You are here: HomeNews2014 10 03Article 328768

Church bans members from attending school

Read Comments Comments (125)

• David Mennia 9 years ago

Paul was educated. Moses was educated in all the wisdom of the Egyptians. ......That fake pastor should be arrested before he caused harm

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 9 years ago

Prosecute him and put him in the cooler. How is he able to read the Bible? Freud was almost right when he said religion is the Opium of the masses

• princewilly@ymail.com 9 years ago

ITS THE "NTAMPI"OF THE IGNORANT.
    THE APOSTLE PAUL WAS A LAWYER AND LUKE WAS A PHYSICIAN.

• Kenny Ampadu 9 years ago

MOST PASTORS IN GHANA ARE DROP-OUTS, ESPECIALLY THOSE IN THE MUSHROOM CHURCHES.

• Jack 9 years ago

In most countries it's a crime to deny a child education. Hopefully the same applies to Ghana. Help set those kids free.

• Bernard 9 years ago

I am surprised how Ghana such a small country has produced so many idiots

• Gye Nyame 9 years ago

Before Jesus' ministry at the age of 30, he learned law, Torah, writing on the papyrus, Greek etc., from the scribes and rabbis in the synagogue, while also working in his father's carpentry shop. This was the system then bec ...

• VL 9 years ago

Bernard
    You are also a product of Ghana. Superstition is prevalent even in NYC.lol

• Fifi 9 years ago

The pastor should be arrested.

• Ghanaian 9 years ago

The man must be castrated so that he does not mistakenly father a child. Jesus never had a child, but by the time he began his ministry at thirty, there was no indication that he would be a threat to women, sp there was no ne ...

• David Ansah. 9 years ago

Are now turning back on your church, because you have been exposed?.

• David Ansah 9 years ago

Frank Agyena-Karikari is drug addict and a gay.

• english teacher 9 years ago

point of correction. It was Marx's definition not Freud

• David Ansah. 9 years ago

Haha the drug addict does not know anything.

• KM 9 years ago

I support you Frank, he should be prosecuted for this foolish influence. He is a disgrace to the church (the body of Christ) and enemy of progress to the country.

• Sam 9 years ago

I think it was Karl Marx not Freud, or?

• Kwame Dokyi. 9 years ago

He could be arrested for instigating mass ignorance in contravention of state policy to eliminate ignorance. Ofui a, onnim nnyansa!!

• KY 9 years ago

where is national security, they must act fast before this lunatic cause harm. that is how boko haram started

• GAWUKO 9 years ago

His Church should sanction. Jesus, we know wrote the names of some Pharisees in the sand. How could he have done that without schooling? Religious vandal, this man is.

• HONESTY 9 years ago

An uneducated congregation, is a congregation for life. The man is smart. Anyone read Soyinka's book, Brother Jero? Try reading it and you will know the skills for keeping your church and collections.

• Adongo Tongo 9 years ago

Arrest this buffoon and imprison him for life. Such ignoramuses are not fit to be part of society. Arrest him and let him rot in prison!

• Concerned 9 years ago

He must be bad normally they will tell you to leave your wife or your mother is a witch. He must be an occultist

• Ghanaian 9 years ago

Karl Marx said religion is the opium of the masses in his seminal book 'Das Kapital.

• Pumpuni 9 years ago

Luke 2:45-47 "So when they did not find Him, they returned to Jerusalem, seeking Him. 46 Now so it was that after three days they found Him in the temple, sitting in the midst of the teachers, both listening to them and askin ...

• GAWUKO 9 years ago

He took the scroll, read a passage from it and told the audience what they have today has come to pass. How could Jesus read the scroll if he had no education? Sanction this man!

• archie davidson....chicago 9 years ago

Latter day saints...oh. Ghana....

• nico 9 years ago

Yes ooo!

• boamah gyamerah 9 years ago

The Mark Sowah guy should be arrested and prosecuted with a possible ban of the church. The parents should be invited by the police for preventing their children from going to school.

• Maame Abena 9 years ago

This church and the elder must be watched. These are signs of trouble to innocent children.

• Joseph Awuah -US 9 years ago

Government as a matter of urgency must ban this church

• Kwame Dokyi. 9 years ago

There is a limit to FREEDOM. If FREEDOM of worship infringes on the fundamental human right to seek and gain knowledge,then THAT FREEDOM MUST BE CHECKED!!

• wazzup 9 years ago

Nkwasiasem for the lack of knowledge my people perish. What should we do to these fake pastors?

• JB Osei-Brown 9 years ago

This shows the absolute stupidity of some parents in Ghana.

