back his money together with any accrued interests.

• Lion king 9 years ago

Oh africa leaders why re u so fools ?

• frederick- Accra 9 years ago

u dey pay judgement debt give people make dem chop for free wey u no wan pay d.k. poison wat is due him. masa please pay him his money

• Ogyaba 9 years ago

WHY SHOULD DK POISON TELL LIE? WHAT WILL HE GAIN? WHY IS HE NOT CLAIMING $30.000 $1M BUT $45.000? WHY? SHAME ON US ALL. JUST PAY THE MAN HIS MONEY BEFORE HE PASSES AWAY!!!!

• Nana Akwasi Boachie 9 years ago

If even today sportsmen can keep their thousands of dollars at the Dressing room, why can't DK part with $45000 to the then Military Government? They promised to sell and share the profit with him after taking out his (DK)'s ...

• OKOROMANSA 9 years ago

D.K. JUST GO TO PARLIAMENT HOUSE AND DISH OUT SOME KNOCK-OUT BLOWS AND YOU WOULD GET YOUR REFUND RIGHT THERE.

• the brew 9 years ago

I don't understand this nation koraaa mpo. this foolish black star players received ¢100000 dollars for d that ugly display in Brazil. Why can't d nation pay the man's money to him. He lend d nation n now it has turn into li ...

• Captein 9 years ago

Vodafone or MTN are making millions of dollars a day from Ghanaians they should help DK Poison since those who robbed him are all dead by firi.g squad. They paid for their crimes I should think.
    I am very sorry for DK Poison ...

• kojo 9 years ago

You sent some jokers to Brazil and paid them $100,000 each for doing nothing why can't this govt pay DK only $45k for lifting high the flag of Ghana even if we don't owe him? Pay DK his money with interest. It's crazy!.

• love 9 years ago

To the dogs who are using a political eyes to view this should think and grow cos one way or the other we all benefited from that indirectly.

• MAHAMA 9 years ago

AND WE HAVE A PRESIDENT THAT HAVE THE NEVER TO INVITE A SMALL GIRL AND FAMILY WHO WON SOMETHING NOTHING INCOMPARABLE TO WHAT THIS MAN HAS DONE FOR GHANA. THIS NATION IS FULL OF FUCKEN HYPOCRITES!!1 HAVNT ANY OF THE MEN OF GOD ...

• John Donkoh 9 years ago

This is the third time I'm hearing this plea from D.K. Poison. If indeed he lend Ghana that money, please Mr. President, kindly look into the matter and settle him. It's not good for the country if what he says is true. So fa ...

• Chuck 9 years ago

He is or hero! Of course one of us( a Ghanaian) squandered that money. " Over to you Mr. President".