You are here: HomeNews2014 09 21Article 326865

Ghana Marks 105th birthday of Dr. Kwame Nkrumah today

Read Comments Comments (53)

• Ras Bo @ London 9 years ago

They have nothing constructive to offer, their stomach is their benchmark after that the rest of Ghanaians can go to hell.
    What reckless generation are these? They live their lives by scheming evil and becoming overlord in ...

• OLD SOLDIER 9 years ago

Author:..Rastafara"I"...

She just rented a hotel room at market rate!!! People.

Mahama brother took millions from a bank and said he will not pay because his brother is president...
    Even a Gyan's brother can beat up ...

• Nkran Nyame 9 years ago

Opportunism,

Ghana claims to have no Money, but it has money enough to celeberate kwame nkruma annually.

What sort of a Country is this.

Hey, Mr kwame nkrumani Gyimini Kwasea !

Don't forget that your kwame Kofi Nw ...

• BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 9 years ago

NKRUMAH WHO DIDNT HAVE MONEY TO BUY A PLANE TICKET TO GHANA BETAYED HIS SAVIORS WHO BROUGHT HIM BACK FROM WILDERNESS! HE SNEAK AND PAINTED HIS MASTERS BLACK AND TOOK THOSE UNCIVILISED ILLITERATES AND DICTATE TO THEM AND FORME ...

• BULAALAH 9 years ago

We even borrowed to celebrate Ghana@50. No mention of condemnation was made then, very intelligent and brainless fools.

• Yaw Adu-Otu 9 years ago

Everybody's opinion is correct until proven wrong by a superior opinion. Nkran Nyame is entitle to public ranting

• ELINAN 9 years ago

Some claimed they went to Oxford but could not write "MY SELF" and could not express them selves eloquently or make any strong case for the African.
    Many are still in govt and in the camps of NPP/NDC.
    I call them rotten hea ...

• GHANABA 9 years ago

A democracy has no business honouring coup-makers, the anti-constitutional saboteurs, who broke their oath of profession to defend the constitution! Like everything done by the two political monopolies, NPP and NDC, it's all ...

• Smart Frempah UK 9 years ago

THIS MESSAGE GOES TO RAS BO LONDON AND ALL THOSE WHO THINK LIKE HIM.

We still live in past glory. Some people think the mistakes of the past cannot be corrected. That we are cursed!! When are we going to let the past go a ...

• Nkran Nyame 9 years ago

Oh!

Ghana claims to have no Money, but it has money enough to celeberate kwame nkruma annually.

What sort of a Country is this.

Hey, Mr kwame nkrumani Gyimini Kwasea !

Don't forget that your kwame Kofi Nwia nkruma ...

KWAME NKRUMAH DESTROYED ALL THIS HUGE SUM MOSTLY ON OTHER AFRICAN COUNTRIES DUE TO HIS AFRICAN PREZ AMBITION! SOME AFRICAN PREZ WERE SMART AND REJECTED HIS IDEAS BECAUSE THEY KNEW HE WILL LATER KILL THEM AND BECOME A PREZ FOR ...

• Afrikatu Kofi 9 years ago

just a point interest and food for thought?Before you can tell us how much the british left behind you should be able to also establish as a fact for us how much the british brought to the Gold Coast the first time they arriv ...

KOO DARKY BRAGGING, "INFERIORITY COMPLEX" YOU SAID? HAHAHA MR SELF CONFIDENT WHY ALLOW THEM TO COLONISED YOU FOR YEARS?! I HOPE YOU ARE NOT GOING TO CHANGE THE HISTORY THAT EVEN THE WHITES HAS EVER COLONISED YOU BEFORE?! YOU ...

• mensah abrampa 9 years ago

No, you don't seem to get it. The important thing is how whatever amount of money was left by the Brits but how it was spent. You are at liberty to challenge how much money was left behind but the issue is was it spent judic ...