If the person standing infront of you reads and quotes from the Bible and still tells you Jesus/Peter did not learn to read and write so withdraw your kids from s ...

• Kakalika 9 years ago

This is the first step of terrorism.THe Ministry of Education must come out immediately and sanction this Church. I am surprised the parents of these children are keeping quiet over this nonsence coming from Busua.Is there no ...

• Joe Turkey 9 years ago

This is not democracy. Freedom of worship should not be misconstrued to mean freedom to misinform. Arrest the idiot and close down all his facilities.

• vic714 9 years ago

That church must be banned n their parents charged for failing to give the children thei right to education. That elder must be arrested n charged to court so that all others can learn. This is a fraud case because he is feed ...

• Kaymensah 9 years ago

This is basic knowledge for all Christians: by definition, Jesus is omniscient; he doesn't have to gain knowledge. No-one else has this attribute. And they call themselves pastors!

• lee 9 years ago

How does he expect church members to earn a living, if they don't have to work? People worked during Jesus' time; farming, raising sheep, fishing, and carpentry. Jesus' father was a carpenter...

• jb 9 years ago

Hahahaha meanwhile the pastor is Educated... hmmmm Asem ni

• ROY 9 years ago

GOD DOES NOT EXIST. PEOPLE IMAGINE GOD EXISTING JUST AS WE IMAGINE THAT AN "EQUATOR IS AN IMAGINARY LINE THAT DIVIDES THE EARTH INTO TWO EQUAL PARTS".

THE CHURCH SHOULD THE CHILDREN ALONE TO UNDERTAKE THEIR ACADEMIC PURSUI ...

• Elyasu 9 years ago

This is pure madness. this pastor should b arrested. the parents of the children should be blame bcos how vamos u own a bible u cant read even the twi bible u need dime education b4 u can read it.

• OSEI - USA 9 years ago

Fake leadership, it was school that made some of us to become born again christian which we are proud off. How can you read the bible to become a good christian?.

• Awurade kasa 9 years ago

NONSENSE!. THIS MAN MUST BE ARRESTED WITH HIS MEMBERS.

• JK 9 years ago

If you are looking for an answer....I say it is both.

I am not sure if the arrest will work. As soon as that is effected, people will blame government for all sorts of things.

I still remember Nkrumah's time when I wa ...

• princewilly@ymail.com 9 years ago

A teenage boy had just gotten his driver's license and inquired of his father as to when they could discuss his use of the car. His father said he'd make a deal with his son: 'You bring your grades up from a C to a B average, ...

• Kingwilly 9 years ago

Aah, PrinceWilly, some of them rode donkeys too! So the father could have substituted the car with a donkey!

• palmer, Gremany 9 years ago

Sorry , such Church must be band in the Country .The Elder and all those concern must be punished, because he or she such nonsens propaget has the same Ideology like the Islamic extremist Bokoharam,IS or Ahkaida terrorists a ...

• HIM 9 years ago

Watch this sowah guy very closely- he is on the verge of creating a dooms day cult. that how it get started.

next he will quarantine and ask his members to cut links with the outside world.

• Egblewogbe. Dzikunyawonye 9 years ago

Please first get order from a court pick up the pastor send him for psychiatric evaluation when it is verified that he is normal , then charge him for violation of the rights of the children as for the parents have the ...

• johntee 9 years ago

I am sorry about this. Is this the beginning of Boko Haram in Ghana. Mr Mahama must stop this now. No GJ's Niger dilly-dally please Mr President.

• Kwasi 9 years ago

This pastor is a spiritually blind type who should be arrested and jailed for crimes against humanity. The simple question that should be asked of him is: How did he become a pastor?.
    He is a not a leader who should be encou ...

• Tenneson 9 years ago

Who said Jesus didn't go to school.After age 12, we never heard of Jesus untill age 30. Those 18 yrs gabs her mother sent him to school in the East where the three wise men came from.
    To understand the scriptures, you need t ...

• NII 9 years ago

Mmmmmm

• Adjovi 9 years ago

I am a Christian, and yet, I want all these evangelist and bishops and apostles to be gone from our country. They are the epitome of stupidity.

• chimp 9 years ago

sad ghana still has such barbaric idiots

• JK 9 years ago

There is still hope, given the report on the secretary's position on the matter. Maybe he will do something about it.

The authorities must work with this secretary to resolve this issue.

• Ozymandias 9 years ago

This man should be safely locked up somewhere.

