You are here: HomeNews2014 10 03Article 328810

Update: Indicted NSS director, others ordered to step down

Read Comments Comments (120)

• Ghanaman3 9 years ago

How about SADA and GYEDA crooks who are pepeni.

• GB 9 years ago

How can you be so childish?

• Ade CAka 9 years ago

Northerners are becoming very bold by the day and stealing such hefty sums of money from state coffers. Their leader John Dramani Mahama has really emboldened them.

• Oba Nyansani Baako Pe In Ghana! 9 years ago

Mahama must resign as well that is what I wish to see just because I cannot wait till 2016.

• mojingles 9 years ago

Your observation is just silly.....how on earth did you come to this deduction...that the President should also resign because some corrupt and debased CEO of a state agency is entangled in financial malfeasance. You just hav ...

• Whatever 9 years ago

Mahama has broken the myth that corruption is as old as Adam. This is the leader NPP lacked in their 8years of rule

• Wofa Akratea bini 9 years ago

Anywhere there is coruption there is an Asanti.

its in their blood.

• AAA 9 years ago

Ofui

• Police man 9 years ago

this is no corruption or bribery here. Its normal practice, they just took a loan and will payback in no time
    For the bribery, he just out of ghanaian courtesy offered a taxi money, and everybody in ghana does that.

with ...

• Gye Nyame 9 years ago

@Police man: I love your comment -- should be posted at all the border crossing and at the airport. I guess corruption is a badge of honour for Ghanaians.

• Kofi Ata, Cambridge, UK 9 years ago

If the Director was appointed by the President, then the Board has no authority to dismiss him but can only recommend his dismissal to the President. Is he dismissed or suspended? If he is suspended then that may be ok. It's ...

• mahall 9 years ago

Corruption operation cleaning house.mahama you the best man now.

Except fools in Ghana who believe that Mahama is a good leader. Aren't you shame of yourself to be called a Ghanaian? Just Sit down and allow NDC to create, loot and share our resources among themselves. Kwasiato I am coming ...

• Whatever 9 years ago

Mahama has broken the myth by NPP that corruption is as old Adam. He's battling corruption with everything he's got. Congratulation Mr President

• mojingles 9 years ago

Northerners are from Mars, so they don't have human feelings, they don't steal, right Ade Caka? You are the most inarticulate and perverse commentator on this issue and pls, go and hide somewhere far from this discussion.....

• Whatever 9 years ago

Mahama has broken NPP's myth that corruption is as old as Adam. NPP need to look at Mahama with awe because he's doing something they failed to in the 8 years they had power

• GhanaMassai,France. 9 years ago

The "house-cleaning" in NSS is a clear proof that Prez Mahama & his govt are determined to eradicate this cancer,( corruption) out of the Ghanain society. Bravo to NSS for setting an example which should be followed by all p ...

• kanga 9 years ago

I never thought these Northern elite will be so stupid when stealing from mother Ghana who gave them free education.They think free education also means free stealing?, what a bunch of idiots.

• ameoba 9 years ago

How many northerners and how many Akans.

Do the maths

Kumasi crooks

• Frank. 9 years ago

A very useless infantile comment.

Reason up bro. There's no need passing such a comment. These things lead to untold stories in some African countries. Reason up.

• Ringo Ringo 9 years ago

This asanti/akyem mafias will distroy anybody who is a boss from other tribe in order to get one of their kind in that position.
    they did it to OSAGYIFO DR KWAME NKRUMAH, KOTOKA,DR LIMANN....etc

JERRY is their remedies.

• GHANANI 9 years ago

Did Kuffuor sack any akan for being corrupt? Well done Mahama for sacking a 'pepeni'.This shows that you are the right person to rule the nation and I am sure if re-elected in 2016 you will fight corruption more rigoruously t ...

• Close Observer 9 years ago

Total nonsense! Stop backing criminals in politics and help save Ghana from total collapse. The way this thief in high place is being treated is the way every thief holding high office in Ghana must be treated. Stop covering ...

• vv 9 years ago

He's not my brother,. it's rather reveals the kind of weak government we have, that is encouraging stealing and pilfering everyday.This GOVERNMENT is WEAK and POROUS thats y every tom,dick and harry can steal in broad day lig ...

