You are here: HomeNews2014 10 08Article 329440

Be honest, return double payments to Gov’t – Mona Quartey

Read Comments Comments (46)

• Mama Tula 9 years ago

Well said Madam, but do we really have
    such honest people in Ghana now?? Out of every one thousand you may find only one. It is a pity love for material things have taken over our moral values.

• Ghanaman3 9 years ago

Mahama and his mpepefuo will steal the money.

• facts 9 years ago

First advise the President and his carbinet and the leading members his ruling party to return the monies they have looted from ghana's treasury even if they have used some to build party headquaters.

• yaw issa 9 years ago

stupid fool .ashawo ba learn how to talk

• Gye Nyame 9 years ago

Gee! are these the people ruling Ghana? Why put the onus on the folks getting the double pay? The problem is with the accounting department and auditors - no private company or serious government would put the responsibility ...

• Yaw Poku, USA 9 years ago

This woman is not serious at all.

• Lorgo Ligri 9 years ago

Yaw, the woman is very serious. I believe she is going to tell us how much bribe money she has taken and would return all to the government or donate to charity.

• KB 9 years ago

IS THIS WOMAN OK? WHAT ABOUT WOYOME, SADA, ETC? YOU WAIT TILL EBOLA SPREADS TO GHANA,THEN YOU WILL KNOW IF STOLEN MONEY CAN SAVE ANY OF THE CORRUPT GOVT. OFFICIALS.

• ADANKO 9 years ago

YOU KNOW WHO WAS DOUBLE PAID. PUBLISH THE NAMES FOR ALL OF US TO SEE. MAJORITY WILL BE NDC FOOT SOLDIERS!!!!

• Lorgo Ligri 9 years ago

You sure are a rabbit with super big ears. Would you want to commit suicide when you live and have access to all the gold in the Land?

• Nyansasem 9 years ago

This is totally nonsense. Why do these people take Ghanaians as fools. There can't be any double; it is a ploy to shift blame from their incompetence and corruptness.

Even there are twins who have the same name working at ...

• KKO 9 years ago

Exactly! MAhama is part of all the scams that have been unearthed since the famous Brear Aircraft purchase. They have been calculated schemes aimed at enriching the NDC and some individuals.

In this day and age when a sim ...

• Master & Commander 9 years ago

This lady must be very naïve or utterly corrupt. Why should some people receive double checks in the first place?

Where are the safeguards to prevent this fraud?

It seems corruption has gotten out of hand. Everyone fro ...

• Afari 9 years ago

Don't we do audits in Ghana? I someone is overpayed, take the money back from their pay by installments

• Tax revenue for development 9 years ago

70% of Tax revenue for 600,000 public sector workers. 30% left for the rest of the country. No wonder, in the abundance of 'water',Ghanaians are thirsty.

• OMANBA 9 years ago

Why should you appeal to them to return the overpayments? This is theft and whoever has been mistakenly paid double his/her salary should be made to refund them.If they refuse deductions must be made from their salaries to ...

• John,Tema 9 years ago

Sensible comment

• Gye Nyame 9 years ago

But the problem I see is the fools in charge of accounting and the auditors don't have the information of whose accounts have been double paid, hence appealing to the recipients to tell them. What foolish organization operate ...

• Abraham 9 years ago

You said it all my fellow Ghanaian....the problem with Ghana is 90% of the workers are without contract if there's a contract anyone who got double pay and just keep quiet must be sack.in Europe even to start cleaning toilets ...

• TWEAA 9 years ago

HONESTY? HOHO! ALL THE JUDGEMENT DEBTS MUST AND SHOULD BE BROUGHT BACK FIRST...TELL THAT TO WOYOME.

• TWEAA 9 years ago

HONESTY? HOHO! ASK ASIEDU NKETIAH TO HONESTLY TELL US THE SOURCE OF THE TWENTY MILLION DOLLARS USED TO BUILD THE NDC'S HEADQUARTERS....

• Yiddana 9 years ago

Madam Minister, I am sorry do not blame the poor worker, but blame the incompetent work force in Ghana that lacks the necessary training to do the job for which they are hired correctly.
    You cannot even manage payroll how ca ...

