You are here: HomeNews2014 09 30Article 328180

Akufo-Addo in for shocker...

Read Comments Comments (115)

• TK 9 years ago

TWO LOSERS.

• OLD SOLDIER 9 years ago

BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! WHERE DID GHANAIANS GO WRONG TO SUFFER LIKE THIS? YOU MAHAMA BUILDING YOUR HOTELS ABROAD, AFRIYIE ANKRA BUYING MANSIONS AT EAST LEGON, OKUDJETO ACQUIRING FILLING STATIONS ALL OVER, TOGBUI AF ...

• BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 9 years ago

I urge, entreat, supplicate, admonished and above all beg NPP delegate to harness their moral duties and obligations to shun Akuffo Addo and elect Alan as their presidential candidate. If de delegates didn't heed my advice th ...

• OBIA DIE MIENU MIENU 9 years ago

ALAN IS MORE GENTLE AND CULTURED THAN THE VIOLENCE-LOVING,DIVISIVE AND UNCOUTH YEN AKANFUO KAPWEPWE!!!

PEDUASE LODGE OR DIE TRYING, APUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUU!TOR

• Osei 9 years ago

FOR STUBBORN AND CORRUPT PEOPLE AS WE ARE IN GHANA, WE DON'T NEED YOUR TYPE OF GENTLE OR HANDSOME LEADERS FOR GHANA. WE WANT SOMEONE WHO UNDERSTANDS "THE RULE OF LAW". AND WILL INDUSTRIALIZE GHANA TO ACHIEVE ITS PLACE AFTER 5 ...

• insight to the bone 9 years ago

Fantis are not as illiterate or stupid as you wish so are not buying the Anti Ashanti hate propaganda you sell since they know it only beefs up the general Anti Akan agenda you promote . The undeclared warfare against the Aka ...

THIS ARTICLE LACKS FACTS! LIMAN AND PNP WON THAT ELECTIONS BECAUSE VICTOR OWUSU'S PFP HAD BEEN DIVIDED INTO TWO THAT WAS UNC AND PFP THEREFORE DR LIMAN WENT THROUGH EASILY! BUT THIS TIME NPP WILL BE SOLID AFTER THE PRIMARIES ...

FOR STUBBORN AND CORRUPT PEOPLE AS WE ARE IN GHANA, WE DON'T NEED YOUR TYPE OF GENTLE OR HANDSOME LEADERS FOR GHANA. WE WANT SOMEONE WHO UNDERSTANDS "THE RULE OF LAW". AND WILL INDUSTRIALIZE GHANA TO ACHIEVE ITS PLACE AFTER 5 ...

• Mike 9 years ago

One will think that upon all that we are seeing Mahama destroying Ghana, people will not even think about the very stupid reason for electing the caliber of mahama to power in the first place. Gentle.... blacks never learn.

• OBIA DIE MIENU MIENU 9 years ago

IS NANA ADDO COMPETENT????????? TWEEEEEAAAAAKAI!!!!

• Ugly Akufo Addo 9 years ago

He is seriously sick

• KWAKU MANU 9 years ago

IF NANA WILL LOOSE SHOULD NDC SUPPORTERS NOT JUST SIT QUIETLY FOR HIM TO LOOSE SO THAT THEIR CANDIDATE WINS? WHY ARE YOU NDC MEMBERS MOVING HEAVEN AND EARTH AGAINST A NANA PRESIDENTIAL CANDIDATURE? ANSWER IS SIMPLE NDC IS SCA ...

• All Men Are Brothers, abi? 9 years ago

BBC, DO U KNOW A WAR MONGRR OR U AREJUST MISUSING WORDS. WHEN U POST A COMMENT TO THIS FORUM WHICH IS PATRONISED BY MANY DECENT PEOPLE ,LET US HEAR "SOMETHING" from you.

• I'm me 9 years ago

BBC NEWS!!!
    one thing that Ghanaians are specialist in it is talking!! If you have all the proofs to support your claim why don't you publish it or go to court to help Ghana retrieve it's money. We have to be very careful on ...

• COS90 9 years ago

THESE TWO not THIS TWO.
    Study your concord well.

• John 9 years ago

This comparison is baseless,political maturity at the period was not the same as today.In any case Ghana was by then just coming out of the AFRC regime,today we're in 22years of the 4TH republic.