Ghanaians have little mind as Mahama said to you. If you know how much money NDC as a political party has stolen from Ghanaians within a shortest period of time I tell you that you will go to Flagstar House to shoot Mahama. T ...

• Mahmoud 9 years ago

I hope he will not commit suicide before the investigations are completed, so that he could be dragged to court and jailed for life if found guilty.

• Jonas 9 years ago

And his properties seized and freeze all his bank accounts as well. Baboons on the loose

• Gye Nyame 9 years ago

These are millionaires, and a flight risk. But that is the problem in Ghana and those in leadership roles and positions to steal know that at the end of the day they only lose their jobs and get no prison sentences, that is w ...

• They Say They Say 9 years ago

Not enough jails in Ghana; that's the problem There hasn't been one jail built since Nkrumah's time 70 yrs ago.

• crystal 9 years ago

mahama, congratulations, you are the type of leader ghana need at this material moment. So swift and decisive. May the Almighty God protect and order your steps.

FOOLISH! very foolish. What will you say to Martin Amidu who cleaned the mess Mahama and Atta Mills caused?

• Emmanuel Agbeko Siaw-Nartey.. 9 years ago

I thinking you should be reasoning like a proper human being and stop provoking people through tribal sentiments. This is dangerous. It can spark war any moment. please stop it.

• kk 9 years ago

Ntafoooo nkoaa,

• Akosua Dapaa 9 years ago

In the 60s it was difficult to find a currupt muslim; the days when they made little profit from their trade. they earned the name 'pepefo' meaning people with purity. what has happened to muslims especially when the director ...

• Kooobiiiii 9 years ago

Pepefuo does not mean people of purity. Stop trying to distort history. Not all pepefuo are moslem and every human can commit sin even moslems, no matter how that might shock you, they are not Angels.

• NN 9 years ago

Nyantakyi is muslim, Kwaku Baako is muslim, go figure out what has happened. Money my bruda

• Wofa Akratea bini 9 years ago

Beware of these asanti subordinate at work. these proffesional crooks will distroy you and then point a finger.

this is a setup and the naive and gullable Alhaj fall a victim of their shenanigans.
    look at the names, one A ...

• Concerned 9 years ago

Kwasea paa JIMI in capital letters Ou

• Paa Kwesi Thomas USA 9 years ago

My question is what happening in Ghana at all? Can this Biometric system solve our problems? Because -
    1. It couldn't solve the elections problem.
    2. It's not solving the ghost names problem.
    I think this biometric system ...

• KWABENA OHEMENG,LONDON 9 years ago

I hope these people are now in police custody awaiting trial.I also hope that their assets have been frozen with immediate effect.There should be no mercy for them.And I hope the NPP and the other parties will not politicise ...

• Gye Nyame 9 years ago

What planet are you on? This is Ghana for you, they will go scot free like Woyome.

• KOLIKO 9 years ago

this is what happens when u removed competent guy and replaced him with corrupt pepeni

• element 9 years ago

You are the main problem in Ghana today! Everything you ewes touch turns into shit and this is how far your ayigbe founded party has brought Ghana. Give Ghana back to it's owners, the Akans and everything shall be well with u ...

• Glo 9 years ago

It is surprising that people like you are still around in this day and age. Anyone can be corrupt and no particular group is immune from the evil in our society. Ghana does not belong to the Akans. You might consider establis ...

• James Naru 9 years ago

Guys why are we creating so much division in Ghana with these words. We are all Ghanaians. PLEASE LETS LEARN TO RESPECT EACH TRIBE.
    It is our differences that make Ghana whole and lets enjoy it

• Kojo 9 years ago

If the Gov't is really serious about combatting corruption, then ALL public institutions should be investigated by honest entities, and not the Auditor-General's Dep't, which is so corrupt. The amount of money the Gov't will ...

• Yaw Manu 9 years ago

The way things are going, all Ministers and Government appointees will be sacked because they are all corrupt to the core.

Mahama does not cease to amaze me. He is such a liar and irresponsible person.
    Ghana says it is pl ...