• Sheriff Wisdomgold 9 years ago

All churches must be ban in Ghana for the country to more forward . for churches are dead and this man should be send to jail

• MR MAWEGYATA 9 years ago

WHY IS THIS MUTHERFAKER STILL WALKING?.

• bbc 9 years ago

Mother ghana!!!! Who born this man!!!9 months for nothing.

• Morpkorkpor 9 years ago

If this elder does don't reprecent your ideas and doctrines as a church, then get him to take back the teaching and recall the students back to school. If does not agree get him out before he turns it into a cult.

• Djan 9 years ago

Did Peter leave his job of fishing just to follow Jesus? This man's church must be closed down immediately!

• kretz 9 years ago

Oh My goodness! Lord have mercy on Ghana. The most stupid and dumbest thing I have ever heard. This pastor or preacher must be stopped preaching or teaching in the church. Or the Ghana gov should stop him from operating that ...

• Afua 9 years ago

These are the type of people who become false prophets forcing people who went to school to give them their hard earn money for deliverance. What are the work of God that some one can do today without going to school. You nee ...

• Adjoa 9 years ago

Who are these people? and he has a Church??

• Adongo 9 years ago

The District Church Secretary should NOT talk but act NOW!!! The church should as a matter of urgency relieve the lunatic Elder of his appointment and get a sane person to take over from him.

The first thing the replacemen ...

• Bobostone 9 years ago

Is this a true story? How and why?
    The pastor is not a man of God. No one should go to his church. He has nothing to offer the community.

• FOREIGN mp 9 years ago

Why bearing the name MARK? Does he(Mark Sowah)advice his members to read and follow the teachings in the Bible? Sowah is a disgraced in advancement of the Gospel.The Bible directs elders to teach Children the right way for,t ...

• Joe 9 years ago

He's a prat!. He should read the UN charter on the rights of children. Denying education to children must be seen as "child abuse". Prosecute him.

• fantastic boy 9 years ago

PLEASE ARREST HIM ASAP AND BAN HIS CHURCH

• Benny 9 years ago

Another form of Boko Haram. Ghana should ban this church. A small portion of WACO. This is how Boko HARAM started.

• pkirks 9 years ago

This pastor is out of his senses I guess. A prophet is doom who doesn't know what he's talking about. Asking the members to own a bible, did he ask himself how they could read and understand if not educated to learn how to re ...

• Dessy 9 years ago

Why don't you name the church and particular elder...Haux!!

• NDC Akoromfuor Party. 9 years ago

The church should closed entirely.

Jesus was in Egypt from the age of 12 until 30. And he studied in a monastery.

• Mr. Haircare 9 years ago

But who is this FOOL?

• kofi awutsey 9 years ago

Another idiot in the church if this is true story. Ask him how many people his church is able to feed for just a day and in what language is the Bible he said everyone should get is written?

• foolish man 9 years ago

foolish ideas

• STEVE 9 years ago

I bet the authorities will sit and fold their arms behind them and do nothing to confront that IDIOT. At a time when most nations are doing everything posibble to educate their citizens, an idiot is telling some people to for ...

• HARUNA 9 years ago

so he can alway fool them around

• me 9 years ago

@kofi,jesus studied? from whom,? human being,is he not supposed to be God per your doctrine who knows everything? hmmmmmm.christianity is the most illiterate religion whose statements always contradict each other.surprising t ...

• Breko 9 years ago

Thank God!

• ak 9 years ago

The parents of the kids and the so-called priest should be arrested and prosecuted.

• emmanuel. 9 years ago

This guy is simply A BIG BIG COOL.

• emmanuel. 9 years ago

This guy is A BIG BIG FOOL AND A GOAT.

• Olance Spanish 9 years ago

I am surprised by the leadership of the so called Sacred Action Church. After reading this piece, the only thing that came to mind is that this leader, who may be an illiterate himself, is trying to drawing these children to ...

• Agbanu-Torvinya Jacob Yao 9 years ago

That's laziness. Period!

• Eshun 9 years ago

Proud of Ghana web readers. You all know your bible. Good job.

• Daniel Addo. SA 9 years ago

This stupid elder need to be arrested with parents. I don't know where Ghana is turning into, stupid elder preaching heresy

• obuoh 9 years ago

How can they read and understand the Bible if they do not have formal education to learn how to read and write

• KM 9 years ago

This elder has shocked me very much. How can an elder of a church behave like this in the 21st century. Madness to the highest level.

• dzidzor, abelemkpe 9 years ago

This pastor, like his Bokogeria counterpart, deserves to be crucified!

