You are here: HomeNews2014 09 23Article 327165

State institutions forced to contribute $210m for Lonrho project

Read Comments Comments (30)

• Kwasia bi nti 9 years ago

What is the purpose of this article? State institutions are state. With management support or not government can commit such institutions for their strategic interest. If they don't have money govt can pay on their behalf. It ...

• Kay 9 years ago

It is foolish for Ghana to raise bond and hand over to Lonhro to construct the Atuabo port. What about the Tema and Takoradi ports that are in dire need of cash. Mahama is the most stupid president on earth.

• roland 9 years ago

So your father is right when he said you insults him and your mother. But I blame him for not giving you a good training when you were growing up . They were just giving you food to grow. I wonder how you will likewise train ...

• Mr. Figure-Out 9 years ago

Ghana is sinking because of the foot soldier majority buffoons in Parliament. Where on earth can such a stupid deal pass through parliament? Stop Mahama in 2016 before Ghana collapse

• Amegaxoxo 9 years ago

When Kwame Nkrumah Spoke about Neo-Colonialism,these are some of the things he was talking about..Handing Ghana back to the colonialists.It is a pity that the people handing Ghana back to the colonial master are people who cl ...

• Ghanaman3 9 years ago

Stupid fool. We will drag all these fools to court and jail them even if the president himself sign this fraud into operation. We will close this stupid act. In this 21st century some mentally retarded people in government wi ...

• GLOBAL CITIZEN III (3rd) 9 years ago

Aboa bi nti "IT IS NOT THAT SIMPLE"! With what is the Govt going to pay on behalf of the institutions? Sand, water....eh?

• fredsaid 9 years ago

who makes these foolish agreements for ghana against the interest of ghana?

• Mr.Cook 9 years ago

This entire deal belongs to Ibrahim Mahama. These ndc guys are seriously sick and filled with thievery.

• Patience 9 years ago

This is clearly an article that has been funded by GPHA who would appear to be putting up resistance to the project again. When you analyze the article the loan money for the expansion of Takoradi is for the manganese, bauxit ...

• Beware 9 years ago

So you are saying it is okay to give 50year tax concession to a company of Lonhro's reputation?

• Patience 9 years ago

Is that what the agreement really says or is this what people want us to believe given this would appear to be a politically motivated case? My understanding of what has been explained in the press previously is that the tax ...

• Bkk 9 years ago

Gospel truth

• Richard 9 years ago

Has anyone asked whether Lonrho requested for the participation from the Government or was it something that the government insisted on as part of the local participation policy to ensure that there was as wider Ghanaian owne ...

• ONTARIO 9 years ago

WHY? EQUATORIAL GUINEA DID IT,DOES NOT MEAN WE SHOULD DO IT. THIS CONTRACT IS HEAVILY FLAWED. READ CAREFULLY. PALMS GREASED, EYES BLIND?

• STEVE. 9 years ago

Ghanaians must wake up against this contract. In my opinion, Nkrumah under no circumstance will agree to such a shamble contract to fleece Ghana's wealth. Wake up people this is pure economical colonisation. A handfull of pol ...

• Efo 9 years ago

Do we need this as country, why can't we wait till we are ready rather than going into shabby contracts. All because of some greedy people interest.

• 2016 9 years ago

This deal stinks to the high heavens and doesn't make any sense whatsoever. The national security implications of such a deal and how it is lost on the Mahama NDC gov't shows the level of lawlessness, recklessness and impunit ...

• Yoga 9 years ago

Leave these greedy bastards to sign all these corrupt contracts. These will be thrown out when NPP a comes to power 2016

• Kweku 9 years ago

Hanna tetteh and Collins have sold this country for a pittance,only God can stop this n he will surely.

• thelynque 9 years ago

The problem is education. Most of these parliamentarians can't read, This takes back to elementary school. Better schools, better education better leaders!!!!

• Avenger 9 years ago

2 questions...does Ghana have such arrangement with the countries involve where we own just about 80% of such projects in England or US? where is the trade balance? smh

• NII(RASCIST) 9 years ago

IF YOU KNEW THE MEANING AND HISTORY OF LONRHO YOU WOULD NEVER ENTERTAIN THEM.I SWEAR THEY CAN MANAGE TO TWIST THE ARMS OF MY PEOPLE WHO DONT KNOW THEM BUT WE WOULD REVERSE EVERYTHING AND THEY WOULD RUN AWAY SOME DAY AND LE ...

• Julio Miwazzy 9 years ago

i find it hard to see the projection or the direction of growth of the national economy,we as citizens of this nation called Ghana do not or can not see the fact that the private sector is the remedy to our economic stagnatio ...

• I say 9 years ago

Whaat - tax exemption for 25 years? And further rights for another 25-year extension ???

• Kwesi Atta 9 years ago

Finance say they need money but no t enough Tax. These people want 600 million dollar investment TAX free for 50 years, but Ghana has to pay loan with interest. Watch the British. They like shafting Africa and have done so fo ...

• KWASI, MD 9 years ago

A SMALL COUNTRY LIKE GHANA DOES NOT NEED THREE PORT, FOR WHAT? THE TWO PORTS IN THE COUNTRY COULD BE RENOVATED AND OR EXPANDED TO SERVE GHANA WELL, WHICH WOULD MORE COST EFFECTIVE. THE COST OF BUILDING, AND MANTAINING A NEW ...

• Paul 9 years ago

Why not have a third port if it is viable if our existing ports cannot cope with the work they currently have let alone the expected growth in the future. Your argument was the same that Busia and his PP cronies put forward i ...

• Paapa Owusu -Ansah 9 years ago

The Statesman involved in these transaction with name withheld should go to Salaga slave market site and buried his head in the sand.shame onto that Statesman they called themselves educated but always worst-off uneducated .

• P.Bonsu 9 years ago

Africans never learn or know their history.
    Like confused children they make friends with their enemies and abandon their true friends.