• Alibaba 9 years ago

You are a disgrace to Dagbon and Northerners as a whole.And above all to the religion islam

• abortsi 9 years ago

Ghanaians are funny. Kuagbenu was sacked and he is at the presidency so he informed BNI about what he was doing there. Let us get a good lawyer and this case will belong o history

• element 9 years ago

Well, he's had his fair share of the national cake and thus paving the way for another thief to take over the already destroyed national service scheme. Nothing changes, the value stays the same. My goodness, northerners and ...

• hon mahadin wa 9 years ago

That is serious.I believe these are all parents I wonder what they will be telling their wives and children

• Paag Ganiyu (Savelugu) 9 years ago

Kudos to the boss for taking the bold decision: I believe the JM govt will leave no stone unturned in his bid to make corruption unattractive

• Ahanta King 9 years ago

The same will call Police corrupt and lord themselves over people. God is watching from a distance

• Don 9 years ago

I'm so disappointed dat some people r actually attacking ethnicity in this issue. What is northern about this? If d man has done wrong he needs all the punishment that's all!!! Why then go to the extent of branding all northe ...

• Glo 9 years ago

Exactly. Thank you.

• KWAKU KYERETWIE 9 years ago

SO FAR AS WE HAVE THE ALLA BAR PEOPLE RUNNING THE NDC GOVERNMENT THERE IS NO WAY THAT STEALING WILL EVER STOP. THAT IS KYINKYINGA ...MUNTANKA, PEL, IMORO, ATINGA AND BAWA ALL OF THEM ARE THIEVES IN NDC AND WE KNOW THEM FROM A ...

• element 9 years ago

They are the main problem in Ghana right now. Ghana shall never prosper until they all stay away from politics.

• Samuel Asare-Nkansah(USA) 9 years ago

Good job Ghanaians!!.Let's all cooperate to uproot all these 'sick elements' from our society. We can all move the country forward for the betterment of our children. We should never be shy to speak against corrupt individual ...

• attaa gborbilor 9 years ago

It's come back to bite him! Mahama has packed national institutions with his shit carrying tribesmen! The result is big shit all over Ghana! Garbage in, garbage out! Naniama!

• GANYO 9 years ago

419 IN THE HIGHER OFFICES TOO! ITS NOT JUST THE BOYZ BOYZ DOING THE 419. EYE ASEM OO

• Yaw Menu 9 years ago

There is no room for politics in matters like this .

• C S Akoto-Ajei-Kojo/New-York 9 years ago

Pls, let a special be set chaired by mr. F Obiri to address this NSS scandal. BNI drill it to 10 yrs or more be'cos the gurus rubbers revelation are to come out & abolished the scheme. Let practice Zambiam type NSS by putting ...

• The plain truth 9 years ago

For those of you who are worried at the tribal sentiments expressed on this platform, please bear with the people. Ghanaweb is assessible even to class-one leavers so their myopic inspirations are drawn from their iletracy.

• Say the TRUTH 9 years ago

NDC NOW "WHITEWASHING" ONE OF ITS EXPOSED LOOTING BRIGADE (WHICH BY ALL WE KNOW HAD CLINDESTINGLY PLANNED TO LOOT THE NATIONS RESOURCES BY A CAREFULLY PLANNED WAY WITH % GOING INTO PARTY COFFERS FOR THE MAINTENANCE OF NDC PAR ...

• Tibaa 9 years ago

And politicians and highly-placed officials are licking the wounds with their ACIDIC tongues.

I will continue to weep for Ghana.

• C S Akoto-Ajei-Kojo/New-York 9 years ago

Stop politizing this rot, tribalizing,let Ashanti known their stand be'cos they come frm Mali, Shonghai empire. Pepenis are more of Ghana than them w their primitive way of I thinking. JDM challenge them during campaign time ...

• Sansan 9 years ago

asking them to step aside is not enough, throw them in jail cause there is enough evidence to prove that a crime has been comitted

• USA 9 years ago

LOOK AT THIS CONCERT GROUP

• ALAN CASH 9 years ago

Sunyani NSS, the head office of ghost names must be first to be investigated. They are the architects of this ghost names for many years.