• Charles Agbenui 9 years ago

Well done John. The comparison is the work of a lazy journalist who writes cowdung---very useless article

• Subruku the Giant 9 years ago

Don't be so biased you cannot see the truth.
    All the factors mentioned in the article are legit and might hold water today just as they did way back.

• Paa 9 years ago

So NDC propagandists have moved from adding 2 years to 5 years to Nana's age in order to say he is almost an octogenarian!

• ABUSUA 9 years ago

The basis of the comparison is woefully wrong. Did Limann and Victor contested in Primaries? What was the percentage or ballot cast difference between Limann and Victor at that time? What are the same values between Nana and ...

• ATO 9 years ago

YES, IT IS GOOD TO MAKE REFERENCE BUT WHAT YOU NOT LOOKING AT IS THE MINDSET OF THE VOTERS.

• KAKAPEAKA K K 9 years ago

WE ARE FED UP.

• James Naminse 9 years ago

I think you are out of your sense to make such incomparable analysis.pls be very honest to yourself and be very clear in your mind that you are making a very wrong analogy. ok.

• TIJAN BOLGA 9 years ago

KNOW MATTER HIGH HIGH ALAN CAN REACH KNOW WAY FOR HIM TO REACH NANA IN THE POLLS.

• Charles Agbenui 9 years ago

The Limann/Victor Owusu contest was inter -party which Limann won on the usual national tribal--anti-Ashanti basis. Now the Akufo Ado/Kyeremanteng contest is intra -party and the usual national tribal nonsense does not exist ...

• James Naminse 9 years ago

Bravo you are very good thinker God bless you.

• Me4U 9 years ago

"Dr. Hilla Liman of the PNP was a novice in Ghanaian politics. Dr. Limann was a career diplomat until Imoro Igala, Liman's uncle, suggested he should be chosen as the then People Nationa Party (PNP) flagbearer.

"PNP is th ...

• Agyenkwah 9 years ago

All these are useless aguement. What happened to useless Liman with his Jato won ye hwee whch brought Rawlngs back to power. How idthat help Ghana. What do we see now, corruption in Government at the highest level. Liman dint ...

• SLOW 9 years ago

IF ALAN IS MADE THE FLAG AND AKUFO ADDO HIS VICE THAT WILL BE A STRAIGHT TICKET TO VICTORY COME 2016. BAWUMIA CAN BE MADE GOVERNOR OF BoG/FM AND GHANA WILL BE A PARADISE.

• Booyaa 9 years ago

IF NANA IS FLAGBEARER AND ALAN IS VICE, BAWAMIA AT BOG CAN ALSO BE GOOD

• Tei 9 years ago

The contents of your article matches your name (SLOW) to the core. You do deserve that name - your thinking is on equal footing with your name. Good job!!!!! S L O W !!!!

• Mohammadu 9 years ago

The comparison is good but what we learn from here is that Limann´s inexperience was the invitation that brought Rawlings to power again and his corrupt and inept NDC.
    Let us draw the conclusion! Better Nana as Alan! Alan w ...

• Papa Yaw. 9 years ago

So

• Commonsense 9 years ago

PNP was not a Danquah-Busia-Dombo traditional party. Please author, you need a real education. You NDC people are really incompetent. Gets your facts together

• Concerned 9 years ago

What an idiot. If 60 is young when is Alan expecting to be matured enough to be president

• EDEN 9 years ago

NANA CAN WIN THE NPP PRIMARIES. UNFORTUNATELY, GHANAIANS HAVE SHOWN HIM THE EXIT TWICE. THEY ARE NOT READY FOR A 72 YEARS OLD MAN. HE DOES NOT HAVE WHAT IT TAKES TO BECOME A PRESIDENT. HIS LAW BACKGROUND IS A LITTLE DOUBTFUL ...

• Che Andrew 9 years ago

1. His academic credentials are doubtful.
    2. His Law profession is doubtful and Justice Kpega thinks his law certificate belongs to a murdered man whose grave is located in the compound of Nana's Law firm.
    3. There is no do ...

• concern citizen 9 years ago

He will never become a president

• Seer 9 years ago

Nana Akuffo Addo WILL struggle to convince the Ghanaian electorate to vote him president.His negatives have actually increased,the latest and biggest one being his age.

• MUMUNI 9 years ago

Nana Akufo Addo is not corrupt and the only person who can transform Ghana.NDC has nothing to offer Ghanaian's looking at their track record they are only interested in create,loot and share and visionless Mahama worst presid ...