Kofi it's possible if the British didn't bring even a pesewa upon their arrivals. They may have created them there. I am not defending anything here but my point is they may have not brought anything but they could have lef ...

• BULAALAH 9 years ago

You must also try to find out how much they took away after leaving us with £6bn as you claim. misguided lot.

• Awonore 9 years ago

Oh so you wanted them to go empty handed? funny boy, you are even lucky they left behind 6billion pounds

• BULAALAH 9 years ago

They came on a business tour. No one expects them to go with empty hands. The question again is that if they able to tell us what they left us with, why couldn't they tell us how much they made from us? If you fail to see wha ...

I love sensible debate. Is it true that the British left us £6bn in 1957? Yes 1957 with £6bn? If this is true then today's Ghana politicians should be well be ashamed of themselves if we have to be going round with a beggi ...

• BULAALAH 9 years ago

If can not see what we did with that said amount they left us, am afraid you are emerging from a political stand. All the factories, infrastructure. schools, the blackstar line, the Ghana Airways and on and on. All these didn ...

• NON ALIGNED 9 years ago

The 6 Billion pounds or dollars was your own money and not the Brtish! Please wise up! And guess what he did with it......before your GREEDY lot overthrew him...............

He started with the Akosombo Dam, the Tema harbo ...

• Smart Frempah, UK 9 years ago

Non-Aligned, you are missing the point here. We aren't saying Dr. Nkrumah didn't use the money towards, infrastructure. He may have used it but the British didn't come to meet the money in the then Gold Coast. They created ...

• NYARKO USA 9 years ago

@ NKRAN NYAME AND BBC NEWS.
    YOU GUYS ARE A BUNCH OF FUCKING IDIOTS , STUPID FOUR LEGGED ANIMALS WITH LONG TAILS WHO DOESN'T KNOOW THE FUCK YOU TALKING ABOUT.
    JUST SHUT THE FUCH , EAT SOME SHIT, SOME GRASS, DRINK SOME CONT ...

ITS NOT YOUR FAULT, YOU JUST FEAR TO HEAR THE TRUTH, BECAUSE TRUTH HURTS A LOT, LIKE AFRIYIE ANKRA JUST WIPE YOUR TEARS OK? WISE UP NOW THAT I, BBC NEWS HAS TAUGHT YOU THE TRUTH!

• Cassie wills. 8 years ago

@Nyarko USA and BBC news
    This is very immature and not at all sensible. Your language is too vile and i can't seem to understand whats got you so riled up(@Nyarko). And you BBC, why stoop to his level, that was unnecessary. ...

• Kitsem 9 years ago

Please lets keeep this birthday secret, If this is to see or hear what HIS GHANA is going through to the extend of selling blood onthe streets of Accra He will die again. 105 yrs and what he started was still not improved, sh ...

• naa 9 years ago

Mahama,why spend Ghana money for
    Unnecessary things like K.N
    Birthday.he couldn't even cons
    uct a road to his home town.but
    Spent big time money for other
    African countries he kill ppl
    And drink their blood.kankan nyame

HAPPY BIRTHDAY OSAGYEFO DR. KWAME NKRUMAH!......A MAN OF VISION, A STRONG, FEARLESS, SELFLESS AND A PATRIOTIC LEADER!

You have turned in your grave enough, to see how your traitors who overthrew you, have reduced GH ...

• naa 9 years ago

Sucker of pregnant women s blood
    nkan nyame.the Dracula

naa, I'm not sure if it's worth re-educating you or not......but I guess I will give it a try.

You sound like a brainwashed child with an enslaved mind who falls for anything.....especially distorted historical facts.

P ...

• Yiadom Boakye 9 years ago

Well Spoken, NONALIGNED. Ignore those empty comments. No matter what, Nkrumah's vision and achievements remain unparalleled. The fact is that Ghana is yet to experience a leader who will match his accomplishments.