• fire man ogyaaaa! 9 years ago

pepei fo) y3 thieves paa

• Don 9 years ago

God forgive u for branding northerners as such...

• Thomas Thumb 9 years ago

The Board must be dismissed as well since they had oversight responsibilty over the management. It means they are incompetent and sleeping

• Kojo Billy Duncan 9 years ago

Brilliant action.

• Whatever 9 years ago

Mahama should be commended for demonstrably breaking the myth that we were told about how corruption is as old as Adam. Swinging the anti corruption axe is a mark of a committed leader

Another fool and a thief deeply involved in the destruction of Ghana. You think this condition will be permanent? You will all account for your role in bringing Ghana to this level. Criminal. Sing the praises of your colleagu ...

• Ugly Akufo Addo 9 years ago

Stupid people

• mascot 9 years ago

oh Ghana

The big criminals are walking free. These are only soft targets. Get back the Woyome money as directed by the court.

• fraframan 9 years ago

that foolish pepeni in nsawan called abudu is more corrupt let him go now.

• me 9 years ago

in as much as we spend time chastising those who've committed these crimes, we must dedicate some attention to the investigators. Let's hail the BNI for not acquiescing and collecting bribes. The more we praise good-doers, th ...

• Lobitey 9 years ago

Wow a whole Alhaji stealing, shame

Make them vomit the cash they stole

• COS90 9 years ago

If mechael kunbour and fiifi asubonteng can can steal from ghanaians under pretest of 22 000 national serviceersonal an amount of GHC 7.9 MILLION then nationallist and patriotism are in ghanaians any more. Yet they complain t ...

• david 9 years ago

You can steal a lot of money as a public official in ghana and the only consequence is to loose that job.yea,serious country,yea serious people indeed

• Kwame 9 years ago

Good luck Ghana

• A. T. 9 years ago

This should continue to many other areas, and the culprits should be PUNISHED! No window cleaning please!!!!

• Paa Joe 9 years ago

ITS NOT ONLY AT THE NSS,THERE ARE MANY OF THESE CRIMINALS AT ALL GOVERNMENT AGENCIES IN THE COUNTRY.

WHEN PEOPLE ARE EDUCATED AND DO NOT HAVE THE ABILITY TO INNOVATE, THE EASIEST WAY FOR THEM TO AMASS WEALTH AT THE EXPENCE ...

• Kooobiiiii 9 years ago

CHRAJ forgot to tell imams to name and shame their corrupt followers, they only told pastors. Tweaaa!

• Paa Joe 9 years ago

IT IS INDEED A PITY TO SEE WOMEN JOINING CRIMINAL THIEVES IN THE COUNTRY.

WHAT HAS GONE WRONG WITH THE WOMEN SOCIETY IN GHANA

• KKO 9 years ago

Useless board. You should have been sacked first. You have been sleeping on the job, that is why these have baked herdsmen have taken Oman Ghana to the cleaners!

• Yaw Manu 9 years ago

Many 2014 NSS postings have been cancelled and replaced with lists from Castle/Flagstaff House. My son has been a victim.

• Concerned 9 years ago

Fool you obviously dont have a brain that works ,there are too many of your kind in Ghana

• KOKI 9 years ago

One bold and right step recorded! Imagine the past stealing cases couched politely as corruption had received prompt action albeit preliminary it would have sent strong signals to other thieves dressed in innocent-looking off ...

• RAC 9 years ago

Thieve man thieve thieve NDC government.

• Concerned 9 years ago

Take the speck out of your eyes before you look at other people.check your spelling

• Razak 9 years ago

The board chairman herself shd be investigated.

• WILLIAMS ZOOGAH 9 years ago

Yes my name is Williams Zoogah. I was the chief accountant at the NSS from 2006 to 2009 whereupon I was forced to resign because I stood up for my share of the returns of the ghost names money. Yes within the short period tha ...

• ACCRAMAN 9 years ago

Preferential treatment - what will it take to sack the CHRAJ boss?

• Samuel Asare-Nkansah(USA) 9 years ago

Do all these NSS employees have families? What woud their wivies/ husbands and children if any, think of them? It is a shameful act, low-life way of living.Just imagine, you have to steal to live.My fellow Ghanaians, it is al ...