• Tigerliccious 9 years ago

Ghanaians are so superstitious that every stupid person gets up and forms a church and gets followers. They do not critically assess the training or no training of the person. This person must be arrested and prosecuted.

• Mokobi 9 years ago

It is not enough for the Headquarter of the churhch to say this is not their teaching and just leave as that. They should go to the branch in question and tell the people in a face-to-face meeting of their stand. The erring ...

• O-B 9 years ago

God is not an imaginary entity as Roy suggest, for it is written only a fool says that GOD does not exist

• Hmmm. 9 years ago

Thank you for the correction!

• Osei Yao 9 years ago

JESUS STUDIED IN A TIBETAN MONASTRY BEFORE RETURNING TO PALESTINE.

• Joy Owusu 9 years ago

l am very sad about issue. dis man is ving a big problem, he does not know anything about e Bible, if e children re not educated how re ey going to read n write. I know dis man he used to sell CDS , How can he get time to s ...

• Adesan 9 years ago

Wrong message preached in churches . God help us.

• Baidoo Ebenezer 9 years ago

In this 21st century how can one be without education.He just deceiving the illiterate........is very pity

• Ugly Akufo Addo 9 years ago

This is not a religion

• Adamu Adambila Rafiq. 9 years ago

Do you know how BOKO HARAM started? It was in a similar format, where people were discourage to go to school, as well as work, because the systems encourage corruptions of all kinds. Watch out, Ghana.

• Very Revd Father Eulogius 9 years ago

This really unbearable, we are in modern world and education is the key to everything you nowadays. I am a Revd Father and I don't path with this idea at all.

• Adjoa 9 years ago

It is obvious that if you continue to attend this church to listen to this idiot, then the member is a FOOL.... ONLY THE FOOL HAS SAID THERE IS NO GOD!!!!!!

• Evans 9 years ago

such pastors should be cast out of d place for he is an illustrate. d Bible commands dat we study to show ourselves approved a workman who needs not to be ashamed. rightly dividing d word of truth. WHAT A FALSE PROPHET!!!!

• karim 9 years ago

The pastor need psychiatric examination immediately

• amoah 9 years ago

only in Africa

• frederick ophir 9 years ago

satanic church. foolish pastor and his elders

• Eric Jackson 9 years ago

His reward for deciet is awaiting him. by their fruits they shall be known and he is now known. Aboa ba. he should tell that to his children. kwasia man

• MYSELF 9 years ago

The authorities on education should dismissed the head of the school and put him on trial. His stupidity is second to mahama

• Mubarak 9 years ago

When are illeterate and ignorant, it'll be easier for him to misleaad them.

• Mubarak 9 years ago

When they are illiterate and ignorant, it'll be easier to mislead them. Such churches must be shut down and their leaders put behind bars forever. This is Boko Haram in Ghana.

• Steve 9 years ago

They have arrest this Elder,He is not normal

• Asoreba 9 years ago

We talk about things when we have to DO something about it. If the "mother church" does not agree with this teachings, then they MUST STOP him and remove him from presiding.

• Military Man 9 years ago

Who is this fool of a preacher?

• Sam 9 years ago

His mental status needs to be checked.

• Ike Cren 9 years ago

I'm totally surprised. If the members should stop working then who will feed them? Won't they use electricity again? This man should be silenced in the church. He should never be given the pulpit to feed God's children with a ...

• me 9 years ago

what amazes me is that the people obeyed him. can't they think for themselves? if they don't work how will they eat?

• ibn Kpalbil, USA. 9 years ago

The Government should step in to save these innocent children.

• Augustina 9 years ago

he not serious n God Wil ask him abt DAT lack of knowledge my people are perish n god forgive him

• GBORSONGU VINCENT 9 years ago

It is true that Jesus did not attend any formal school and He does not need to.Why?You may ask.
    He Himself is the embodiment of Wisdom.
    1 Cor.1:24b,Col.2:2b-3.
    He is the Word of God became flesh
    John 1:14 The Word of God ...

• Reason 9 years ago

Hummm! Authorities are aware of this but believe me no action will be taken. We have a similar church at Oyibi off Dodowa road. We have reported to Ghana police for the sake of the children and the future generation. Radio st ...

• Hardman 9 years ago

this stomach man of God should spare the innocent children alone to fight for their future.

• Evangelist ADJEI KWABENA ISAAC 9 years ago

According to Acts 4:13-22; Matt 13:53-58; Act's 2:1-13; Mark 16:15-18,show that we can't. Compared school and Christianity.

• K. POME 9 years ago

That Church itself need to be ban and the pastor should be arrested