• Che Andrew 9 years ago

Yes all drug dealers are working hard for the cartel leader to become president so that they can turn the country once more into a cocaine coast. Never will this happen again

• JOE CANADA 9 years ago

SO YOU WANT TELL US THAT THERE IS NO CIVILIZED PERSON IN NPP OR GHANA BESIDES NANA, C'MON MAN, THINK OUTSIDE THE BOX A BIT. GO BACK TO 2008 AND 2012 AND DO SOME ANALYSIS, YOU WILL SEE THAT THERE IS NO WAY NANA CAN BEAT MAHAMA ...

• NANA OWUSU NYANSA, GERMANY 9 years ago

OH GHANA POLITICS !! AND SO WHAT ? HOW CAN ALAN CHALLENGE MAHAMA WHO TOOK ALAN BY HAND FOR AN INTERNATIONAL POSITION ? BUT WAS NOT SELECTED !!! ALAN DON´T HAVE ANY CLOT IN THE NPP ANY MORE AFTER HE RESIGNED IN 2008 !! FINITO ...

• Che Andrew 9 years ago

PNP is never the predecessor party of the NPP. PNP was the offshoot of the CPP while the NPP is the offshoot of the UP. While Victor Owusu and Paa Willie where slaughtering each other the young Dr. Liman was in the trenches m ...

• Kojo Pork 9 years ago

This is the most stupid comparismI have seen in my life. How can you compare an inter-party election to a intra-party election. The 1979 election was a national election, which pitted the PNP on the Nkrumah tradition to the P ...

• Kwaame 9 years ago

You are right, the write is dumb and his/her editor is shirking his responsibilities. These fatal errors should never be condoned!!

• Maame Abena 9 years ago

Even Alan himself knows that Nana Akufo-Addo will not be beating.
    October 18,2014 is just around the corner and we live to see.
    Alan must tremble at the name of Nana Akufo-Addo.

• Gian 9 years ago

and what happened after Limann became president

• senior citizen Germany 9 years ago

It is incredibly important for the NPP to unite as a mother party in the country to operate with one credible front to win any future election.The present mudslinging and under cutting of opponents existing in the mist of the ...

• Fei Donkor 9 years ago

If The Republic is the source, dismiss this report.

• Thomas. 9 years ago

Alan will never lead npp. In his life because he is very selfish. He thinks he is better than everyone in npp.

• BUILSA KANJARGA 9 years ago

Alan has lost credibility in NPP, we the delegates don't trust him any longer, Nana is our trusted candidate.

• OTCHERE DARKO 9 years ago

Dreaming is part of humanity. It is only 'the dead' that does not dream.

ALAN DREAM ON !!!!!!!

• Joejoe 9 years ago

You can give it all names. If Allan is wise he should by now declare his position to go with Nana Addo so that we save the necessary money for 2016. He is finished after October 18th.

• KOKI 9 years ago

Times have changed and so is the political terrain since 1979. Besides, propaganda tool is always impregnated with skewed analysis like the Republican's.

I bet you if the delegates would be totally independent and honest i ...

• Oduro. 9 years ago

Mr Opare, this is a lazy intellectual work you have been contracted to do and i can tell you that you are only day dreaming.

• sika 9 years ago

NANA ALL THE WAY .....NO NANA NO VOTE ....ITS NANA TIME

• Ericus-Ericus 9 years ago

This analysis is 'bogos'... the comparison here does not link-up with anything present.

• Truth 9 years ago

Alan an ambitious, divisive destructive element within the party. His methods and strategies are hurting the party

• Observer 9 years ago

Who is getting the facts mixed up, the sourse or the journalist? PNP did not preceed NPP! Akuffo Addo is not 75.
    This paper just wanted to print a message and never bothered to ensure the truth was being reported. The compar ...

• NTIKUMA ANANSE 9 years ago

WE ARE TIRED OF PROMISES OF A TSUNAMI, SHOCKER, SOOCER, THIRD WORLD WAR, WHATEVER. BRING IT ON, ALAN!!!!!!!

• Oj 9 years ago

Comparing Limann and Victor Owusu on one hand and Akufo Addo and Alan on the other is like comparing oranges and apples.

• NTIKUMA ANANSE 9 years ago

DEEP THROAT SOURCES HAVE REVEALED THAT, OKATAKYIE OPOKU AGYEMAN HAS SEEN THE ERROR OF HIS WAYS AND STATEMENTS AND THROWN IN THE TOWEL, MAKING OVERTURES AND SEEKING TO SUPPORT NANA AKUFO ADDO.