• NYARKO USA 9 years ago

@ NON ALIGNED. THANK YOU FOR POSTING THIS WISE AND SESIBLE CMMENT.I USUALLY RESPECT WISE AND SENSIBLE PEOPLE LIKE YOU MY DEAR BROTHER.
    SOME PEOPLE IGNORANTLY AND STUPIDLY JUST TALK RUBISH ABOUT OSAGYEFO DR. KWAME NKRUMAH OUR ...

• Afrikatu Kofi 9 years ago

FOR OVER A CENTRY SIMPLY STIL THE GREATEST AND BEST FOR GHANA AND AFRIKA WITH NO APOLOGIES.

• Paa Kwesi Thomas USA 9 years ago

The Greatest man of Africa, may your soul rest in perfect peace as we celebrate your 105th birthday anniversary. Generation after Generation will remember you for the good work you did for Ghana in particular and Africa in ge ...

• Daniel Addo. SA 9 years ago

All the leaders in ghana are bunch of useless idiots, from Mahama to all of them. Why should we as a nation waste millions on the dead in the name of birthday. I don't understand ghana at all, we are struggling as a nation an ...

• BIAWURBI BERNARD MBITUMI 9 years ago

GHANA, WHY ALWAYS HOLIDAY? Ghana should stop anneccessary holidays and look at how to stop bribary and curroption The poeple involve should stop looking for ways and means of spending our money ie by introducing holidays.

• DHURUWAH 9 years ago

Bernard, You dont have to stay home, Go to work if you want. Some might say even Christmas is unnecessary but it does not stop anyone to stay home and drink.The only reason why someone like you are pissed off at Nkrumah's bir ...

I don't understand the mentality and thinking of some people that the fact that some people oppose their views means they are brainwashed. I don't really get it. Biarurbi is right. The holidays in Ghana are too many. Yes ...

• ........ 9 years ago

Is destruction of black man in africa

• obour 9 years ago

Africans what time you people will be wise what did u kankan nyame do to you people 6bnp now we re poor Ghanaian poorest is from Nkrumah father of afriaca if the Germany want the European Union and the billed house to all ...

• KAY CEE 9 years ago

KWAME Nkrumah was a man of vision. There will be no leader like him.

• BULAALAH 9 years ago

At least dictators have birthdays to be celebrated. Can you find out the birthdays of the early terrorist in Ghana too? The innocent people they bombed to pieces would have have been some children's parents and grand parents ...

• Kwaku 9 years ago

Before Nkrumah was born, there was nobody like him in Africa in term of political leadership and also after his death there has been nobody like him in Ghana and Africa. Osagyefo still the greatest.

• James Adjei 9 years ago

This was the man we villified as if he was satan incarnate. Any lesson yet?

• Marshall 9 years ago

Is a shame still have this stupid nation destroyers degree of NLC in the constitution . Shame to this act still not erase until date dammm

• Famu 9 years ago

Why celebrate holiday for such leaders? He killed J.B Danquah and others who brought him to Ghana to be secretary for U.G.C.C. He was another greedy, selfish, and destroyer for Ghana with his one party state. Nkrumah was a ...

• Kwaku 9 years ago

Shame Famu. JB Danquah and co saw the qualities inside Nkrumah's brain. He was far ahead of them. Jb and co were fools and for themselves only.

• JH New York 9 years ago

May his Soul rest in peace.

• Famu 9 years ago

You can't be president for life. Ghana is not for you alone. Why did you kill your opponents like J.B. Danquah and others? Who brought you to Ghana to be the secretary of U.G.C.C? You are ungrateful humanbeing. You destroye ...

• Mike 9 years ago

I wander why a nation like Ghana will celebrate a birthday of a who is the cost of most of the problems we are facing today.

• truth 9 years ago

elites with radio leadership vibes.

• Benjamin Lamptey 9 years ago

This is a country with serious economic problems and currently with worse performing currency in the world,yet we invent ways of getting more holidays. Don't we have enough holidays??

• Nana 9 years ago

Nkrumah neva dies