• KWAKU KYERETWIE 9 years ago

ALL MONIES COOLECTED INTO ACCOUNT NUMBER 48 SHOULD RATHER BE PAID BACK TO GHANAIANS SINCE HIS PARTY OF NDC HAS A NEW BIG OFFICE AND HIGH RATE CORRUPTION. THERE IS NO WAY THAT PEOPLE WILL GIVE BACK THE DOUBLE PAYMENTS SO FAR ...

• ABU 9 years ago

Damn silly utterance,how could this be done?just go after the nation wreckers,retrieve those monies and punish them per the offence.

• keta school boy 9 years ago

I owe a lot of people, so l want to use it to settle my debt. If l give it to you, you'll only eat kyinkyinka with it.

• K APPIAH 9 years ago

TELL MAHAMA TO BE HONEST TO COLLECT WOYOMES MONEY FOR GHANA FIRST.

• NDC Sec Gen 9 years ago

The deputy Minister speaks as if she is the queenmother of a small village. The average ghanaian worker's take home pay does not take him or her home. If due to the studidity of the government he or she is being paid double, ...

• Small boys abre. Na broke, na keepam 9 years ago

Why them? They never sent the extra money they got to either the government or Atuguba. Theirs was an honest merry go round for the ages. Honesty in Ghana means stupidity and hunger for your family.

• Ghanabiya 9 years ago

Madam minister, you have made your appeal to the receiver to return money not belong to him/her. It is just and proper to put in place sanctions for people who fail to return money that do not belong to them. In that case, ...

• ADANKO 9 years ago

MOST HONEST ONES ARE REGRETING BCOS THEY ARE THE MOST TAXED AND HARRASSED BY GAR AND AUTHORITIES. THERE IS ALSO TOO MUCH POVERTY AND WITCH HUNTING ON THE OPPOSITION PARTIES WHILE NDC CROOKS ARE ENJOYING AND BUILDING ULTRA MO ...

• Uncle Pee 9 years ago

If this NDC government's strategy of eliminating ghost names from payroll is to appeal to the conscience of recipients it is absurd and ridiculous. Privatize payroll of the government sector, as done in US and several advance ...

• jagadu 9 years ago

What about the stupid ministers? Tell them to return all the loot they have taken. Ass-hole!

• ama 9 years ago

Ghana government want to run every business in the country. the end result is corruption. vra,water,ecg,higher education all this sectors private need to own. There will be competition in the system.

• AFUM KOFI 9 years ago

If na soo there is a double payment then some people should loose their job with immediate effect cz they are only causing financial loss to the state.
    Fire burn dem allll

• DDKT 9 years ago

What sort of recalcitrant nd redundant leaders do we have in this country!

• fo dotse 9 years ago

hehehehe!
    madam deputy minister, i guess u wanted to know my opinion on our comment. hmmmm!
    infact, each time i went for 'payout' it was my prayer to see 10,000 gh in my account. until this our appeal, i was thinking that ...

• Dagbana 9 years ago

Madam plssss kindly tell whoever does the payment to pay me double so that i can return it wai, plsssssssss

• Romeo Gyaim 9 years ago

U are right,but it shd.begin from the top.Are the leaders ready to lead such a crusade?We hear of gov't appointees always stealing from gov't covers,so de good people are no more ready,because of the behaviour of certain indi ...

• oor 9 years ago

Charity begins at home lady

• pussay patrol 9 years ago

do you give cheques to public sector?

• pussay patrol 9 years ago

are you airlifting cheques to Brazil?

• Blagodzi 9 years ago

This is laughable and a serious joke. Asking mere workers to refund pennies instead of the wealthy to refund hundreds of thousands. This is not even robbing Peter to Pay Paul. This is a calsasic case of Pesewa Wise, Cedi Fool ...

• Angel 9 years ago

MONA IS IS BETTER FINANCE MINISTER THAN TEKPER. THIS WOMAN IS DOING BETTER

• umar 9 years ago

This is rubbish. you receive ten times that a public sector employee will take home even if doubled, you would tripple yours.
    The ministers are the cause of wage bill mangana!!!
    May Allah deal with u 1 by 1.
    Amen.

• Lexus 9 years ago

If the department does not detect and demand these monies themselves ....... it is not going to be easy relying on those individuals to return the booty.

• Charles 9 years ago

Klasik radio. Www.klasikradio.net 7124328458 2314601072 in UK 3300102766