• Truth 9 years ago

Is Alan's group going to rig?

• Kojovi 9 years ago

Mr red nose aka Alan cash you will regret for going to the second round

• Santino 9 years ago

Wishful thinking! Huh! Only in your dreams.

• OSIAHENE Darko-Obiri 9 years ago

THIS IS A MOST INFANTILE ANALYSIS TO COME FROM A MAN. IT'S SO CHEAP IT MAKES ONE WONDER. Hugghh!
    FREE SPEECH, I SUPPOSE.

• chief vandal 9 years ago

This is a silly article. The PNP is not the predecessor party of the NPP.
    Every first grader in Ghana knows this.

• NONSENSE IDEAS 9 years ago

MARK MY WORDS NPP CONFUSED:COM PERUOD

• Mohammed. 9 years ago

That was den bat not this time cos Nana has prove to ghanains that he is not corrupt, he has not been corrupt before and can never be corrupt and ghanains too our problem is corruption so we shall vote for NANA for positve ch ...

• COS90 9 years ago

1. under his nose, proceed of $ 3.4mm can not be traced after nana, kan-dapaah and tk. hammond sold our drillship.
    2. under his nose again as a attorny general more than 15 diplomatic passports got missing.
    3. nana issued ...

• NONSENSE IDEAS 9 years ago

NPP ARE TESTING THEIR MICROPHONE PERIOD

• hon mahadin wa 9 years ago

We the people are aware of this media war within npp against nana.Nobody in npp would profit from this crusade. Another twist to this may be dat, this may not be coming from within as we all know when a particular political h ...

• Eto'o 9 years ago

All is well so far as God is in control, definitely Nana will be the choice of Ghanaians.

Nana, the people's choice!

• BISMARK USA 9 years ago

ALAN WILL BE DEFEATED,BUT NANA WILL ALSO LOOSE THE GENERAL ELECTION HENCE NPP IS THE LOOSER, FROM BISMARK USA

• yaw barima 9 years ago

you cannot compare apples and oranges. this is Npp contest. not Npp and another party. and by the way this age argument does not fly. even Obama has an older vice. your own non performing john mahama has an older amissah so w ...

• DD 9 years ago

WHY DO NDC FEARS NANA ADDO SO MUCH, WHY AH?

• Paa Kwesi Thomas USA 9 years ago

We are not going to vote for anybody who was born after 1957 to come and cause mess again like we are seeing now. We now need a mature person. Not someone who will come and loot the national covers.

• Abu,USA 9 years ago

Foolish and useless story

• Cash 9 years ago

Get it into your brain. Nana will surely be chosen as the presidential candidate on October 18, 2014. Stop the nonsense game. Alan can't be compared to Nana. These are two separate people.

• concern citizen 9 years ago

NPP should consider defeat to NDC if akofo addo win npp presidential candidate for 2016

• Bampoe 9 years ago

nana is still the best to lead gh, with his long experience in polities.

• JB 9 years ago

I am a floating voter and I won't vote for a 75 years oldman. I will vote for Alan

• Gyeeda, Sada, Subah, Woyome 9 years ago

Then you are one of the fools who vote without thinking.

• Gyeeda, Sada, Subah, Woyome 9 years ago

I have never read any article so foolishly written. All the analysis made are hollow and a drain of water to dry. Most of the comparisons made are full of lies. Number one Alan Kyeremateng is 67 years while Nana Addo is barel ...

• Prophet 9 years ago

Nana Addo will win 2016 election Amen

• eric 9 years ago

AMEN OOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO.

• asuo frankfurt 9 years ago

Stop this irrelevant analysis and base your argument on facts. This is nothing but propaganda. That will never come to pass.

• WRONG FACTS 9 years ago

1.PNP IS NOT THE PREDECESSOR PARTY TO THE NPP. THE NPP WAS PRECEDE BY THE PP (PROGRESS PARTY),
    2.AKUFO ADDO IS NOT 75 YEARS OLD AND WILL NOT BE 75 EVEN IN ELECTION YEAR 2016.
    3. WHAT IS THE BASIS FOR THE ASSERTION THAT "AL ...

• G. K. Berko 9 years ago

The immediate predecessor of the NPP is the PFP. The PP preceded the PFP, with Dr. Busia as its Flagbearer.

