You are here: HomeNews2014 10 02Article 328463

Mahama: IMF wants Ghana to freeze public sector wages

Read Comments Comments (73)

• BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 9 years ago

I urge, entreat, supplicate, admonished and above all beg NPP delegate to harness their moral duties and obligations to shun Akuffo Addo and elect Alan as their presidential candidate. If de delegates didn't heed my advice th ...

• BBC News 9 years ago

You Need Prayers

• OLD SOLDIER 9 years ago

AUTHOR: MARTIN A.B.K. AMIDU....

It would appear that those in control of the NDC, for the time being, were bent on excluding other bona fide members of the Party who may wish to lay democratic claims to who becomes the ne ...

• felix 9 years ago

You foolish idiots you can not tell as what to do. OK akuffo addo will and you bastass will go to prison.

• OLD SOLDIER 9 years ago

BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! WHERE DID GHANAIANS GO WRONG TO SUFFER LIKE THIS? YOU MAHAMA BUILDING YOUR HOTELS ABROAD, AFRIYIE ANKRA BUYING MANSIONS AT EAST LEGON, OKUDJETO ACQUIRING FILLING STATIONS ALL OVER, TOGBUI AF ...

• Gyeeda, Sada, Subah, Woyome 9 years ago

I think this guy called BBC News has lost all his balls. He is the only fool on this platform writing nkwaseasem always about the most peaceful man in Ghana's politics. Such idiots must be imprisoned alongside NDC criminals. ...

• Ghfuo, heaven is NOT for idiots! 9 years ago

If u are stupid. Others will come and tell you to.do smthing you should be doing long ago. We have no business seeking imf bailout. But since these niggas in govt are so stupid and lazy to think and implement hardcore protoco ...

• joe London, 9 years ago

what good do you expect from this northernes ? this is the best they can do. if you are teaching a pigs to sing he will never sing. you are just worrying yourself.

• REV JAMES 9 years ago

JOE FRPM LONDON IS NOT A GOOD GHANAIN INSULTING NORTHENERS AM AN NPP MEMBER BUT YOUR COMENT IS UNCALL FOR

• Oba Nyansani Baako Pe ln Ghana! 9 years ago

You are disgraced like your opepeni president Mahama and who will listen to you? Why don't you lift Alan and put him direct as a flagbearer for NPP? Alan can never ever lead NPP and after 18/10/2014 his political ambition wil ...

• nokwareI 9 years ago

Stop feeding us with your bad english.

• Ken Ntiamoa 9 years ago

And the President had to tell Ghanaians this from Dubai? Why didn't he tell us this news on ground zero. We would have marched to FSH right away to protest.

Now I know why IMF was called. "IMF wants us to do this and that ...

• SARP 9 years ago

ALAN MISAPPROPRIATED THE CASH FOR THE PRESIDENTIAL SPECIAL INITIATIVE.HE IS A THIEF/

• Mahmoud 9 years ago

Communists and Young Pioneers don't have what it takes to to grow an economy,they rather spend more and steal more.

• Obed Adore 9 years ago

Yes, place a freeze on it.. This is done everywhere.. Even with their SSS wages Ghanaian officials are still stealing from right, left, centre, front, and back! Freeze it!!!

• Abby 9 years ago

You are right, but they don’t get it. Low IQ or selfish greed is the question.

• Mm 9 years ago

Why can't IMF suggest tht for import duties,where the ppl could bring the machinery to move the country on the long run,#No short cut...

• Time Will Tell 9 years ago

God have mercy....

• serwaa 9 years ago

Freezing wage while inflation keep rising? You have to reduce your government size first. As some of the ministers to go home. All the deputies must stay at home. The narrow down the seats at parliament, especially those that ...

• JOASS 9 years ago

IT A SHAME RAWLINGS HAVE SEVERAL HOMES AND A FACTORY FOR HIS WIFE AFTER TAKEN GHANAIANS PRIVATE ENTERPRISES ASSETS WHEN HE CAME INTO POWER SUCH CORRUPT. CROOKED, GREED BUSTARD FOR ALMOST 20YRS RAWLINGS TOOK GHANA THROUGH A RI ...

Who cares what the IMF tells you? Ghana was doing great until you decided to use all our resources for your election campaign. What were you expecting the IMF to tell you? We've been there before and didn't have to go there a ...

• Peter 9 years ago

A very good point, Paddy. No one mentions IMF during election campaigns. Mahama continues to draw his monthly salary and enjoy all the presidential goodies. He must put his acts together and his ass on the job and stop distur ...

• Abigi 9 years ago

You invited the IMF because you failed to manage your economy, after figuring out your spending problem. You are turning on them, making it look as if the IMF is forcing you to do something you do not want to do. Why INVITE t ...

Sharrap, we are talking about real white kahunas here with massive dollars in their bank accounts and popularity to boot. Trevor Linden is a former captain of the Vancouver Canucks and now president of the team. Even though m ...

Inflation? Go and tell that to those whonhave more jobs? If you are lucky to have a lucrative job in the public sector and due to hardiness. Ur wage has been frozen or reduced for 3 yrs. Is this cause for alarm? Hw3, we have ...

Sharrap, we are talking about real white kahunas here with massive dollars in their bank accounts and popularity to boot. Trevor Linden is a former captain of the Vancouver Canucks and now president of the team. Even though m ...

