You are here: HomeNews2014 09 30Article 328195

Social media affecting english of students - Ablakwa

Read Comments Comments (29)

• Ghfuo, heaven is NOT for idiots! 9 years ago

Kwasia, u head like nyamoranza kenkey in plastic bag. U sound as if only ghana has access to social media. Has social media English impacted the writing skills of other kids in other countries all over the globe? Wbh don't u ...

• BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 9 years ago

ABLAKWA YOU BORE GHANAIANS WHEN YOU OPEN YOUR MOUTH, JUST SHUT UP AND CHOP YOUR BOOTY! IS YOUR FIRST LADY"S ENGLISH BETTER/?

• GBC NEWS 9 years ago

Her accent is hard-edged and her pronunciations go through loop-holes. What a pity!

• Justin 9 years ago

Speaks like she is cracking a stone in the mouth

• Lorgo Ligri 9 years ago

Come on fellas, spare the First Lady your laughing bombs and concentrate on the shinny bald headed Ablakwa. It's him who annoys us anytime he gobble-gobbles like a smart turkey. Let's put him on the table come this Christmas! ...

• Maame Grace. 9 years ago

I know from your write up that you are not a fun of this guy and rightly so, but what he is saying is the gosple truth and its affecting children all over the world. The question is what are we us parents doing about it and t ...

• kk3 9 years ago

How did social media affect your spelling Maame Grace? Quit the nonsense.

• BUSH DOCTOR I 9 years ago

Mr.Ablakwa, I do vehemently disagree with you, sir. You only have to read articles by Ghanaweb and 99.9% of comments by Ghanaians to know that the country Ghana is constricting the social media world to death with really real ...

• Mike 9 years ago

Maame Grace, you've spoken the truth. The minister is damn right

• Obed Adore 9 years ago

Great. This is for a good cause.

• Opoku 9 years ago

I doubt the competence of this Ablakwah himself. If he writes he will fail. Nothing in the head, shouting, talking before thinking like the one who appointed him. The two are noise makers, one shouting and insulting Ghanaians ...

• OVERLORD 9 years ago

The Twi and other local languanges on all radio and TV stations are to be blamed for the decline in student performance in English. Call a spade a spade people!Bunch of cowards!

• NON ALIGNED 9 years ago

OVERLORD or whatever you call yourself.......Are you English????

The Chinese come to your country to develop it, without speaking a word of English!!! Have you thought about that? You then turn round to import toothpicks f ...

• G. Juan 9 years ago

They perceive speaking english equates to intelligence.
    Not their fault.Years of misinformation in their education.

• KOOBOY 9 years ago

BLAME OUR EDUCATIONAL SYSTEM.

• BOB TEMA 9 years ago

ABOA OGIMEFOR IS ENGLISH YOUR LANGUAGE WHAT ABOUT YOUR EWE FOOLISHMAN BECOS YOU AND YOUR BRAINLESS MAHAMA HAVE BRAINWASH HE SPEAKS ENGLISH IN UNIATEDNATIONS EVERYBODY SPEAKS IN THEIR OWN LANGUAGES ONLY BLANKMAN GONJA MAN SHO ...

• Joe Turkey 9 years ago

Babies with sharp teeth. What is new about this? Its like saying Ebola is killing people in Liberia. We know that; what solution does this JSS graduate have. I hear Ablakwa has littered the Aflao road with his petrol stations ...

• Yaw Gyasi 9 years ago

Just read the heading of this news report ("Social media affecting english of students") and you shouldn't miuss how Ghanaweb spelt English ('english").

The problem is not with only the poor Ghanaian students but those who ...

• mojingles 9 years ago

Two weeks ago, some higher-up in the NDC administration noted that university graduates in Ghana have poor writing skills....how so true!!!!

Ablakwa is a product of an educational system that was gutted and rendered ineffe ...

• Dr Robert K Glah 9 years ago

English language essay competition
    is desirable but the topic and its focus is narrow-minded.

The topic should be broadened to enable teachers and students to demonstrate analysis and understanding of broad concepts like ...

• Yaw 9 years ago

Why do Ghanaian ministers talk by heart like that? Where is the research study evidence to back up the claims?

Anyway, one cannot expect any meaningful submissions to be made by this coconut head minister.

• Kanewu 9 years ago

Are you just speculating or you have evidence? You are a graduate(maybe) and a man of power so you have to back up what ever you say with facts. Are you hearing this from teachers or you just making up a problem?

• jato bibio 9 years ago

We should all remember that Language in general is dynamic so from time to time new words are formed and used. If one checks the Google site, a number of so called social media words have been accepted and have been incorpora ...

• Jay london 9 years ago

I have never found Ablakwa using the English language correctly so perhaps his words should have been social Media Affecting Ablakwa's English

• kk3 9 years ago

what dey wrong these fools.....

• NON ALIGNED 9 years ago

It's about time we rethink our entire education system in our country and more importantly on our continent - AFRICA!!!

Why do we continue with this brainwash education system which has kept us in the doldrums for years ...

• MARCUS AMPADU 9 years ago

One standard shouldn't be the hallmark of Ghana's education system. There should be choice. Choice to study what students and their parents desire, as long as national standards are met. Home schooling, charter schools, missi ...

• peki akobi 9 years ago

"birth certificates or photocopies of international passport data page, to get into the competition" what do you need them for? to get into their privacy? or to sell them abroad for money

• paa kwesi 9 years ago

weldone, this is the only message i've seen you've spoken well. weldone