It is the PFP from which Akufo-Addo vamoosed to join his other former PFP colleague and relative, Paa Willie to f ...

• Tei 9 years ago

The words of a sage.
    Thank you Wrong Facts (I love your monicker.)

• Bogaste 9 years ago

The Republic, check your facts again. The PNP is not the predecessor party to to the NPP. The two have little or nothing in common.

• saco saviour church 9 years ago

look the nonserious ppl, instead of them coming together to fight one goal they are fooling around.these ppl are not serious at all

• Lorgo Ligri 9 years ago

Albert opare your so called NPP analyst is known Alan sympathizer and an ardent critic of Nana Addo. That should tell you his end of the story. How much dirt is on Nana for the NDC to slaughter him? If he has that much on him ...

• Ghanaman 9 years ago

PNP of 1979 = CPP of Nkrumah (Hilla Liman)
    PFP of 1979 = NPP of 1992 (Victor Owusu)

The writer should get their facts right.

• theo 9 years ago

this seems the most recent useless history and propaganda in Ghana. even the ndc are on break on party propaganda. if Alan is appealing to non-party members then he shd organise himself as a flag bearer for such. elements lik ...

• Drooche 9 years ago

This is pure wishful THINKING. Forget about the context because there is no context, Alan.

• Aziz 9 years ago

Either nana or alan none of them will win for 2016 they would still be in the bush

• PAPA 9 years ago

Fellow Christians, note that a vote for nana is a vote for bawomia and a vote for bawomia is a vote for Islam. a vote for Islam? hmmmmmmmmm

• Iwan 9 years ago

NO ALAN NO VOTE! Get the facts right: Imoro Egala is not Liman's uncle and PNP is not a predesessor party of NPP.

• Fad 9 years ago

Akufo-Addo in for shocker...

• princewilly@ymail.com 9 years ago

A family is at the dinner table. The son asks the father, "Dad, how many kinds of boobs are there?" The father, surprised, answers, "Well, son, a woman goes through three phases. In her 20s, her breasts are like melons, round ...

• LONE VOICES- PAPA N Mama. that 9 years ago

The true fact why Victor Owusu lost to Dr. LIMAN WAS THAT votes for THE THEN UP GROUP WAS split between Paa Willie's UNC and Victor'sPFP. THIS SITUATION OPPRTUNED Dr. Liman tohave the edge. Among other reasons but not particu ...

• Tuffour Agyemang 9 years ago

Why are you bent on age? Have you forgotten that Mr. Kyeremateng will also grow old? Bring Alan and you will realise disaster.
    The late Victor Owusu was robbed just as late Professor Adu Boahene was robbed. Ask E.T.Mensah. ...

• AGBEVI SAMUEL 9 years ago

RAWLINGS USED HIS POSITION TO RIG THE ELCTION FOR LIMANN IN 1979 ELECTION BECAUSE OF HIS HATRED FOR THE AKANS. FIRE BURN HIM ONE DAY.

• Edem 9 years ago

Victor was not as popular as Nana is now and Nana has won two elections, 2008 and 2012 ,which were stolen by NDC and EC. Paa Willie's 300,000 votes , Victor's 500,000 and Liman,s 600,000 and second round 800,000 votes cannot ...

• KOJO 9 years ago

HUMAN BEINGS DO NOT WANT THE TRUTH. AKUFO ADDO IS MORE POPULAR IN NPP, BUT THAT POPURALITY WITHIN NPP WILL NOT LET HIM WIN THE NATIONAL ELECTIONS. NPP DELEGATES MUST THINK TWICE IF THEY REALLY WANT TO COME TO POWER IN 2016. ...

• STUPID ARTICLE 9 years ago

WHAT A WASTE OF EFFORT SINCE WE'RE GOING TO ELECT NANA AS PRESIDENT AND NOT EXPERIMENT AGAIN

He attending hospital a lot

• Kojo Grace 9 years ago

Stupid talk .....Allan rather in for a rude awakening, and death of his political aspiration!

He will die by 2015

• NO WAY 9 years ago

The President of Isreal is 90 years. So dont worry about his age.

• Kwabena Apuntuah 9 years ago

If we are to accept this piece, then it would be okay for us to agree that, Victor Owusu told the Asante mafia's on his death bed not to allow any decendant of Paa Willie ascend the Presidency. Wow, now it is not Alan v Nana, ...

• SHAKARA 9 years ago

NANA ALWAYS A LOSSER