• TEE 9 years ago

MAHAMA IS WASTE THAN A THIEF

• TEE 9 years ago

MAHAMA IS EXPERT IN THIEVING STATE COFFERS PERIOD

• Mensah 9 years ago

THIS IS NO NEWS IN GHANA!

GHANA LEADERSHIP CORRUPTION IS ENDEMIC RIGHT FROM THE EXECUTIVE ARM OF GHANA GOVERNMENT TO THE GFA.

EACH MEMBER OF THE GFA MANAGEMENT POCKETED A COOL US$100,000.00 AS THOUGH THEY WERE ALSO BLA ...

• SANTROFI 9 years ago

Kwesi Appiah would have been laguishing in JAIL if he was a Ga, an Ewe or a Northener.

Lauretta Lamptey, a Ga, slept at the AU Village for about US$40 a night, and GHANAIANS, mainly Akans, saw it as a crime.

Ghana is fi ...

• ibn abudu @ Canadasheabutter (GhUWR) 9 years ago

They should faced the firing squad to set example to all those destroying Ghana

THEY SHOULD NOT BE A MERCY & ALSO THE CORRUPT INEPT JUDGES NOT APPLYING THE LAWS OF GHANA

• VOTER'S' FAULT 9 years ago

NA WHO CASUE AM

An Alhaji can do that?

• Chief amankwa 9 years ago

It appears these days if your name has no mahama in it ...your excluded from all the top jobs ..blood clart .ras clart

• Eric Jackson 9 years ago

I tought these comments are to help matters, so why those tribal insults all the time. Pls edith comments before posting, because some of us wish to read sensible comments from the wise but not comments from tribal-sentimenta ...

• Kay 9 years ago

I wish to call on the Christian Council, Catholic Bishops Conference, Methodist Ministers, Presby Moderator and Big named Pastors who take turns to bash the President and Govt. for ay small mishap to talk to this particular f ...

• KOKI 9 years ago

Oh no, Kay! Granted that your assertion were true, it's impossible to blame anyone for the failure of a mature individual to heed to their advice of a sort or hold a pastor responsible for their church members who choose to ...

• Kay 9 years ago

Thanks KoKi for your brilliant submission. If no one can hold othes adults responsible for what they do we should also refrain from attacking the Prez. for every mistake or failure by an appointee, system or institution when ...

• Sidney 9 years ago

Has Alhaji Alhassan been intadicted cauze.he is anorther?cause

• Ga 9 years ago

He went to Mecca on Hajj ? Religion in Ghana is just a show off and it goes for the churches also.

• KP 9 years ago

Am not suprise at these happenings at all, this is what is going on at almost all the institutions in Ghana, people are becoming richer and richer every day while the poor remains poorer . God is exposing them one by one and ...

• yelbi iddrisu 9 years ago

Infact sophia Akuku karem has been sent to disgrace NDC. she was the brain behind the ecomic crisis the country is facing. she need to be punished

• Kwasi Poku 9 years ago

Please, please, please BNI, Don't stop with the National Service Scheme!!!Every Department, Agency, Ministry, Government Programme and Outfit MUST to be investigated. Too much rot in Ghana, period!!!

• Lordgarzy 9 years ago

The same story.These wicked deviants bulls should be held by e horn by prosecuting them.What investigation again?Ghana has a very weak law enforcement mechanism as well as incompetent leadership

• osman 9 years ago

We stood in the sun to vote for thieves, God forgive us. You want Ghanaians to be patriotic, when all you know is steal from the people at the least chance. Fire burn you all.

• Kenny Rogers 9 years ago

Is seth aseidu d same as nana diasempa Antwi Obugyei II - d self made Kontihene of Ejura who parades himself as d most powerful n untouchable. Wonders wil never end. No wonder he splash money like no body's business bcos it's ...

• Investigate the Board 9 years ago

Investigate the Board members. They chopped some.

• Bra Agbo 8 years ago

Good work done dey should be jailed as well bt our sept and oct allawance hasn,t come ooo we r hungry