It's sad when you have a President who PROBABLY never sat in a business classroom or any quantitative analysis class. Here is a President of a country that is spending a chunk of its annual revenues on payroll, including sala ...

• STAFFORD 9 years ago

Well said,good comment...stay the same !

• apuuu 9 years ago

This IMF money is not coming after 2016 election because Mahama lead administration do not have good credit with the world apuuu

• Brobbsnet-USA 9 years ago

Mahama and NDC gang of thieves have stolen over $2 Billion (woyome,SADA,GYEEDA & others.) with no money left to run the country.Ghanians have elected an economic-terrorist as president.

• fidelity 9 years ago

Shame on you Mahama

• Stephen, US 9 years ago

Fellow Ghanaians, pls let's cast our burden unto God and chose only Him as our president. For all others come to do for us only harm and nothing else. Greedy, selfish and wicked people, we alwas vote for to maltreat us.

• Oba Nyansani Baako Pe ln Ghana! 9 years ago

Mahama aren't you shame of yourself to go to IMF at this stage? A nation like Ghana with full of natural resources including oil that has been producing recently and because of your incompetent look at where you are taking us ...

• YAW 9 years ago

nincompoopery and useless president. Why do you have to borrow money in the first place.

• Ghanaba 9 years ago

IMF telling government to freeze wage bill is an indirect way of telling government to stop stealing. The wage bill contains lots of ghost names and it is lopsided. The Article 71 holders are less than 2000 in total number bu ...

• Ga 9 years ago

OMG this is rediculous. He chartered and plane with $ 3 million cash to Brazil and now is crying that IMF want him to have a correct budget. Stupid Blacks !

• GHANANI 9 years ago

Too many public sector wokers,massive corruPtion in the public sector and low productivity.The public sector is the number one drawback to the nation's progress.The 70 per cent of state revenue used to pay public sector emplo ...

• mr amin 9 years ago

we dont want voodo inflation where by the cedi loses value n inflation comes down. we wnt when intlation goes down the cedi should apreciate. when the cedi apreciate our live apreciate n when it depreciate our live follow su ...

• Dr k Azaglo, Ecomomist 9 years ago

Ghanas economic woes started from when Mahama under the guise of Ewurama commission increased his salary threefold (150%). Those of our good for nothing MPs also followed suit. Economists will tell you that an increase in sa ...

• Commonsense 9 years ago

The face of a corrupt, incompetent and murder Northerner telling lies all his life. He doesn't understand that his foolishness has brought this country to this level.

• monkey they work 9 years ago

we live to see. we are almost in an abiss,IMF ? ghanaians we are our own enemies

• Orion 9 years ago

Now d cedi has began to rise cnt d government stop dis IMF tin wit deir complicated demands???

• Lukman 9 years ago

hmmm wahala ghana

• E. hegemony 9 years ago

The kookoose people want to clinch power
    by all means so that they can fully
    implement their all die be die mantra.
    Mahama all the way.

• Deco 9 years ago

what is happenin to my beloved country,Ghana?? Did i hear freeze of wages as a recommendation by IMF?? Mahama please use ur head for d first tym. becos if heed to dis stupid advise, ur family will end up in d public sector to ...

• Nissi 9 years ago

Mahama and his inexperienced team are jokers. Mahama is a man pleaser the real issue facing the country's economy is there so if you don't fixed the real issue forget it. You don't need to be economy expect to know that Maham ...

• NBTT 9 years ago

The IMF is simply a mechanism for Western banks to use crippling indebtedness to loot and strip the assets of many nations.
    Let us hope that our leaders will come to their senses before it is too late.

WHY GHANA IS IN GR ...

• Twum Donkor 9 years ago

Mahama will kill us with his inconsistencies, this month I only got 15.51 cedis as my monthly salary what does he expect as to feed on.because he knows how to talk he always brings out trash. Who caused the cedis to depreciat ...

• Ayivor 9 years ago

IMF will decide for us all the time because we as a nation is totally screwed up. We cannot even manage our own nation. Things are falling apart. The government spent all the money on campaign and now there is no money for vi ...

• Steven banson 9 years ago

Mr president my question is why do u always increase de price of cement,unt.bills without increasing out salarie by then by rather freezing it we need a better reason behind dat tank u

• Mr.Wiredu Roland 9 years ago

tiens marketing company wish to inform you about the New job opening in town,vacancies are there for everyone .just give a call on 0247913133/0204163501 and you will be answered to.thank you.

• yaw darko 9 years ago

oyiwa

• BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 9 years ago

Mahama the most idiot.

• sam 9 years ago

Now the IMF, is advising a whole sovereign nation,because it cannot take care of itself.Black man,black sense does not understand the world, which is plain and simple. Even after getting help, it will go back again.

• FACT 9 years ago

So it is not a homegrown policy? The NDC gov't never thought of it?...lol. We thought the homegrown policy was just going to be assented to by the IMF and the gov't had already started implementing them already and even more; ...

• Preacher 9 years ago

Mr. President, this a big blunder if you try it. Do you want to tell the hard working citizens of Ghana that you are so naive that an international money mongers have to dictate what Ghana must to do fix her economy?. Please ...