You are here: HomeNews2014 10 07Article 329290

Only 40% of power consumers pay bills – ECG

Read Comments Comments (25)

• Ghanaman3 9 years ago

Do these ECG officials pay bills?

• Oba Nyansani Baako Pe In Ghana! 9 years ago

ECG, this sounds stupid and why did you guys employ then for? All of you must be sacked period. This tells me that you don't need to be paid about the work you are doing period.

• Ghfuo: hang nyantakyi! 9 years ago

And here ghana is going to imf?

• WOW!! 9 years ago

THAT IS NOT GOOD!!!!

• Yaw Poku, USA 9 years ago

This is absolute nonsense and why don't your company cut off their power supply. And if you find any illegal connection you prosecute them to serve as a deterrent to others.

• Onipaba Of Akyem Maase 9 years ago

You know what, they just want to make news and shed off blame. They like to be sympathized for their inefficiency and corrupt deals. It is baffling how the PURC remain dormant in these matters. Who should go out there to fis ...

• Kwakwa 9 years ago

They are part of the problem ! They see and supervise the illegalities . Some even collect bills monthly for the scam they run. Come to nmardjor , around where zoomlion has the waste university , wanton abuse of electricity ...

• Kweku Boateng Jnr. 9 years ago

This demostates the incompetency of the Ashanti ECG leadership. Disconnect them now. Why should 40 per cent pay for the rest? And we go to the IMF to bail the nation with serious consequences for the poor. Think, think and a ...

• Don Blunt 9 years ago

Does he mean to tell us that the PREPAID METERING SYSTEM is not functioning?
    How many people were forced to go for those Meters?
    If you deliver only 40% electricity because of Dumsor Dumsor, why are you surprised only 40% c ...

• Adiatogbor 9 years ago

It is ridiculous for ECG and Ghana Water to say they cannot recover their costs, because the unrecovered go to individual pockets, pure and simple. The two companies and all other revenue generating agencies contribute so mu ...

• Bobby 9 years ago

.You dont want to pay your bills and you are in your bush shouting that the gvt is corrupt. Where do you expect the gvt to get money from for things you are requiring. I hope this monkey Jumah will take a gong gong and implor ...

• Oba Nyansani Baako Pe In Ghana! 9 years ago

Listen, do you know that the same ECG people collect money from individuals to do wiring connections? Do not trust anyone who called himself a Ghanaian on this planet. Okay?

• Yaw Manu 9 years ago

Can you imagine yourself saying these stupid things. If 60% of the people are not paying, do you have to hike up the rates for those willing to pay to absorb the cost of those who refuse to pay? Does it make sense to you. Thi ...

That is not the responsibility of the paying consumers. It is the duty of the company to find efficient ways of collecting the payment.

• Don Blunt 9 years ago

Many private homes were forced to use pre-paid meters.
    Unfortunately for ECG, these meters function only when there is electricity flowing. Why do they expect people to pay for the "imaginary" power during Load-shedding?
    Yo ...

• kwadwo 9 years ago

Go to the multi- national companies who do not pay their bill, whom owes billions but for taking bribes from them stops them from paying
    Because it is not. for my father or mother. Go and chase them with the police.If you w ...

• Osofo 9 years ago

You guys are stupid. There's no reason to involve the police. No pay no gain. If people don't pay SHUT down their electricity PERIOD.

• appiah 9 years ago

Why do you waste time to chase people who are not paying their bills? You must have too much time to waste. Just disconnect their services and use your time to make sure that those who pay get regular service. You guys are ju ...

• Adiatogbor 9 years ago

The guy is just throwing dust into people's eyes. He knows well that ECG doesn't need the cops and other law enforcement to get people to pay bills, because they embark on disconnection all the time. The thing is those sent t ...

• Mr. Never 9 years ago

HANG ON TO YOUR HORSES NEW ELECTRICITY BILL IS COMING.
    ANY TIME EXCUSES OF SUCH NATURE COMES TO PUBLIC---YESTERDAY IT WAS 30% OF THE PUBLIC WHO PAYS ELECT-BILLS, TO DAY "What we have noticed is that people do not willingly p ...

• Obeng 9 years ago

I don't know if you have empirical evidence to support your claim, but I don't doubt it. In Greater Accra I believe same none payment percentage have made illegal connections in their homes, yet ECG officials will not go afte ...

• STEVE 9 years ago

The easiest way to collect the bills in my opinion is to publish their names in the Daily Graphic and the amount they owe. Who would like his name to be exposed in public. Try this system ECG.

• Ghanaba 9 years ago

No the simplest solution is to GIVE EVERY ONE A PRE - PAID METER!! You don't buy units you sleep in darkness period

• jagadu 9 years ago

Cut the power off and arrest them and/or seize the property and sell it to defray the cost. People will pay attention when they see that ECG is taken peoples property and selling them at auction to defray the electricity cost ...

• Power 9 years ago

Publish a list of defaulters periodically after a grace period. May be they are asleep or have misplaced their bills. If that does not work, cut off their power supplies.